Springtown, TX 
Springtown West Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #9 (Taken 2/2018)
3 / 335ft.   3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 Wish I could love it

1    12/20/2020   12/22/2020
Review By: Freejenkins
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some interesting, well designed holes
Mixes in a few good "woods" holes once you get to the back half of the course
Great signage
Cons: STICKERS!!!!!!
TONS of walkers/joggers
Some benches/picnic seating areas/playgrounds in throwing lanes
Shared baskets
Other Thoughts: Judged solely on the merits of the holes themselves I really enjoyed this course. Sadly, there are some massive downsides you have to deal with at this course. First, let's talk STICKERS! We played in the winter when 99% of the sticker plants were dead and we still got tormented by stickers. They are unavoidable and surely make this course a nightmare in the spring/summer. Then there's all the traffic at this course. I don't mind waiting for a jogger or a dogwalker to go by before throwing, but it becomes a real issue when people are sitting on a bench that is just a few feet outside of the throwing zone. There's also one hole that has you throwing dangerously close to a playground. Then there are the shared baskets. I don't know what the etiquette is here but teeing off and approaching your disc only to find people teeing from the other side to the same basket is a total mess.

I wanted to love this course, but the drawbacks are just too great.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Springtown, good and bad

1    5/30/2019   5/30/2019
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 36.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Beautiful park setting.
-- Grass is mowed.
-- Restroom on sight (13 tee).
-- Land is used well, especially the creek. The water carry holes are intriguing. See Other Thoughts for a conundrum, however.
-- Big course map at parking lot/hole 1.
-- Plenty of signs making non-DGers aware of flying disc danger.
-- While no benches specially situated for disc golf, there are plenty of tables and benches throughout to rest or set your bag to avoid the ants.
Cons: -- Tee pads are too short; a few are level with the surrounding ground, but most aren't, so a decent runup is not possible. One or two have a drop off at the end of the tee pad, creating a safety hazard.
-- Way too many fairways cross. 2-3 are immediate examples, but the worst is probably having the 16 tee 50 feet in front of the 4 tee.
-- Tee signs look nice but are often inaccurate. Distances are frequently laughably inaccurate: 4 and 5 are obvious examples. Baskets are in different positions or directions than indicated on the signs: 12 and 13 are the worst of these.
-- Walking paths, as well as picnic tables, come into play on almost every hole. On a weekday morning (shortly before lunch), I had to wait on nearly half of the holes.
-- Baskets are not numbered. Normally that isn't a big deal, but given that baskets are used for multiple holes and that the map and tee signs contradict each other frequently, the lack of numbers is a big problem.
-- The ants mentioned in previous reviews are an issue, although they were not quite as bad as I thought they would be.
Other Thoughts: -- This is a difficult course to rate because the pros and the cons are both strong.If I were rating this simply based on the individual holes, it would be a 3.0 or 3.5. No. 7 is a microcosm of that dichotomy. The hole is a water carry over a significant creek with a big opening to reach the basket. Definite visual appeal. However, once you throw your tee shot, you must trek roughly 1,000 feet in either direction (back through the hole 6 fairway or ahead along the walking path, which then carries you through many of the holes you will play after No. 7) to find a bridge to cross. You then walk 1,000 feet back to the basket. There is NO way to cross the creek otherwise. Either path include a ridiculously long walk that carries you through other holes and has you out of sight of the tee, the basket and your disc for a long time. The end result is a beautiful hole that is almost unplayable. You then get to make that walk again getting from 12 to 13.
-- Horseshoes attached to a couple of wooden tee sign posts were cool bag holders and could have been a signature of the course, but I think there were only two. The other tee sign posts were metal and had no bag holders.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Springtown Disc Golf

1    7/9/2018   7/15/2018
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 193  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2018
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has a large map at the front of the parking lot that is shared with a Wells Fargo. Good teesigns that have an arrow pointing towards the next hole. Good Discatcher baskets as well. Teepads were in great shape but a little short. There are a good mix of shots between open and long and some technical shots. I had to use my RHFH quite a bit this course which I appreciated.
Cons: Some of the teesigns weren't accurate including hole 5. The teesign shows the hole tucked behind the horseshoe playing area but it is about 50 feet to the right. Hole 12's teepad is facing a different direction than 12's basket playing back over the creek. However, the course map shows a different location for 12's teepad so maybe someone accidentally mislabelled it.

My biggest issues isn't the courses fault but there were huge fireants everywhere. Everytime I picked up my disc that were 10-15 ants on them I had to blow off. Same thing with my bag. Also, there were massive stickers everywhere covering my socks and shoes.
Other Thoughts: The course is broken up into sections.
First hole and second tee pad are close to the parking lot. 2nd basket is over the bridge. You then make a long trek heading towards 7 which you throw over the creek. 8-11 are on the other side of the creek then you shoot 12 back over the creek to start heading back towards the parking lot. The 18th basket is the same basket as hole one.

As a note: the majority of holes you will shoot at twice from different teepads with the exception of hole 15. This basket isn't used on the front 9 but is a short RHFH holes tucked into the tree line.

Overall this is a fun course and gives locals somewhere close to play. I think the course would play much better in the Fall when it isn't so hot since a portion of the course doesn't covered by trees and the bugs/ stickers would be gone.

I'll come back and play it during those months.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quality course for the area.

1    2/4/2018   2/4/2018
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 164  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set on a nice big community park
Nice big welcome sign with course layout
Each hole has a sign for the hole layout
Nice concrete teepads for each hole
Nice discathers for baskets
Good flow for the course and good use of the land
Much respect for using what they have and doubling up on the baskets (using 2 holes per one basket)
Cons: I would say the one big draw back is the proximity of some holes and the walking paths
I listed doubling up on the baskets as pro, but can also be a con
18 dedicated baskets would raise the rating for me
Only other con would be the amount of stickers/burrs the grass has
Other Thoughts: Outstanding course for the area. I enjoyed the round that I played and would recommend this course to anyone in the area. Definitely worth playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good a little odd

1    9/12/2017   9/12/2017
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 380  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Behind Wells fargo easy to find. Good map
good tee boxes
good cages
good signs
mark is well maintaned
Cons: The double up on tees would make this hard if crowded.
Some signs especially #12 are wrong no longer played accross water
Ants on back thousand of fire ants
and stickers watch where you put your bag
very close to walking paths
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course dont want to sound harsh. if its a little odd they should have embarrassed it and had a mondo through the huge concert blocks out there

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Weekday retreat.

2-4    9/2/2016   9/6/2016
Review By: hotstang
Played: 335  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Disc Catcher baskets.
Good Signage.
Easy Flow.
Concrete tees.
Great for what should be a quick round. If park not busy.
Good layout for the area provided.
Pulls multiple shots out of the bag.
Enough holes to test all skill levels.



Cons: Tees are good for most holes, but a little short for some of the longer holes.
Not ideal for busy days.

Other Thoughts: Very good idea of doubling up baskets. Otherwise a course would not of worked in this park without a lot of walking.
Bathrooms available.
Playground available.
Pars need to be fixed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad course

1    6/4/2016   6/7/2016
Review By: jackybaby72
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course for beginners- which I am (been playing for 3 months). Lots of open holes. The baskets are great quality. Park seems to drain well- we just had about 5 inches of rain a few days ago and very little mud. Enough obstacles to make it a challenge. The opportunity for making a good throw exists on most holes. Advanced players might enjoy the scenery. Lots of trees across the creek will challenge everyone. Low water crossing at the creek eliminates the hike to cross the bridge. Use of land is really good to provide all types of shots.
Cons: Long arms cannot be used here. Most holes are quite short. A few holes provide no testing of skills at all. The multiple use baskets can create confusion when the park is busy. My pet peeve is when there are so many trees in an area where luck is necessary for making a good shot instead of skill. Across the creek is where this is true. Only two or three holes, but it exists. The ace hole at 17(?) is a challenge, but is ridiculous.
Other Thoughts: I like the course. Played on a beautiful day with my wife. As a beginner I shot +1. Had the best shot of my short time playing- sank 100+ foot hyzer shot around a few trees for birdie. Fun to play. I saw something here I haven't seen at the 10 or 12 courses I've played- "Watch for flying discs" signs. The safety responsibility is shared by DG'ers as well as patrons. The city is promoting the sport amongst all of its citizens. Is over an hour from the house, but on a nice day I'd drive out there for a change of scenery.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not what I was expecting

1    3/2/2016   3/2/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 993  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New Tee pads for all the holes
Nice Innova Disc Catchers
Good use of the land
Cons: Very dangerous course if the park is busy.
There are 11 baskets for 18 holes. This means 7 of the holes use the same baskets.
Other Thoughts: Even though this course can not be a tournament course, I would enjoy playing here more.

A wide variety of holes, with interesting shots.

A new basket and hole has been added for hole 11 and changed hole 12. They removed a what use to be hole 12 that would not have been a safe hole.

Basket for 13 has also been moved.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Changes Have Been Made

5+    8/15/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: 14bbryant
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty solid spread of 18 holes, not a ton of walking, and there are several easy holes, which is great for beginner players.
This course has holes for hyzers, anhyzers, flicks, mandos, excellent variety!
A combo of both open field and wooded area.
Cons: Multiple holes throwing to the same basket, making a little slow when the course is crowded. It's no more than two holes though.
There are a few holes that are close to picnic tables and sidewalk, so be cautious when throwing!
Other Thoughts: This course is an awesome small town place to play. It's the closest one to my home, so I get to play here often and I never get tired of it. The variety of wooded and open field holes is fun. Mandatory flights on 6, 9, and 17 add a little difficulty to the play.

Now for those who have played this course before and didn't like the safety, the course has changed up a bit!!! Both tees and baskets from several holes have been moved to safer areas, and one basket has been added.

You are no longer throwing so close to the pavilion at hole 5 and 13.
Hole 11's tee and basket have been moved. The tee is next to the basket of 10 and the basket is a straight shot through some trees.
Hole 16's tee has been moved away from the picnic tables.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lawsuit waiting to happen!

1    3/28/2015   4/10/2015
Review By: wjdgilbert
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good variety of wide open and wooded holes
- Clean and well maintained
- Beautiful signage
- Good family environment
Cons: - DANGEROUS!!!
- T-ball practice in the middle of fairways
- Benches/picnic tables in the middle of flight paths
- Sidewalks zig-zag through the course
- #2 and #3 fairways cross each other and #2 teebox is across the creek and blind of what's happening on #3.
- Someone is going to get hit and hurt on this course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.