Austell, GA 
Frog Rock Share
Uploaded By: Bencybul Hole #7 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 245ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Extremely Confusing but Beginner Friendly.

1    6/18/2017   6/18/2017
Review By: TaylorAF
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Extremely beginner friendly. I have played a total of 3 disc golf courses, and this course had just enough distance and challenge to keep it fun without becoming discouraging.
-Great amount of shade. This course is almost entirely wooded/shaded, which is nice if it's too hot out to play in direct sunlight.
-Practice basket was located right out front and the green space provided a decent area for warming up.
Cons: -No signage. We found ourselves looking for the next tee pad after almost every hole. Very little signage was available, which resulted in a lot of frustrating walks to and fro as we searched for the next tee pad.
-Mosquitos. With the wooded areas come mosquitos. Be prepared with bug spray!
-Lack of challenge/obstacles. There was not a lot of variety on this course. Very few uphill shots or downhill shots. All of the holes were incredibly similar.
Other Thoughts: -I would recommend this course for someone who is just beginning and needs practice. The holes are not too challenging, but they provide enough distance and a few obstacles to help you start to get a feel for your drive, approach, and putt.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course, Not a destination

2-4    6/16/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Well Kept Park
-Friendly Area
-Well Thought out Holes
-Free parking
-95% shaded (great for hot summer days)
Cons: -Signage could be a lot better
-Course layout is a bit tricky holes 2,5&10 tough to find.
-Basically one flat elevation the whole course

Other Thoughts: By no means a bad course with 2 large (15-20 feet long) poured concrete tee pads per hole and adequate tee maps at each hole. But I feel there were a few more features of the park that could have been used to make the course so much more dynamic. 2 large boulder formations are little more than eye candy you pass by and are not involved in the hole layout at all. It may be the flattest course I have ever played. If you are nearby go play it but don't drive more than an hour to play this one unless you just need it to play everything in GA.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Grass is high and needs to be cut

5+    6/6/2017   6/12/2017
Review By: Kalola999
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/3/2017
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is conveniently located to our house.
Cons: The grass in the park is not being cut regularly. The maintenance crew is keeping the grass cut at the entrance, but not inside the park. Isn't that what tax dollars are for? We played disc golf every day last summer in this park, but haven't this year because of the tall weeds and grass. Very disappointing!
Other Thoughts: It's been almost a month since I wrote my last review. The grass and weeds in the park are knee high. I will not play disc golf here because of this. It really is a shame.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

More of the same

1    2/24/2017   3/5/2017
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 98  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Frog Rock offers a nice atmosphere for some enjoyable recreational disc golf. Located in the Louise Suggs Memorial Park, the course is peaceful and the canopy of trees provides privacy.

Each hole offers three possible pin locations, and some black bucket-like markers make it easy to identify which pin location is in play. Each hole also features two teepads with red (short) and blue (long) indicators.

The "Next Tee" markers aid the navigation, which isn't difficult, but there are a couple holes where the direction of the next hole isn't obvious.
Cons: Nearly every hole is the same. Most holes feature a similar distance with some sporadic trees slightly blocking your path to a randomly placed basket straight ahead. There is rarely a clear indication of the best path to the basket. As reviewer GoobyPls pointed out, the fairways are "loosely defined." Since 18 holes are shoehorned into this location, there isn't much room for dogleg left and right designs. And there's almost no elevation either.

The footing during winter could be difficult. With the ground covered by leaves and pine needles, traction is at a premium. I felt like I was walking on ice in spots. Also, with the tree cover, the course is slow to dry and is susceptible to muddy conditions after a bit of rain.

There is a path around the perimeter of the park, so be on the lookout for walkers.
Other Thoughts: To find the park, follow the Directions under the Location Details. The park is on Spring Street, but my GPS balked at trying to find the course without an address number.

Frog Rock is a nice course in a nice park. The course is a good choice for beginners. But the lack of originality factors greatly into my rating.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A fun Rec-level round

1    2/5/2017   2/6/2017
Review By: GoobyPls
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located on mostly flat ground with tall, mature trees throughout. With little undergrowth below them, it's very easy to find your disc. There's a practice basket as well as a port-a-john by the first tee. There are bridges to deal with the water that can accumulate in the stone-lined stream areas. The park mostly caters to disc golfers; there were a couple of people walking their dogs on the paved path that circles the park, but that was it. The course rewards left-right control, with multiple paths to the basket. There's usually a tree or two in the way of the most direct line from the tee, encouraging the use of that forehand or anhyzer shot you might not use that often.

Each hole has two sets of tees, providing an appropriate challenge for both rec and intermediate-level players.
Cons: Most of the holes are very similar; a loosely-defined fairway with no real punishment (other than clipping a thin tree trunk) for missing your line. Experienced players may find this course a bit too easy. There are few elevation changes to deal with. No real wide-open bomber hole to speak of, along with no water, but that wasn't really under the designer's control.

Some holes are right on top of each other, and others require crossing very close to another hole's fairway to get to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: When I played this, the board at the front of the park indicated pin positions that didn't match up with the actual positions according to the tee signs.

The lack of undergrowth (at least in the winter) made for huge skips on the forest floor.

This course seems to be very lightly-played. I don't understand why. While it's not a huge challenge, it does make for a really fun casual round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Flat, Shaded Course

1    9/4/2016   9/7/2016
Review By: jaredbrumbelow
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The newly added back nine makes this course somewhere to check out in the area. In the hot summer, the entire course is shaded from the get go so it's not as miserably hot. This being said, there is somehow clearance. Somewhere that is that shady would sound like it would be completely dense with trees. Somehow this isn't the case. It is a wooded course throughout, but plenty of fairway for any skill level.

There are signs with distances and all basket positions on the map at every tee box. There are also a few navigational arrows on trees. The tees are large and concrete. There are two tee boxes for each hole and also areas where the park staff can change up the basket placement (not sure how often this is changed since I've only played it once). When I played they were in the b position. You can check the position of the basket on the news board as you walk in. Each tee also has trash cans and I believe a bench at every tee.

There is a practice basket and picnic table at the front of the park. For the most part, the park is solely disc golfers. There is a walking track that flows along the edge and never in the way, but I saw 8-10 cars in the lot and nobody on the track when we played.

Not a knock on the course, but it's apparently rarely played so you may have the course all to yourself. We played on Labor Day weekend are there were only 6 or 8 others on the course.
Cons: In the summer as well as the course being low flatlands, the bugs were pretty annoying. I however did not bring bug spray.

It would also be nice if they had some sort of bathroom/water fountain area as there is nothing of the sort there.

The last minor con was my particular dislike to the baskets. They are in fine condition and it may be personal preference, but compared to the Innova, Prodigy, and Dynamic baskets I've played, these seemed strangely small.
Other Thoughts: Baskets are sometimes hard to locate from the tee. Painted a portion of the basket or using flags could possibly solve this.

A few more signs in between certain holes would help like from 11 to 12, but other than a few issues like that, the course is nice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Delight

1    7/14/2016   9/7/2016
Review By: hotstang
Played: 201  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great quite course.
Good signage.
Good easy flow.
Good long and short tees.
Large varieties of shots.
Great for all level of player.
Course is basically completely covered in shade.
Cons: Hard to find a con.
Baskets blend in a little.

Other Thoughts: Great park.
Port a Jon.
No playground.
Nice walking trail around the park.
If you are short on time you an play a quick 9.
Would really love to have a course like this close.
I really recommend playing this course if your in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Frog Rock

5+    5/29/2016   6/3/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 116  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads for both tees

Has tee signs

Has good mix of wooded and open fairways - lots of trees but not dense

Has a lot of shade

Has three alternate basket placements for each hole

Course flows pretty well and has next tee signs where needed

Has many benches throughout course

Has bridges to mitigate any standing water

Good split of the front and back nines in case you want to start on hole #10 first

Quiet

Walking trail doesn't interfere with play

Free Parking

Porta Potty
Cons:
Some parts of the course will flood long after it rains and stay muddy ... specifically holes #4 - #8 - recommend waiting at least a few days to play after it rains

Lots of mosquitoes here - definitely wear some repellent before playing

Some parts of the fairways are rough to step on

DGA baskets are hard to locate at times - be nice if they all had flags

Mostly flat but there are slight elevations on some holes
Other Thoughts:
This is one of my favorite courses to play. I like to give a big thanks to the city and the designers of this course. With all the trees and not so short distances, I do find this course to be challenging. The addition of the back nine holes in 2015 completes it and makes it even more fun to play. Be sure to wear some insect repellent for this course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Attractive course, now a full 18

1    10/11/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 57  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course give a very good first impression as you approach.

Ample parking, picnic area, porta potties all in good repair.
The teepads are great! Large tapered affairs surrounded by wooden beams that are painted to denote the color layout you are playing. These may be red or blue(red=short, blue=long). The back 9 does not have this yet, but I don't think it's been in the ground that long.

Many benches dot the holes, and the signage is quite good and accurate.

The baskets are new DGA baskets, and catch quite well. They have 3 possible pin positions and are currently in the B position which is noted on the board by the course map.

The course appears fairly well maintained and though the elevation is minimal and the only water are small streams the copious trees make it a very challenging play.

Some of the most direct lines are through small gaps with copeses on either side, making for some mind games to find your route.

They did a lot of things right with this one, and the park as a whole is quite nice.
Cons: Looks like it holds some water in spots, but the course has several bridges to help with that.

The baksets are all silver and can be hard to see at some junctures.

No elevation to speak of and the trees are really the only element adding another element.

No real gripes about the course, it just doesn't have that X factor that makes you say,"wow that's a great course!"

That's not a knock on it though, they made the very best they could with the land they have.
Other Thoughts: Overall well worth a play. It's a great place to bring a group since it's pretty big, not very crowded and walking distance to the best BBQ in the area.

I will be back and might try to play some of the events they hold there occasionally.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

nice, quiet course

5+    9/19/2015   2/14/2015
Review By: pjhayes7
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -never have to fight a crowd
-although mostly a short course, the amount of trees keep it from being easy
-nice hole layout signs at each blue tee
-there are multiple approaches to the basket so you can try something different if you play through more than one time
-addition of back 9 made this a better course
Cons: -can be difficult to navigate the first time there. New holes suffer from the same problem. Next upgrade should be signs pointing to the next tee
-on some holes, it is a little cramped where the tee box is too close to the basket of the previous hole, and this is with very few people on the course. I could see tournaments being a mess here.
-be careful of several small holes in the ground all over the course or you could twist an ankle
-don't go left on hole 16. It is a jungle and you will never find a disc. I know from experience
-some of the distances on the tee signs don't match the pictures. For example, the sign may say B is longer than A, but the picture shows the opposite. I think the distance is correct and picture are what is wrong
Other Thoughts: -Make sure to check the large bulletin board at the start of the course to see which pin location is being used on the given day. If you know which of the three it is, you only have to use the signs by the blue tees to determine your distance.
-Just a fun little course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.