Milan, TN 
Milan DGC Share
Uploaded By: Wood Chuk Hole #6 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

1    6/25/2018   6/25/2018
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 302  Reviewed: 289  Exp: 21.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice city park course. The land is beautiful green grass mowed short with some trees and a pond in play at times. Essentials are good+ with super large concrete tees, excellent tee and next signage, and the standard yellow Discatcher.

Though mostly open, there are several holes more large tree park style, and a couple short tight woods holes, so decent variety in style. Hole length is very diverse from 185' to 700' and most everything in between. Mostly flat, but a few holes play slightly up or down.

I found it pretty easy to navigate, though having a pic of the map will eliminate some 1st time guessing.

Very few places other than the pond on 16 & 17 and the muddy watch ditch on hole 2 to lose discs as there is zero rough or thick stuff.

Hanging basket on 12 and landscaped basket on 18 aren't necessary, but were nice unique features.
Cons: To me it just did not have superb interesting from 1-18, lots of open field throwing with little to no obstacles other than length and wind.

Holes 2-6 play close to each other and in/around a walking trail. 7 basket, 8, and 9 tee are all just a bit crammed into the same small area. Same for 15 basket and 16 tee- just closer than they should be.

I love the sand bunker look for 16, but be advised it was as hard as concrete. You might think you can land a disc in there and stick it, but a driver coming in there will likely and surprisingly hyzer skip off the surface and into the pond.

Ball fields in play on holes 12, 13, 16. Could be an issue if you sail a disc onto the outfield during a game.
Other Thoughts: Playing here gave me a "ball golf" feel, and it looked to me like the land used for this park and course maybe used to be a golf course?

Interesting wood wall back stops on the short technical holes. Tempted me to ram a driver in there and maybe get a bounce back ace!

Being open, flat and in West TN, wind is likely to be a factor here.

I enjoyed this course, and would play here more than once if I lived in this area of the state. Great for working on distance and dealing with wind.

I have this course about a 2.75, but the large amounts of open field throwing and the proximity to so many walking trails and ball fields keep me from moving it past a 2.5 (Decent).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice park course

1    5/18/2018   5/18/2018
Review By: LostMeow
Played: 47  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good concrete tee pads and signs.
Easy to navigate; I especially liked the arrows pointing the way to the next tee, which seemed to be utilised for the first 6 or 7 holes.
Beautifully short grass everywhere; very little rough to contend with.
Some picturesque shots, including a nicely landscaped raised basket on 18.
For a new, developing player this would be a great place to learn - building up distance, different shot shapes, approaches, the intimidation of throwing over water... (which reminds me; I liked the provision of an alternative tee position for hole 17, which plays over water, allowing players who definitely don't have that distance a safer route to the basket without having to risk throwing away their plastic)
Cons: Several very open holes which are just open-field blasts - holes 7 and 9, 12 (although it had a nice hanging basket), 13, 15, 16 (especially this one - 700ft of open space with the only point of interest being the lake behind/to the left of the basket). I don't want this to sound critical, as the course designer has worked well with the terrain on offer; however, if you play some true 3.5+ rated courses you'll see what variety is out there.
Other Thoughts: Easy to find and plenty of parking.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Milan DGC

5+    3/4/2018   3/5/2018
Review By: Gmtata01
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -The course has great baskets and teepads. Recently Expanded back 9 holes.
-The course provides a variety of shots, FH and BH are both needed. The front nine is beginner friendly with holes being shorter on average than the back 9 but still needing technical shots to get birdies.
The back nine will be more challenging for the experienced players with longer distances and water coming into play on 16 and 17.
-Well Maintained course, no trash, safe environment.
-Big teepads.
-Best Course in the area by far.....
Cons: -The park can be busy during the Spring/Summer when baseball/softball are in season, but still playable.
-Holes 12,13,15 can be affected when games are going on.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Trip

1    12/26/2017   1/5/2018
Review By: AlexAuB
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great blend of skill levels, with the front 9 largely "deuce or die" par 3s and the back 9 adding more distance and tight lines.

Signage is fantastic, from the practice basket and built-in putting game all the way through the course. It helps also that the layout is very intuitive.

The large backstop on one of the back 9 par 3's was a really cool touch. Felt nice to be able to rip a backhand turnover or put an aggressive bid on a long putt, especially since it's a demanding line.

Water is in play on two holes, which I think is a great design choice even though I put a K2 Kaxe and a McBeth MF Champ Teebird3 in the lake on two consecutive holes. Just keep that in mind.

Landscaping on the #18 basket made for a great finishing hole.
Cons: It's a multi-use course in a crowded city park. I imagine that will mean things will get a bit dicey when more people are in the park (thankfully it was deserted on the day after Christmas in 30 degree weather). Particularly with baseball/softball games, the ball fields are very much in play on a few holes.

Advanced players won't find much to keep them engaged on the front 9, and beginners may find the back 9 prohibitively long/difficult.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this was a fun course and well worth the few miles out of my way to check it out. I'll be back!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/22/2017   8/12/2017
Review By: jtkeen5964
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has great baskets and teepads. The holes provide a variety of shots. The front nine is beginner friendly, and the back nine will be more challenging for the experienced players.
Cons: When soft ball tournament are going on some holes can not be played.
Other Thoughts: The city works very hard on maintaining the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

5+    8/8/2017   8/8/2017
Review By: GoVols
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great layout, great for all skill levels, safe location, nice baskets, kept up very good. One hole features a hanging basket. There is a LONG par 5. Hole 17 goes over a pond but has an alternate tee pad for those scared to lose some plastic. Hole 18 is a scenic hole that is elevated.
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: This is hands down my favorite course in the area. Mo did a magnificent job designing it, and his hard work is much appreciated! As stated earlier, it is great for all skill levels. Everyone needs to play milan disc golf course!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Milan

5+    12/15/2015   12/15/2015
Review By: Awsomejedi
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great holes fun for amateurs and pros.Mostly shorft moderately wooded holes. Longest hole is only 400 feet. Nice and clean most of the time.
Cons: Horses share part of the course.Sometim S making a mess.
Other Thoughts: Rumor that they are planning to expand the course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Blend for All Skill Levels

5+    11/5/2016   8/3/2015
Review By: Morris Chandler
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 39.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2016
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Practice Putting Basket - A putting game called Game of Throws has been added. There is a rules sign posted and it is an excellent way of making your practice putting a little more exciting and round ready.
2) Tee pads and signs are excellent.
3) The front 9 is a beginner and family friendly course that still offers a challenge to the seasoned player. If you want to bring your kids to play, you can sit at #3 tee pad and see the entire front 9 course.
4) A back 9 has just been added that promises to be more challenging for the advanced players. It includes Par 4 and 5 holes as well as water hazards.
5) There are two holes that I consider signature holes...#12 and #18. #12 has a hanging basket and #18 is situated on an impressively landscaped mound.
6) #12 plays between two softball fields but has an alt tee box that can be used when games are being played.
7) #17 throws over a pond but has an alt tee box that avoids the direct over water route if you are so inclined.
Cons: 1) Because we have a horse arena at the park, occasionally portions of the course must be closed to allow for horse shows. The resulting effect is that "evidence" is scattered on several of the holes that can be a bit of a nuisance until it is mowed over a couple of times and scattered.
2) The occasional softball tournament may sometimes interfere with playing a couple of the holes on the back 9 as they are designed particularly #12, #13 and #16.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for players of all skill levels. The front 9 is more beginner friendly while the back 9 will test the advanced players even more. It offers a blend of unique holes that cater to both RHBH and LHBH players.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A brand new course in NW Tennessee

1    7/30/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: Wood Chuk
Played: 342  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 38.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course, there are enough trees to provide interest without causing consternation among novice players.
Awesome tee pads - very fine!
Well signed.
It would be difficult to lose a disc here (but I will probably manage it eventually).
Course flow is understandable.
Cons:
Hole 7 tees near road and was noisy when I played.
Other Thoughts: I played a new course in the rain and found it to be a little muddy, there is no surprise there. As the course is played more and breaks in I think it will become a very fun course. This course is easy to get to and easy to play.
There is variety here.
This course is between two challenging courses: the very wooded Muse Park DGC in Jackson, TN and the strategically wooded Harrison Road DGC in Martin, TN. This course will provide an opportunity for local disc golfers to see a little sunshine and have a little fun that is not so intense.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.