Milan, TN 
Milan DGC Share
Uploaded By: Wood Chuk Hole #2 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 283ft.   3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
When holes range from 185-700, there is something for everyone.

1    5/3/2021   5/3/2021
Review By: TRoss886
Played: 214  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 19 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- The Big 3: This course has great essentials. Large concrete tee pads, great tee signage, and Discatchers in good shape are all featured on the 18 holes. The tee signs had a nice feature: Each hole was named after a different sponsor that was listed on the sign. Example: #2 a somewhat technical hole was named "Sharpen Your Skills" sponsored by a local knife sharpening business. I think this is great for funding and getting the community involved.
- Staging Area: Definitely one of the better courses I've played in this regard. Plenty of parking close to #1 tee. There is a practice basket with a cool game (Game Of Throws) posted on top of it that beginners and advanced players alike can enjoy. There is a large pavilion with picnic tables, restrooms, and trash cans. Finally, there is a nice kiosk with community board and course map beside it.
- Amenities: I counted a total of 7 out of 18 holes with benches and 5 holes had trash cans available. There is also another restroom at #10 tee.
- Beauty: This course is well groomed and mostly pretty. The grass seems to be mowed frequently. The first 6 holes feature some nice large old trees and well placed shrubs. The pond on 16/17 is a nice feature. The big winner in this category is #18 green though. They definitely went all out on the landscaping for this. A few layers of rock and bark with shrubs on each side. Really nice touch as you are finishing your round.
- Navigation: I didn't have any issues on my first round here. Having a picture of the course map from tee #1 helped a couple times. The next tee signs on top of some the baskets are really great. The only small thing I would add is some guidance from #9 to #10. Really well done other than that.
- Back Vs. Front: The tale of two courses. The front is very beginner friendly. It is short and pretty with minimal hazards. It also ends with a long (for beginners) downhill bomb. The back is tailored more toward advanced players. It features 3 par fours, 2 par fives, throwing over water, and a 700 foot hole. I enjoyed both the front and the back greatly. However, if someone feels far more drawn to the front or back, there are alternate car parking options to play one or the other.
- Par Options: I liked that some hole signage offered "Par 3 for beginners, Par 4 for advanced players" options. I think this keeps beginners more engaged. The addition of beginner tees on 2 holes is also a great add. Particularly on #17 so you don't have to throw over the water if you don't want to.
- Hole Features: I like the wooden fence backstop on #11 and #14. Fun technical holes that allow you to really go for the ace or long putt since you know you can't over shoot. #12 features a cool hanging basket.
Cons:
- Flow: The flow can be cramped at points. I didn't play on a busy day, but I can see where some discs might fly into other hole's fairways at times. There are also a few tees that are just a bit too close to the previous basket. #11 crosses over the walking path so walkers can affect the flow.
- Single Pin Locations: I didn't notice any alternate pin locations and this is always a great option to have for local players in particular to keep things interesting.
- Par System: I think the pars here are fairly generous. Some of the par 4s seem like really long par 3s and the par 5s seem like really long par 4s. This is definitely debatable though.
Other Thoughts:
Not pros or cons:
- #10: Adding a mando on 10 would make a nice challenging tunnel shot and prohibit hyzer bombs to the right.
- Shot Shaping: I'd say this is average here. It is fairly weak at times but a few holes have great forced shot shaping. I'd say it's a wash especially with the variety in distances.
- Turn: There is no turn, but you aren't too far from the car after #9. There is also the added benefit of a restroom after #9.
- Elevation: The elevation on this plot is very minimal, but it feels like the designers did a good job using what they had to work with.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses in West TN

5+    7/8/2019   7/16/2019
Review By: TravelingDisc
Played: 63  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained park.
- Great signage.
- Perfect mixture of long and short holes.
- Friendly locals.
- Most holes have several different throwing routes.
- Restrooms at hole 1 and hole 10.
Cons: - Some weekends the course is overtaken with softball tournaments and/or horse shows.
- Could use a few more trashcans in the areas away from the "park" attractions.
Other Thoughts: I've played many different courses throughout the US (+Cuba and Japan) and this is by far one of my top 5 courses. If you're ever in the area just look up "Milan Disc Golf Course" on FB and someone would surly meet you out here to show off this awesome course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/25/2018   6/25/2018
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 327  Reviewed: 316  Exp: 24.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice city park course. The land is beautiful green grass mowed short with some trees and a pond in play at times. Essentials are good+ with super large concrete tees, excellent tee and next signage, and the standard yellow Discatcher.

Though mostly open, there are several holes more large tree park style, and a couple short tight woods holes, so decent variety in style. Hole length is very diverse from 185' to 700' and most everything in between. Mostly flat, but a few holes play slightly up or down.

I found it pretty easy to navigate, though having a pic of the map will eliminate some 1st time guessing.

Very few places other than the pond on 16 & 17 and the muddy watch ditch on hole 2 to lose discs as there is zero rough or thick stuff.

Hanging basket on 12 and landscaped basket on 18 aren't necessary, but were nice unique features.
Cons: To me it just did not have superb interesting from 1-18, lots of open field throwing with little to no obstacles other than length and wind.

Holes 2-6 play close to each other and in/around a walking trail. 7 basket, 8, and 9 tee are all just a bit crammed into the same small area. Same for 15 basket and 16 tee- just closer than they should be.

I love the sand bunker look for 16, but be advised it was as hard as concrete. You might think you can land a disc in there and stick it, but a driver coming in there will likely and surprisingly hyzer skip off the surface and into the pond.

Ball fields in play on holes 12, 13, 16. Could be an issue if you sail a disc onto the outfield during a game.
Other Thoughts: Playing here gave me a "ball golf" feel, and it looked to me like the land used for this park and course maybe used to be a golf course?

Interesting wood wall back stops on the short technical holes. Tempted me to ram a driver in there and maybe get a bounce back ace!

Being open, flat and in West TN, wind is likely to be a factor here.

I enjoyed this course, and would play here more than once if I lived in this area of the state. Great for working on distance and dealing with wind.

I have this course about a 2.75, but the large amounts of open field throwing and the proximity to so many walking trails and ball fields keep me from moving it past a 2.5 (Decent).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park course

1    5/18/2018   5/18/2018
Review By: LostMeow
Played: 47  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good concrete tee pads and signs.
Easy to navigate; I especially liked the arrows pointing the way to the next tee, which seemed to be utilised for the first 6 or 7 holes.
Beautifully short grass everywhere; very little rough to contend with.
Some picturesque shots, including a nicely landscaped raised basket on 18.
For a new, developing player this would be a great place to learn - building up distance, different shot shapes, approaches, the intimidation of throwing over water... (which reminds me; I liked the provision of an alternative tee position for hole 17, which plays over water, allowing players who definitely don't have that distance a safer route to the basket without having to risk throwing away their plastic)
Cons: Several very open holes which are just open-field blasts - holes 7 and 9, 12 (although it had a nice hanging basket), 13, 15, 16 (especially this one - 700ft of open space with the only point of interest being the lake behind/to the left of the basket). I don't want this to sound critical, as the course designer has worked well with the terrain on offer; however, if you play some true 3.5+ rated courses you'll see what variety is out there.
Other Thoughts: Easy to find and plenty of parking.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Milan DGC

5+    3/4/2018   3/5/2018
Review By: Gmtata01
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -The course has great baskets and teepads. Recently Expanded back 9 holes.
-The course provides a variety of shots, FH and BH are both needed. The front nine is beginner friendly with holes being shorter on average than the back 9 but still needing technical shots to get birdies.
The back nine will be more challenging for the experienced players with longer distances and water coming into play on 16 and 17.
-Well Maintained course, no trash, safe environment.
-Big teepads.
-Best Course in the area by far.....
Cons: -The park can be busy during the Spring/Summer when baseball/softball are in season, but still playable.
-Holes 12,13,15 can be affected when games are going on.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip

1    12/26/2017   1/5/2018
Review By: AlexAuB
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great blend of skill levels, with the front 9 largely "deuce or die" par 3s and the back 9 adding more distance and tight lines.

Signage is fantastic, from the practice basket and built-in putting game all the way through the course. It helps also that the layout is very intuitive.

The large backstop on one of the back 9 par 3's was a really cool touch. Felt nice to be able to rip a backhand turnover or put an aggressive bid on a long putt, especially since it's a demanding line.

Water is in play on two holes, which I think is a great design choice even though I put a K2 Kaxe and a McBeth MF Champ Teebird3 in the lake on two consecutive holes. Just keep that in mind.

Landscaping on the #18 basket made for a great finishing hole.
Cons: It's a multi-use course in a crowded city park. I imagine that will mean things will get a bit dicey when more people are in the park (thankfully it was deserted on the day after Christmas in 30 degree weather). Particularly with baseball/softball games, the ball fields are very much in play on a few holes.

Advanced players won't find much to keep them engaged on the front 9, and beginners may find the back 9 prohibitively long/difficult.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this was a fun course and well worth the few miles out of my way to check it out. I'll be back!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/22/2017   8/12/2017
Review By: jtkeen5964
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has great baskets and teepads. The holes provide a variety of shots. The front nine is beginner friendly, and the back nine will be more challenging for the experienced players.
Cons: When soft ball tournament are going on some holes can not be played.
Other Thoughts: The city works very hard on maintaining the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great course!

5+    8/8/2017   8/8/2017
Review By: GoVols
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great layout, great for all skill levels, safe location, nice baskets, kept up very good. One hole features a hanging basket. There is a LONG par 5. Hole 17 goes over a pond but has an alternate tee pad for those scared to lose some plastic. Hole 18 is a scenic hole that is elevated.
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: This is hands down my favorite course in the area. Mo did a magnificent job designing it, and his hard work is much appreciated! As stated earlier, it is great for all skill levels. Everyone needs to play milan disc golf course!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Milan

5+    12/15/2015   12/15/2015
Review By: Awsomejedi
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great holes fun for amateurs and pros.Mostly shorft moderately wooded holes. Longest hole is only 400 feet. Nice and clean most of the time.
Cons: Horses share part of the course.Sometim S making a mess.
Other Thoughts: Rumor that they are planning to expand the course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A Nice Blend for All Skill Levels

5+    11/5/2016   8/3/2015
Review By: Morris Chandler
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 42.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2016
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) Practice Putting Basket - A putting game called Game of Throws has been added. There is a rules sign posted and it is an excellent way of making your practice putting a little more exciting and round ready.
2) Tee pads and signs are excellent.
3) The front 9 is a beginner and family friendly course that still offers a challenge to the seasoned player. If you want to bring your kids to play, you can sit at #3 tee pad and see the entire front 9 course.
4) A back 9 has just been added that promises to be more challenging for the advanced players. It includes Par 4 and 5 holes as well as water hazards.
5) There are two holes that I consider signature holes...#12 and #18. #12 has a hanging basket and #18 is situated on an impressively landscaped mound.
6) #12 plays between two softball fields but has an alt tee box that can be used when games are being played.
7) #17 throws over a pond but has an alt tee box that avoids the direct over water route if you are so inclined.
Cons: 1) Because we have a horse arena at the park, occasionally portions of the course must be closed to allow for horse shows. The resulting effect is that "evidence" is scattered on several of the holes that can be a bit of a nuisance until it is mowed over a couple of times and scattered.
2) The occasional softball tournament may sometimes interfere with playing a couple of the holes on the back 9 as they are designed particularly #12, #13 and #16.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for players of all skill levels. The front 9 is more beginner friendly while the back 9 will test the advanced players even more. It offers a blend of unique holes that cater to both RHBH and LHBH players.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.