Austell, GA 
Frog Rock Share
Uploaded By: AtlDuke Hole #10 (Taken 8/2015)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
The Frog Park Disc Golf Course Is Nicely Shaded With Multiple Layouts Ready To Challenge Your Game!

1    10/11/2021   10/13/2021
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1546  Reviewed: 1480  Exp: 43.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2021
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: PARK DESCRIPTION - Frog Park, aka. Suggs Park, aka Austell Park, is a medium sized green park with a nice canopy of shade trees. There is ample parking at the start.

VARIETY - With both red and blue tee pads and two baskets for each hole, players can play the course four in different layouts.

ELEVATION - Almost none but # 15 did have a very slight downhill to it. I guess you would call it Frog Park's "Top of the World" shot.

CHALLENGE - Playing from the long Blues often adds 100 feet or more to the hole. Somewhere between a challenging recreational level with a couple of intermediate challenges added.

EQUIPMENT - The tee pads are nicely large, trapezoid shaped with a wooden border which is painted either blue or red. The short baskets are silver DGA models with the always hard to read red numbers. The longs are blue Prodigy models, also with numbers. There are benches at the longs

AESTHETICS - With the lovely shade trees, wooden bridges over the low spots, the park has kind of a relaxed zen feel to it, more Japanese Garden than Disc Golf Course.

FUN FACTOR - With no underbrush and no water hazards, beginners/rec players should enjoy their round here with no chance of losing discs. Better players play the longs for more challenge and the regulars can switch up their choices playing red to shorts, red to longs, blue to shirts and blue to longs.

ROUTING/NAVIGATION - There is a kiosk at the start with map. The course loops back after both nine and eighteen holes. Take note of this Hopkins Park designer. I asked for a little help the first time through and also pointed out a tee pad or two for a group following me, also playing here for the first time.
Cons: Navigation was just a little tricky in places. I asked for help finding one pad and another asked me where # 3 was. The ease of navigation is probably at the 95th percentile of all the courses I've played.

Alright, it's flat but the wonderful shade trees more than make up for that. There are no holes that wow or even one that I will remember next week.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of those "It's what it is courses." It's not trying to entice the advanced to pro players. It's not long even from the blues to the longs. It's just a very clean and comfortable round, playing level from recreation to upwards intermediate, excellent for these Georgia summers.

Actually, I should have just signed my name at the bottom of Shadrach3's previous review. His review probably sums up Frog Rock DGC more eloquently than any blather I could conjure up.

Some areas seem to be known for a certain type of courses. The Chicago area is well known for it's preponderance of flat, nine hole rec courses. The Charlotte area is known for it's tough advanced level courses like Nevin, Hornet's Nest, Renny Gold and more. After playing courses around Atlanta, I'm thinking Atlanta has a large grouping of fun, 18's that are tweeners, that is, they're more challenging than a recreational level but fall short of being called intermediate level. Courses I would include in this tweener 18 category would include; Frog Rock, Oregon Park, East Roswell, Wills Park, Suwanee Creek, Little Mulberry, Fort Yarbo, Mathews, Rosewood- DeKalb which is at the lower rec level, Deer Lick and many others I haven't had the pleasure of playing.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Much of the Same

1    8/14/2020   2/16/2021
Review By: Shadrach3
Played: 202  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 3.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An accessible course with good basic offerings.

-Amenities: Concrete tees. Mix of Prodigy and Mach III baskets for the two distances. Detailed tee signs at every tee, which also have little gold stars to mark current pin placement. Taped spokes and next tee signs around as well. Bridges over low-lying areas to keep feet dryer.

-Multi-Tees/Pins/Baskets: Two tees per hole, with two baskets per hole, and most holes also have multiple pin placements for both the long and short baskets. Blue to blue (longest) is a solid intermediate challenge with usually over 300' and some trees to go through, while red to red/grey (shortest) is significantly easier.

-Shot Shaping/Gameplay: Good par-3 offerings with a steady diet of loosely associated, mature trees. Not a bombing-type course, but every basket has multiple plausible lines and requires good speed from the longer tees. As a rec player topping out at 320' I barely had birdie opportunities from the blue-to-blue configuration, but that was probably an error in tee selection. The creek was used nicely at the end of the course. The par-4 was nice, but none of the holes really stood out to me except perhaps the 410' par-3 on (12), which for me was a fun two-shot hole with a thoroughly-guarded green that requires drive placement.

-Playability: Frog Rock is open enough that it's hard to lose discs, but also shaded from Georgia sun. It's also well-kept, so really no environmental hindrance to playing.
Cons: So much of the same theme.

-Repetitive: There is virtually no variation in terrain or style at Frog Rock. Though the reasonable-length, moderately-treeful shots are good, it's the only kind of shot you'll throw from the tee all day. Yes, there is variation of straight/left/right and some variation in shape, but there's so much flexibility that by the time I got to (7) I was already a little antsy for something different, which I never got (other than the par-4 hole (8)).

-Navigation: There are often multiple tees in sight from the basket with little indicating which is the next one to go to. You can figure it all out, but could very well take extra time hopping from pad to pad.

-Drainage: Not a lot of elevation change here, so water can pool in certain parts of the course.

-Safety: There is a walking path you'll probably have to stop for. Depending on how busy the course is, you'll also need to be aware of golfers on adjacent fairways.
Other Thoughts: Frog Rock is one of the least diverse 18-hole courses I have played. However, its basic theme is quite good for rec and intermediate players, and friendly to newcomers to the game. It feels like a 2.75 course, so for now I've followed my rule of rounding towards the middle. It's one of those Typical courses that's plenty of fun but nothing spectacular.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good for Reinforcing Fundamentals

5+    9/14/2020   9/14/2020
Review By: GhostMoths
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick course, great for working on approach and short game. This is a good course for beginners, long drives are not necessary for low scores. The lines off of the tee can help newer players work on accuracy, particularly lefties.
Cons: Very compact, errant drives will end up in other holes' fairways. When busy, this course can feel a little cramped. There is little in the way of variety in holes.
Other Thoughts: Bring some bug spray and some durable discs. Inaccurate drives have a high chance of colliding into a tree. Restrooms are decently maintained.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great stroll in the park

1    6/27/2020   6/28/2020
Review By: billcoke
Played: 193  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15.4 Years
Pros: 2 tees and 2 baskets for each location. Easy to navigate. Fully shaded course. Great BBQ right next door. All in all a very enjoyable course. Allows you to work on your technical game.
Cons: If the course were full I could see throwing on other groups, but that wasn't a problem when we were there.

Compact park course. Wooded

1    3/19/2020   3/19/2020
Review By: samxyx
Played: 29  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2020
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Very fun course dispite not covering a large area. The course plays in a very wooded park. The trees are present on every hole, and force you to chose a tight line from the tee box. The trees are not so dense to create tunnel shots but rather tight curving shots which creates a great challenge. Overall I was very surprised by how much fun this course was to play and would recommend it especially for intermediate players. My round occured right after a rain shower and the course was an absolute swamp. Some baskets were entirely surrounded by water. Bring boots or wait for it to dry!

Specifics:
Holes: 18
Navigation: slightly confusing
Difficulty: intermediate
Length: Short-moderate
Enjoyableness: high

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ribbiting Options

1    9/23/2019   12/12/2019
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 518  Reviewed: 496  Exp: 7.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.847 Rating) An older and moderately wooded landscape with a nice overall feel.
- DUEL PINS AND TEES - The two baskets at each hole must have been a recent upgrade, and it adds a touch more to the variety and replay-ability for this course. IMO, a two basket and two tee set-up will make any course better as long as everything is spelled out in the signage. The baskets are different styles too with the long placements being a newer Prodigy basket and an older MachIII for the short baskets. With the two tees and two baskets, there are four options on every hole. In addition, there are a gazillion extra basket placements. It seems like most holes have four or five placements now.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Due to the pro above, this course should draw a wide swath of skill levels. l would predict to see Advanced players working on their short game lines but also Beginners learning the game.
- QUICK PLAY - GMcAtee and I bagged the course in 61 minutes. I figure 45 minutes for a quick solo.
- FUN FACTOR - This is probably a busy course. There are ample opportunities for birdies. Errant throws are not further punished even though there are lots of older trees to weave around. The odds of losing a disc is near zero and for the most part, just about no areas where you'll have to search in the overgrowth. Seems like the perfect league course.
- CHARACTER - Well Above average. As noted, duel tees and baskets. Adequately sized concrete tees. A vast majority of the tees are shaded and wind protected. Benches are at most tees. There's a community board with an outdated course map and a couple tables.
- NEW TEE SIGNS - Although not installed yet when I visited, I believe new tee signs were just installed. I've seen pictures, they look great.
- NAVIGATION - With the new tee signs, navigation should be even better. In addition, there are tons of navigational cues between holes using light switch face-plates. What a bright idea.

Cons: No major detractors with Frog Rock, but wow does this course feels the same all the way through.
- UNIQUENESS - For an almost fully wooded course, one of the lowest courses I've scored in terms of variety among that style. Basically all moderately wooded shots the weave through a tall ageing pine and hardwood canopy. Sure the lines will cut left and right, but the surrounding elements are always the same. The lanes are moderately defined. Pockets to skip into are either loosely defined or non-existent. There are no water elements to contend with. Just one par 4 that will be an easy 3 for skilled players.
- ELEVATION - Very little out here. Maybe 3 or 4 holes dive or climb by around 10 feet. Among the flattest courses that I've played in the Atlanta metro area.
- SPACING - The boundaries between fairways, as mentioned above, are undefined. Discs will no doubt find other fairways. This is not the course to strap on headphones and be oblivious of other players on the course.

Other Thoughts: Frog Rock has all the elements of a being an excellent league course. Unfortunately, there is not much intriguing about this course. The golf aspect here is decent and I'm sure the local vibe is good too. It's almost identical to one of my local courses in Huntsville called Brahan Springs, minus the duel tees and baskets. Like that course, this is not a course I would send you to if you were visiting Atlanta for a day or two. I've played 17 courses within 30 miles of here and I'd rank this one 10th among that group.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Average. A +75 year old canopy occupies 100% of this layout, and it looks really nice on first arrival. However, after you run 3 or 4 holes of what seems like the same backdrop, you'll realize that the course has a real monotonous feel to it.
- CHALLENGE - The difficultly out here long to long is north of average. As an Intermediate player with about a 920 rating, I'm sure I'd average around even par from that configuration. Advanced players would likely massacre the course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely Confusing but Beginner Friendly.

1    6/18/2017   6/18/2017
Review By: TaylorAF
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Extremely beginner friendly. I have played a total of 3 disc golf courses, and this course had just enough distance and challenge to keep it fun without becoming discouraging.
-Great amount of shade. This course is almost entirely wooded/shaded, which is nice if it's too hot out to play in direct sunlight.
-Practice basket was located right out front and the green space provided a decent area for warming up.
Cons: -No signage. We found ourselves looking for the next tee pad after almost every hole. Very little signage was available, which resulted in a lot of frustrating walks to and fro as we searched for the next tee pad.
-Mosquitos. With the wooded areas come mosquitos. Be prepared with bug spray!
-Lack of challenge/obstacles. There was not a lot of variety on this course. Very few uphill shots or downhill shots. All of the holes were incredibly similar.
Other Thoughts: -I would recommend this course for someone who is just beginning and needs practice. The holes are not too challenging, but they provide enough distance and a few obstacles to help you start to get a feel for your drive, approach, and putt.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course, Not a destination

2-4    6/16/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 40  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Well Kept Park
-Friendly Area
-Well Thought out Holes
-Free parking
-95% shaded (great for hot summer days)
Cons: -Signage could be a lot better
-Course layout is a bit tricky holes 2,5&10 tough to find.
-Basically one flat elevation the whole course

Other Thoughts: By no means a bad course with 2 large (15-20 feet long) poured concrete tee pads per hole and adequate tee maps at each hole. But I feel there were a few more features of the park that could have been used to make the course so much more dynamic. 2 large boulder formations are little more than eye candy you pass by and are not involved in the hole layout at all. It may be the flattest course I have ever played. If you are nearby go play it but don't drive more than an hour to play this one unless you just need it to play everything in GA.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Grass is high and needs to be cut

5+    6/6/2017   6/12/2017
Review By: Kalola999
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/3/2017
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is conveniently located to our house.
Cons: The grass in the park is not being cut regularly. The maintenance crew is keeping the grass cut at the entrance, but not inside the park. Isn't that what tax dollars are for? We played disc golf every day last summer in this park, but haven't this year because of the tall weeds and grass. Very disappointing!
Other Thoughts: It's been almost a month since I wrote my last review. The grass and weeds in the park are knee high. I will not play disc golf here because of this. It really is a shame.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 More of the same

1    2/24/2017   3/5/2017
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 382  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Frog Rock offers a nice atmosphere for some enjoyable recreational disc golf. Located in the Louise Suggs Memorial Park, the course is peaceful and the canopy of trees provides privacy.

Each hole offers three possible pin locations, and some black bucket-like markers make it easy to identify which pin location is in play. Each hole also features two teepads with red (short) and blue (long) indicators.

The "Next Tee" markers aid the navigation, which isn't difficult, but there are a couple holes where the direction of the next hole isn't obvious.
Cons: Nearly every hole is the same. Most holes feature a similar distance with some sporadic trees slightly blocking your path to a randomly placed basket straight ahead. There is rarely a clear indication of the best path to the basket. As reviewer GoobyPls pointed out, the fairways are "loosely defined." Since 18 holes are shoehorned into this location, there isn't much room for dogleg left and right designs. And there's almost no elevation either.

The footing during winter could be difficult. With the ground covered by leaves and pine needles, traction is at a premium. I felt like I was walking on ice in spots. Also, with the tree cover, the course is slow to dry and is susceptible to muddy conditions after a bit of rain.

There is a path around the perimeter of the park, so be on the lookout for walkers.
Other Thoughts: To find the park, follow the Directions under the Location Details. The park is on Spring Street, but my GPS balked at trying to find the course without an address number.

Frog Rock is a nice course in a nice park. The course is a good choice for beginners. But the lack of originality factors greatly into my rating.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.