Lacey, WA 
Woodland Creek Community Park Share
Uploaded By: SolarKennedy Hole #6 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2

1    3/9/2018   4/20/2020
Review By: Nate32
Played: 61  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodland Creek Community park is located in Lacey, Wa. This course is great if you are on a huge road trip and need to stop and take a break. This course has a good variety of holes, some open and some wooded.

Woodland Creek Community Park also has a fishing lake, playground and a huge warm up area. If I lived close to this course that warm up area/ huge field would be my go to for field practice.
Hole #6 is my favorite out of them all. This hole might look very technical but it is pretty fun as it allows you to throw a huge spike hyzer towards the basket.

Hole 9 is a interesting hole but very basic. The hole is behind a small ish pine tree next to the telephone poll. It does not matter what season you go in to play this course as there is a great mix of holes.

Hole 1 starts off in the open field and plays around the mitz of trees. After hole 1 all the wooded holes come into play. Maintaining this course would not be easy as there is quite a lot of brush you have to look out for.

All holes are par 3s and with a little more space they could have expanded into a few par 4s. Course amenities are:
+Resterooms
+Great tee signs
+ ConcreteTee Pads
The course designer did a really good job with the tee signs and tee pads. Tee signs are in full color and are much needed as some of the baskets are blind from the tee pad.

I believe this course just got a remodel since the tee signs are brand new.
Cons: For a 9 hole disc golf course they could have expanded this into something amazing. They have quite a lot of land they could work with to make this course a little more enjoyable.

With a little more clearing this course could be one of my favorite 9 hole disc golf courses. Baskets on this course are not too great as they are older DGA model. I thought at first they were Mach 2s or 3s since they look very similar.

Course was built fairly recently and I think they could do some big things if they used a little more of their land to create a bigger course. This course is kind of short and very tight. It will offer you to be wise on what disc you chose off the tee.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is the perfect roadside stop if you want to stretch and play a nice 9 hole round before you get back on the road. If you live close i would definitely check this course out.

It has some great field opportunities for practice shots on their massive fields. To get to the course from the parking lot park on the far end of the parking lot and walk down a path across the bridge where you will see the first tee on the left.

I also noticed there are a couple practice baskets along the course as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Basket-opia?

1    10/18/2019   10/19/2019
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and signage. Lots of baskets- enough for a driving range and several areas of practice baskets. Well manicured fairways, even with heavy trees. This forces you to find a line and stick to it.
Cons: It was a little confusing to find hole 1 from the parking lot. Signage for visitors would be helpful. The teepad selector on hole 4(?) was broken and didn't have good instructions- although we did like the idea!
Other Thoughts: What's up with all the extra baskets? Several warm up putting areas plus a driving range. Why not deploy those into a longer course? I feel bad for Team Oly losing the Yauger Park course. This very much feels like the replacement, for those that played Yauger!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Has that “Home Course” feeling

1    1/6/2019   1/8/2019
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 93  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Perhaps the best thing about this course is the tee areas, they all have benches, great signs, and great concrete tees that have tons of space, there are no trees right next to the tee, so you have full range of motion.
-Very Clear distinction between rough and fairway. The Fairways are easily traversed, and the roughs are hard to get out of, but not impossible to walk through. This is nice, it allows you to get to your disc without too much trouble, but you are still punished a little for an errant drive.
-This is a very well designed wooded course, the trees are obstacles, but they don't make the lines impossible.
-Navigation is simple, this is an easy 'out and back' type course
-No garbage on the ground, I always love a nice clean course!
Cons:
-Baskets are only semi-visible, there is clearly an effort made to make them more visible by putting small cones on top, but grey Chainstars in the woods are just too hard to see.
-Baskets are in good condition, but, I'm just not a fan of Chainstars, they catch OK, but not great
-Not a whole lot of elevation, some tees are on a bit of a hill, but for the most part the course is flat
-No Mandos or OB, there could have been a couple Mandos to protect the road on hole 6 especially
-A couple unique holes, hole 1 is the only real driver throw, the rest are straight mid shots, unless you want to get a little crazy.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is a nice slightly above entry level difficulty layout, that is very well equipped. From previous reviews I surmise that the field behind the course is used a driving range, which in my opinion makes this course that much more of a complete package. There were also 4 baskets sprinkled randomly through the rest of the park (not on the course) this was a little confusing for me, but I suppose that they are used for putting practice. I think that they could easily be used to extend the course to a 13 hole layout, which would be cool, even though it isn't a full 18. I'm sure there is a good reason why they are there, but I just don't know what it is.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/30/2018   10/12/2018
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 64  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Woodland Creek Park is a large, well-maintained city park with a community center, playground, lake for fishing, grass fields, trails, natural areas, and a 9-hole disc golf course.

-Hole 1 plays 400 feet, and hole 9 300 feet through an open field. The rest of the holes are technical woods golf, typically playing ~250 feet.

-The course is well-maintained, with fair lines, relatively clean rough, and short grass. The designers did an excellent job fitting seven fun, unique holes into a small area of woods without interference between holes.

-This course has a fantastic warm up area. There are three baskets for putting, as well as a driving range. The driving range consists of an enormous concrete tee box and three baskets ranging from 200-350 ft.

-Excellent signage throughout. There's a large info board by the practice area and another by the first tee. Every hole has its own tee sign featuring the shot shape and distance to each of the two basket positions.

-Best Holes:
#1 is the only opportunity for a long drive, at 400 feet with no obstacles.
#7 is a nice tunnel shot through a handful of old-growth trees.
Cons: -The baskets are older DGA models and have lost some of their catch. The baskets on the driving range, however, appear to be new. I'd suggest swapping them out.

-There is only one opportunity on the course to throw a long-distance shot, but the driving range makes up for that.
Other Thoughts: -Upon entering the park, proceed to the very end of the parking lots, near the playground and the driving range. The first tee is located across the footbridge and to the left.

-This would be a great local course. It was a lot of fun, and more than I expected. The driving range was a terrific bonus.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/24/2017   6/24/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 164  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: Course is phenomenal. In excellent condition, has practice driving range, as long as multiple practice pins. Course navigation is easy and everyhole is well thought out.
Cons: I really don't have any! Only thing is they might have enough room to make it 18, which would be awesome. However the 9 they have now is incredible.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite 9 hole I've ever played. It looks like they have set up some alternate holes for league or other play. Wish it was 18 but great course for a quick fun 9 holes

 Short and Sweet 9 holer

5+    5/31/2017   5/31/2017
Review By: OlyGuy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 27.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A real jewel of a short 9 hole course. Great place for practicing your control game. If you are used to playing from the Am tees on longer courses, the distances here will feel just right. Very well maintained park facilities provided by city of Lacey. Ample paved parking, clean restrooms, etc. Near to city of Lacey's urban center - makes it very easy to do 9 or even 18 holes on lunch hours during the week - I play at midday every day Monday through Friday. Aside from hole #1 when it's in the long position, big arms are not required to par this course. The course planners did a really great job of cramming 9 fun holes into a very small space. The densely wooded rough along both sides of most holes really belies the fact that opposing fairways are literally just a few meters apart. Course is bounded on one side by protected wetland, lots of wildlife to enjoy with squirrels, rabbits, just to name a few.
Cons: If you crave long courses to flex your big arms, you might not like it here, it's short and tight. The constraining space that made the planners be so creative with their hole layout is also the thing that seems to preclude any more development of this course. The addition of multiple tee pads at different angles of approach to the pin is what makes many a 9 hole course play like 18, but I don't see how this would be possible here, everything is already maxed out. And as I said before, the tee pads are already set at what I consider to be Amature length, so just adding shorter distance teepads as many long courses have would not make much sense here either.
Other Thoughts: Very clean course - almost no litter to speak of. Major Kudos to local players who pick up after themselves and pack out the occasional found piece of garbage. I frequently play this course with nothing more than an Aviar Putt & Approach and a marker disc. Park is multi-use, please be aware and courteous of people other than disc golfers who are just out for a walk in the park, whether it be stay at home moms with strollers and toddlers or retirees walking their dogs on the wooded trails that some of the holes crisscross.
P.S. - In lieu of alternate tee pads, it would be awesome if an additional 9 baskets were permanently placed at the alternate pin locations, then this short 9 holer could play like a short 18.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First time playing. This course

1    3/28/2015   3/29/2015
Review By: jherber
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I played woodland for the first time found it to be fun nine hole course will plait. Again soon . thanks. To david for being my gide. David says that he was learning the sport of disc golf.
Cons: Needs to be cleaned up in the inside part of the course from clearing out logs on other items . they need to put garbage cans . but the course seems. To be a work in project
Other Thoughts: Keep up the great work it will we a grat course in time

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    3/6/2015   3/7/2015
Review By: Josh Heideman
Played: 37  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The driving range is super sweet as well as the dual pratice baskets. Since I play Shelton Springs mostly it was fun for me throw slower speed discs to work on my approach game.

Now that the tee panda are all concrete I really see a great future for this course. And look forward in playing in the Woodland Creek Classic here soon
Cons: I wish it was an 18 hole course and had better tee signs. It does look like new signs are in the plans one other thing that would work is to make pro and am tee pads. Besides that I really did enjoy the course today.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Woodland Creek Community Park

1    10/14/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 239  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 20.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Woodland Creek Community Park is a short yet challenging nine hole course located in Lacey, WA, just north of our state capital. Officially installed in 2013 by Team Oly, this local club installed the state's first DG driving range, and included a massive four person tee pad with multiple distance markers to help players work on proper disc selection. Also installed near the range are two practice baskets, allowing players to work on their short game and putting in between rounds.

Not far from the range players will find a stream, behind the kiosk, with a wooden bridge that leads players toward hole one. Both the first and last hole run parallel to one another and have players throwing in a rather open field with easily avoidable OB on the left of both holes. The rest of the holes are located in a tight to very tight forest and although quite short, are rather challenging. Putters and mids are all that is needed for these holes with perhaps the occasional fairway driver, as the course was designed to reward accuracy over power...with the exception of the first and last hole. An entire round can take about 30-40 minutes when the park is not busy, allowing for multiple rounds whether they be there or in addition to St. Martins Abbey just a couple of miles away.

Favorite Hole(s): #2 and #7
Cons:
As others have stated, the tee signs and tee pads are good enough for now but are in dire need of an upgrade sooner than later. The rocks are scattered due to players kicking the rocks away to make that perfect run-up and the tee signs are laminated paper attached to wooden stakes. However, the yellow "next tee" signs are strategically placed making it easy for first timers to get around which was much appreciated.

The largest con on the course is holes one and nine. They are unfortunate but are understandable considering the amount of space that has been provided for the DG course. They are just open field shots that require sheer distance rather than skill. The OB is easily avoidable and puts little pressure on players off the tee. Honestly, I would rather just skip these holes and enjoy holes #2-8 several times over as they are all unique and fun!

Least Favorite Hole(s): #1 and #9
Other Thoughts:
Senior Gilberts and Team Oly really did a great job working with the city of Lacey to get this nine hole course installed. After having Yauger Park ripped out from beneath them a few years ago the local scene was left with literally nothing within city limits. With such a great group of guys they deserved better and fortunately their war cries were heard! Now they have two fun nine hole courses within 3 miles of one another, making for a nice round of DG. My hope however is that they eventually get a championship caliber 18 course near our state's capital for all to visit so that the quality of courses in the area are equal to that of the local club. Thank you for all your hard work getting Woodland Creek Community Park installed as it is a great addition to our DG community!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/14/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: pkane@yahoo.com
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Local course for Olympia/Lacey/Tumwater residents. Difficult to lose discs here. Good practice for tunnel shots.
Cons: Tee pads are terrible, just dirt and rocks and tree roots. Several of the pads are so rough because of rocks and roots that you risk twisting an ankle or tripping if you try to run up.
Holes 1 and 9 are very boring, wide open field.
Signs could be much better, easily vandalized. On several holes the basket is out of sight and there's nothing on the sign letting you know where it is.
Other Thoughts: Laying good tee pads and putting in good signs would help loads. Don't know if it would be possible to make another hole in the woods to replace 1 or 9.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.