Kettering, OH 
Indian Riffle Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #16 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Could use a makeover

5+    4/29/2018   4/30/2018
Review By: GoobyPls
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a nice multi-use park. The park itself is very well-maintained, and grass is cut frequently. There are a mix of distances, and even the open holes require a little line-shaping (with one exception-see cons below).

The worst of the brush has been removed from the woods on hole 10 & 11, making disc recovery much easier. It also makes it easier to see runners & other players walking backward up the fairway (see below).

There's a very family-friendly environment here. This would be a great place to teach the game to kids.

A few port-a-johns are scattered out through the course, and there are even a couple of water fountains (which is uncommon in this area).

There's a nice open field to warm up on located by hole 2 (which is where most people start).

Tee pads are in very good condition.
Cons: Note here that I'm reviewing this course as it currently exists. From what I understand, this course is being partially redesigned and the club hopes to have it updated in 2018. I'll come back and update this review when they do.

A new housing development forced the removal of holes 6-9, in the wooded section of the course. This hurt the course in multiple ways. There was already a long walk from 5 to 6. Now that walk is about a half-mile, and requires crossing a youth soccer field, then backward through hole 11's AND hole 10's fairways to the hole 10 tee. This can be a safety issue if people are playing these holes at the time. Related, hole 10's fairway is a running trail used by high school cross-country teams; watch for them before teeing off.

Hole 17 is a silly 150' putter shot with nothing between the tee and basket but flat ground and grass. Worse still, it's right between two youth baseball fields and can't be played when they're being used.

The baskets here have clearly seen better days. There are lots of loose-hanging, rusty chains and tilted cages on these. I believe these are set to be replaced when the course is redesigned, though.

Not many benches to use if there's a backup on a hole.

Signs could stand to be replaced and some are missing altogether. Most have a screw going right through the hole's distance number. Download a scorecard from DGCR if you haven't played it before.

This course holds water worse than most in the area, especially on holes 11, 12, and worst of all, 18.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played, and was popular in the area until recently. As designed it was good, but the removal of holes 6-9 really hurt it. It could really use an overhaul (which may be in the works from what I understand). As-is, it's definitely not worth going out of your way for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fatal Mistakes By The Designer

1    3/26/2018   3/28/2018
Review By: JerrodStevens
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Holes through the woods are fun
-Hole 16, where a large sledding hill comes into play, is an interesting but fun challenge
-The teepads are surprisingly nice, considering their age
Cons: I could imagine that this course was great back in its heyday. Unfortunately, this is NOT its heyday.
-Due to the construction of a new suburban neighborhood, holes 6, 7, and 8 were removed
-A very long walk from 5 to 6. The walk is over half a mile, and on the teepad of hole 5 it only shows you the direction to go to find the hole, not that it is over half a mile away, and across a parking lot. Without the help of a reviewer on DGCR, I would have never thought that the hole would be that far away and across a senior center parking lot
-Holes are not in good condition
Other Thoughts: I feel that this course has potential, if they were to completely redesign it. The park has a very nice pond and sledding hill, which could add some unique holes, as few courses in Ohio utilize water features. Holes 1-5 are solid, and 18 is fun as well. If they made the course start at the 6th hole across the parking lot, and finish where the 5th is, I think this course could be very good. Unfortunately, as of right now, I do not believe there are any plans to renovate the course, and therefore it is unplayable and should be avoided

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Used to be better

5+    8/13/2016   8/13/2016
Review By: Xelto
Played: 26  Reviewed: 21
This review was updated on 12/15/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly nice setting.
Mix of open and technical
Cons: Busy park
Recent "fixes" made the course worse
Showing its age; could use a shutdown and rebuild
Other Thoughts: (The original review, pre-2015) Before I begin, my primary judging criteria for a course is: how far is it worth driving to get to this place? And the answer for this one is, only if you're local and looking for some variety, but it does fine for that.

This course has three distinct sections: city park (moderate trees), wooded (technical), and mostly open. It would have been nice if they had mixed it up better, but they had to use what they had. Most of the holes are decent, but not amazing. Course signage is spotty, due to the age of the course, so printing out a course map is a good idea.

They rerouted holes 5, 16, 17, and 18 to avoid conflict with pedestrians and water... the new 18 isn't bad, but 17 is all of 100', no obstacles. 16 was simply not allowed to be played the last time I was there, which means that there is essentially no elevation in the course now. 5 is now OK, but not as good as it was.

For some reason, hole 1 starts away from all the parking lots. Most people start at either 2, 3, or 6, depending on where they park. There's a long walk from 5 to 6.

Because of its age, the course seriously needs to be taken down and rebuilt. If they want to avoid conflict with the busy areas, they could probably reroute a good portion of the course through the area that's currently unused in the back part, by the woods.


Late 2017 edit: due to more changes to the course, I'm downgrading my rating. The course used to be a decent but not amazing place to come, but it's been changed over the last few years, and not for the better; keep this in mind when reading reviews from 2015 or before.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  my favorite leisure course in Dayton

1    10/8/2014   2/3/2015
Review By: DonWm62
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 35.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a nice combination of wood shots and open shots. It has a little bit of difficulty to it but most holes are beginner rated. Some of the shots you cannot see the basket so it's kind of a crap shoot to get a decent shot but most of the time you get a decent shot anyhow. I like the wood shots because they are somewhat challenging. Open shots are a combination of short and too easy or long and decent. not a super challenging course but fun for just an afternoon out.
Cons: I agree with the other commentators that the first hole should actually be whole number 2. It makes a lot more sense because it's right off the parking lot. The walk to hole 6 is hard to find the first time and is a good trek across the park. Some guys just come and just play through the woods from 6 through 10 just for practice and to get a couple throws in....
Other Thoughts: t's kind of a nice course when you're playing with others for some kicks and giggles. It's not for heavy competition but more just for goofing around.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for all skill levels

5+    7/25/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: JDS3105
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
This review was updated on 4/11/2015
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes and shot opportunities, good course for beginners, decent tee pads and hole signs, course layout gives you a good workout.
Cons: Often crowded, wooded holes can be muddy after rain, trees could use a trim, course layout can be confusing for a first time player. Fall time, there are squirrels everywhere and will try to take your discs(not joking). Bugs can be bad on humid days on holes 8-10.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course my wife and I played. Overall, I like playing there. If you play in the morning there aren't a lot of people on the course. I'd avoid playing on Friday evenings. There's a good chance you will get behind a group of 6+ that smoke, are rude, and play slow. IMO, smoking shouldn't be allowed. Holes 1-5 you need to be mindful of pedestrians. The potential to loose discs is definitely there. The course gets boring after you've played it a few times. Once you've played Fairborn or Sycamore, chances are you won't play here much.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/13/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Bachmann_3
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes, a lot of short but technical ace opportunities.
A lot of amenities, picnic tables and water fountains.
Some challenging OB and longer holes.
Good beginner course or sub-par course for better players
Players looking to get a quick round in can shoot through the easy wooded holes and end up in the parking lot in less than 30 minutes.
Cons: Usually crowded, especially with slow moving beginner players, and normal park goers near the baseball diamonds.
Very long walk in between holes 5 and 6 (Players generally start on hole 6 to avoid a long walk in the middle of the round.)
Tall grass on #6 and #18
Recent new teepads on #17 and #18 took away from originality of the course and eliminated water hazards.
Other Thoughts: Indian RIffle Park, or The Kettering Rec Center as it is more commonly referred to, is my home course. Being less than 5 minutes from my house, this is the first course I played and have played it over 100 times. However, if it wasn't my home course I would rarely play it. Heavy park usage from little leaguers and track and field runners make this course unplayable many times during the peak hours of late afternoon in the summer. The layout change last year really took away from the beauty of the course and the risk reward water holes. It is constantly water logged and muddy and receives a lot of traffic. This course is generally a sub-par course for me but can difficulty when the wind is blowing, especially on the open holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Riffle DGC

5+    10/23/2013   3/23/2014
Review By: Donthavefun3
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.2 Years
Pros: Decent course for beginners. Good mix of wooded and open holes. Lots of shade.
Cons: You may want to play this course in the summer. There is some serious drainage issues on a few of the wooded holes. I wouldn't recommend playing this one after a rainy day either due to the drainage issues. This course used to be better before they changed a few holes around. The water no longer plays at all, and the elevation changes were reduced by half.

 Good, Solid Rec Course

5+    3/10/2014   3/12/2014
Review By: mrclc
Played: 355  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "The Riff" is a park course with some creative design elements that generally take good advantage of the available land to provide a solid, if unspectacular playing experience. Beginning players can experience both long, open holes and wooded, technical holes without being penalized too harshly for missed shots. Holes #1-5 play around a playground in an area with mature trees. Holes #6-12 play in the woods. Holes #13-18 play in an open area with very few trees. Elevation comes into play on a short, blind uphill hole (#9) and a basket on the sloping summit of a sledding hill (#16).

Each tee consists of a single concrete pad, all of which are decent-sized and in good repair, and hole diagram tee sign, most of which are readable, accurate, and in good repair. Holes play to older, occasionally rough-looking baskets, but none are actively damaged, and the catching ability is still pretty good.

Underbrush is managed quite well, and it's rare that a throw from the rough will result in a sting or scratch.
Cons: The routing is probably the biggest gripe here, as it can be confusing for a first-time player, and remains obnoxious for veterans. The course often seems shoehorned in amongst other park activities and features a couple of long walks, most notably between #5 and #6 where golfers have to traverse the entire length of the park, cutting across a road and two busy parking lots. Starting play at #6 and ending at #5 alleviates some of this pain (see other thoughts), but you're going to have to walk regardless if you want to play all 18. This type of open-ended U-shaped (or C-shaped in the case of Indian Riffle) routing works for smaller parks, but not for the massive park complex here.

The difficulty level is excellent for beginners and rec players, but can get tiresome in a hurry for higher levels looking for a challenge. Most players can avoid the mature trees with ease on the wooded holes, and the open holes leave a great deal of room for error.

Indian Riffle's other big problem is the mud. After any precipitation, most greens turn into a sludgy mudpit that gets discs and shoes nasty in a hurry. This is especially noticeable in the spring with the combination of rain and snow melt. Apart from most greens, other troublesome mud areas include the walk to #8, the #9 tee, and the #12 tee. If it's been wet at all, you'll want to bring extra shoes to play in.

EDIT 5/12/15: Park maintenance has removed a number of trees from the area that houses holes 1-5, possibly due to the Emerald Ash Borer. Regardless of why, the removal has made these holes significantly less challenging/fun/interesting. As a result, I've lowered my score from 3.0 to 2.5.
Other Thoughts: On the whole, the park is very well-maintained, but fairly high-use. Even on days where there may not be many fellow golfers, it's not uncommon to wait on tee pads for other park users. I never played the original design, but apparently holes #5, 17, & 18 have been modified in recent years to address some safety concerns associated with the high concentration of other patrons. You'll always want to be alert when throwing, especially on the playground and open holes.

PROTIPS: Many of the locals (myself included) play the routing 6-18, 1-5. It doesn't make for a spectacular finish golf-wise, but it leaves the long walk to the other side of the park for post-round, rather than mid-round. As you approach the Kettering Rec Center at the end of Glengarry, take a right into the parking lot and park at the furthest point from the building by the hole 6 tee.

In an effort to make #17 more interesting, many golfers will throw from the top of the hill to the pin below rather than using the concrete tee pad at the foot of the hill. As you face the #16 basket with your back to the #16 tee, look beyond and slightly left for a worn-out patch of earth. This is the guerrilla alt #17 tee. Take extra care in watching for other park patrons when executing this tee shot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Park 7, Disc Golf 3

2-4    5/19/2013   5/20/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 312  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Riffle Park is a wonderful community attraction, ranging widely alongside a school, a Rec Center, and an Arts center, that features a water park, playgrounds, sports fields, beautiful park shelters, a lake, and numerous walking paths. The park goes from mature and stately trees to open fields to woods, and is a busy, well-enjoyed feature in Kettering, Ohio. The disc golf course here is incorporated around the other activities, usually steering clear of them, which makes for an, er, 'interesting' layout. Three of the holes were redone between my two visits here (June, 2012 and May, 2013) in order to separate the flying discs from the pedestrians who stroll along the path by the lake.

Hole 5 has been shortened as the basket is now to the right, and not near the pond/path. #17 has been repositioned at the foot of the mound, and is a short ace run alongside the little ball field, #18 was moved from pond side to the woods behind the two bigger ball fields, finishing at its original basket position through a break in the wood line, and leads nicely back to hole 1.

The course itself has adequately sized, level, concrete tee pads, DGA baskets (oddly in better repair and relatively less rusty in the woods than those out in the open), and variable signage that probably needs updating and re-measuring for hole lengths, now that there have been some changes.

The course seems to slightly favor hyzer lines (for rhbh throwers), but has a little variety, and uses the elevation available fairly well, particularly in the woods, and up on the mound on #16. There is variety here in that you have to play Park-style, as well as open shots and woods/technical lines as you go around. The course lengths are geared toward Recreational to Intermediate arms, with only three holes over 350'.
Cons: The course essentially runs around the perimeter of the park, which means there are some long walks between holes. The one ridiculously LONG walk between the #5 basket and the #6 tee means that, even if you parked on the Rec Center side, you'll have nearly a half mile of your circuit that is just walking, and NOT engaged playing disc golf.

The changed holes do increase safety for park patrons, but eliminate what were a couple of waterside shots that formerly added that gut-check challenge (but I guess the other plus is that it takes your discs away from the duck- and goose-check challenge, too!)

There are no benches on the disc golf course, despite it probably being a good two mile loop to walk. There is no sign at the #6 basket (which might be a logical place to start, if they ever wanted to re-number the holes). There are three or four trash cans on the course, but I thought it odd to see one of them essentially IN the #7 fairway. I suspect that means there are hiking trails used through the woods, so it is important that all disc golfers be on the lookout for other park patrons at ALL times at Indian Riffle.
Other Thoughts: This a really nice park, and a fun disc golf course to play, but it does give the feeling that that the disc golf is being (or was originally) pushed out to the perimeter so folks could enjoy the rest of the park's amenities. I'm not saying this is wrong, or even a problem, but should be kept in mind by players who might be used to playing courses where disc golf is the central focus.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  It's ok, I guess

1    10/4/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: MagicNinja16
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of open holes and tight wooded holes.

Park is very well maintained.

Nice concrete pads.
Cons: Park is very, very crowded. People cut through the course and will walk right in front of you while you're trying to throw.

Baskets are pretty beat up.

Ridiculous course layout.

Other Thoughts: Course layout is definitely a bit confusing. You have to walk right by hole 2's tee pad from the parking lot only to start at what feels like should be hole 18.
Holes 5, 17 and 18 have been drastically altered and now no longer play anywhere near the pond.
First timers should definitely bring a map if you ever hope to find hole 6.
I had an "ok" experience playing this course. But with the amount of people there, and the very poor layout, I don't think that I'll be back any time soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.