Fort Morgan, CO 
Optimist DGC Share
Uploaded By: ChevyChevelle Hole #25 (Taken 6/2018)
3 / 456ft.   3 / 456ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #25 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Nice course, even in the winter.

1    2/11/2018   2/12/2018
Review By: rayoflight
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Optimist now has 27 holes, so there is plenty of disc golf to be played. It's not an incredibly challenging course, but there are some holes that play almost 500', and even the shorter holes in the woods tend to restrict your options in one way or another.

-When I played (in the winter), it seemed like the course was generally well maintained all year round. There are clearly mowed fairways, but even if you put a disc in the rough it's not such thick vegetation that you're likely to lose a disc. Of course in the summer these rough areas off the fairway will get greener and thicker, but given that the vegetation is evidently kept at knee height it's probably not going to punish bad shots too harshly even in the summer.
Cons: -It's difficult to find some of the teepads. I didn't really enjoy running around trying to find the correct place to throw from on a lot of the holes. This problem was compounded by the fact that the illustrated tee signs have evidently been vandalized, so now they are just blank looking posts in the ground next to the teepads with hole numbers and distances written on them in permanent marker. The problem of navigating the course was the worst on the first 7 holes, and then from hole #8 onward the course started to follow a more logical flow.

-There is a huge sugar factory in Fort Morgan that could ruin the course's first impression if you're bothered by the smell. It's not as bad as a farm smell, but it's definitely something you'll notice when you drive into town.
Other Thoughts: Based on the course design alone, it would be a 4.5/5. Half a point is taken off for the busted signs and half a point for the sugar factory.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 LOVE this course!

1    4/29/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the variety of shots and challenging technical layout. Take your time and enjoy it! Park section is fun with families, but the natural terrain section should really only be played by more experienced throwers. Bugs and grasses/weeds can get bad, but maintenance crews seem to be on it.
Cons: Not totally a bad thing, but a lot of blind cages. If its your first time playing, go with someone who knows the course, or print the map in the files section. Bugs can be bad, pack your spray. I also play in gore-tex shoes with gaters. Not a bad idea with all the sand and shrubbery.
Other Thoughts: Fort Morgan is lucky to have a course this good in their back yard! The whole park setting is phenomenal for families! Non-players can play volleyball, street hockey, basketball or go to the pool or play on the great play ground. Take the whole family and make a day out of it! Bravo!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course needs to take a breath an get organized!

1    7/29/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: prerube
Played: 252  Reviewed: 222  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I never planned on playing this course, but I saw the baskets from the highway and turned in, thats how easy it is to get to this course.

Course was very forgiving so It is popular to all skill levels.

Very nice tee pads.

Water in play on some holes.

Great park and water park for any non disc golfers you bring to the course.
Cons: CHAOS!!! Tee pads had multiple numbers, baskets had different numbers. The flow and navigation compounded the poor numbering. I think I missed 3 holes somewhere and I played a few out of order.

on some tee pads you can see as many as 3 baskets, all of which appear that they can be in play.

This course was like a dorm room after a college party. It was messy and confusing, but still functional. It was filled with underage kids, and there was tons of alcohol.

One of the baskets was in a very narrow strip of land between my car and the water. The basket had no business being in such a small and risky area and I refused to use the basket.



Other Thoughts: This course needs to remove all tee signs and redo them. Placing duck tape over the numbers or using paper tee signs does not do.

The course can use some navigation arrows as well.

This course was probably a 3.5 to 4 star course at some point in time, but it's past its prime and needs someone to step up and turn it into the 4 star course it can potentially be.

There is limited camping available.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good course overall ... fun

5+    5/29/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: Brian McFarlane
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 41.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good cement tees, decent signage. Kept up fairly well, "fairways" are mowed fairly regularly, most holes have many trees in play. Wide range of distances from tee to basket. Some elevation change. Good course for beginners and pros.
Cons: Although some elevation change, the course is mostly flat. Signage could stand to be updated. More trash cans throughout the course would be nice, but if you can pack it in, you can pack it out.
Other Thoughts: The first 7 holes are well groomed grass (used to be 8 holes but #1 was taken out). A pond comes into play on holes 6 and 7, especially hole 7. There is a path on the left side (beware of pedestrians) of pond on hole 7, beyond the path is considered OB, at least during tournament. It can be challenging to land between the pond and the path. For a beginner this course will probably take between 90+ strokes for the 27 holes. For an experienced/advanced player, an 80-85 is doable. There are probably 5-6 holes, if thrown from the long tee pads that will take an accurate long drive to reasonably make in 3 shots. Some holes also have different pin placements that can greatly increase/decrease distance. This is a relatively long course and it can get hot in the summer ... make sure to take water. In most normal circumstances, holes 5 - 8 are the only holes that other park users may be a "hazard".

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course - and improving

1    5/30/2014   6/2/2014
Review By: little oz
Played: 81  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - First rate, long, grippy tee pads. The best I've seen.
- 27 holes of fair but challenging disc golf. The first 3 holes aren't much, but the remainder are well thought out, good pin placement.
- Excellent use of land that otherwise wouldn't be used. The first 5 holes will encounter park traffic, but the rest is largely for disc golf, with good flow and little to no overlap.
- Decent flow and directional signage.
- Located in a nice park that gives the rest of the family a nice diversion while you play.
- Fairways are mowed.
- The local club and the city have obviously put a ton of work in to this course .Kudos and thank you to all.
- The course had light traffic, and all but one person was very nice (see cons)
-Tee signs were well done and show all pin locations, when there.

Cons: - No trashcans or restrooms on course
- The course is going through some changes and updates, so some of the tee-signs were missing. Some wooden poles did have distances written in Sharpie on them.
- Knee to hip high grass if you get off the fairway on some holes. Wear pants or high socks. You will spend a bit of time looking for discs, but you just need to persevere.
- Left one of my putters on top of the basket on #12. Realized it at #15. Went back and it was long gone. Nobody claimed to have seen it. Has my name/# on it, but no calls yet.
Other Thoughts: Just a splendid 27 holes of golf. Bring a lot of water and a snack or you will be beat by the end. This course rewards control more than distance, so break out those mids and fairway drivers; you are in for a treat. There is an A-Tier here in a couple of weeks, and the local crew should be applauded for all the hard work they have done on the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect for Tourneys!

2-4    9/15/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 52  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 27.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Before I go into this review, I want to preface that when I played here it was set up for the Colorado State Championships, but the layout was more or less the same. I had a great time competing (and losing!)

---The front 5 holes are well-groomed, fast greens with amazing teepads.
---The following 16 holes are good as well, incoporating a lot of the natural vegetation to increase the challenge
---Hole 5 (my favorite hole) is the signature hole, with a huge pond right off the teepad that required either a monster arm or a good hyzer lay-up
---Excellent flow between holes, with simple but effective, tee signs to guide you
---Good teepads, which couldn't have been easy to install out in the woods
---A good variety of shots
---Even at 21 holes, it's a pretty quick play
Cons: ---Overly generous pars
---Hole 5 should probably be skipped by begginers, or you may be suffering some heartbreaking disc loss
---TONS of non-disc golf traffic, as this is really the only big public park in town (on the weekend we played the State Championships, there was also a cross-country meet going on)
Other Thoughts: This is a cool course, tucked way back away from Denver. I'm not sure how much use it gets because of this, but it's worth a drive out to if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great

1    10/22/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great flow from hole to hole. The course plays extremely well with its space and environment. Most holes are short to mid range holes with shaped throws required. Most holes are guarded from easy approaches. The tee pads are some of the most usable I've ever played with the grating on them preventing slipping in wet conditions.
Cons: Most holes are very short. Course pars are a bit excessively family friendly. All holes are securely par 3's. The few long holes are a bit confusing your first time through with more than one hole visible in the direction given by the tee pads. A quick walk and some logical choices will get you were you need to go.
Other Thoughts: This is really a different course for what Colorado tends to offer. The front range courses being very up and down and open this course is a short skill shot course. Most holes play long open but into treed and brushy areas especially into the ladder part of the course. Bring some creativity with your shot selection and the course is very fun quick play. Those playing with years of experience under your belt this is a straight 3's course. even the longer drive holes are reachable with a second shot and short putt. Great overall play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    9/9/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: dborrego
Played: 69  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quick, challenging, easy to follow, well kept.
Cons: Every hole on this course should be a par 3 but I guess they are trying to make it beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: I was passing through town on my way to Oklahoma and stopped to get some fresh air and stretch my legs. Im glad I did, I was able to play all 21 holes under 2 hours. It has lots of short holes with guarded baskets. I will definitely play it again on my way back to work.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 So/So

2-4    7/9/2010   7/9/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course has a few shots that will challenge even the best of players.
Cons: Much of the fairways or what should be deemed a fairway is considerably overgrown.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray. The mosquitoes in the summer are bad for Colorado standards due to all of the stagnant water in and around this park.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    6/23/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: Vintageskis
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I like that it goes from well groomed grassy park like setting into a more rugged rough course half way though. Great long drives with a few potential ace holes. Great bird watching and very scenic course.
Cons: Bring bug spray, we got eaten up!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.