Amherst, MA 
Orchard Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: bgiggey Hole #1
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Bring a brush hog, machete and extra discs

1    8/16/2017   8/16/2017
Review By: dwest
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Now with nice tee signs and indicators to most of the next holes.
- Good baskets
- Distances and layouts are beginner friendly.
Cons: - Should be beginner friendly, but lack of cutting back the high grass and thick underbrush in the summer at the edges means that this free course could cost you a couple of discs each time you play
- Clusters of these trees in the middle of holes are fine, but not here because you need a machete to get to your disc
- Still no tee pads, but I think they're overrated. I'd much rather have the 4' brush brush hogged back an additional 15 feet from each fairway.
Other Thoughts: Overall not a bad course other than the high possibility of losing a disc at every single hole.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Orchard Hill on Umass Campus

5+    7/16/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: JBdiscgolf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good for beginners
-Solid place for practing putting and approach for advanced players
-Relaxing walk through a nice park on Umass campus
-A couple ace run shots
-Good variety of shots
Cons: -Easy to lose disc in high grass on most shots
-Only 9 holes
-Grass tees
Other Thoughts: -Hope it becomes 18 because these 9 are pretty basic

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

pretty good for a 9 hole

1    9/11/2016   9/11/2016
Review By: TXDiscDude
Played: 99  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cut fairways
Low traffic
Coeds sun bathing
This course was a pretty cool little 9 hole.
Has 18 hole course type wooded shots, nice open shots.
Good for beginner or medium level players.
Signs at every hole with relevant info
Cons: No benches on course
Dirt tee pads
Other Thoughts: Luckily I played on a Sunday... so parking was not a problem, but I see how it could be a problem.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Convenient

5+    3/24/2016   3/26/2016
Review By: nfraz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Reasonably easy for all players
Some fun holes
Good for beginners
Hole 5 is a good time
Ace run on 6
Solid baskets
Cons: Can get boring for experienced players
Awful signage
Mediocre tees
Other Thoughts: This course is extremely convenient for students. Follow a map and you'll find all of the tees and baskets, basically just look where the dirt is kicked up, and you're on the tee. Excellent baskets, some are knocked out of place (probably by drunk students). This course is a great place to learn how to play or teach someone else to play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

For a minute, man

1    3/18/2016   3/18/2016
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 188  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a state that has more than a few gorgeous college campuses, this one - ahem - isn't at the top of the list. Driving through campus, I was worried about what this course might look like, but I was pleasantly surprised to find it tucked away in the secluded orchards in the corner of campus. It's actually a very nice setting.

There are some good elevation changes, and a few of the holes have some interesting design. Hole 7 is the best, an uphill drive that requires negotiating some early trees. Holes 4 and 8 are good, and hole 6 is a sharp dogleg that makes you think whether you want to lay up at the mouth of the dog leg or try to bomb a hyzer over the top.
Cons: pads, and I was just searching for places where the grass was rutted out.

No tee signs.

A lot of the holes were ho hum. Hole 1 is wide open. Hole 6, at 160 feet, is too short. Navigation was more difficult than it should have been for a course this short.
Other Thoughts: There is some potential here with the terrain, but clear marking of the tee areas and some rubber pads are needed. Western Massachusetts doesn't have the wealth of courses that the middle of the state does, but there are still better options within 20-30 minutes of here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/22/2014   12/22/2014
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 116  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice 9 hole college course. There is plenty of variety in distances. The course is well kept and clean. There are some challenging fairways and some rolling small hills. The course was designed well.

Other Pros:

-nice DISCatchers
-servicable natural tees
-water near play
-set away from other college events
Cons: A full 18 holes would be really nice. Because its on campus, parking can be an issue. The rough is really rough with thick thorns.

Other Cons:

-missing tee signs (made navigation tougher)
-map needed for 1st timers
Other Thoughts: I parked near hole #3 as it was the easiest spot for me to find. The course was fun but since there isn't another course too close it wasn't really worth the trip. If the course was a full 18 then I would take that comment back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid 9 holes

5+    9/1/2016   8/28/2013
Review By: gabereif
Played: 41  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As of 2016, permanent signs have been installed and mowing has drastically improved relative to previous summers. I bumped my rating up to a 2.5!

-Free
-Easy parking (park by Hole 6 during business hours if you don't have a UMass parking permit)
-Baskets in great shape
-The course design is great. There is a nice variety of holes (up and down hill, dog legs, obstacles, hyzer bombs, etc.).
-Big range in difficulty of holes. 1, 3, and 6 are ace runs. 4 and 7 are challenging. 2, 5, 8 and 9 aren't too hard or easy.
-Crazy blackberries and apples for public picking in the summer
-Nice views
-Great use of previously under-utilized land
Cons: -The rough gets really rough in the summer with poison ivy, thorns, thick grasses, and lots of trees. It's easy to lose discs or get poison ivy trying to recover them.
-Only 9 holes
-A couple long-ish walks between holes
-This course is too easy for advanced players
-Most holes favor RHBH/LHFH throwers (1, 2, 4, 7)
Other Thoughts: The fact that there are no other courses around makes it an extremely valuable resource for disc golfers in town. The layout of the holes is beginner-friendly, but the rough is not. All the thorns and poison ivy and thick rough are the biggest drawback of this course. I know many newcomers who have lost discs. I've lost at least 4 (although I have played 200+ rounds). The course design is fantastic, with several holes having multiple drives based on your level of ability. 2 offers a big blind hyzer spike for those who can throw 275', while newbies have to go around the big bush in the middle. On 5, a 275' hyzer bomb gets you over a whole mess of trees, while those with weaker arms are presented with a nice dog leg right. Hopefully this course gets the improvements it deserves (9 more holes, permanent signage and tee boxes)!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Make it 18!

2-4    7/12/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: Basshunter
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice course when it has been recently mowed. When there are tee markers, they are great. Nice mix of hole types and a great beginner course while still offering enough variety to keep better players interested. Baskets are in great condition, the future of this being 18 is exciting. For locals, this could be an amazing resource. As a UMass alum and a lifelong resident of the area, I hope they will take it to 18 and foster the growth of disc golf in the Valley
Cons: No tee markers 1-5. No really clear route from 4th hole to 5th tee. Tee boxes are marginal, at best. For rec playing though, i'm nitpicking, I thoroughly enjoy the course.
Other Thoughts: Make it 18 and it will be one of the better western Mass DGCs

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course!

2-4    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: maddymiata
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice layout of holes. well marked trails to next tee box. a few holes have very nice views of the surrounding hills. brand new pole holes. well mowed and groomed. Plays fairly quickly.
Cons: need for future tee pads and better signage. some signs are already missing. The few remaining do help with the hole layout.
Other Thoughts: Sign in parking lot directing players to first tee. (Go toward the cell tower.) Hoping this will get the thumbs up for 18 holes. An alternative is two different tee boxes at different length and angles to give you a slightly different "back" nine.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Work in progress

2-4    4/15/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: jjr007
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice new baskets, interesting layout.
Cons: Thorny brush lining a fair amount of the holes.
They need to remove the barbed wire topped double fences along the left side of hole four. I got trapped between the fences, and had the dickens of a time getting to my disc.
Lack of decent tee boxes (being so new, I expect this will be gradually be addressed.)
Other Thoughts: I am hoping that the students, and public, get behind this course, and play it often, so that the University decides to go ahead with the additional 9 holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center