Pasadena, CA 
Oak Grove (Hahamongna Park) Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #I (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 277ft.   3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
The Island Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Historic Course

1    9/11/2017   9/13/2017
Review By: ajbova
Played: 109  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Intermediate Level Course set in a secluded area of a park.

Baskets - Including the practice basket, there were 23 (at the time) total baskets that I saw. The course seemed to be in a 20 (21) hole layout. They were DISCatchers that were a bit on the older side but still caught great. I did not have any spit outs. There are 3-4 pin placements per hole.

Tees - As mentioned, the layout seemed to be 21 holes. Of the 21, 18 were concrete and 3 were large rubber mats. They were not slick, however, only hole 5 seemed to be on the short side.

Variety - Most holes were between 250-350 feet give or take. There were a few blind shots; 7, 9, 14, and 15. Most holes were on the flat side although not completely flat. 5 was downhill, 8 had slight incline near basket, 13 had a basket on a small hill, and 14 went around a canyon. No shot was completely open, all holes had trees, brush, or rocks as obstacles. No two holes were alike.

Benches or trees at almost every hole. Only a few with rubber mats did not.

Trash cans at 90% of the holes. The park was very clean and the trash cans definitely helped.

Easy to navigate. Although there were a few holes present (not on the map) as well as the numbers on the concrete tees not matching the holes, the course flowed great. There were only a few times (rubber mats) where there could be confusion but fortunately a local pointed us in the right direction (including an extra hole near hole 13).

Portable restrooms on site (although hot inside)

A few water fountains on back 9.

Course was right off the highway.

Beautiful view of mountains.
Cons: There are several holes that sit right on top of each other. Tees for the next hole were borderline mid fairway of a current hole (see map). If the course was busy, this could be a dangerous situation. It could also add wait time. When I played course was not busy so this was a non factor.

There were a few holes that could use updated signs or at least a way to tell which pin position was currently being used (for distance purposes).

Biggest con was that there was not much shade and extremely hot, but being it was the LA area, that was expected. It's a part of the layout so not really a con.

From the exit provided by the directions, no places to grab drinks between highway and course, but if you take Foothill exit, there are places.

A few next hole signs would help since there are a cluster of holes near each other (10-20).
Other Thoughts: With multiple pin placements per hole, additional tees are not needed to increase the rating on this course, however, it would be nice to see which placement is used on a map. I would like to give it a higher rating seeing as it was the first course but I am basing it on its play.

I really enjoyed this course. I am from Indianapolis and my cousins live in LA so this was a must play during my visit. It was a little on the easy side for me but it had the same feel as the other Steady Ed Courses I have played in the Midwest. Not too hard but placement is key.

It was definitely a journey from the Santa Monica area but it was worth it. Although I would like to play this again, there are other LA courses I would like to try. I would recommend it if you area in the area, however, it is a bit out of the way from downtown LA (if you are traveling).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Historic and Fun!

1    12/27/2016   12/28/2016
Review By: programchaos32
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful location.
Nice adjacent field to warm up on.
Historical value.
A variety of shots to the left and to the right.
Some water hazards (make a course more fun!)
Not busy (we came pretty early.)
Long shots and short shots.
Low ceilings and wide open shots.

Cons: A few holes had no maps.
A couple fairways overlapped.
Hole 17 and 18 shared a basket because they were in the middle of setting up for a different season or tournament.
Other Thoughts: My buddy and I drove up from San Diego and got to Oak Grove around eight in the morning. When we arrived, the course was easy to find and there wasn't really anyone else there. We parked in the parking lot and walked around a bit to see where the first tee was. We found it pretty easily and also noticed that there was a baseball field adjacent to the course that looked really good for warming up or practicing drives on. We played through the course and found a nice variety of all kinds of shots, not extremely difficult, but definitely challenging because of the trees and many low ceilings. At one point we had to ask a couple people that had showed up which way to go because it wasn't very apparent and not all of the tees had maps on them. For some reason holes 17 and 18 shared a basket, and we were told that it was because they were setting up for a new season's layout (not sure if this was really true or not.) Besides being a little lost and chopping down many branches, we had a great time that I think anyone from a beginner to an advanced player would also have. The surroundings were very beautiful and in the background there were even snow-capped mountains (not usual for southern California!)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Oak grove

1    8/9/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: Delojah
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First time at this course technical not too short but somewhat confusing to navigate. I would not consider this course for a beginner because of the low trees, And drop-offs with thick shrubs. I almost lost my disc on two of the later holes but luckily recovered within 15 minutes once an 1/2 hour once.
Cons: This course is hot and dusty. Navigating the course was difficult due to lack of signage. Some tees you have to walk ahead to locate the basket.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with baskets not too far off the tee. Good crowd locals were nice was able to navigate with other disc golfers. Some idiot was throwing into my hole when I had a group of four in front of me as I was putting , where's the etiquette?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quintessential SoCal Course

5+    6/16/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: F. Howl
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: - natural Californian terrain of dense scrub oaks and other chaparral
- plenty of tight wooded holes requiring accuracy
- frequent pin rotation
- tucked away in an arroyo, with nearly no pedestrian traffic
Cons: - can get crazy crowded
-could use a few long holes
- bring a disc towel. Gets dusty.
- this course eats discs. Oak trees have a knack for holding on to em, and thick brush along several fairways.
- hate to say it cause it's my home course, but I agree with a few other reviewers here, that this course has a lot of a-holes. My most notable instance of douchery was someone trying to fight me cause he spilled his 40.
Other Thoughts: Print a map and cross your fingers that the place is empty.

 

1    10/11/2012   5/12/2013
Review By: donny vomit
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: History history history, the park is set amongst really cool old oak trees. Lots of different alternate holes and we played them all. Its like a little oasis in the middle of chaos.
Cons: Signage, they have a map at the ball diamond back stop but it really wasn't helpful at all. I used my iPhone to bring up a better map from the net. Hardly any grass but its its what it is.
Other Thoughts: Was in Cali in Oct so we had to make the pilgramage to oak grove .glad we did. Had fun time, not crowded, pretty backdrop of the mountains as we played some really cool shots. Overall glad we played here where it all began. I would recommend hooking up with a local as all the alternate holes that you really have to play can be hard to find as signage kinda sucks. Its a must play in the la area

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OG...tha OG course

1    12/23/2012   12/23/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 36  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/26/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -awesome scenery
-awesome locals (Thanks Adam, Mike...Chris, Frank, Cro, Tim, Ren)
-challenging, unique shots
-most tees are concrete hexagonal-shaped
-Highlight holes:
-hole 4: this one is tricky because according to locals, it used to be an open fairway before a storm knocked over one of the oak trees. I felt that the fallen oak tree made the hole that much more challenging and more interesting
-hole 4 (alternate): spider hole, a uniquely placed basket in the middle of a tree trunk with branches surrounding the basket. Must shoot from alternate tee pad (more or less a patch of dirt with a path going uphill)
-hole 5 (regular and alternate): from the normal tee pad a cool shot, but have the locals show you the "alternate" tee pad (which you can walk towards from the spider hole at the top of the hill of hole 4's alternate position). The alternate shot is easily one of the highlights of the entire course if not the best hole
-hole 14: another of the course's highlight holes. Shooting over the drink (or mucky muck...when I went the lake was semi dry and muddy). Also a kind of downhill "top of the world" type of throw, but you can also throw a big hyzer or anhyzer. I was surprised that some locals elect not to throw this hole. If you come here don't pansy out, you have to throw this hole in the name of Oak Grove.
-hole 17: This one has a double mando between two trees, with a third tree in between the two mando trees...a tricky, yet entertaining shot with a beautiful tree and rock lined fairway.
Cons: -lack of signage (no map, no reliable tee numbers, and lots of times no basket numbers either), a really really huge con
-difficult to navigate, especially without a map
-a couple tees were uneven cruddy rubber mats
Other Thoughts: It felt like I was experiencing a piece of history being able to play this course (1st permanent DG course ever in the world!). Super friendly locals was another great thing about Oak Grove. I felt that this place was a great mix of both distance and technical shots, but moreso technical shots. It helps to have both a forehand and backhand here. Must be able to throw straight shots to hit narrow gaps with low lying canopies and the ability to throw downhill on both holes 5 and 14. Midrange is very important here because many times you will hit a tree and need a good upshot. I never felt that a roller was necessary here, but that's not to say it couldn't be useful.
If this place had signs on each hole and better navigation, I'd give this place 3.75 or even a 4. But it gets 3.5 for the navigation issues and lack of hole information. Because the current course is not the original course, the numbers on the teepads do NOT correlate to which hole you are on necessarily, so keep that in mind. Baskets are old, some are missing the inner chains, but they do the job. Baskets sometimes are lacking hole numbers too. A quick fix would be to stencil the hole numbers on both teepads and baskets. Even some of the locals I played with had trouble keeping track of which hole we were on.
Overall a great course to play on, I'm glad that I completed the pilgrimage to the holy land of disc golf and if I'm ever in the area again I would not hesitate to play this course. Thanks again to the friendly locals who made this experience much more enjoyable!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The OG

2-4    7/8/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tough course for power players
Real secluded feeeling in some areas and great great foliage.
Good use of the area and a great mix of technical and a couple bombers you can let loose on.
Great use of dogleg rights/lefts
Nice locals
Cons: Dusty and Hot in the Summer
Very very tough to navigate if you've never played
Easy to lose a disc in nome nasty nasty brush
No shop or stand to get refreshments
no Bathrroms from what i remember
Other Thoughts: i love Oak Grove as i have a bad technical game and this course forces me to throw accurate. I love the secluded feeling and the scenery with the trees, yet i hate the spider webs you walk through getting an errant drive HAH. Many holes have multiple routes but very few are easier than the others.
If you find a local who's willing to show you the course you'll have a great time but bring water. I've heard there is poison oak but i havent shanked a drive bad enough to have a run in with it, but be prepared just in case.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great...but

5+    4/8/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 40  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Oldest course, great history!
-Plenty of shot variation, hyzer, anhyzer, a few rollers, a few holes to bomb it on.
-Nice atmosphere, plenty of friendly locals to point the way, guy sells used discs in the lot is also lost
and found.
-Not that busy the half dozen times Ive been out here. Great to get a round in with out too much waiting.
Cons: -People doing other activities, between soccer players, hikers, bikers, bird watchers, joggers, and today people on an Easter egg hunt you never know who is going to wander into a fairway. Always have to keep an eye out when teeing off.
-No signage, and confusing wrong numbers on the cement tees can lead to alot of confusion if you come here without a map or guide.
Other Thoughts: Between the history, the atmosphere and the course in general OG is an great place to play a round. Bring some water, and a map/local and you can have an awesome day.

Oh yeah and when birdwatchers stand 15 feet in front of a teepad staring into the trees with no clue of what is going on, don't worry they'll move eventually!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/1/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 10.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Where it all began!! If you live in SoCal or are in the area you have to make the pilgrimage to the worlds first disc golf course.

- Holes are short however technical holes with clearly defined fairways.

- All holes have multiple pin placements, which can really change the feel of the hole.

- Unique hexagonal tee pads.

- The course offers a good mix of hole layouts, you can't get away with a hyzer on every hole. And the distances are are varied enough to keep things interesting

- An excellent DG vibe. You can tell that the course is well cared for and has a strong local club presence.
Cons: - Navigation is really a pain for the first time. PRINT OUT THE MAP. Or better yet get a guide. It is a really fun course, however it can get frustrating because there are no tee signs and the pads all have the old numbers on them. This is by far the biggest con of the course and can be easily avoided if you come prepared.

- A lot of holes play really short, and mostly pretty flat.
Other Thoughts: This is a must see for the history alone. But on top of that it's a really fun course that's worth playing over and over. It serves a great place to take begginners but also run into a few pro's.

I absolutely love the tournament layout for this course. It totally changes the feel, adding some serious distance to the course, while maintaining the technical feel of the holes.

Hole 14 has a signature feel to it. My first time playing I didn't see the water below and parked it for an easy deuce. Since then, and realizing the water is there I haven't hit a deuce there in over 10 tries, hows that for sport psychology.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Oak Grove Where it all began!

1    6/29/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 217  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*History! As it states in the title, this is where it all began. The first disc golf course in the world and it happens to be in Pasadena, California. Established in 1975, this course has been redesigned multiple times over the years. However, the first basket hole can still be played on hole #10 when it is located in the short position.
*OG has unique and diverse terrain through old oaks and desert landscape, including a lake on hole D. Great use of what elevation they had.
*Short technical course w/ low tree canopies yet multiple approaches through medusa like branches toward the pin.
*Large, sturdy, hexagonal tee pads, with the exception of the rubber mats on holes C and D. Multiple pin positions on every hole.
*Good flow allowing for multiple stops at the parking lot if needed. Especially helpful on hot, congested days. Multiple bathroom areas although not easy to spot from the hole one.
*The alternate/temp "spider" hole that plays uphill into the center of a tree with what looks like spider legs blocking a heavily guarded basket.
*Strong local club that has pro/am weeklies as well as large annual tournaments.
*Challenging enough for all skill levels making the replay value high.

Favorite hole/s: #1, "Spider Hole", "Lake Hole D", #18 (third to last hole)

*Also hit an ace on the "local" filler hole which plays after the "spider hole", throwing from old tee 17 to basket 4. Fun little 100 foot downhill shot.
Cons:
*There are no tee signs or markings making navigation difficult for visitors. Tee pads also have the wrong number on many of them due to the course being redesigned multiple times over the years.
*The majority of holes on the course are less than 300 ft. w/ only two holes reaching near 400 ft. That doesn't bother me as much, especially considering it was built in 1975, but it may be for some.
*Lots of activities on the grass field near the first three holes, including soccer, football, or summer camp activities. Fortunately, they seem to comingle with the disc golfers. Just be courteous.
*No pro shop like Sylmar where players can get food, discs, and merchandise. However, there is an old school disc golfer named GW who runs the AM weeklies who sells club cfr discs at a reasonable price. He is a classic OG original and can tell you all about its history.
*Older mixed baskets that have seen better days due to heavy traffic. It was cool though to see the Iron Maiden near hole #10.

Least Favorite hole/s: #8, #9, #13
Other Thoughts:
*Being a California native, the thought of not playing the world's first disc golf course would be both tragic and sad. After 11 years of playing I finally had my chance! Learning on De LaVeaga, and although on the opposite side of the state, I felt at peace as if I were back home. Due to the courses deep roots, the people who play OG are as diverse as the course. The original "good ol' boys "mixed in with the generation X and beyond. And yet... it seems to work.

*Special shot out to Snappyfingers, and HeizerSoze from dgcr for showing me around this magical place. It just wouldn't have been the same if I had played solo, and to play with people who were so passionate about OG was perfect!

**A must play if in the greater LA area**

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center