Arden, NC 
Lake Julian NT DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #7 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 371ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
One of my new favorites

5+    11/25/2017   12/5/2017
Review By: Geodisc25
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has become one of my new favorites, with water hazards in play on at least 3 holes, elevation changes throughout and a good variety of shots whether left hander or right. I am really in love with holes 5,7, 17 and 18. 5 is a fun difficulty shot across the " bayou" , choose your disc carefully. 18 ends the round with an awesome straight downhill shot with the lake behind it. There is a good mix of short and longer shots to keep the game interesting. This course now features a full 18 holes ( some earlier reviews only include 9). This course is a fun addition to the WNC disc scene along with Richmond hill , Sandhill and Jackson park.
Check this one out for fun throws and pretty views. This course is mostly wooded so you don't feel like you are playing at a big public park. The lake is beautiful.
Cons: I have lost a few discs here due to water hazards and dense growth when OB. Got to walk a little bit from hole 18 back to your car.
Got confused with the layout first time I played, map on here is for the old 9 hole layout.
Hole 12 and 5 seem to be a disc eaters in the warmer months.
buy a floating disc, those tree ricochets can get ya.
Other Thoughts: one of my new favorites., great location near arden/ south Asheville, plenty of good food/ drink choices near by. Course is in the section of the park that is smaller and less crowded. access of hwy 25 not long shoals rd.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

New 9 added!

2-4    5/27/2017   6/6/2017
Review By: goodeness
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Only played twice. Challenging course with tight holes, holes over water (choose your disc wisely!) and wide open longer holes.

-all 18 holes have newly layed concrete tee boxes.
-hole 18 is a beautiful downhill hole to the lake. Great photo op.
Cons: The poison ivy on this course literally wants to eat your soul. Wear pants. Maybe even 3 pairs of pants and layers of socks.
Other Thoughts: Great course, best played early on the weekend to avoid crowds. Wednesday nights it hosts a local league. I'd assume playing that night is a bad idea unless you are in the league.

This website should update the stats. It has 18 stand alone holes now.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice Location, needs some Work

1    6/14/2015   5/3/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 108  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice nine hole layout in an otherwise unused part of this park.
Good new Discatcher baskets.
Good mix of wooded holes and open holes.
Multiple tees on most holes and multiple basket postions on several holes.
Restrooms at parking area.
Cons: Natural surface tees, some of these were a little rough. Better tees needed for the open holes.
Very little signage on the tees and a couple of tough navigations (especially from #3 to #4 tee, and I had a map!).
For the most part, the roughs were pretty rough, so could use some more clearing.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course for this side of town. A ways from Richmond Hill so it would give you a chance to get some holes in if you are limited on time.
The wooded holes are mostly cleared but the fairways can be a little tight. The open holes play mainly in powerline ROWs.
Nice nail biter of a finishing hole, rather short, but the approach is downhill with a small section of the lake directly behind the basket. Could make an interesting finishing hole during competition.
A little more clearing as the course breaks in, and possibly another nine, near the signature Lake Julian and this would be a really good course.

Looks like Lake Julian is the home of the Asheville Rowing Club. A chance to watch some strokes, after getting yours in.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Rugged and fun

1    8/1/2015   8/8/2015
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 257  Reviewed: 251  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Julian NT is an enjoyable, challenging 9-hole layout. If you overlook, or get used to, the confusing layout and navigation, you'll be in for a treat here.
- Excellent nine-hole course with good variety. This is not your typical family-friendly, neighborhood park nine-holer. This is a man's 9-hole course. I finished playing #9, having played with conservatively and avoided the water, and was wanting to move on to the back 9. Some nine-holers feel like they should only be nine holes, others feel like they're an 18-hole layout cut in half. This feels like the latter.
- There's a good variety in the degree of challenges this course offers. The first two holes are heavily wooded, mid-range layouts - 283 feet for #1, 250 feet for #2. That's followed by my favorite hole on the course, the long, dogleg right, par 4 - 519 feet from the longs, 470 from the shorts. Land your tee shot in the grass around the bend and you'll have a short to mid-range approach shot. Two solid shots and you'll be putting for an easy three. The hole slopes down towards the road, so if you sail long you bring penalty strokes into play.
- This course offers some good risk/reward layouts. The four heavily wooded holes (#1, 2, 5 & 6) all offer birdie chances while also bringing in higher scores if you hit a tree or get into the thicker rough. #5 & 6 really give you a chance to park your disc close to the basket. Any of these four holes can be an easy 2 or a frustrating 4 if you avoid or smack a tree.
- The biggest risk/reward hole on the course is the closing hole, #9. The hole is 221 feet from the longs, 170 from the short tee, playing downhill with the basket less than 30 feet from the lake. Oh, and there's nothing (trees, shrubs, etc.) between the basket and the water so anything that sails long is getting wet. Take the water out of play and this hole will be an easy 2. With the water, players like me, who aren't wanting to risk a lost disc, will play tee shots 30 feet short to ensure an easy 3 at the worst.
- This is a mid-level to advanced nine-hole layout. Most nine-holers are beginner layouts so it is a nice change of pace. There are plenty of easy courses in the Asheville area that casual players can play (Enka, Black Mountain, etc.), so it's nice to have another solid layout, even if it is only nine holes.
Cons: Even though this is a Nature Trail course, there is none of the NT trademarks at this course. You don't get the informative tee signs, big kiosk or NT-themed scorecards. Instead, this just feels like a rugged course built by locals who stopped working on it once the baskets were in.
- Course is a pain to navigate for first timers. Once you park, there's a path that leads immediately to a tee pad. One problem. That's the tee for #3. Even if you follow the directions listed on this site, as I did, when you do get to the tee for #1, there's no way of knowing because there are no tee signs and/or arrows pointing you in the right direction. The only clear indication you are on #1 is if you walk to the basket, you'll see the #1 on it. After that, the next hardest transition is going from #3's basket to #4 tee. It's a counter-intuitive transition as you walk partially back up #3's fairway to get to a very narrow path through the rough to get to #4's tee.
- Adding to the lack of tee signs is the lack of consistent tee pads. Some holes have clear tee pads - frames, colored markers or carpet tees - others just appear to be where the grass has faded. On some holes the blue and white markers are both visible (for long and short tees); others only one or none. Then you've got holes where the long and short layouts share the tee, but you're throwing to different baskets - 5A & 5B; 7A & 7B. On several holes I never knew if I was throwing from the long or short tee, I was just throwing from the dirt patch. I also couldn't find many of the short tees, as I try to get a sense of the different layouts/looks you get from the different tees.
- No trashcans or benches on this course. And as such, there was some trash throughout the course. It's obviously frustrating that people can't pack out there trash during a 45-minute (at most round) round. There are trash cans back in the parking lot so there is no excuse for littering.
Other Thoughts: Once I figured out what was going on with this layout, I enjoyed Lake Julian a lot. The strategy was basically to look for something that appeared to be the tee area, and throw from there, all logic aside.
- This would make a great 18-hole layout. Were this a full 18, it'd give Asheville an awesome compliment to Richmond Hill. The area is lacking a great secondary 18-hole layout unless you want to drive up to Mars Hill or out towards Waynesville.
- I thought there was a good mix of challenging, 'be satisfied with a 3' holes and be aggressive, birdie-able ones. I carded a couple birdies and had a couple more birdie putts during my round, taking advantage of the easier layouts.
- It was a little surprising how ordinary this entire park was considering the amazing scenery and potential being on Lake Julian. I would have thought this park would be much more appreciated and offer more amenities, but it was very pedestrian. Maybe that means the disc golf course can take over more of the land and add 9 more holes.
- This was an above average 9-holer for me. It's a very good layout. Fine tune some of the problems - tee pads and signage - and this course will be even better. As it stands, unless you're wanting to drive 20 - 30 minutes to Mars Hill, Brevard College or Waynesville, this is probably the second best challenge you'll get in the Asheville area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I don't like it as much as of 2017

1    2/16/2015   2/16/2015
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 115  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well, lookie here. There was enough land all along to create an 18 holer. Lake Julian was augmented into an18 holer, and ten of the holes are new.

-Concrete pads on most holes, last time I was up here they were carpet, so great work on the pads here. Navigation isn't too difficult either since most transitions from hole to hole are short.

-The volunteers did a good job planning dual pin positions as well. The pins were in the longs when I played here.

-There were two of the new holes that I really liked. #5 is a great hole. It's only like 240', but it's very difficult. You have the option of going through a small gap and over the lake with a mid or putter. Or you could throw a big spike hyzer over a few trees. This hole needs some work done, as there are drag piles and the less risky option has some over head branches that need to be cut. But this hole has the potential to be the best. Another new hole I loved was #12. It's a straight longish hole (like 500') that plays primarily in the woods but allows a huge drive. I think it's a par 4, but a three is pretty simple to get on this one.

-Ends well with a great downhill putter shot. Gives a great view of the lake. The first three holes are great too as well as the last three.
Cons: -It's REALLY rough. And some of the new holes are just mediocre at best. The first three holes are all good and the new fourth and fifth hole is good as well. But then you get to hole 6..........

#6 plays next to the lake the whole way. It's to the right and the fairway is less than 10' wide. So practically if you hit a tree and go right, you are in the drink. Now this is where it gets really bad. The designers thought it would be a brilliant idea to put an OB rope that cannot be seen from the pad. So I was like "Okay! I'll just aim for that tree on the right and throw at the hyzer line." Annnnnnddd, I'm OB.

I think the designers were listening to Alesana on their ipods and were inspired by sadistic and cruel ideas. "Oh Annabel! I shall seek revenge! How does the dagger feel now when I design a terrible hole?"

#8: No fairway. None at all. This is the shortest hole on the course but it will never be aced. I can pretty much guarantee that. The tee-pad is a double so it gives the option of throwing a backhand roller or a forehand roller that will be sabotaged by a tree. It's undeniably stupid. Needs to open up.

#10: This one has potential. To the short pin, this hole is straight and more manageable. The long pin basically requires your disc to follow the fairway so perfectly or you catch a bad kick and fly straight off the fairway. Reminded me of rainbow road on Mario Kart Wii. That course where it's practically impossible to not fall off on. But on this hole, Lakitu won't be rescuing you when you get knocked off the fairway.

-#11: Not only is the tee-pad not marked, but it plays on a sloping hill that may be a result of mass wasting I dunno. But the line to the basket is extremely tight and if you don't hit it perfectly, you'll roll down the hill and onto another fairway.

#13: The fairway is an "S-Curve." Another hole that isn't BAD, just needs to be opened up. Cause you can't throw an S curve without some space.

-Few drag piles and some overgrowth here and there. And in most spots you can't pitch out and save par like you can at most courses.
Other Thoughts: -I hope it'll get better from here because with the layout, this course has what it takes to be a tourney course. I'm glad it was extended to 18 holes, but I'm sorely disappointed with a few of the newly added holes. They are designed to where your disc must follow the fairway, and the fairway is designed where discs do not fly at that line. But holes such as #3, #5, #12, #17 and #18 cross out the bad holes, making this an okay course. But it could be much better than this.

-The ideas for OB are just unnatural and weird, like the other courses in the area. They just don't make any sense. I loved the design for #5 so much to where I made the "island green" but I hope that's not serious. Establish some drop zones and stop making it a penalty when you go to the left of a fairway (ahem #6.) After playing hole 6 I was like "Oh great, WNC screwed this up AGAIN." But playing hole 7, I had some hope renewed only for it to be struck down again on hole 8. Then it came back a little on hole 9. But after 11 I was ready to quit and luckily it got significantly better.

-If you have only played the old layout, then holes 1-3 are the same. The old holes 4-7 are now #14-17, and the old #9 is now #18.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable course, but confusing documentation

1    11/29/2014   12/4/2014
Review By: Zepfanman
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2015
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained. Challenging shots, mostly wooded, well designed. Holes 3 and 7 appear to be the longest, both are mostly open (along a large power line alley). Had good weather the one time I played (11/29/14) and the course looked beautiful. Two tees on almost every hole and a few with multiple pins.
Cons: This course is only about a year old and it appears to be going through early growing pains. I'd give the course itself at least a 3.5 if the signage, map, and par info (no distances listed anywhere) were updated. Apparently, there are 12 HOLES NOW, although I did not have a chance to explore after playing the first 9.

This part of the park is a little scary - large graffiti on outer walls of (locked) bathrooms the Saturday we played. Park entrance hut looked like someone had crashed into it. The course itself, though, is very pretty.
Other Thoughts: Played all par 3's (only hole 3 is listed as 4), but impossible to determine proper pars without signage. Not sure which pin placements DGCR website distances are referring to. I was visiting from out of town, so it was difficult to read the course on a first-visit; seems like a great place to play if you're more familiar with the layout and course construction progress (new pins and holes).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Its fine for being close by...

2-4    10/7/2014   10/8/2014
Review By: Jackattack828
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Its nearby my house and school. Its short. Has a good mix of trees and woodland to fields. I like hole #9 with the lake behind it. Good course for beginners. Dont lose discs easily. Easily find the next hole.
Cons: With it was an 18 holer. Crappy tee-boxes. Gets really really muddy quickly. Feel like stuff would be robbed. Feel like they tried to just put a course in there to get more people to use that side of Lake Julian. More Cons than Pros. No signs or maps/ pars/ distance. Hard to find the teebox for 4 (have to walk backwards), also 7 is a weird hole with 7A, 7B, 7C and 7D. Have to walk backwards to get to the #8 hole tee.
Other Thoughts: I like going there to practice but its not a good course. Its good for beginners.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of land

5+    7/29/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: Patton82
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course with extensive pressure to be more accurate! Tight, wooded throws on half, nice rolling open throws on half. Great pin placement on each basket.
Cons: No signs of footage/par; poor tee-boxes
Other Thoughts: Love playing this course, don't play it well, but the callenge of getting more accurate with my drives keeps me coming back to this one!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great local 9 hole course

1    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: ijohnj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice simple layout
Mix of wooded and open shots
Convenience
Cons: Tee pads not installed
No signs or distances yet
Other Thoughts: I heard about this new course recently and wanted to check it out. Moving to Hendersonville from Charlotte, I was surprised by the lack of course options in the Asheville area. Richmond Hill is stellar but there are no other legit courses nearby. This little 9 hole course was a breath of fresh air. 4 holes are very open and 5 are heavily wooded. This combined with the mixture of shots provide a nice quick round. No holes are extremely long but a few are probably pushing 300.' The finish throwing right at the lake is a nice touch. Park near the bathrooms and the first hole hugs the road you just drove in on. Park only open 8am-8pm

Give this one a try, especially if you live south of Asheville.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Under Construction (i hope)

1    7/16/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: madcow
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Baskets are nice
Some neat shots
lake
fairways seem to be woodchipped
Cons: no next tee signs
course does not follow map
hard to find tees/nonexistent
Other Thoughts: Honestly, im not even sure how to rate this course. Holes 4 thru 12 arent even correct on the map. You have to kinda walk all over to find anything. When its finished im sure it will be a nice 2.5/3 rated course to hit up when bored. Till them i want to give it a 0 - 1, so ill be fair and give it a 1.5.... pending.

Im hoping this is because the course is under construction. I ended up giving up trying to find hole 10 and just went home.

Hole 1 is NOT by a gazeboo. It is by a PAVILLION haha. We drove around 3 times trying to find this gazeboo... maybe the south has a different definition of one than us northerners... i dunno.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.