Ozawkie, KS 
Longview DGC Share
Uploaded By: bigreddog Hole #4 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Like to hit trees?

1    5/8/2017   5/8/2017
Review By: paulbmann
Played: 67  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 27.7 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Good exercise. There are some good holes here, about 3.
Cons: Extreme lack of fairways. Many small and large trees between the teepads and the baskets, randomly placed and too close together.
Other Thoughts: If you think that disc golf is about who is lucky enough to miss the trees, then you'll love this course. This is the opposite type of design from great courses like La Mirada and Winthrop Gold.
Just-go-wack-some-trees-and-get-a-good-laugh kind of course.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wouldn't change a thing

1    11/5/2016   11/7/2016
Review By: theFAIRdiscer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation! For Kansas, this rarely exists, and is even more rarely used this efficiently. Each and every hole we came to was better than the one before it. If you enjoy a challenging course, this is your paradise. It's not a dink and dump...Thankfully!! Looks like it's made by the same crew as the Bloomington lake course, which is also a 5/5 in my book. Top 5 course in KS for me, without a doubt. Feels very removed from city, and full of natural beauty.
Cons: Only got to play it once

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Longview is Loco!

5+    8/14/2016   8/21/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 348  Reviewed: 231  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Longview DGC is a great one with all of the elements I love to see on a course. Lots of wooded fairways with challenging lines, lots of elevation change, water on a few holes, and really nice equipment. The concrete tees all have good signs, there are 2 or 3 pin positions on each hole, and the blue rimmed Discatchers are all in good condition.

Holes 1 and 18 are mostly open, but aside from that, you will need to be very accurate with drives and approaches to hit the windows and get near the basket. The first hole is on fairly level turf with a left to right turn, mid range distance. The short pin is on a small mound, adding a small amount of height to the basket. Hole 2 is also pretty flat, but longer, and with a tunnel of trees that get tighter as you approach the target. Hole 3 begins climbing the hill as you throw a right to left turning fairway through the woods. 4 is along the road at the top of the hill, with a fairway that is very crowded with trees creating a low ceiling and narrow gaps. Hole 5 is the first of several elevated tees, teeing off down a good size hill, with a decent alley that will get you to the bucket at the bottom. Number 6 is from the open grass into the woods with a bit of uphill slope leading to the pin. Hole 7 is a gnarly run through trees across a valley. Tee and pin are close in terms of elevation, and distance is not too great, but getting from A to B involves climbing down and back up a rocky ravine with heavy undergrowth. The 8th hole is slightly uphill through numerous trees, and pin positions are staggered across left to right, so the avenues will vary depending on location. 9 is another downhill drive with a split fairway giving left or right side options to reach the bottom, and a bit of ground left to cover once you get there. 10 is back to the flatter part of the park, and pretty long, with the basket sitting on the side of a hill making it easy to overshoot or roll away. 11 is an uphill monster with lots of trees, and the basket is planted on top beyond the crest about 100' or so. 12 is another good run through the trees with a fairly generous fairway but low ceiling. 13 is a 90 degree dogleg right, on a fairly flat area with numerous trees that make hitting the landing zone on your drive crucial if you want a good approach on the next throw. 14 is a fun shorter hole, down hill steep with a pond at the bottom left of the pin. Lots of trees, but there is a good size window to the right that gives nice access. Once you climb the hill opposite the pond, turn around and see the tee for 15, throwing back directly over the pond to the basket on the other side, hidden behind trees on the bank. 16 is right next to the tee for 14, throwing one more big downhill drive. Big trees on either side, but plenty of space to fly and get the distance necessary if you hit it right. 17 turns back toward the parking lot, on fairly flat ground, across a small creek bed, between a couple of trees, and to a basket that is left side, surrounded by brush and trees, and backed by a stream. The drop off behind the pin is steep and has thick rough, careful not to overshoot this one. 18 is uphill some, long but mostly open air.

I love the elevation changes and the downhill throws like 5, 9, 14, 15 and 16. Most of these holes are quite difficult, but not impossible and very fun. The big sign next to the practice basket is full of distance and elevation stats to go along with the course map.
Cons: Lots of brushy, tangled undergrowth at places. In combination with sometimes rocky hill sides, footing can be treacherous. Also thick enough to lose a disc if you don't get a good spot. Not a great course for beginners or anyone who has trouble hiking up and down hills.

I was told there is poison ivy present, but I played 2 rounds in shorts and had no serious breakout.
Other Thoughts: Topographically and in terms of flora this course offers a lot more than any of the other courses I have played in Kansas.

Very cool, fun and difficult, with nice gear. After getting to play several rounds and see the great differences in play as the baskets are moved to alternate locations, I think there are not many courses that offer so much in the way of fun, challenge, and versatility. My favorite course in the state, and in my top 10 or 15 nationwide.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The beginning of something great!

1    3/30/2015   3/30/2015
Review By: chaddyboy_2000
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place has terrain galore, and it was utilized excellently. You'll be playing uphill, downhill, over ravines, over water, and all with a good mix of semi-open to very tight shots through the trees.

Particularly great are several holes that just let you launch from the top of a hill, which is always so satisfying for more intermediate players like myself. Those of us whose drives max out at 300 feet or so can feel like a superstar on these holes, although the hill shots still require accuracy to navigate the trees, which makes them not a 100% proposition. Most courses, you're lucky if you see one hole like this, but this one had a handful.

I can't stress the greatness of the layout enough. Never did I feel like a hole was just put in because that's where it had to go. If the terrain is boring, they walked you to some interesting features so you could play the fun stuff. Excellent course design. Furthermore, the course is laid out to where you can play either the front or back nine starting and ending at the parking lot.

Signage is great (with the one caveat in the cons section), with navigation a breeze due to signage that points you to the next tee. The tees also have benches for when you want to take a short break, which was much appreciate due to the terrain which gives you a bit of a hike in places!

Three pin locations on each hole make for great variety, and most alternate pins will change the feel and necessary shots.
Cons: This is a criticism to be removed at a later date, but the major current con is that the course is still a work in progress. There are still a lot of trees to clear in order to make some of the holes reasonably playable. As of this trip, a ton of trees were marked for clearing, so I'm confident they must be working in the right direction. Although, one highlight of this round due to this con was a drive that I got all the way across a ravine of trees for a deuce where a bunch of them are marked for removal! A win on insane mode! :p

Also, a situational criticism, all the baskets were at the blue pins, which are the long pins. This was a bit disappointing since it meant we had to grip it and rip it from pretty much every tee, which took away a lot of the potential shot variety. I'd enjoy playing this course more once the locations of the baskets weren't all set to blue. Since it's a work in progress though, there's probably a reason they had everything set to blue.

One thing we really didn't like about the signage at each hole was the weird angled Google Earth view that was used on the signs. It really didn't help you to locate the pins at all like an overhead shot would have, especially since the pins were often placed on the image without paying attention to the tree lines or anything. This is a bit nitpicky since the course is very nice, but we often found the signs not very helpful for locating the pins.

The only other minor disappointment was hole 18. It's great when a course goes out with a bang, but after 17 interesting holes, it felt like 18 was just a means of getting me back to the parking lot. It was a little like watching a great fireworks show that ended with a roman candle. Again, this is nitpicky since it's hard to find things to complain about at this course. If a hole like 18 was in the middle of the course somewhere, I probably wouldn't have thought much of this; it would have just been a brief break from all the terrain and trees. It's just that all of the first 17 holes seemed to have such interesting things going on, that it stuck out when the tamest one was last.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure this will be a 5-star course for me once all the work is done, so a bunch of my "cons" are really only temporary. I had a heck of a good time playing this one "as is", so I really look forward to seeing it develop! I live in Olathe, and would be willing to make the drive just to play it once in a while, especially once more tree clearing is done; it's that good.

This will be a real gem, and most of the facets have already been cut!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Challenge

5+    7/25/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 91  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees are concrete and large. Baskets are great and brand new with three independent flags on top of them that indicate wind speed of 6, 12, and 18mph. (different sizes) 10/10

There is a huge variety of distances at this course. There are a couple of 200 foot holes and a couple of 700ft holes and some of everything in between depending on pin positions. 10/10

This course really forces players to throw every shot, and punishes those who don't have certain shots. Some holes, most notably 13, are also long enough to require multiple shots on the same hole. 10/10

Each hole has three different pin positions. The different hole positions really change the feel of the holes in distance, shot path, and difficulty. Many also change the par of the hole. 10/10

There are multiple ways to play most of the holes, especially those in the longer pin positions. This course really makes you think about what shot to play. decisionmaking 10/10

There are some great elevation changes at this course with good variety. Also, many are not simply up or down but go up at the start and plateau or do the opposite. There is some of everything. 10/10

The use of obstacles at this course is great, they make every hole challenging but none are ridiculous except for maybe hole 12. Still 10/10

Tee signs provide good detail on the holes and bright blue baskets with flags help view them from the tee. The only problem with navigation on the holes is if baskets are in one of the two longer spots it can be impossible to tell which from the tee. 9/10

There is great variety of openness on this course, especially for how wooded it is. No shot is completely wide open, and the majority are pretty technical. 8/10

Navigation between holes is pretty intuitive for the most part, but there can sometimes be fairly long walks between holes depending on the pin positions just because of how different the pin positions are. Still 8/10 overall

There has been and continues to be a lot of work being put into this course to make it more playable. A few days ago when I played it they were adding paths down one of the holes with a pretty steep downhill. There are a couple of other holes that I expect they will do the same on. The elevation on several holes is too severe for mowers so they have beat down the fairways with weed-eaters. 8/10
Cons: This course is not good for beginners at all, and they will not have any fun playing it. It is difficult enough that most intermediate players will struggle to stay near par. There is not a player on Earth that would not be challenged by this course, especially if the pins are back. A second set of shorter tee boxes would really help with this. 3/10 on challenging all levels without being impossible.

This course is still very rough if you stray off the fairways. Several holes have trees that were cleared from the fairways are laying on the side of the holes. In addition, there are no bathrooms or running water on the course, and a few holes need to have weeds cut down further in the fairways. There are benches on most holes which are very needed due to length and elevation. 3/10 on comfort during the round.

Discs are pretty easy to find in most fairways, but if you throw it in the rough be sure to watch it closely because they could be easily lost. A few of the holes mentioned above with shin high weeds covering the fairways also make discs hard to find. 5/10 overall
Other Thoughts: This course is probably the most challenging I've ever played if the pins are in the middle or long positions, even more so than Blue Valley Park in KC, and it's no walk in the park even in the short positions. It has by far the most length of any wooded course I've ever played with a length from 6000-9000ft depending upon pin positions. For intermediate level players this course is great for doubles. This is truly a professional level championship course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/4/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 65  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -signs are color, have all the info and are metal, also signs pointing where next tee is
-the downhill holes are awesome (5,9,16)
-good variety of flat, uphill, downhill shots
-not 54 par
-benches on every hole
Cons: -ticks galore
-very rough, lots of rocks, weeds, unmowed fairways, thick foliage
-you can make a good shot and still be looking in the bushes for it. Either hole design needs to change or fairways need to be cleaned up
-teepads face the wrong direction
-middle of nowhere
Other Thoughts: to visualize this course, it looks like they basically bulldozed through some property to create fairways, threw down some baskets and then put in the pads. It is not an ideal 'golf' property, but I like the design overall.

My main complaint is that there are holes where there literally is not a fairway, just weeds that you throw into. This course is for you if you like to look for discs and if/once you find them, they have nicks and scuffs in them.

this currently is a brutal course just because it of the ticks and all the growth. I think this would be a lot more fun Nov-April. I was more satisfied with not losing a disc than shooting +2.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Jekyll and Hyde

1    7/2/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: simplepmart
Played: 111  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The anticipation was high as I pulled up to one of the newer finished courses in our area (KC greater metro, which this course is as far as I could stretch the word "Metro" because it is an hour from downtown KC). You are greeted with a humongous professionally engineered sign stating that this area and parking lot are for disc golf. There is plenty of parking and the 1st tee and a few baskets are easily visible as you park your vehicle. I will not give a hole by hole description because the previous reviewer nailed it perfectly; instead, I will simply give my pros and cons they influenced my rating of this course.

Pros:
- Visible signage letting you know you have arrived to your proper destination.
- 1st tee box is RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU. Couldn't be any easier/better.
- Practice basket in also directly in immediate view from the parking lot. Speaking of baskets, every basket had 3 flags (red, white, blue) on top which indicate wind speed. These flags are still in excellent condition, and each basket was easy to see because of the powder coated blue color.
- Benches at almost every tee box. There was a stretch of holes towards the middle of the round that did not have benches yet, but if memory serves me it was only 2 or 3 holes at most.
- Signage was AWESOME. Durable, beautiful, and detailed. The hole layout on each sign is an actual aerial shot of the topography which allows you to see tree-lines, hills, and ponds that come into play. I found it very helpful and comforting that I wasn't relying on a cartoon sketch for the hole layout, but an actual detailed picture. The next tee was very easy to find as well. If you stand at the basket and give a quick glance your eyes are often my with a "hole X" (with an arrow on it) giving direction to next tee pad. Navigation was a breeze.
- Tee pads were in excellent shape. Just a touch short for my personal liking but in no way are they tiny and in no way do I feel like their length distracted my actual game. Like I said, just a preference thing. I did like the rounded (flared) front-side of the tee pad, it allowed me to take any and all angles towards the basket with my drive. Nice touch in my opinion.
- Scenery. Disc golf, to me, is #1 about the game but a close second is the scenery in which I am surrounded by while I play the sport I love. This in an incredibly beautiful piece of property and I was constantly reminded of its beauty as I trekked up, down, and even sideways through and around grasslands, rocky cliffs, woods, and a pond as I threw my plastic. Saw deer, turkey, woodpecker, and various other wildlife which made the experience perfect for my liking.
- Elevation. Some courses it is not worth mentioning the elevation because it doesn't interfere with disc selection or strategy but I believe this course has enough elevation change that it warrants a mention. While none of the elevation at this course will rival that of a true mountain course or even that of a ski-hill course, it does contain many steep up and downhill shots that are not only really neat to see but that are challenging and fun to throw! You will encounter some sort of elevation on the majority of every hole but not necessarily with every single shot.
- Challenge. This course seems to offer varying degrees of challenge. The set up I played this morning was mixed (between short, medium, and long pin locations) but seemed to slightly favor short and medium locations. This 'shorter' set up allowed for a few ace runs and made the course very manageable. I can't wait to try it when it is set up in the longer format; some of these pin locations looked SICK (in a good way)!!
- Clean, with no trash to speak of.
Cons: - It is July 2nd 2013 and ticks are STILL winning at this course. It was a given that a walk through the tall stuff would bring multiple ticks...on each ankle, calf, thigh, butt, and maybe your upper torso, arm or neck. But to pick ticks off of you after simply walking the fairway?? It was a bit much for my liking. The ticks powered through our deet and each member of our group was pulling ticks after each hole. I am not an expert in tick remediation, so I don't know how the Amy Corp. would even begin to control the infestation on this property. I hope it is possible, and I'm sure they are trying to solve the issue so that people can enjoy this gem of a course.
- Grass length. There were a few holes that seemed to have received a fresh trim (mostly weed whacking around the pin) here and there but overall the fairways and surrounding "short" rough at this course were not groomed.
- Ivy and oak. We encountered massive amounts of oak and ivy all throughout this course. I remember one hole in particular where we threw up a steep hill through the woods and there was not a path to follow or a patch of grass to walk through as the ENTIRE 'fairway' was knee-high ivy and oak. Depending on your level of sensitivity this could be dangerous, please be aware and be careful. Ivy and Oak are fairly common in our area in these types of parks so I am used to it, I only caution for those who are not familiar or are very allergic.
- No trash cans...anywhere.
- No bathroom facility in immediate area, unless you count the woods.
- No water on site.
Other Thoughts: So why the 3.5 rating? This course has not come into its own yet. It needs played, beat in, trounced on, mowed, and sprayed. When I return (which I can't wait to do), as these 'cons' are addressed I will then move my rating appropriately. 3.5 (imo) is still a very solid rating despite some glaring issues that hopefully find a solution in the near future.

Last thoughts: This course is great and I believe once the cons are solved it will be a well traveled course for those of us that live in Kansas City. As is though, I will hesitate to make the drive too often knowing that I will have to battle the ticks, ivy, oak, and long grass. If you are traveling through KC and are wondering if you should drive an hour away to play this course my suggestion (and I completely realize this is subjective, but I just want to give my honest opinion so you aren't blindsided) is...maybe, lol. If you are adventurous, outdoorsy, like the roll the dice, don't mind bugs, aren't bothered by solid fields of ivy/oak fairways (on some holes), then why not...make the trip and enjoy this brand new challenging rustic course. If you are a city boy/girl and you prefer 'city park' disc golf, you may want to take a pass.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/22/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: tedkeith
Played: 159  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 30.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of variety in holes and settings. Uphill, downhill, flat, fairly open, wooded. This course has is all. Three pin settings on every hole. Can be set pretty easy, very hard, or anything in between. Rewards distance and especially accuracy. Great signage, even extra signs between holes pointing to the next tee on some.
Cons: The little 14-16 circle is odd but the holes are great so no big deal. The only restrooms are near the campgrounds down the road. The rough is brutal in places, so don't go there.
Other Thoughts: This course is a bit out of the way but I find it worth the drive. The Corps of Engineers and area players have done a fantastic job designing and putting this in the ground. It will continue to get better and better over time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Perry

1    4/1/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: coopera
Played: 85  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is where course design needs to move. There are a number of extremely challenging holes that require supreme accuracy. Distance can be helpful here, as it should be on most courses, but distance without accuracy creates a lot of 'natural' trouble.
Cons: This is a new course and still has some lines that need to be cleaned up and some underbrush to be beaten down. Once that happens this should be the archetypal 'championship' style course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Addition to area!

1    4/6/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: Scobandit
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hard to beat the other review, so I will not try. The pros of this course is that it is challenging, but a lot of fun to play. The tee pads are excellent, the baskets are all new and well placed. The design is great with the exception of of I believe 15 and 16.
Cons: The course is excellent, so not many cons here. The tee for 15 and 16 are next to each other, so you tee off on 15 downhill, then you have to walk back uphill to the next tee. Hole 8's distance is incorrect on the hole info section. It says 800 feet, but it is more like 280. Look for the tee on the far left. We could only see 2 baskets, but go for the one on the left and you are good.
Other Thoughts: I know how difficult it is to put in a course, and these guys have done a great job here! You can tell that a lot of work has gone into the design and build. All I can say is a huge thank you! This course is now one of my favorites and the best part is that it will continue to get better!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.