Goldsboro, NC 
Kiwanis DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tito338 Hole #6 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Walk the Plank..s

1    6/25/2017   6/26/2017
Review By: New013
Played: 166  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - The biggest strength here is the diversity. There's a blending of open and wooded holes so you flow in and out and keeps the round fresh. There's also a great balance in shot types and allowing players to choose how to attack.

I had to think on a few occasions what my play was, there's some unconventional looks. I played several skip shots off the tee.

There's a decent balance in mixing up hole lengths and how the holes create difficulty. Such as early tight gaps, late gaps while having to finish left or right.

The elevation in the park is limited but used cleverly. There's some nice downhill tosses and the tee shot for 12 uses the little mound in a nifty way to create difficulty with a gap.

There's a few longer par 3's where you can let one fly a bit, some fun shots such as 15.

A sprinkling of OB here and there, including a creek.

Equipment - Medium sized concrete trapezoids for tees on most holes; they work fine for this course. The baskets are in good condition. Holes have signs indicating which # it is. They've put down wooden walkways in the swampy areas.

Atmosphere - Multi-use park with a few nice looking holes; mostly those in the meadow type areas.
Cons: Layout - From a strict design standpoint the biggest issues are where the course butts up against the baseball field and parking lot; As well as some forced in filler holes to complete 18.

The course is definitely crammed in to the space it's given and it suffers from that in multiple ways.

I had to skip two holes due to there being a baseball game and people hanging out on two fairways. I also felt uncomfortable throwing hole 3 due to some people tailgating in the area next to it.

The course goes down in to a wooded back part which honestly probably shouldn't be used for disc golf because it's so swampy and overgrown. The rough down there and even on some of the higher parts is ungodly bad. You can easily kick off a tree and end up somewhere you probably don't want to walk or even lose discs.

The winter and spring may be better back there but as of now the course either needs some serious TLC and just more traffic to help beat those areas in some which would help but still not stop the low lying areas from being wet.

There's an odd flow in parts where it does mini circles and loops back on itself. Can be confusing especially with no course map.

Single pads; I think an extra shorter set of pads on the longer open holes might encourage a different demographic and help get more traffic on the course.

Equipment - As I just mentioned this course could really benefit from a course map at the start. The tee signs are just numbers with no hole map or distance info.

Some of the tees in the back are off of the decking walkways. That's just crappy and dangerous considering how slick deck boards get when wet.

Atmosphere - This could be a nice looking park/course with a whole lot of love and foot traffic. As is it's pretty much a bug infested swamp jungle in the back woods area. I was more playing to not have to get in to the rough more so than trying to attack the hole.

There's quite a bit of trash around the park especially in the creek. The creek looked disgusting I'd hate to end up in there.
Other Thoughts: To me this was an area that was more suited for a 9 holer. You could of skipped the back area and not put holes right up against the baseball fields; possibly expanding on some other holes with the added area instead of splitting it up so much.

It does have some really interesting attributes but the negatives outweigh the positives. I could see this course having possibly 3 disc potential but the issues drag it down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great variety, I give it a Silver

1    11/14/2015   7/15/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 104  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of wooded and open holes, 10 and 8 by my count. Baskets are in good shape and they now have concrete tee pads, added after the pictures on this site.
The wooded and open holes are broken up pretty well, 4 wooded, 3 open, 4 wooded, 1 open, 2 wooded and it finishes with 4 open.
Good mixture of right and left holes as well as using all the elevation in this multi-use park, primarily down by the creek.
The distances felt reasonable, for the type of hole. Finishing with a Par 4 on the open 18th.
Cons: No maps available, but pretty easy to follow, once you find #1, be sure to check out #4, you won't see it from #3.
It looks like they made an island green on #3. Problem is you have to play over the entrance road and right next to the softball field, could be unplayable quite often.
I'm sure the holes by the creek (8,9,10,11,13) would get pretty wet with rain. They've fixed #11 real well, with a boardwalk back to the tee. But some of the other holes just have pallets to walk on over the soggy areas.
Also, the underbrush it pretty bad on these, could use some more trimming and cutting.
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked the nice variety on this course, the use of the creek for danger, the elevation changes on 11-15. Except for 3 and possibly 18, this course stays away from the other park users pretty well.
#15 is a fun, elevated tee to a mostly open fairway, just enough trees and brush to make you hit your spot.
#16 has a pretty unique tee shot, a row of tall pine trees down the right side, that you have to go around, left to right. Problem is, the branches hang down real low, so you can't just throw a forehand flick. Perfect place for a roller off the tee, I tried, but definitely don't have that shot!
Nice park, plenty of other activities, restrooms available, but a little sketchy. I understand the other course in town (Stoney Creek) stays flooded most of the time, so this course must get the many rounds it deserves.
Funny story on this course, in March I was in Tucson on a trip. Just pulled up at Marana Rock and another player arrives, with a Carolina Panthers shirt. Turns out he moved there from Goldsboro and use to play this course all the time! It's a small DG world!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid little course

1    4/30/2016   5/2/2016
Review By: gvdg jake
Played: 73  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice innova practice basket near hole 1
- Big concrete tee pads
- Trash buckets on most holes
- Fair amount of parking
- Uses most shots in your bag

-Hole 1 and 2 were straight forward holes. 2 was neat with a large mound of dirt that could affect flight of disc but still leaves a chance to run the basket.

-Holes 5/6/7 were fairly open

-Hole 8 was a neat hole with OB creek running straight down the middle. Has a small landing area with a fence to the left of the basket. Easy birdie or easy bogey.

-Holes 9 and 10 were neat too. They had wooden tee pads (no real run up needed). These holes played near the wetlands which was neat to play. Probably not the best to play a few days after a good rain though.

-11 is another neat short hole. Tee off from another deck tee pad in the wet land and shoot up the hill back to dry land. Has a nice boardwalk to get you back without getting muddy or wet.

-13 was a neat RHBH straight to slight hyzer shot downhill to hanging basket with OB long of hole. Could be easy to get in trouble if you hit an early tree.

Cons: -No benches

-Hole 3 was unplayable for me due to softball tourney players parking on the green. Didn't really like the look of this hole with it playing across the street and kinda back towards the parking lot.

-Had a long transition to hole 4. (lucky for me, I noticed 4 when I was at the practice basket)

-Holes 13 and 15 were a bit confusing at first. You come up the hill after 12 and see 2 pads and 1 basket near the 15 pad. I think tee signs with maps on them could eliminate this confusion in the future.

-Hole 15 is a nice hole, but I didnt care for how close it was to the 14 putting area.

-Hole 18 was a badly thought out hole. Its a par 4 playing back through the park. It has a small OB creek about halfway down the fairway. This hole crosses near a volleyball court and a playground. Both of these had people on them when I was playing the hole. Seemed a little forced.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. Its a fair intermediate level course with tons of cool features and very few cons. This course can be a -5 round or a +5 round. I was able to play this course in about 55-65 minutes by myself for the first time. Solid flow to the course. I would recommend this course to anyone in the area or anyone traveling through the area. With a few small changes to the course this could be a good 4.0 course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    10/22/2015   10/22/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 103  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Practice basket and good, quality baskets
2. Nice, wide trapezoid tee pads
3. Beautiful course, for th most part
4. Fun, elevated basket on #2
5. Really nice mix of open and wooded holes
6. The open holes are gorgeous. Manicured grass, a few trees guarding the baskets.
7. #11 is a fun hole, teeing off on a boardwalk, up a tight, wooded fairway to a fast green.
8. #12 is another fun one: out of the woods, up a hill to a hidden basket on an elevated plateau.
9. The hanging basket on #13 is fun
10. #15 is a long, mostly open hole with an elevated tee: good hole
11. #16 is a really cool open *feeling* hole that's really a tunnel, formed by the large branches hanging down from a row of mature pines
Cons: 1. No hole maps at the tees, so you don't always know where the basket is and you're guessing on distance
2. Tee shot on #3 is over a road
3. No directional signs after the #3 basket. I had to ask a local. You will get lost, if you don't. Long walk across the parking lot, across the 1st fairway, and behind the bathrooms.
4. Hole #8: too much underbrush, No Treaspassing OB to the left
5. Hole #9: very short, no tee pad. Numbers 8 and 9 feel very forced and out of character from the rest of the course.
6. Hole #10: more bad underbrush on the fairway
7. #13 is back into the woods...with too much underbrush
8. Not to beat a dead horse, but the underbrush is pretty bad on the wooded holes on the back nine: lots of thorns and disc-stealing brush
9. MOSQUITOS
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course. I almost gave it a 3.5, but backed down to 3.0 because of poor navigation and the underbrush. I would be a borderline 4.0 for this course of those two issues were fixed. Great course that had the potential to be really special with some minor improvements.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/29/2015   9/2/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of those park courses that feature about half of the holes in open green spaces and half of them carved through the surrounding woods. It is also one of those courses that do most things well and few things exceptionally. 8 was probably the standout hole for me. It a wooded hole in which the fair is the space above a shallow creek. The landing area is relatively small and the shot required (a gut shot with a small left fad just at the end) is fairly precise but it is a rewarding and aesthetically pleasing hole. Like most of the wooded holes here, the line is clean, the underbrush is at a minimum. 11 is another fun hole, there is a gap about a third of the way down the fairway which leads to a quick climb to the pin. That one is followed by one of the better open holes, with the basket on a small mound. That same position provides elevated tees for 13 and 16, both of which use the tee placement to add difficulty to the drive. The course wraps things up with a chance to air it out, with only a single tree and a minor ditch to inhibit the path to basket unless you go way off course.
Cons: A few holes don't live up to the rest, including 9 which plays too close to a fence that someone does not want you stepping over and a pair of open holes that traverse open terrain that may be in use by other activities. (Maybe this is rare and I was unlucky to have to skip these two.) The 2 is unfortunately placed one wrong side of the entrance road to the park.
Other Thoughts: Good intermediate level course with solid variety. Solid all around if unspectacular. Kiwanis was a pleasant surprise.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Vastly Improved!

5+    6/1/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: seanlindsay
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New, massive concrete pads for a majority of holes
- Improved drainage and walkways
- Surprising amount of elevation change for eastern NC (including a downhill tunnel shot at a hanging basket)
- New design for hole 18 (par 4) now plays like a real par 4
- Great variety of wooded/open, L to R/straight/R to L
- Some holes have alternate basket positions that help lengthen the course
Cons: - First few holes are hard to navigate (1-3 are separated from 4-18)
- Some holes are pretty short ace runs (7-9) limited by land available
- If it rains hard, the course can get swampy on some holes (though much has been done to fix this recently)
Other Thoughts: - Add a hole in the unused area right of 1, behind hole 2
- Merge 8 and 9 to create a longer, more technical par 3 instead of two dinky ace runs.
- Next Tee signs to help navigate, especially 3 to 4.
- Put in a few benches


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good, Bad, and the Ugly

1    1/3/2015   1/3/2015
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 146  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Practice basket, an elevated pin, a hanging basket, some fun downhill throws and a couple of nice arm stretchers for the non-distance challenged. A lot of variety on this course in terms of terrain and feel, from city park style amongst pines to quirky wooded holes along a creek to more open, field style holes to finish.

The fairway shape variety isn't too bad either, typically mostly straight stuff with some curves steep enough that you'll think about throwing FH or hyzers most of the line. The elevation change was surprising, with a couple of fun downhill shots where you can air a disc out a bit.
Cons: A couple design 101 no-nos like crossing the park entrance road and crossing some sidewalks/paths. Really, really confusing transition from 3 to 4 as you basically walk back to hole 1. Holes 5, 6, and 7 form a triangle and kind of feel like filler holes.

The Ugly: Hole 4 has a worrisome fence on the left that I could easily foresee a disc kicking over. Holes 8 and 9 probably just shouldn't exist, they're basically in some guy's backyard. Very easy to put a disc over the fence in that yard but fortunately the holes are quite short so that reduces the chance quite a bit but at the end fill like filler holes that the designer went out of his way to use just to have some holes play along the creek. Holes 8-11 are pretty swampy but they put in a lot of bridges and it was fairly playable despite the recent deluge of rain.

12's basket, 13's tee and I think 15's tee all occupy this knoll and it's a little crowded up there, could get dodgy on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: Holes 1 & 3 were a bit tight and luck rewarding I think. I really enjoyed the 12-18 section of the course, with 2 and 4 being the better of the front 9 IMO. 13 and 15 are just fun holes, I don't care who you are and I thought 16's use of pine limbs to create a tunnel was fairly clever. Ending the round with longer, field holes was a nice way to end.

Overall, the course is pretty solid once you look past the warts. It's worth a drop-in; the park has some age on it but it's fairly nice, with some modern looking basketball courts and nice ball fields.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

5+    10/12/2014   10/15/2014
Review By: kingingkunsan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix in my opinion. Hole 1-3 are some what tight in the trees. 2nd basket is on a mound so watch out for that roller. 4-7 open up a bit and allow for a few bombs. Then it is back into the trees for some more control. Get ready to break out a hyzer, anhyzer, tomahawk, and maybe even a throw from your knees. The designers even hung a basket from trees to elevate it. I thought this was unique. Fun course and now the best in Goldsboro in my opinion. Sorry Stoney Creek.
Cons: BEWARE! Hole 8! The park neighbor is not friendly and if you toss a disc on his property your disc is now gone. **unless you risk trespassing** Signs are posted
A few holes are in low lying are and subject to flooding/mud. So wear old shoes/boots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

5+    9/6/2014   9/7/2014
Review By: Tito338
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 9/9/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sports a variety of shots and basket placements testing even the best disc golfers. Playing here, I have noticed that the local club takes pride in the up keep; bridges, walkways, and tee pads have been built to help golfers get through some of the more wooded holes. There is nice mixture of open and wooded holes; just when you think you can just air out a disc you are walking back into the trees, and the trees can be very tight to get through. This makes for a challenging and fun round.
Cons: All of the cons that I have are relatively superficial. Concrete tee pads, distance markers, benches, trash cans (in the wooded holes), and a map are all lacking in this course. These missing niceties can all be easily remedied.
Other Thoughts: I wish that I could rate this course higher, but it is still young, and it is still in need of players to "beat it in" like your favorite disc. It just keeps getting better. Good job, GDGC.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

5+    8/5/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: Notbhavn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the holes are very well thought out and very clean. It's a really good mix of open long shots, placement shots and tight wooden holes.
Update: The new concrete tee pads are awesome.
Cons: UPDATED: They have put in a lot of work in the swampy areas and the bridges have made this area much more manageable.
The layout is a little confusing and I wish they had a course map around. Like others have said, going from 3-4 is a little walk.
There are about 6 holes though the woods that get very swampy...not standing water, but muddy and the rough area is ROUGH in these areas
Other Thoughts: The grassy areas are well kept and the course is easy to navigate. Some of the holes are close to other tee pads, but not overlapping. I think this course was well thought out and executed very well within the site allowed. I would definitely recommend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.