Hagerstown, MD 
Ditto Farms DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #15 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 346ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 425ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
quality mixed course

2-4    8/9/2017   8/9/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 99  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - multiple baskets
- good variety
Other Thoughts: Ditto Farms is a quality course. Most of the course is wooded, but maybe 1/3 plays out in the open, with a couple of nice longer holes. It's a good course. There are tight shots for the accurate player, long holes for the longer throwers, and some pretty cool basket locations which utilize the rocky terrain.

As others have mentioned, there are multiple baskets which often change the shape of the hole rather than simply adding distance, so it can be played multiple times with different layouts.

I don't have any specific complaints with the course, but it doesn't quite match up to the level of some of my favorite courses. For me, it doesn't have any really memorable signature holes that really set a course apart. That being said, it's a solid course and worth playing if you get the chance.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

I agree.

1    6/10/2017   6/14/2017
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 255  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto Farms is a solid, if unspectacular course. A mostly-wooded layout is bookended by open holes creating two distinct feels to the course.
- Course offers a wide variety of everything: from hole layouts to course layouts. Players can choose one of four course layouts to play with duel teepads and baskets. I quickly learned that the course is best played playing short-to-short or long-to-long. The other two layouts give players some awkward hole layouts, as it feels the course designers were trying to fit square pegs into round holes with the additional options.
- There are some fun layouts here. The designers, to their credit, made most of the wooded-fairways wide enough that players can still be aggressive of most holes. That said, on some of the tougher holes, they force you to hit your line, or you'll be hitting trees and/or ending up deep in the rough.
- The wooded holes do offer some solid risk/reward layouts. Holes such as #8 & 13, which are both slight downhill, slight dogleg layouts give players a chance to be rewarded for aggressive, smart shot making. If you're like me, and end up smacking a tree on #13, you're suddenly scrambling to salvage bogey on a birdie-able hole.
- Course has very descriptive, very useful tee signs. Both tee pads have tee signs with the corresponding distances listed depending on which basket you're playing to. Tee signs also indicate where the next tee is located, which is a bonus.
- Hole #2 is the best of the open holes. It's a slight downhill shot to a basket in the woods, either straight ahead (short basket) or a slightly more awkward, around-the-bend (long basket).
- This is a nice park with lots of amenities. The course, and entire park, is very well maintained. Other than holes #1 & 18, the course is completely isolated from the rest of the park. You do get the awkward experience of playing right up to people's backyards on hole #4.
Cons: Not a lot to complain about. This is a simple layout that's well-executed, creating a fun play. Only a couple of minor things to point out:
- The course is compacted into a relatively small portion of the course, which creates holes to play very close together. On the wooded portion of the course - #5 - 17 - there are multiple opportunities for players to jump to the wrong hole simply because they're so close together.
- This also means, on busy days, you'll have to be extremely careful to watch for discs sailing from other holes towards you, or being wary of your shots encroaching on other holes & players.
- After trying to play to play the Orange layout - short tee to long basket - I realized these off-shoot layouts weren't a great idea. With short-to-short and long-to-long, you have tees, fairways, and baskets created specifically for that layout. With these alternative layouts, there were enough times where I had to deal with a fairway that wasn't created for the shot that's needed and/or some funky angles to throw from. If I didn't care so much about playing the same layout throughout, I would have just changed to playing the long layout the entire round. I guess after 16 hours of driving and dis golf, I was just getting too lazy.
- I don't recall seeing many trash cans or benches throughout the course. That said, the course was clean, especially for one that seems to get so much traffic.
Other Thoughts: This course impressed me. I had a fun round. I didn't have to worry about throwing big shots or having any blow-up scores. Even at the end of a long day, when my arm was shot, I salvaged every hole with nothing worse than a bogey.
- You can tell on #4 that parts of the park are on an old golf course, as an old sand trap is still evident.
- I think the worse thing to say about this course is that none of the holes stood out as memorable. Sure, you've got your quasi 'shoot the gap' holes on #8 & 9; Your dogleg left ace run on #13; your split fairway, uphill basket on the rocks on #14. They're all fun. But they're role players, not the star of the team.
- The course is good for a quick round, especially if you're looking to focus on your mid-range game. The Orange layout plays more than 5500 feet, averaging 310 feet per hole. Even at that length, I felt I was playing most efficiently when I was throwing 225 - 250 off the tee, avoiding any trouble, and getting up and down for simple 3s.
- I'm giving this course a 3.5 rating based upon the layout I played. I reckon some people view it as a higher quality, more challenging course from the Pro tees; whereas, some view it as a lesser course from the short, 4000-foot layout.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Marvelous in Maryland

5+    5/20/2017   6/8/2017
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 109  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto Farms fills a void in western Maryland for disc golf; in fact, with its excellent variety and plethora of layout options, the course more than satisfies the appetite for excellent disc golf in the Hub City.

With two teepads and two baskets on every hole, Ditto Farms offers a suitable option for everyone, from the amateurs to the professionals. Navigation is easy with arrows on the map at each teepad, and each basket is marked with a distinct red (short) or yellow (long) banner. Even the shortest layout offers a challenge, though half the holes are 200 feet or less.

Ditto Farms begins in convenient fashion as three of the first four holes are fairly open, allowing an opportunity to warm up. The first two holes offer a downhill drive as well. However, Hole #3 is a challenging wooded hole - a foreshadowing of more difficult tree-laden challenges. After completing the lengthy but open Hole #4 (which is a par 4), the course disappears into the woods. Holes #5 through #8 offer a variety of forested encounters, transitioning from the ace-run on Hole #5 to a couple of uphill challenges for Holes #6 and #7 to tight but downhill toss on Hole #8.

Holes #9 through #11 are several of the most wooded holes. Downhill elevation comes into play on Holes #13 and #15 but the fairway contains several trees and a "poke and hope" approach might be needed. Holes #16 and #17 are a bit longer with a narrow fairway, and then the course pops out of the woods for the final hole.

Extremely clean course. Grassy holes appear to be frequently mowed and there's not a sign of trash anywhere. And most of the course is set off in the woods, where you're likely to be undisturbed by other park users.
Cons: Too many trees and branches in the fairway. Well-thrown drives may be susceptible to unfair pinball bounces and pinpointing the best route can be difficult, let alone actually trying to hit the identified lines. Holes #9, 10, #11, #14 and #15 are the worst culprits. Narrow fairways are acceptable. But the surplus of random trees and branches is a little too punishing at times.

Also, the area off the fairway can be brutal. Rife with thorns, tall grasses, bushes and poison ivy, the non-fairway sections are a nuisance in some spots and an absolute menace in other places. Spending time looking for wayward shots should be expected. Some course maintenance in the form of weed-wackers and chainsaws would be welcomed.
Other Thoughts: Ditto Farms is currently the second-highest-ranked course in Maryland and merits consideration as the best course. With terrific variety, challenging course design and nice amenities, Ditto Farms is an enjoyable play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Two for Two

1    10/1/2016   11/6/2016
Review By: Discette
Played: 411  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 21.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Ditto Farms is an 18 hole course in a public park. With two sets of tees and two sets of targets on every hole, this course provides a ton of variety and elevation changes. The course plays through open park land as well as an undeveloped and wooded area of the park. I played this course as part of a disc golf trip to 12 states in 12 days. This was the only course I played in the state of Maryland.


I used bullet points for those that don't want to read the entire review.

Challenge and Variety
This course has it all. It will challenge top players and provide variety for all skills of players. It has open holes and wooded holes, There is elevation in play as well. The Blue Course (long tees to Gold targets) is the longest and most difficult layout while the Red Course (short tees to Red pins) is the shortest for new players.


Born Together
Some two target/two tee courses play like they put another target or tee to change up the original design. On many dual target/dual tee courses it is obvious that the second tee or second target was an afterthought. After playing a few holes at Ditto Farm, it seemed that both sets of tees and both sets of targets were designed and installed together as they compliment each other well. All of the possible course layouts look smart and purposeful. Multiple options provide not just a longer tees or a trickier target locations, but often completely different routes with completely different challenges.


No confusion here
Navigation is a breeze no matter which layout you choose to play. Every tee has a sign that shows the locations of the pins as well as an arrow to the next tee. I played a few multiple tee/pin courses on this trip and some were completely confusing. Thankfully Ditto Farms was well thought out and there is very little confusion as to the location of your target or the way to your next tee. While I did not play both layouts completely, I did walk to both sets of tee and targets to take photos.

18, 36, 54 or 72 Holes
Ditto Farms is an 18 hole course that could technically be considered four different courses. There are 18 Yellow targets and 18 Red targets. There are an endless number of courses because of this unique design. I played a mix for the first few holes, then played long tees to the Yellow targets. This is the Blue layout and it has a lot of distance, variety and elevation in play. Accuracy is rewarded at Ditto Farms. No matter which layout you play, this course requires players to execute proper shots to score well.

Two Tees
Each hole has two large concrete tees. The tee areas are well maintained. Each tee has a separate tee sign. Each tee sign includes distances from that tee and also shows all the pin locations, the other tee and direction to the next tee.


No Smoking
At least there is no smoking in the wooded area of the park as there are signs posted. Not sure if you can smoke in the park. One great thing about no smoking is the lack of cigarettes butts on the course. I appreciate that.

Free
There is no charge to enter the park or play the course.

Not Disc Golf Exclusive
This course is in a giant community park with playgrounds and soccer fields. Part of the course is right next to private back yards and part of this course borders a ball golf course. While the course is set properly away from the other activities, players will have to watch out for the occasional runner or dog walker. I played this course super early on a Saturday and was surprised to have to wait for some dog owners to walk across the open fairways on 4 and 18.

All 18 in a row

Once you leave the parking area, you will not return to this area of the park until you after Hole 18. Plan to take all the water and supplies you need for the entire round. Luckily the park is very compact and the design does not require a lot of walking between holes. I had plenty of energy to play a second round.


Split personality
I love fun and challenging courses, but I also appreciate courses with a unique vibe and personality. While most of the park is a traditional developed park setting there is a nice "undeveloped" park area used for holes 5 through 17. This part of the course makes you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere even though you are in the middle of someone's neighborhood and not out in the country. I felt relaxed and challenged at the same time. I just wish there was this much personality on the rest of the course.

Restrooms
There is a full service restroom with running water next to the parking lot and practice basket. There were no other restrooms or portables on the course, but there were at least a couple of opportunities for privacy on the wooded holes.

Kids, Carts and Strollers
Except for a couple of holes in the woods, you should have no problem bringing a cart. Not sure you would want to push a stroller with kids in ti through the thick grass on some of the fairways. Kids will have no problem walking along the terrain. There is a big playground and restrooms with running water before you reach the first tee. You will play all 18 holes before you return to the parking lot. You could also play a short 5 hole layout with the kids. Play 1 through 4 and walk over and play Hole 18 back.

Bugs and Poison Ivy
I played on in a light rain and didn't notice any bugs. There is poison ivy in the woods, take precautions if you are affected.
Cons:
Personality
While the course does have challenge and variety, it is set in a regular public park. It was missing that wow factor that makes it memorable.

Public Park
Even though this course is mostly in the undeveloped area of the park, there is the chance for other park users to walk onto the course. Be mindful and cautious when other park users are present.
Other Thoughts:
Allow time
If you decide to play this course, allow yourself the time to play it twice on your visit. Play the first time through on one layout, take a break and switch it up for the second round. This course is all about variety and you should take the time to enjoy what it does best.


Bookends
On the first day of my journey to play 12 States and 12 Days, the first course I played had two targets and two tees. Ditto Farms was the final course on my journey. Like the first course, Ditto also had two targets and two tees on every hole. During this trip I played at least 6 courses with multiple tees and targets. I will say tat Ditto Farms was the most thoughtfully designed of these multi tee/target courses.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

great course with 2 baskets and 2 tees

1    9/21/2016   9/30/2016
Review By: discNDav
Played: 345  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 31.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a very well maintained suburban park! Everything in the park looked new including the DGC!

Two sets of cement tees and 2 baskets on all 18 holes, red (short) and yellow (long) allows 4 different possible ways to play each hole. Outstanding tee signs at each tee (long and short).

A few long to long holes are par 4.

Starts out very open but has 15 wooded holes. Wood chipped areas around the tees and in places along the fairways or around the baskets.

Great use of elevation, I didn't expect it after entering the woods.

Indoor rest rooms.

Close to the highway, within 5 minutes of I-70.
Cons: Where to start the course is not marked well. I saw both #1 baskets but it took a few minutes before locating the tee(s) to the right and uphill from both the restroom building and then pavilion.

Two of the tighter wooded holes seemed repetitive, #11 and #12?
Other Thoughts: The practice basket is not near hole #1.

Print the map from here, it's excellent.

I usually rate courses slightly lower than their average but in this case it's one of the few I rated higher than it's average, it's that good! I will be back even though it's 3 hrs from me.



9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Loved it

1    7/16/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: rvnash
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great options, easy, medium1, medium2, and hard on each hole. You can choose which "course" to play on any given day, or hole-by-hole. I was tired when I arrived, so I played the easiest, and it was great fun.
Well tended. Baskets, tees and fairways in great condition. Every placement of tee pad and pin has a line or two that will work. Look at the signs. Well designed in that sense, like someone really thought that through. I really liked the hole where the easy basket is up against a cliff face, and the hard basket is above it on top of the cliff. Clever.
Cons: Tee boxes could be a bit longer for me, but probably fine for most.
Other Thoughts: It wasn't very crowded on a Sunday afternoon, mid summer.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Get in the woods

5+    3/10/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: ramonstone
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I got to play this course before it had tees and got to watch it grow into a wonderful place to play. Whoever maintains it has done a great job of clearing areas and getting tees in and signs. There are two pins for each hole and I'm pretty sure two tees each hole. Mostly wooded, it has all different shots to play. There are good elevations and tunnel shots and all different types of shots are necessary to put up a decent score. The long to long setup is challenging for pros and intermediate players, but the short ones are great for beginners. It has grown into a very fun course to play, having watched it build up from the beginning
Cons: You can lose discs. Since it's all in the woods I always have two or three hairy times trying to find a getaway that hit a tree or something. There are a couple places that are a "that's not comin back" situation. Although I think I've always brought all discs back, I know lots of people that have lost them so throw the ones you don't love the most. Some of the short to short are very short, but obviously you don't have to play those if you don't want

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course Design

1    1/15/2016   1/15/2016
Review By: MikeK
Played: 262  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 22.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With two sets of baskets and two sets of tees, Ditto Farms has a layout for everyone from total newbies up to top-tier professionals. There's a variety of open, short, tight, long, hyzer, anhyzer, uphill and downhill looks throughout the place. The grass in the open areas is well maintained, the concrete pads are nice and flush to the ground and have good grip, and the baskets are Innova Pro 28s that catch very well. One interesting feature to me, was that it seemed like the further I got into the course, the better the holes got. I like that in a course. This course is also only about two miles off of Interstate 70, so it's not too difficult to find. Nice view of distant mountain on hole 8, and a cool finishing hole that plays up,up,up to the long basket. There's also a practice basket by the parking lot.
Cons: The cons I list are all pretty nitpicky; they didn't really bother me, but some people might get bothered by them.

No benches, some nasty thorns here and there, and in the dead of winter it is a bit muddy even several days after a rain. Wear shoes with good traction, because the slickness of the hillsides combined with steep trails in a couple places could result in a fall if you're not careful. There's also not a water hole on the course (again this is pretty nitpicky).
Other Thoughts: I think the only thing that keeps me from rating this course a 5 is that there just isn't one hole out there that I would call "epic", although 14,15, and 18 are memorable. This is certainly a great place to hold a tournament.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Ditto

1    12/30/2015   12/30/2015
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 43  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto Farms is a great course that starts out in the open, but then works it's way deep into the woods. Two Discatcher baskets per hole allows you to play a different course every time. The short tees are perfect for beginners, and the long tee giving a good challenge to the even more advanced players. The tee pads were all concrete, for both short tees and longs. The holes are challenging enough, but nothing is unfair. There were multiple ace runs, but few shots that were easily executed. The holes were not repetitive, meaning their was a new drive, approach, and putt on each hole. I enjoyed the mix of holes when playing 2nd tees to Yellow Basket. There was only one dull hole, a long open par 5, but the green was nicely protected.
Cons: There was only one tee sign per hole, meaning if you were playing short tees and wanted to know distances, you would have to find the long tees. There was no Out of Bounds which made the course not incredibly challenging. The biggest con was that I only had time to play once.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course to play while I was travelling to Baltimore. I was only able to play this one, but I know there were many nice courses near here with Seneca Creek and Patapsco Valley.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Most Fun Farm I've Been Too

1    5/11/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 146  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 5.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ditto Farms is a very well-designed park course that offers a great mix of holes. It's a diverse community park that offers chances to open up and throw long bombs as well as opportunities to thread tight lines in the woods. There are plenty of amenities here and it is a good park to take your family to with a huge parking area, multiple bathrooms and playgrounds, and soccer fields nearby. The course starts past the practice basket and playgrounds near the property fence.

It starts out feeling like your ordinary park course but then takes you through a unique setting in the woods. The open shots on 1 and 2 allow for an opportunity to warm up for the woods, with most of the rest of the course navigating through this part of the park. 4 and 18 also give you opportunities to open up, which definitely helps the course feel more complete with a nice variety of woodenness. The open holes aren't just simple par 3's either, with two of them being over 600 feet from the longs and two more approaching a protected basket.

That said, the real place where Ditto Farms shines is in the woods. This part is thoughtfully designed and offers a great variety even within its wooded setting. Playing through my round, I felt that no two holes were too similar and there are some really cool, unique greens incorporated in this part of the course. Pins are often set among a tight patch of trees and sometimes on top of a rock face.

While there aren't any extreme elevation changes, there is still good incorporation of elevation on numerous holes. 6 is a nice multi-stage, slightly uphill hole and 9, 13, and 15 are really fun downhill shots.

There is a great replayability quality here. One aspect is due to the multiple routes offered on a hole, on many of the holes. The greatest contributor to this, though, is having the two permanent baskets per hole. The different pin positions do a tremendous job of changing up the hole, with the reds always being a little shorter and usually with a slightly easier approach. However, the two locations mostly just do a great job of changing the look of the hole, giving variety to the type of drive needed and to the approach.

Navigation is pretty simple, usually offering short walks from tee to basket. The tee signs are also great in aiding navigation, giving a very detailed map of the hole and even displaying nearby baskets and tees. This really helps negate the possible confusion due to holes being packed closely together in spots. Navigation is physically aided as well with steps carved into a few of the hills.

While it is hard to hit all of your lines due to the tight nature of the course, recovering from a bad shot is fair and offers the player chances to save par. Not too many pitch outs needed here.
Cons: Probably the biggest con to the course - which isn't even that big of a deal - is the thick growth in the woods due to it being a relatively new course. None of it was black hole-level rough, just the annoyance of sometimes having taller grass in the fairways and weeds/growth right off the fairway. The open parts of the course were in pristine shape when I played, but this part seems to get overlooked in maintenance - to some extent.

While there are shorter tees, they are hard to find and seemingly nonexistent on some of the holes. Pink flags mark them but they were not always in maintained areas either. Having two permanent pins helps negate this problem a little bit, but even the red baskets are a challenge from the long tees. It wouldn't be disastrous for a beginner to play here, but this isn't the best course to take one to either.

I can definitely see the argument for some of the fairways being too thick, but I didn't feel that this was a constant problem. Most of the course was well carved out within the woods and offered challenging but fair shots.
Other Thoughts: Ditto Farms would challenge even some of the top players to hit their lines. This is very good woods golf that presents a nice variety of hole lengths and pars. The pictures - as usual for a tightly wooded course - don't do it justice. There is some very interesting design with great shot variety and cool pin locations. A lot of work has clearly gone into designing this course and clearing out a lot of trees. I think the course would appeal to a wide variety of players - a great test of accuracy without being too punishing.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.