Houston, TX 
Nottingham Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #5 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 243ft.   3 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5A Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Vanilla!

1    9/23/2017   9/23/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nottingham Park is about as typical of a recreation course that you will find. And the saddest part is the designers failed to use the only small hill in this flat park. Putting the # 11 basket up on this small hill would have instantly made it the course's signature hole. If not that, then putting either of the # 12 tee pads up here would have made 12 the hole to remember. But instead, the course is decidedly Vanilla, not even Chocolate Chip Mint!

The park does have a nice little children's water spray park. It's cool misters felt good to me after my round this afternoon. The park, except for the one small hill, is perfectly flat. There are scattered trees throughout and they have been utilized in the design whenever possible. There are both A and B tees. The longer A pads can sometimes really stretch the hole out. # 11 is 280' from the B and probably plays 475' from the A position. This being my fourth course today, I was too lazy to walk back and check the offical distance.

The course is city park recreational all the way but the A pads give us rec players a chance to show off our massive guns. The tee pads are natural and some were slippery today after recent rains. There was some standing water on the course and was quite wet under a couple of baskets.
Cons: # 7 had me confused. Does it have two baskets? The B sign said 243' and the A pad was closer and read 321' and there were two baskets out there.

Not much shaping of shots required here.

Flat.

It's a pity not to use the small hill.

Standing water in places.

Slippery natural pads.
Other Thoughts: Although I didn't meet up with the sheriff today, I did enjoy my round here. It's fun and very non-threatening. Close to zero chance of losing a disc though I guess you could get one stuck high in a tree. No hunting for discs in deep grass. It would be a great course to introduce someone to the game. Good for families and youth. There are some nice Ace Runs with all of these 225' holes. If dry, this would be an ideal course to work on your rollers.

And the water park was a welcome relief after playing four courses today.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nottingham Park

1    7/21/2017   7/23/2017
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 176  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes are clearly marked and offer short and longs. The baskets are in pretty decent shape. Course makes good use of the scattered trees. This is a very nice park with a waterpark? right next to it. The course was clean and freshly mowed. I played this course around noon in the dead of the summer so I didn't have the crowds of pedestrians that dreadlock had.
Cons: Hole 1 longs teesign was missing. There is not much variety in the holes but they are able to incorporate a few anhyzer holes. The tee boxes are worn grass which become an issue after a rain. This course isn't too long but there isn't many breaks from the sun beating down on you besides hole 10 which has a good canopy.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoyed the course. Most of the holes are reachable off the tee which makes for a fun course. The trees are limited but they do come into play on most of the holes. This is a family friendly course that is well maintained.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

busy park, scattered trees

1    12/23/2016   1/2/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -short and long tees on every hole, averages ~250' and ~325'
-all 12 baskets are present and in good condition
-signs for all 12 short tees and all 12 long tees
-mature trees throughout the park that come into play on each hole
Cons: -entirely flat and doesn't utilize the one big hill near basket 11 and tees 12
-very busy park, lots of other people hanging around in fairways or walking on the path near holes 2, 5, 9, 10
-the trees block certain lines but there is still lots of airspace to work with, no forced shots really
-lots of repetitive holes, no memorable holes
Other Thoughts: There's not too much to say about this course; it's pretty vanilla. There are lots of mature trees in the park and there are usually at least a few in play on each hole but it is not so wooded that it forces certain lines.

The two sets of tees are great for making the course approachable for rec players or more experienced players. It also makes for a more interesting way to play 2 rounds, which you'll probably want to do at only 12 holes. That said, I'm glad they didn't try to cram any more holes in here. There are lots of parallel fairways as it is. It can make for dangerous conditions if the course is crowded with multiple groups. There are lots of pedestrians around in this busy park too so make sure to be careful when throwing.

The holes are all mostly around the same distance and fairly unmemorable. The lines on some of the long tees are a bit unnatural. Designed in 1997, I think the long tees were not conceived to be able to reach the pin off the box. This is the main difference between the two sets of tees also, most of them aren't that much longer.

Looks like one of the better places to play around this part of town. It doesn't have any stand out holes but it doesn't have any major issues either. Just watch out for the pedestrians.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hole update 6/18/2015

5+    6/18/2016   6/20/2016
Review By: Richtho4
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: See thoughts below
Cons: See thoughts below
Other Thoughts: Just a quick update on state of baskets & tees. #6 basket had been missing for some time; but has finally been replaced in the same location. But on a down note, #8 basket is currently missing. Several tee face plates had been missing; but all had been replaced except for the #1 tee which is located near the parking lot. Other than that, course is in great shape and frequently mowed. As others have noted; beware of parties and picnics on weekends near the splash pad. The #4 and #12 baskets are especially vunerable to interference from pop-up canopies and park patrons.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lightly Used Solid Practice or Beginner Course

5+    12/26/2015   12/26/2015
Review By: gouch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Enjoy playing both the short and long tees making this a 24 hole course.
Relative to other courses this course is very lightly used; typically our group is the only group on the course.
The grass is typically well maintained.
Parking is ample with a rest room with water onsite.
Losing a disk is nearly impossible as the course is mostly open field with scattered trees, free of any dense vegetation.
Fairly easy to navigate even without a map since the baskets are visible from the tee pads; would recommend a map to first time players - the first tee pad is near the practice basket.
Cons: Tee pads are next to tee markers with distance on the marker; would be a better course with concrete pads.
Nottingham has been missing a basket for the past year - currently hole 8 but previously hole 2 and then hole 3. Can adjust by playing one of the nearby baskets instead e.g. from tee pad 8 can play to the basket on hole 5.
This is a multi-use park which tends to be busier in the summer though families and runners use the park all year long.
The course is flat and only has 12 (11) holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun practice course with birdies possible from most of the short tees and some of the long tees. The course drains better than it's neighbor, Agnes Moffitt due to strategically placed storm drains in several places in the park. When Agnes Moffitt is too wet to play, Nottingham is typically in much better shape. Fairly large Magnolia trees were recently planted near holes 9-11 adding more interest to these tee shots.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course for beginners and more seasoned alike

2-4    6/17/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: manwalklikebear
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Multiple tees so beginners and pros can play along. Variety of open, treed, and distance holes. Since I'm a beginner, no water to have to watch out for.
Cons: Fire ants are big around the first few holes. Basket #3 is missing, but there's a basket near tee 1 I use instead, unless that's 3s official new location. I seem to remember that pro tee 4 or something is missing too.
Other Thoughts: Nice place for me to practice not far from home.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 12 Hole Gem

2-4    11/16/2013   11/17/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 210  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One thing that this course that is unique is the number of holes it has. Not 6, 9 or 18. 12 Holes. The holes are a good mix of long and open to a few trees scattered making shot shaping a must.

There are dual tees. The long tees are quite long and will make it a challenge to the most seasoned layer while the shorts are still challenging but a good way to introduce new people to the game.

The course is easy to navigate, quick to play and you will be the only golfer out there which is always a plus.
Cons: Although you may be the only GOLFER there you will have to share the park with just about everyone and their mothers. The park is crowded with kids, dogs, lovers and it could either keep you waiting in between shots or running the risk of hitting someone. The majority of park goers are probably not aware of the course, just be patient.

Hole 3 is gone and it will probably be gone for a long time since this course does not get much love. Some of the tee markers have lost their signs. Age and lack of up keep is really showing out here.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion the challenge is greater here than at neighbor crowd-favorite Agnes Moffit. It is a bit more technical in the trees and has a bit more length to it.
If the tee posts were different colors from Tee A to Tee B then this course would be much easier to navigate. This would be a course I would not mind being in my neighborhood. Just stay alert of the other park people; they have every right to the park as you do,

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Good

1    8/21/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: jgsqueak
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Laid out very well for getting 12 holes in a smaller neighborhood park.
-Just enough trees to keep you honest, but not completely alter every throw.
-Long for beginners yet fun for experienced players. 9 holes have birdie potential with well thrown drives.
-Close to my office for that fast lunchtime round...
Cons: -Takes a second to find the next tee/pin.
-One tee backs up to a fence making a short run up. Also a tree right in the way (if you play the left of the tee) and it looks like people cheat to the right of the tee post.
-#11 is tough to get close to the pin because it is surrounded by trees. Pin could be up on the hill.
Other Thoughts: For a small neighborhood park, this course is fun to play. Very accessible from the west side of town, but not a destination course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 12 Hole Course

1    8/16/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 30  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice 12-hole course in a nice little neighborhood park. Usually I have trouble navigating these courses that only have stake tees and baskets that are for the most part unmarked, but this course was an exception. When I found the tees for hole 1, I played it and had no problems finding the other 11 holes. The course flows nicely around the park, and, even with some of the tee signs missing, I was able to find each and every hole all right. I never even played to the wrong basket once which, usually with a course like this I will do from time to time, but not here. It is true that the course is mostly open, but there are trees in just the right spots as another reviewer said. I know: I hit at least two while I played here today. I did have some other close calls where I just did miss some trees. I will just say that there are enough out here to give some of your shots thought. All in all, a nice course to come and get some practice in before a thrower goes and plays some of the bigger courses.
Cons: Some of the tee signs are missing and some of the numbering on the baskets has worn off. Other than that, I find very little else wrong with this course.
Other Thoughts: I do not believe anyone will be seeing concrete tees on this course any time soon, if ever. But that does not take away from the play ability of this course. Shorter than usual, yes. But that did not stop me from playing the course through twice. This is a course that can stand on its own against any other including Agnes Moffitt park. Incidentally, when added to the 18 once or twice through at Moffitt, can make for a pretty full disc golf morning like it did mine.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Deceptively easy and quick

1    6/28/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: Kursk
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Small, short city park.
Deceptively wide open but the trees are in all the "right" spots.
Grass is pretty well maintained.
Plays very quickly
Dual pads were nice. The back tees for the most part add a really nice bit of challenge to the course.
I say it's deceptively easy and it is. When I get there I think it'll be a breeze but tree location made it interesting. Once the trees get a chance to grow, it'll be a bear of a course.
Cons: If I hadn't been playing with someone that was a regular, I'd totally have been lost. Very much a links style course that desperately cries out for some better tees/markers. The water park was busy but the park wasn't since it's over 105 out. There was still a big picnic/bbq with a giant bouncy castle we had to play around.
Other Thoughts: 11 really missed it from being great by now mounting the chains on that hill. Still, it's plenty brutal thanks to those limbs. Ugh.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.