Pearland, TX 
Centennial Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #9 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 342ft.   3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
A Mostly Average Nine Hole Course!

1    10/1/2017   10/1/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Centennial Park DGC is set on maybe a two block area of scattered trees. The part close to the street is more field than lawn. This park lost quite a few trees with he flooding and the course plays a bit easier now. Hole # 1 especially lost trees which have affected the difficulty.

Only hole # 1 has a concrete pad and that's just where the sidewalk ends. The rest are worn spots in the grass which does indicate that Centennial does get played. These natural pads do have the front board. The signs are the old school fiberglass ones. The baskets are DGA models with the # on the inside pole in yellow. The remaining eight holes all felt very similar to me. You're throwing a lot of tunnel shots needing to miss a tree or two. # 9 is longer at 426' but it still has exactly the same feel, it's just longer.

Hole 1 is 375' through the trees with the river/creek ever-present on your right.
Cons: The grass on # 1 was high and wet this morning. The rest of the the course needs mowing.

Holes were all eerily similar. They're fun and everything, just not terribly unique or challenging. Not blaming he designer as he did what he could with what he had to work with.

Natural pads are never he best. But I'm always pleased to see a front board. Keeps player from creeping up and up. Soon, the natural pads are elongated and shabby looking.

The area here doesn't feel parklike to me. Has more of the feel of a piece of undeveloped land somewhere.
Other Thoughts: I was all set to award this park a very fair and deserved rating of 2.5. But after playing Centennial this morning, I drove over and played Bayou Bend DGC and I enjoyed it so much more. It's in a lovely grassy park with concrete pads and these great little tee signs. The golf holes are fairly similar in difficulty and creativity. So I think Bayou Bend is a very average little nine hole course but slightly superior to Centennial. Bayou is not a 3.0. It's your typical little average 9 hole, city park course which are found everywhere. What does that make Centennial? Because of the comparison, I say Centennial is a decent course and gets a reasonable rating of 2.0.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun little 9

1    7/12/2017   7/14/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 391  Reviewed: 208  Exp: 29.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to follow
Decent holes with defined fairways
Lots of shade
Only disc golf in this park
Cons: Tee signs need updating
grass/dirt tee area
Other Thoughts: Centennial park is a small park with several large trees. The nine holes use just about 100% of the park.

Parking is across the road, and you walk over to hole 1, the only cement tee pad using the end of the jogging trail.

First holes have some distance, then you are throwing back and forth, using natural fairways formed by the large tree's.

Grass is super thick.

Would I play here again?

yes, this is a fun little 9 hole course, while not a destination course, if you are nearby and have the time, it is worth playing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/15/2015   9/16/2015
Review By: Tmcalist
Played: 113  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It definitely used the space it had for a 9 hole course the best way possible. I fortunately had a great first time experience playing this course because I got to play it with Cory, the course designer. So like all players know, playing a course for the first time can be frustrating having to search for the tees and what basket you are shooting at. Having Cory there eliminated that for me. Some long holes but majority were shorter, but not easy. Just the right basket placement to make each hole a challenge.
Cons: Not enough signs telling you where the next tee box is. All grass tees and the alternate tee positions were near impossible to find, even for the person who placed them there. The grass was very over grown and not well maintained. One other con were the signs and posted distances. Most of them were wrong or partially scratched out and had distances written in marker. Some of the markings I believe had faded or were hard to read.
Other Thoughts: Overall I would definitely come and check it out. Great small course you can play quickly. Won't really lose a disc which is nice. Just wish it was a bit more groomed and the next tee box was more obvious as to where the next hole was, but no big deal!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love it!

5+    1/28/2015   1/29/2015
Review By: smootheffect
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Remote land away from the rest of the park. Quick play so can play the course 2/3 times easy. Low lying tree lines which tempt you to use a variety of different shots/discs out of your bag.

Perfect for beginners & intermediate players
Cons: Despite it being next to a creek, there's a lack of drainage...so give it a few days of sunshine after a rain or the course will be soggy full of puddles.

Other Thoughts: I play this course at least once a week despite the weather, its fun, challenging, and quick fun. definitely work the drive to check it out.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    4/12/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: DG Drunken Master
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: well put together with a range of different looks. this is my home course and compared to others I am happy to have it close to home.
Cons: A few boxes could be tightened up and yardage is not always visible.
Other Thoughts: I saw Cory out there measuring the course and said he was going to put up some updated signs. I cannot wait for that.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course LOVE IT

5+    12/5/2013   12/13/2013
Review By: txtroutslayer84
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I love this course! I feel like with the space that is provided i do not think it could be any better. I love that it is its own section of the park and only other golfers are there. It is a clean and well kept park. The best feature i think is that the course has a very technical shot apeal to it. All of the holes have a very nice flow to them. Well shaded which is very nice in the summer trees also have a nice canopy effect on a couple of the holes most noticeably hole seven. The alternates make this small course fun and offer different looks to all most every basket. All in all I love it i can play a round ion about an hour or less by myself and I have been known to do a couple of laps. It to me does not seem repetitive as most holes have alternate lines as well as different tee placements. I hope Cory and Griff keep making courses they really know how to use the enviorment and provide a fun and challenging course.
Cons: The tee box on five is a little rooty could use a bench or two and please fix the signs. All of rthese things will be addressed im sure and i had to really think about the cons
Other Thoughts: Go see cory at corys bike shop on thirty five he designed this course and is a great guy to get some advice new discs or just bs about golf.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Centennial Pearland

5+    10/20/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: DikkaD
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Low tree lines.
Multiple lines on most holes.
Alternate Teeboxes
Away from other park "goers"
Lighted Parking
Cons: Short Holes
Some repetition, though the alternate tees help.
No elevation, or other obstacles. (Hole 1 from the longs has water on the left that is OB)
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course for intermediate/advanced players but will suit new players well. There is enough difficulty to seperate the skill levels but enough ease to allow scores well below par. I recommend this to all skill levels as it should help to hone your short game.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in Pearland

2-4    10/15/2013   10/17/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 141  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The PROS:

1. Alternate tees for 9 holes.

2. Holes 1 and 9 start/ finish near the parking lot across the street.

3. Plenty of shade from the trees.

4. Very easy to navigate without course map. Though the parking lot for the course is across the street. Hole one begins near the bayou. there is a DG Rules sign near tee 1.

5. New MAch 2 baskets.

6. Mandos are marked with orange arrows either on trees or small posts in the ground.

7. Course offers a good look at different shots. The alternate tees offer variety. Variety is good in DG. Without it the course would be very repetitive.
Cons: THE CONS:

1. Natural tees. Though they are not routed yet, rain and heavy play with turn them into puddles in the near future.

2. Tee signs for several holes have the distance scratched out. A sharpie has been used to correct the distance.

3. Even though a plus for having alt tees there is no distance information for the alt tee.

4. No elevation. The course relies heavily on the fact that with only nine holes you get a mix of left and right. But for the most part the holes are pretty easily thrown on very reasonable lines.



Other Thoughts: This course offers a fun time in Pearland. With this course taking Woody Street's place I would say the the land was well used. I wish hole three was a little longer. Possibly putting the basket behind the the big oak to offer more difficulty. The course overall is very clean and well kept.

Holes 2-4, 6 and hole 8 offer pretty easy birdies. Hole two is an easy line for a RH BH Anhyzer or a LHBH hyzer. Hole three is short with little difficulty. Hole four offers a line for a LHBH hyzer, or a RHBH hyzer the difficulty being the large tree in the fairway. Hole six offers a look at both RHBH and LHBH. I chose to go with LHFH to "S" curve through the obstacles. If you can reach the thin palm between the two bigger tress you can look foward to a decent birdie putt. Hole eight is a LHBH hole or RHBH anhyzer. Though not much angle is required on the drive. I used a ROC LHBH throw to get within 15ft of the basket.

Holes 1, 5, 7, 9 offer the distance for this course. These holes can easily be pared. Thus making the course a fun chance at an under par round. I think that this course is better than Miramar in Seabrook. So for the area i would say that Centennial is best nine hole course in SE Houston.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

2-4    6/8/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: soonerpa
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1- trees
2-shade
3-nice layout
4-nice intermediate distance holes
5-clean and upkept
Cons: A little confusion on hole distance and can be hard to find alternate tees, at first.

Maybe the canopy could be raised just a little more
Other Thoughts: I have to say this has just become one of my favorite courses in Houston.
Its clean, well laid out, shaded and fun.

I can see myself playing here a lot when those temperatures go up into the 90+degrees because of the nice shade offered here.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good potential

1    5/8/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like the layout of this course. It has nice variety of hyzer, anhyzer, low ceiling, high ceiling, long and short. The longest hole is hole #1 at 408 feet, where you can play a big hyzer to the right of the tree-line over the creek. The shortest hole is a 190ft anhyzer hole #3. The designers really did a good job of mixing it up and utilizing the existing trees. It is probably theoretically possible to birdie every hole, but you will need an arsenal of precision shots to make it happen. This is a great course for practicing and developing a precision short game.

There are plenty of tall trees, so you get a lot of shade during your round.

The baskets they brought from Woody are solid, and they are correctly numbered.

Hole distances are currently marked on the tee signs apparently imported from Woody with a black sharpie, but I suppose this is temporary. But it doesn't look like the alternate tees are well marked.

Hole #1 tees off from the end of the sidewalk, so you have an awesome cement tee pad, it would be nice if there were other cement teepads.

There is decent parking right across the street and there is a walkway to tee #1.

Other than hole #1, there really isn't any water hazard where you could lose a disc (this is a bonus for me)
Cons: I don't know what the eventual plan is for the tee pads, but right now they are really rough, uneven, and bumpy, so it is difficult to get a smooth run-up for a drive. (except hole #1)

It is in a relatively flat area, and there is no elevation change.

There are some nice lush trees growing on the property, and so there is a possibility of getting a disc stuck in them. I got one stuck that I couldn't get out (if you find my orange Star Eagle, please feel free to give me a call.)

Even though there is good variety to the hole layout, it can tend to seem a bit repetitive... probably because it is the same type of terrain and vegetation.

The alternate tees are marked but not labeled, so you are left guessing that you are on the right tee area. It would be nice to get a course map uploaded to this site to help navigate.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course. I would really like to see a way to get nice big cement tee boxes in some of these courses. Kudos to Cory, Griff, and everyone else that made this happen.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.