Live Oak, FL 
Heritage Park & Gardens DGC Share
Uploaded By: reposado Hole #3 (Taken 6/2014)
4 / 310ft.   4 / 370ft.   4 / 400ft.   4 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Not Magnolia, but still a great city park course

5+    8/6/2017   8/2/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 166  Reviewed: 122  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.718 Rating) (REVISED - replayed August 2017)
- DUEL PINS AND TEES - Far and away the best thing about Heritage is the duel pins and tees at each of the 9 holes. I'm a big fan of this type of format when space is at a premium. This setup is great for groups of multiple skill levels. It also allows players the opportunity to never play the same round twice as they could randomize the tee and pin they play at each of the 9 holes.
- CHARACTER - A surprising number of course amenities and comfort items. There is a wonderful course map near hole (1). There is great hole signage at both tees. Most of the tees are shaded well and have above average sized concrete pads. Seating appears at a handful of holes and there are a couple of trash cans. There's a practice basket near (1) tee and all the baskets are DISCatchers. The course feels like an established course, yet its only 4 years old.
- NAVIGATION - I don't find any major issues as a quick photo of the course map clears up most issues.
- ACEABILITY - A few of the holes are highly aceable, especially holes 1, 6 and 9.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low with the exception of throwing high in a tree or into the heavy overgrowth, right on (5). I have a very nice driver hanging out in the overgrowth on (5). In general, errant throws are not further punished.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds have been kept up well for all of my visits and the park is very clean.
- LOCATION - A 20 minute drive from the I75 and I10 junction. Easy to play as a quick detour before a more challenging course. Like Magnolia for instance.
- QUICK PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 9 in under 30 minutes. Groups of 4 would probably finish in under an hour.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - A lovely park without any noticeable blemishes. Heritage my not have any blow me away holes like those at nearby Magnolia, New World or Tom Brown, but every hole here has tranquil look and feel to it. The open rolling meadows around holes (4, 5 and 6), I find to be quite meditatively peaceful.
Cons: Other than hole diversity it's hard to find any major complaints with this nice city park course.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves in terms variety are below average. None of the holes are that exceedingly hard. Six of the nine shots feel the same, and play threw moderately spaced pine tree lanes. The duel pins and tees in several cases, only alter the hole by a length modification. I originally enjoyed hole (4), which pocketed left into a tree row, but the hole placement was moved into the clearing. It kind of sucks when your favorite hole has been altered on a course you had met only a year earlier. There are no water elements in play (some may consider this a blessing) There are no dog legs, and perhaps the most that any one hole veers is 10 degrees. There are also 3 short par 4s, with the longest being 550 feet from the back tees.
- ELEVATION - Maximum elevation change on any one hole is 15 feet on hole (5). You may be surprised to hear this, but this is actually above average for Florida (97 Florida course played as of this Revision). I do realize that, just about all parts of the country will consider this course flat.
- DIFFICULTY - Not much of a challenge to advanced players. The shot shaping required is extremely light when compared to nearby Magnolia. Advanced players should have no problem breaking par and should probably play them all 3s. Rec players may be delighted however as it can be a feel good round. It's a great opportunity for those players to finish around even.
- NO NIGHT GOLF - This would have been an ideal night golf course, but park closes at dusk
- PARKING - It's dirt and starting to pit a bit.
- SPACING - Not the best or worst out there, but I did end up in an adjacent fairway once or twice over 5 rounds. If the course were full of players, you would be wise to keep your head up and aware of other groups teeing off.
Other Thoughts: Overshadowed by Magnolia, but Heritage does have its perks when comparing the two. Heritage is free, quicker to play and more forgiving.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Options

2-4    3/31/2016   5/31/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 145  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 42.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2017
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice neighborhood course with two sets of tees and two sets of permanent baskets. Lot's of options here. Nice tees and tee signs. Well maintained and very clean. Set in a DG specific area of the park featuring many large pine trees and some open holes. Very nice chill spots and picnic tables to take a break. Fun. A good place to introduce the sport to new throwers.

Cons: Might be a little on the short side for some.
Other Thoughts: Nothing earth-shattering here, but a fun quick play none the less!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/21/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun rec course with some solid variety that provides an excellent introduction to the sport. At first I thought it was going to be one of those courses where all nine holes are cramped into a square lot, with a lot of bumping up against each other. It is not. Three of the holes explore the field beyond the semi-wooded area, giving the six holes room that are in that lot room to breathe.
Those three holes(3-5) offer up some real distance and some chances to watch discs fly unobstructed. The fields they play across are wide open but they aren't as boring as that sounds, even for the novice. 3 presents a row of trees that requires a player to hit one of two gaps or throw high over the whole thing, before mowing across the truly wide open space. 4 has the basket tucked against the right edge of the field, meaning there is no hyzer route to the basket. 5 is long and very open, until the end, where the basket is guarded by a canopy.
The other six traverse a plot that is what I would consider sparsely wooded. Thick trees with lots of high branches means shots are better kept low, and routes to the basket need to be planned. They are a little more technical, but there is a lot of room for error and new players shouldn't be frustrated. It also helps that as long as discs stay in the plot, the ground is clean and no time should be spent looking for discs. They aren't even that short from the white tees, with average hole lengths of about 280 feet.
There are also two sets of tees. While both are certainly accessible for new players, the whites are definitely harder than the reds, which usually avoid the early trouble that the white tees provide for the player that's ready to step up a little bit. That adds more variety to a course that already had a bunch of it. I'm pleased that this route was chosen, as opposed to the "add a second tee that's slightly to the right of the first instead of making a more difficult so that we can claim 18 holes" option. Speaking of tees, both sets are excellent and the tee signs are great as well. Overall, an excellent place for a new player to throw discs, and a quick stopover that should hold some interest for the veteran.
Cons: While there is no shule on the actual course, there are a few chances to go off property. On the very first hole, the fence on the left is fairly close and newb hyzers may go often go over it. At a course aimed at rec players, this probably causes some problems. When 8 is in the back position, it offers up a nasty area for players to wind up in if they go after the pin too aggressively.
Other than that, it's hard to find much fault with the course. It's an excellent rec course with limited appeal for players beyond that ability. Nothing memorable here. Nothing that makes you want to throw it again. Nothing of notable challenge.
Other Thoughts: It also gels nicely with Magnolia, as that course does not cater to the new player. Nice that a town this size has its bases covered.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Magnolia warm up

2-4    5/4/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 151  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2016
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love how clean and manacured the grounds are. 6 of the 9 baskets are on a square portion of the grounds with longer holes 3, 4 & 5 pushing out beyond & back into the square. Mix of short to medium open holes through very tall mature pine trees. Manacured grass with pine needle grounds make for possable skip ace shots. Nice new signs give distance and par. Manacured grounds thanks to being on museaum property. Very close to I-10 or I-75 makes this a good rest stop for someone on a road trip.
Cons: only 9 baskets. However, the dual cement tees do offer a different enough looks beyond long & short to round out a fun 18 holes. No restroom for the ladies.
Other Thoughts: Great beginner or Rec- course. Advanced players will find it a great pit stop for Magnolia to work the mid-range game. Need a snack, wild berries by tee 3. Very tough to rate. One of the best 9's I have played. Magnolia's proximity & only 9 baskets prohibit a higher mark. Fun factor prohibits a lesser rating.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty, Average

1    2/23/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: tdortch
Played: 77  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: This is a beautiful little course set next to some kind of apparently historical mansion. I didn't have time to check out the mansion part however. The park is set amongst mature trees, and there is virtually no underbrush, which might be common for this part of the world, but I'm from Kentucky , so it was a nice change for me. There are multiple pads and/or baskets for each hole (apparently, more on that later...). There is a nice sign at the start of the course and the parking is right by teepad 1. OB rings the course, but I never had a throw that got close to it. The trees are used well, providing a guarded basket or taking away that one line you wanted to throw. The tee pads and baskets themselves are nice. There is no water that I could see, but that might change in a few of the lower lying areas with a good rain or two. It is a fun course, but...
Cons: The layout can be confusing for a new player, even with the map. it suffers from what I like to call "small course syndrome" - you can see several baskets from each pad (except for 3 - 5). From hole 2, I played right towards basket 6, and didn't find hole 2 until I tracked around a bit (FYI, it's hidden down in a little depression. Play along the fence and you'll see it). And, I had no idea where 3 was, but that's partly my fault for not looking at the map. There were some signs pointing to the next pad, but not all of them were still there. Oversight or vandalism, I don't know, but either way, that type of sign is very helpful on a course that you don't know. As far as the multiple tees/baskets that the main sign lists: I did see a few of them, but either they are well hidden or there are only sleeves for the alt pin locations. There were definitely 2 pads for hole 7 because I thought one of them was hole 3 (before I found 2's basket) until I walked over to it. The parking is NOT at the mansion by the way. Go down the street a bit and you'll see it.
Other Thoughts: All in all, it's a nice little 9 hole course, above average even if for nothing else than the overall beauty of the park. And, most of my complaints are centered around not having played it before. But, that is how you are supposed to judge courses: Ease of navigation, signage, tee pads/baskets, FUN! NItty gritty: "Is this a course I MUST play"--- I'd say no, but if you are in the area and don't have time to play the other course in this town, it's a nice stop.

 Great short course

1    2/15/2014   2/15/2014
Review By: Mary G
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautifully maintained - well marked, concrete tees. Nice mix of wooded and open. Very pretty terrain.
Cons: Short course, but just right for a leg stretcher.
Other Thoughts: We loved this course which we visited while out of town. Will definitely revisit if over this way again.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.