Greendale, WI 
Root River Parkway DGC Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #5 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 233ft.   3 / 313ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
My Birthday Round

1    9/7/2017   11/16/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 200  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.155 Rating) A nice city park course that offers moderate challenges and appears to have gotten some layout tweaking in the last year or two.
- CHARACTER - A bunch of comfort items and extras. To start, it's always great to see two practice baskets to pregame a round. Also a community board (no map) and porta-potty at tee (1). Despite no map at the community board, there are scorecards available with a map with the course fee. On the course itself, there are a bunch of holes that have a two concrete tee set-up. I think every hole had multiple baskets placement and most had 3 placements. There is tree wind shielding and shading at a majority of the tees and there are benches at many holes as well.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - I wasn't expecting this course to look as good as it did. Several large beautiful oaks flanking a few baskets. There are several fully wooded holes in the beginning of this layout as well. The back 9 brings the overall beauty back a bit with several roads in fringe play and in view, but these holes still had some appeal to them.
- CHALLENGING - I thing the back tees here will keep the local advanced player challenged as the baskets are often well guarded. I figure your average 950 rated advanced player will average a couple down give or take. Rec players will enjoy the challenge from the front tees.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - With two sets of tees on many holes, Root River will be able to attract a wide swath of skill levels. My twin brother joined me for this one and he shot +19 from the short tees and he's played only a handful a rounds.
- QUICK PLAY - It took two of us a little over an hour to play all 18 holes and there were other groups on the course. I think its feasible that a four sum could knock this one out in well under two hours, maybe even approaching 90 minutes.
- NAVIGATION - Fairly straight forward since you'll have a scorecard with map. The hole signage is attractive and informative. I did make the mistake and jump to (17) after (9) as (17) tee is right there. My fault, I should have looked at the hole signage more closely. Please also note, there must have been some tweaking to this layout between 2015 and 2017 as the map I originally saw on DGCR did not match the layout I played. For one, once you cross the road to play (2) there is a total of 5 holes now instead of 4. (14) and (15) are combined, and it's now just (15). I went ahead and updated the map link on DGCR.
- UNIQUENESS - For a par 54, a really nice mix. Open shots, tunnel shots, duel fairways and several well defined deep pockets to the right and left. Water came into play twice on my round (7) and (15) but this could be less depending on the basket placements you get. Missing items include, elevation, par 4s, par 5s and doglegs.
- MAINTENANCE - The course was in great shape during my visit and from reading a few other reviews, it stays this way.
Cons: A solid course with only one major drawback and a few ticky-tack things
- SAFETY HAZARDS - Roads and sidewalks in play on several holes, mostly on the back 9. These types of issues typically make minimal impact on my enjoyment and rating of a course unless its epic bad, and I don't think Root River reaches that level. As stated earlier in this review, my brother, a beginning player, threw this course with me and he never threw it into the road. It's still very much possible though. Even I grip lock one 50 feet right from time to time, and that's all it takes on this course to put one in the road on a few holes.
- TIME WAITING - Why take a chance. I played during the evening rush hour and it seemed like there was a car zipping down the road every 30 seconds. I had to wait on numerous tees to throw so all the cars could clear. In addition there are a few sidewalks that run along the layout as well. So having to wait for pedestrians is possible as well.
- PAY TO PLAY - Five dollar to play per person or you can get a yearly pass for all the county courses for forty bucks. Well worth the five dollars in my opinion but there are definitely better free courses within an hour's drive.
- ELEVATION - Maybe one hole had 10 to 15 feet of elevation to it. Hole (14) had the basket perched on top of a large mound.
- LAYOUT FLOW - A couple odd and longer transitions on this layout. The transition between (1) and (2) is around 300 feet. The transition between (9) and (10) is about the same. You'll have to cross a semi-busy road 5 times as well. Also, it would have been nice to have had some basket placement indicators as I had to run up several fairways to check the basket placement.
- PARKING - Street parking only.
- SPACING - OK, but less than ideal. the closeness of the road is far from optimal. The hole (8), (9) and (17) are all packed together. My brother accidently threw to (17) from tee (8).
Other Thoughts: Root River is not going to win any major awards but this is a solid course all around. A good course for rec thru advanced level players. Probably not the best course for beginners but its manageable. The course finds the perfect balance between too easy and too hard. I will definitely look forward to coming back to this general area as there are just so many courses like this one to explore and try out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 .mUcH iMpRoVeD.

5+    12/7/2016   4/30/2017
Review By: ChilliWilli.1er
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2017
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long/Short Tees, Great Variety of tight wooded shots, Longer "open" shots, elevation changes on a few holes, and the River comes into play on holes 1 (Tree pin), 7, 11 (Long), 15 (Long/Short) and 18 (Long), Abundance of Wildlife ALWAYS present. This course has been improving greatly over the last 2-4years. Very clean. 2 practice baskets with distance brick markers inside + up to circles' edge. Arguably within the top 3 best courses in the Milwaukee County System. Can't wait to see what the future holds for Root.River.Course, has only gotten better with each passing season. Thanks to the hard working volunteers!
Cons: Could use a few more garbage cans. Ash bore has forced removal of a few trees, hopefully they will be replaced with new trees.
Other Thoughts: Great area for a course ( not many 18+ hole courses on this side of town in Milwaukee Park System) would love to see more.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A walk in the Park

1    9/3/2016   9/3/2016
Review By: JLHJLH
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park, the middle of Whitnall park area which is an extremely well maintained area.
First few holes are challenging enough as they take you through some heavily wooded area, but with enough room to make reasonable shots. I don't think anyone can play the first 9 unscathed (by trees). These are the shortest holes on the course.
#2 is hard to find if you have never been there but now that the paths between holes are well worn the rest of the course is easy to follow.
Multiple tees (hey, I'm old I play from the short tees, mostly for "3's" which make even the short holes difficult. Once out of the forest the holes are pretty much wide open, and very long (the longest, from the farthest tee, is 543 feet).
Hole maps are easy to follow (multiple possible pin placements).
Cons: It's a little difficult to find as the Park doesn't really have signs pointing to the course. Some nights there are leagues so the course is not available all the time (this is not inherently a bad thing unless you don't have the time. I hear the leagues are well enough attended).
Other Thoughts: A wonderful park to bike/gofl in, with limited traffic. Near the botanical gardens (very nice). The day we chose to play there were very few others out (Saturday at 11:00 a.m.). No real amenities or water that we could find (at leat none we would actually go into).
I'd go back. This is what Estabrook SHOULD be . . .
I still don't like the fee, hence the 3.5 and not a 4.0

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

We NEED more courses like this!!!

5+    9/21/2015   10/31/2015
Review By: tangerinewarehouse
Played: 80  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2016
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -has about 6 of the coolest holes in the whole of the Milwaukee county parks department
-a testament to DG course design ingenuity
-wooded shots, open shots, tight gaps little bit elevation its got a little taste of everything really
-great neighborhood
-coolest tree ever
-coolest bomb over a river
-awesome risk/reward
-engaging and fun for all levels
-super high fun factor

Cons: really the only con is the limitations of the park itself, there's lots of open areas that must be utilized but i can't think of a better layout
before the redesign it was really boring bomb after boring bomb but now with the alternate tees and new layout the only thing boring is waiting for cars to pass so you can cross the street
-the only shame is that we can't get a few more courses like this one along the milwuakee county parkways i mean really, there are numerous places in wawautosa, west allis, milwuakee northwestside that could easily be turned into world class DG parks
Other Thoughts: when i played this course in the spring, i believe it had been just after all the work had been done and all the spring flowers where in bloom and the course was totally fresh and un-trampled. It was honestly one of the most beautiful disc golf experiences playing those tucked away holes 2-6 and a couple others that are tucked away. i really couldn't believe the improvement of this course from last year. i only played this course once last year because there was no reason to come back, it was totally blah other than the first few. after my initial round this spring with all its beauty and freshness i probably would have rated this course like four discs or four and a half discs. i was pretty stoked but after playing it a few times i realize, and appreciate the drastic improvement that was made but it kind of is what it is. if every hole was as cool as 1-6 this course would be fantastic! then it would be a four and a half rating. really i have fun on all the holes every time i go. it shouldn't be rated as high as browndeer or dretzka but it's ALMOST just as fun.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hard Work Pays Off

5+    5/26/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: Horsman
Played: 130  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 11.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - First off, Todd Farnham has done some kick butt work here to get this course from a "meh" course to an absolute delight to play.

- Long and short tees on several holes making the course harder or easier to your likings.

- Mulitiple Pin placements on every hole makes it so that you might not see the same course too often.

- A lot of very tight wooded long fairways makes for even easy holes to be challenging.

- A very good mix of Long and Short.

- Concrete Tee Pads
Cons: - Tee Signs for now. The parks department is installing new tee signs so this will be fixed this summer.

- If you have never played the course before then getting to some of the holes may be a bit tricky since you have to cross a few roads and walk a little.

- Still has that just cut, fresh new course feel to it at times so some holes need a bit of time to be walked through before they start to open up

- Needs a parking lot

- Can be RHBH friendly at times. You are playing adjacent to a parkway and a majority of the time the road is on your right so the righty hyzer is favorable a lot of the time, but its gotten a lot better over the years.
Other Thoughts: - This course has really changed over the last two years and it is for the better. It is now a lot of fun to play and not just "another course"

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Root River Remixed

1    5/24/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 164  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New long tee pads, fresh cut fairways that will still be very challenging when everything settles down from foot traffic, new hole designs/layouts, better usage of the acreage available, P2P MKE County Parks Department
Cons: Course needs a parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Thank you to all the hard work and dedication from the GLDGC, MAD, Milwaukee Count Parks Department, Todd Farnham and all the other volunteers who work their butts off to transform this course into one of the most challenging courses in Southeastern Wisconsin.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 root river 5/24/2015

5+    5/23/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: wilbs1999
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Regular and pro ties, mulch has taken care of any muddy spots, multi hole positions, and multiple water holes/elevation changes make it a really REALLY fun course
Cons: Needs a few directional signs for pro pads
Other Thoughts: Love this course! With the recent changes it's become Milwaukee's premier course. Great job guys!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Beauty and The Beast

5+    10/12/2014   10/13/2014
Review By: wisconnyjohnny
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.5 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: "The Root" as I affectionately call it has come a long way since its ground breaking in the spring of 2013.
Great concrete tee pads, awesome Baskets.
#1 Is The Beauty, several large trees to avoid while hitting a hole shot in the woods, to a Basket placement that utilizes a raised base of a willow tree.
Rad Placement very creative, course takes on some more woods after this an opens up at #6 again. On #9 you are tempted to hyzer another hole shot into the woods. 10 has a woods placement and then you are at "The Beast" which requires just a 220 ft hyzer into woods and a lil annhyzer of 200 ft down a very very narrow fairway, #11 comes in at 423 ft, awesome tough hole that will challenge anyone. #13 is the signature hole up a large mound, beware the rolling disc as you can get stuck with a double bogey or worse here.

course is clean and well maintained, light disc traffic unless you are hitting it at peak times. The Root is known for its ever present deer meandering the grounds and eating deer things like grass and popcorn.
this course utilizes the woods 50% of the time as nine of the holes are in woods.great course thats only getting better with two other new placements coming real soon utilizing the root river, with dare I say an Island green?

Play it now while its still a sleepy course
Cons: some people are too lazy to pack it in and pack it out so it could use an extra trash can or two.

The signage isnt the best, and no map up. It can be very wet after large amounts of rain but not too muddy
Other Thoughts: Great challenging course, thats both fun for the rec discer and pro types alike, natural beauty

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 So very bland...

1    9/14/2014   10/3/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 346  Reviewed: 212  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 hole course that plays up and down the side of the Root River Parkway.

Concrete tee pads on every hole. Grippy and in good repair, put could be a touch wider.

Nice Chainstar baskets, in good repair and caught well. No problems here. Most holes had 2 pin positions.

A few decent wooded holes at the beginning, and a few holes with good distance to let you open up a bit.
Cons: After the first few holes, this course becomes pretty darn bland. Everything is pretty much wide open, with very little in the way of obstacles. There are some roots, but the actual river doesn't come into play.

Most holes run right next to a somewhat busy road...which probably isn't ideal, especially for those without a lot of control. I get that they used the land available...but maybe it's not the best spot for a course.

Very little elevation....everything is pretty much flat.
Other Thoughts: This course is about as dull as it gets. The changes in distance, and the few wooded holes at the beginning, are the only saving grace. It IS an 18 hole course, so there are worse things in the world, I suppose.

I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course again, especially with courses like Dretzka and Brown Deer in town. Baggable, but really not much replay factor here.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of walking

2-4    9/19/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: rocthecourse
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes of disc golf in a nice city park. There are a couple fun shots in the woods, though they are short. Grass was pretty short and the rough wasn't too bad on most of the holes. Cement tee pads. Benches on most of the holes. Good course to bring new players to.
Cons: Course has boring wide open shot after boring wide open shot. Lots of long walks between holes, some might be necessary because of the land but others are because of poor design, like the walk from 15 to 16. Lots of interaction with the roads that run though the park.
Other Thoughts: I wasn't expecting much having read other reviews. What I didn't realize was how little fun the course would be. At points it feels like you are spending more time walking to the next tee then disc golfing. The land here isn't that bad but the course design just isn't that good.

I don't plan to play this course again.

Also, the distances listed on the hole info page on here aren't accurate.


Chances of losing a disc are pretty low, there are a few holes with thick rough and some bushes that could hide your disc. 15 is probably the only place you get near water.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.