Hagerstown, MD 
Ditto Farms DGC Share
Uploaded By: sidewinder22 Hole #14 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 185ft.   3 / 213ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Do Go To Ditto

1    8/30/2018   9/12/2018
Review By: Ryal
Played: 29  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 1.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Sturdy and flat tee boxes with decent space for a wind-up.
+ Mostly wooded course encourages placement and shot-shaping over brute force.
+ There are two tee pads for all holes, and they each have their own 'current tee' sign.
+ There are also two pins per hole of different colors with yellow indicating 'tougher/farther' and red meaning 'closer/less tough.'
+ The 'current tee' signs themselves are very nice. Each one has a detailed diagram of the land ahead, the distance to each pin, the par to each pin, and the elevation increase or decrease from where you stand to each pin. Next tee symbols are also present on the signs.
+ There are some devious elevation challenges here.
+ While in the minority, the open holes have plenty of space to wind up and let loose at full power.
+ The course is set in a quiet county park away from everything else.
Cons: - There are zero 'next tee' signs.
- Three or four holes are somewhat close to private residences. One bad gust or one awful throw, and your disc could possibly, though not probably, cross into someone's yard.
- There are no benches to sit back and relax and no trash cans. Please do not litter.
- Some of the wooded holes seem a tad overgrown in terms of both ground foliage and tree limbs.
- No lost disc box (?) I didn't look everywhere. Perhaps I'm mistaken on this.
- Some of the holes are jam-packed close together.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole at this course might be #15. I love downhill tee-offs, and this tee was pretty much off a cliff! It's a nice view from up there and a lovely sight to watch one's disc float forever... even if it was in the wrong direction as with my session...!
My least favorite hole here could be #4 because of how boring and straightforward it is when contrasted against literally any other hole at this course.

As for the course itself, Ditto Farms is a course that has a little bit of almost everything. You want open fields- flat or hilly? Check. You want dense woods- tunnel shot or tree dodging- level, uphill, downhill or valley? Check. There is something for every player here.
The course is mostly wooded, though, to be certain. Power throwers will have to tone it town a notch or two. Players will be tested on their throw-by-throw tactics and accuracy. Unfortunately, this has the unfortunate side consequence of some holes melding into one another. I cannot sharply recall playing certain holes such as 12 or 16. What I am saying is that a few of the holes feel like filler.

Others, however, are supremely memorable. An easy example is hole 14. It starts off having the player throw around a small patch of trees. And then one has to throw high, high up to a basket that's atop a steep cliff?! Absolutely! Moments like those make me glad that I play disc golf. It's a shame that I live 200 miles away from this course.

Fields, farms, or family houses are almost always in view behind the trees, so a player can never quite feel 100% immersed within the landscape. The experience is somewhat diminished when gigantic farming equipment trundles behind you to tend to the crops or when you hear someone's family dog barking at you throw a screen door. But none of that is a direct problem with the disc golf course itself- just the location.

A few more notes about the course: there are no 'next tee' signs. One could argue that the 'current tee' signs take care of that and that the pins and tees are so close together that it doesn't matter, but I've always said that next tee signs are a staple and a courtesy. Designers want to keep the action flowing for their players as much as possible. Cut out the second or two of guess work and help your players find the next box that much sooner, especially if the course has multiple tee pads.
But the two tee pads and two pins per hole give this course four options of play. It's got more replay value than many courses I've played, which is no easy task. Overall kudos to the designers of Ditto Farms DGC.

In conclusion, this course gets a strong recommendation for all players. It has four levels of difficulty for any kind of golfer out there. The landscape is dynamic and lively with all of its elevation and forest. For having such a small footprint, this course packs a lot of punch. Some of the holes can feel samey, and players might feel agitated at hitting some tree branches that seem out of control. You may feel like sardines on a busy day with how close together the holes are, but those are easily overlooked flaws on a course this good.

Do go to Ditto, and see what I mean.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Four Courses in One

1    4/30/2018   4/30/2018
Review By: markmcc
Played: 237  Reviewed: 212  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2018
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers two well-constructed tee pads for every hole, as well as two different baskets. The result is four different layouts that really are different, and available all of the time.

Short tee to short basket offers a pleasant little 4000 foot course that is great for new players, or just for a relaxing round with plenty of birdie possibilities or ace runs.

Long tee to long basket take the course length to 7000 feet and offers everything from short technical woods holes to 700' open bombers.

In the middle are two combinations (short tees to long baskets or long tees to short baskets) that give two very different 5500' courses.

What all of the combinations share is four very open holes (1-3, 18) with the remainder playing in the woods. Elevation is modest but adds interest.

The wooded holes have "fair" fairways woven through tall mature trees that require you to be able to hit and shape lines. There is some thick/thorny undergrowth in places that can punish an errant shot, though some areas are pretty clean.

Both set of tees feature good sized concrete pads and excellent tee signs with distances and diagrams for playing to either basket. In most cases the short/long tees were separated laterally giving very different lines to the basket(s), especially in the woods.

Innova Discatcher baskets show up great in the woods, and using the color-coding of "gold" (the normal yellow) or red makes the basket options very obvious.
Cons: The open holes are just that. Wide open throws over mowed grass. While one or two featureless holes is acceptable this course starts with 1, 2, and 4 being wide open and ends with 18 open as well.

While I thoroughly enjoyed the woods holes there are no real "wow" moments there. Plenty of solid holes but no particular standouts.

Holes 5 - 17 are compact and with two, often widely spaced teepads it is pretty easy to lose track of other groups playing nearby. Head's up!
Other Thoughts: I think that the real beauty of this course is that for locals there are four distinct, different layouts in place at all times. No wondering if the baskets have been moved or living with alternate tees that are rough or only a little different. Show up and decide which course you want to play that round!

I played long tees to short baskets and it suited my 850ish rating very well. If I played a second time I would swap to the short tees and long baskets and see a completely different course with about the same overall length.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

1    4/7/2018   4/25/2018
Review By: 3amigos
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -long concrete tee pads
-tee signs are very professional
-2 tee pads and 2 holes on every hole
-well manicured grounds
-course was not hilly but good use of elevation changes on holes

Cons: -took a while to find the first tee pads.
-drove past park entrance (was looking for Ditto Farms sign and there was none) Just sign "Washington Park" at entrance
-could use a few "next tee" signs at some of the holes
Other Thoughts: Extremely nice course. First time playing here and I was impressed. Played the short tees on short holes due to time constraints. The long tee and long holes looked pretty challenging. Will come back for sure.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

You Ran into a Wild Ditto!

1    4/20/2018   4/20/2018
Review By: jrodkelly1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Design- This course demands you have a good variety of shots. Unlike some wooded courses its not a straight tee shot on every hole
The property is relatively small and they fit most of the course in the woods. I was very impressed by the compactness but also the feeling of safety.

Course Navigation- Good once you get started its easy to figure out where the next hole will be

Beauty- Its really pretty for a multi use park in a neighborhood

Tee Signs- Literally the best I've ever seen. They show you the lines on certain holes and most importanly elevation changes. They look so futuristic!

Color Coded Baskets- Absolutely brilliant idea to make the short pins red and the long yellow. They are Innova discatchers so no complaints! The tees are nice too never had a problem with them.

A solid wooded course with a few open holes to warm your arm up.

Great Holes- I really like the Hole with the basket on top of the rock face/ mini cliff, The next hole after it had one of the most perfect holes I've ever seen for a flex forehand great design there. I think they were holes 14 and 15.
Cons: Design there is a long portion on the course where you don't have a par 4 ( 7-17) and the distances on the holes don't change to much. So it can get a little sluggish.

Course Navigation- Starting out where the first long tee was took me some time. Besides the tee sign no additional signage pointing to tee locations.

They have restrooms and water fountains but the day I came they were locked and the water fountains didn't work. I later found out that they had brutal cold weather in April so they had to do that. I'm not counting off points for that but it sucked not having my water bottle filled up when I got there.

A couple of holes were poke and hope and pray- Hole 9 from the longs was not only a poke and hope it had freaking sink holes in the fairway! It did make it kind of cool but more frustrating.

Although you can play 4 different layouts while you are here I can see some of them being better or worse than others.

Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course I think it offers everything for someone of any skill level. The short to red baskets would be good for beginners but just challenging enough. I liked the long pads to the reds as well. Some of the Long Pads to the yellow baskets were unfair at times. Overall what a great course to have in your backyard though! I know among Maryland courses it is ranked pretty high but there are better courses in the are especially just north in PA.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

quality mixed course

2-4    8/9/2017   8/9/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 105  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: - multiple baskets
- good variety
Other Thoughts: Ditto Farms is a quality course. Most of the course is wooded, but maybe 1/3 plays out in the open, with a couple of nice longer holes. It's a good course. There are tight shots for the accurate player, long holes for the longer throwers, and some pretty cool basket locations which utilize the rocky terrain.

As others have mentioned, there are multiple baskets which often change the shape of the hole rather than simply adding distance, so it can be played multiple times with different layouts.

I don't have any specific complaints with the course, but it doesn't quite match up to the level of some of my favorite courses. For me, it doesn't have any really memorable signature holes that really set a course apart. That being said, it's a solid course and worth playing if you get the chance.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

I agree.

1    6/10/2017   6/14/2017
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 286  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto Farms is a solid, if unspectacular course. A mostly-wooded layout is bookended by open holes creating two distinct feels to the course.
- Course offers a wide variety of everything: from hole layouts to course layouts. Players can choose one of four course layouts to play with duel teepads and baskets. I quickly learned that the course is best played playing short-to-short or long-to-long. The other two layouts give players some awkward hole layouts, as it feels the course designers were trying to fit square pegs into round holes with the additional options.
- There are some fun layouts here. The designers, to their credit, made most of the wooded-fairways wide enough that players can still be aggressive of most holes. That said, on some of the tougher holes, they force you to hit your line, or you'll be hitting trees and/or ending up deep in the rough.
- The wooded holes do offer some solid risk/reward layouts. Holes such as #8 & 13, which are both slight downhill, slight dogleg layouts give players a chance to be rewarded for aggressive, smart shot making. If you're like me, and end up smacking a tree on #13, you're suddenly scrambling to salvage bogey on a birdie-able hole.
- Course has very descriptive, very useful tee signs. Both tee pads have tee signs with the corresponding distances listed depending on which basket you're playing to. Tee signs also indicate where the next tee is located, which is a bonus.
- Hole #2 is the best of the open holes. It's a slight downhill shot to a basket in the woods, either straight ahead (short basket) or a slightly more awkward, around-the-bend (long basket).
- This is a nice park with lots of amenities. The course, and entire park, is very well maintained. Other than holes #1 & 18, the course is completely isolated from the rest of the park. You do get the awkward experience of playing right up to people's backyards on hole #4.
Cons: Not a lot to complain about. This is a simple layout that's well-executed, creating a fun play. Only a couple of minor things to point out:
- The course is compacted into a relatively small portion of the course, which creates holes to play very close together. On the wooded portion of the course - #5 - 17 - there are multiple opportunities for players to jump to the wrong hole simply because they're so close together.
- This also means, on busy days, you'll have to be extremely careful to watch for discs sailing from other holes towards you, or being wary of your shots encroaching on other holes & players.
- After trying to play to play the Orange layout - short tee to long basket - I realized these off-shoot layouts weren't a great idea. With short-to-short and long-to-long, you have tees, fairways, and baskets created specifically for that layout. With these alternative layouts, there were enough times where I had to deal with a fairway that wasn't created for the shot that's needed and/or some funky angles to throw from. If I didn't care so much about playing the same layout throughout, I would have just changed to playing the long layout the entire round. I guess after 16 hours of driving and dis golf, I was just getting too lazy.
- I don't recall seeing many trash cans or benches throughout the course. That said, the course was clean, especially for one that seems to get so much traffic.
Other Thoughts: This course impressed me. I had a fun round. I didn't have to worry about throwing big shots or having any blow-up scores. Even at the end of a long day, when my arm was shot, I salvaged every hole with nothing worse than a bogey.
- You can tell on #4 that parts of the park are on an old golf course, as an old sand trap is still evident.
- I think the worse thing to say about this course is that none of the holes stood out as memorable. Sure, you've got your quasi 'shoot the gap' holes on #8 & 9; Your dogleg left ace run on #13; your split fairway, uphill basket on the rocks on #14. They're all fun. But they're role players, not the star of the team.
- The course is good for a quick round, especially if you're looking to focus on your mid-range game. The Orange layout plays more than 5500 feet, averaging 310 feet per hole. Even at that length, I felt I was playing most efficiently when I was throwing 225 - 250 off the tee, avoiding any trouble, and getting up and down for simple 3s.
- I'm giving this course a 3.5 rating based upon the layout I played. I reckon some people view it as a higher quality, more challenging course from the Pro tees; whereas, some view it as a lesser course from the short, 4000-foot layout.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Marvelous in Maryland

5+    5/20/2017   6/8/2017
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 138  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto Farms fills a void in western Maryland for disc golf; in fact, with its excellent variety and plethora of layout options, the course more than satisfies the appetite for excellent disc golf in the Hub City.

With two teepads and two baskets on every hole, Ditto Farms offers a suitable option for everyone, from the amateurs to the professionals. Navigation is easy with arrows on the map at each teepad, and each basket is marked with a distinct red (short) or yellow (long) banner. Even the shortest layout offers a challenge, though half the holes are 200 feet or less.

Ditto Farms begins in convenient fashion as three of the first four holes are fairly open, allowing an opportunity to warm up. The first two holes offer a downhill drive as well. However, Hole #3 is a challenging wooded hole - a foreshadowing of more difficult tree-laden challenges. After completing the lengthy but open Hole #4 (which is a par 4), the course disappears into the woods. Holes #5 through #8 offer a variety of forested encounters, transitioning from the ace-run on Hole #5 to a couple of uphill challenges for Holes #6 and #7 to tight but downhill toss on Hole #8.

Holes #9 through #11 are several of the most wooded holes. Downhill elevation comes into play on Holes #13 and #15 but the fairway contains several trees and a "poke and hope" approach might be needed. Holes #16 and #17 are a bit longer with a narrow fairway, and then the course pops out of the woods for the final hole.

Extremely clean course. Grassy holes appear to be frequently mowed and there's not a sign of trash anywhere. And most of the course is set off in the woods, where you're likely to be undisturbed by other park users.
Cons: Too many trees and branches in the fairway. Well-thrown drives may be susceptible to unfair pinball bounces and pinpointing the best route can be difficult, let alone actually trying to hit the identified lines. Holes #9, 10, #11, #14 and #15 are the worst culprits. Narrow fairways are acceptable. But the surplus of random trees and branches is a little too punishing at times.

Also, the area off the fairway can be brutal. Rife with thorns, tall grasses, bushes and poison ivy, the non-fairway sections are a nuisance in some spots and an absolute menace in other places. Spending time looking for wayward shots should be expected. Some course maintenance in the form of weed-wackers and chainsaws would be welcomed.
Other Thoughts: Ditto Farms is currently the second-highest-ranked course in Maryland and merits consideration as the best course. With terrific variety, challenging course design and nice amenities, Ditto Farms is an enjoyable play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Two for Two

1    10/1/2016   11/6/2016
Review By: Discette
Played: 453  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 22.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Ditto Farms is an 18 hole course in a public park. With two sets of tees and two sets of targets on every hole, this course provides a ton of variety and elevation changes. The course plays through open park land as well as an undeveloped and wooded area of the park. I played this course as part of a disc golf trip to 12 states in 12 days. This was the only course I played in the state of Maryland.


I used bullet points for those that don't want to read the entire review.

Challenge and Variety
This course has it all. It will challenge top players and provide variety for all skills of players. It has open holes and wooded holes, There is elevation in play as well. The Blue Course (long tees to Gold targets) is the longest and most difficult layout while the Red Course (short tees to Red pins) is the shortest for new players.


Born Together
Some two target/two tee courses play like they put another target or tee to change up the original design. On many dual target/dual tee courses it is obvious that the second tee or second target was an afterthought. After playing a few holes at Ditto Farm, it seemed that both sets of tees and both sets of targets were designed and installed together as they compliment each other well. All of the possible course layouts look smart and purposeful. Multiple options provide not just a longer tees or a trickier target locations, but often completely different routes with completely different challenges.


No confusion here
Navigation is a breeze no matter which layout you choose to play. Every tee has a sign that shows the locations of the pins as well as an arrow to the next tee. I played a few multiple tee/pin courses on this trip and some were completely confusing. Thankfully Ditto Farms was well thought out and there is very little confusion as to the location of your target or the way to your next tee. While I did not play both layouts completely, I did walk to both sets of tee and targets to take photos.

18, 36, 54 or 72 Holes
Ditto Farms is an 18 hole course that could technically be considered four different courses. There are 18 Yellow targets and 18 Red targets. There are an endless number of courses because of this unique design. I played a mix for the first few holes, then played long tees to the Yellow targets. This is the Blue layout and it has a lot of distance, variety and elevation in play. Accuracy is rewarded at Ditto Farms. No matter which layout you play, this course requires players to execute proper shots to score well.

Two Tees
Each hole has two large concrete tees. The tee areas are well maintained. Each tee has a separate tee sign. Each tee sign includes distances from that tee and also shows all the pin locations, the other tee and direction to the next tee.


No Smoking
At least there is no smoking in the wooded area of the park as there are signs posted. Not sure if you can smoke in the park. One great thing about no smoking is the lack of cigarettes butts on the course. I appreciate that.

Free
There is no charge to enter the park or play the course.

Not Disc Golf Exclusive
This course is in a giant community park with playgrounds and soccer fields. Part of the course is right next to private back yards and part of this course borders a ball golf course. While the course is set properly away from the other activities, players will have to watch out for the occasional runner or dog walker. I played this course super early on a Saturday and was surprised to have to wait for some dog owners to walk across the open fairways on 4 and 18.

All 18 in a row

Once you leave the parking area, you will not return to this area of the park until you after Hole 18. Plan to take all the water and supplies you need for the entire round. Luckily the park is very compact and the design does not require a lot of walking between holes. I had plenty of energy to play a second round.


Split personality
I love fun and challenging courses, but I also appreciate courses with a unique vibe and personality. While most of the park is a traditional developed park setting there is a nice "undeveloped" park area used for holes 5 through 17. This part of the course makes you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere even though you are in the middle of someone's neighborhood and not out in the country. I felt relaxed and challenged at the same time. I just wish there was this much personality on the rest of the course.

Restrooms
There is a full service restroom with running water next to the parking lot and practice basket. There were no other restrooms or portables on the course, but there were at least a couple of opportunities for privacy on the wooded holes.

Kids, Carts and Strollers
Except for a couple of holes in the woods, you should have no problem bringing a cart. Not sure you would want to push a stroller with kids in ti through the thick grass on some of the fairways. Kids will have no problem walking along the terrain. There is a big playground and restrooms with running water before you reach the first tee. You will play all 18 holes before you return to the parking lot. You could also play a short 5 hole layout with the kids. Play 1 through 4 and walk over and play Hole 18 back.

Bugs and Poison Ivy
I played on in a light rain and didn't notice any bugs. There is poison ivy in the woods, take precautions if you are affected.
Cons:
Personality
While the course does have challenge and variety, it is set in a regular public park. It was missing that wow factor that makes it memorable.

Public Park
Even though this course is mostly in the undeveloped area of the park, there is the chance for other park users to walk onto the course. Be mindful and cautious when other park users are present.
Other Thoughts:
Allow time
If you decide to play this course, allow yourself the time to play it twice on your visit. Play the first time through on one layout, take a break and switch it up for the second round. This course is all about variety and you should take the time to enjoy what it does best.


Bookends
On the first day of my journey to play 12 States and 12 Days, the first course I played had two targets and two tees. Ditto Farms was the final course on my journey. Like the first course, Ditto also had two targets and two tees on every hole. During this trip I played at least 6 courses with multiple tees and targets. I will say tat Ditto Farms was the most thoughtfully designed of these multi tee/target courses.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

great course with 2 baskets and 2 tees

1    9/21/2016   9/30/2016
Review By: discNDav
Played: 347  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 32.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a very well maintained suburban park! Everything in the park looked new including the DGC!

Two sets of cement tees and 2 baskets on all 18 holes, red (short) and yellow (long) allows 4 different possible ways to play each hole. Outstanding tee signs at each tee (long and short).

A few long to long holes are par 4.

Starts out very open but has 15 wooded holes. Wood chipped areas around the tees and in places along the fairways or around the baskets.

Great use of elevation, I didn't expect it after entering the woods.

Indoor rest rooms.

Close to the highway, within 5 minutes of I-70.
Cons: Where to start the course is not marked well. I saw both #1 baskets but it took a few minutes before locating the tee(s) to the right and uphill from both the restroom building and then pavilion.

Two of the tighter wooded holes seemed repetitive, #11 and #12?
Other Thoughts: The practice basket is not near hole #1.

Print the map from here, it's excellent.

I usually rate courses slightly lower than their average but in this case it's one of the few I rated higher than it's average, it's that good! I will be back even though it's 3 hrs from me.



9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Loved it

1    7/16/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: rvnash
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great options, easy, medium1, medium2, and hard on each hole. You can choose which "course" to play on any given day, or hole-by-hole. I was tired when I arrived, so I played the easiest, and it was great fun.
Well tended. Baskets, tees and fairways in great condition. Every placement of tee pad and pin has a line or two that will work. Look at the signs. Well designed in that sense, like someone really thought that through. I really liked the hole where the easy basket is up against a cliff face, and the hard basket is above it on top of the cliff. Clever.
Cons: Tee boxes could be a bit longer for me, but probably fine for most.
Other Thoughts: It wasn't very crowded on a Sunday afternoon, mid summer.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.