Mooresville, IN 
CICA DGC Share
Uploaded By: blarmour Hole #7 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 188ft.   3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 It ain’t no ‘deuce-a-palooza’!

2-4    1/31/2015   1/31/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 291  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Central Indiana Campmeeting Association course in Mooresville has nine nearly-new, 18 chain DGA baskets mounted with the number plate facing each natural, toe-board tee, marked with a flag. The course starts at the northeast corner of the building beside the parking area, with a 400 footer to loosen up your arm a bit. The second hole is one of the more fun of the open front six, with a set of trees framing the direct line to the ace run pin position (alternatively, there's a safe line out to the left, too). You then throw four consecutive football field length shots before it starts to get really interesting.

The sixth basket is tucked just inside the wood line, with a slope just past, and the best line into the green coming just slightly from the left. Holes 7, 8 and 9 are shorter, but incredibly challenging, with a tight left hook, followed by a really tough one to the right. As an Intermediate level player with a slightly weaker arm, I enjoy a tight line, but I'm not sure I could reach either of these for an easy deuce. The blind, uphill 9th shoots out of an 8 foot gap between the trees, and drifts a little right at the finish.

The bridges crossing the creek in the woods are excellent, and the flow of the course is relatively easy, now that a map of the nine hole layout is posted here (ahem). The camp is clearly intended for use by church groups, but the course is open for play to respectful players. Overall, there aren't any really 'easy' holes out here for the casual to recreational player, so middle level players in the area may really like the combination of open holes in their distance range and the woods fun to finish.
Cons: For me, the open holes are somewhat bland, because I can't drive into the 'putting circle' for deuces, and the lines in the woods are actually too tight for my game. So it's not a course I'm going to get many deuces on, until my drives get a little longer. I tried a roller on 7, to see my disc jump and fall off the defunct concrete tee halfway along the path. There is a little bit of awkwardness diverting to the bridges in the transitions getting to and from the 8th hole. And I'm glad I stopped by in the winter, or I might never have found the 8th basket: it's through thick woods 90 degrees to the right of the ridge top tee.

Obviously, they did the best they could with the space available, but central Indiana is really flat terrain, so the designer couldn't do much with elevations until he got into those woods. Upgrades that would raise a rating here would include concrete tees and above ground signage (currently just a flagged stake and a numbered toe board in the grass). If it were my camp course, I'd add next tee signage and a set of shorter tees for the casuals to enjoy it more.
Other Thoughts: The course was clearly intended to go to 18 holes in the original plans, and it looks like there are some interesting opportunities to the west and south sides of the property to do so. And as the woods holes weather in, they're going to open up and become more reachable. Might be fun to check it out again if they ever add on, so I'm definitely going to 'Track' this one, and revise this review as needed!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nothiung special

1    9/14/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: weddlec
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Discs on site for load, course maps available. Course in good shape.
Cons: In a fairly wooded and hilly part of the state. most of the holes are on an open field. Some pads not where map shows.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course but not worth traveling to with all of the other options in the Indianapolis area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Peaceful course

1    5/20/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 107  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beginner / intermediate course with nice variety.

Baskets - 9 very grippy Mach 2 baskets.

Tees- 1 natural grass tee per hole marked by white board with hole number on it. Tees also have an orange pole near it.

Variety - distance of holes vary from around 200 feet to 400 feet. A few shots are uphill and some have rolling hills. There are holes with a few trees and 3 wooded holes. One of the holes has a small water hazard. Wooded holes require precision and placement of throws. High risk / high reward shots. Course is not completely flat which is always a bonus. Easy to save par on holes 1-6.

Navigation - Course is somewhat easy to navigate. Signs would definitely help though.

Clean and peaceful course on church grounds. I tend to remember courses that are quiet and enjoyable.

Easy to get to.

Room to expand and to improve.

Loaner discs on site near basket for hole 3 on side of building.

Not too far from places to get snacks or drinks.

Amazing use of land.
Cons: Only 1 natural tee per hole. I don't have a problem with natural tees, but some may. If you are going to have a 9 basket course, then alternate tees are a must. It would add to the variety and would make course more playable. (See additional info)

Signs - No course map. No signs on each hole. Had to look to find next tee. Orange poles weren't always easy to spot. (See additional info)

Course could use some more trees on 1-6 to add difficulty. Hole 2 was a nice mix of open with mature trees.

No benches nor trash cans in disc area although pavilion on site with tables.

Few fairways get near each other but not going to be an issue.
Other Thoughts: This was a solid course to be honest. It could be improved. This course was rated a 4 out of 5 before I played it. I had high expectations going into to due to 3 reviews rating it at a 4. Didn't think it was a 4 out of 5. In my opinion, a 9 basket course would be a 4 out of 5 if it had (at least) 2 concrete tees per hole, signs at each tee, alternate basket locations, elevation, variety between open and wooded, water hazards (real ones), blind shots, signature holes, and a course map. Of the above, this course has a few wooded holes, a few blind shots (woods), and minimal elevation. If it had 2 concrete tees per hole, detailed signs (at each tee), and even some benches to take in the peaceful nature, this course would definitely be a 3, maybe even a 3.5 out of 5. If it added all of the above and a few more holes, it would definitely be a 3.5 out of 5. Not as good as Mt. Gilead in my opinion.

I am giving this course a 2.5 because the wooded holes, the variety of distance of the holes, and the overall enjoyment of this course. I definitely enjoyed this course and will be back if I am in the area. It's definitely better than some of the 9 hole courses that I've played.

The holes that are here are great and the designer did a fantastic job with design and use of available land. I would love to see this course expanded and improved. There is still a corner of the property that is not used. I would recommend this course to any beginner / intermediate player in the area. Holes 7-9 may be too tough for beginners.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

5+    4/25/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Dividends
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course. Has a good variety of holes. Great for all levels of players. The wooded holes are some of the most fun wooded ones I've played. Has discs on site if you don't have any to use.
Cons: Would like to see concrete tees added at some point, although I believe those may be coming soon. Can be soggy in some spots after a lot of rain. Other than that not a lot of cons to this course.
Other Thoughts: Personal favorite of mine. It's the closest course to me plus it's just a fun course to play. I enjoy every hole. Usually not too crowded. Go play this course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good course to play

1    10/13/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: rayw
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: well maintained course. fun to play. great layout of course. like the idea of loaner disc for new players. wife just started to play and loved the place. holes #7 & #8 are a little challenge
Cons: need better markers at each tee. can be hard to spot the next tee box.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My home course...

2-4    6/7/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: Ale 8
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good blend of woods and open holes
Holes 7 and 8 are very technical
Feel free to bring your kids and let them play in the playgrounds near Hole 9
Cons: Holes 1 and 3 can be very wet after rain
Hole 5 will eat your disc if you play too close to the tree lines
Don't overshoot the turn for Hole 8 or your disc will be tough to find
Other Thoughts: This course is not too far from home and this will be my home course as well as a place where I can come and just let discs fly for practice. Thanks for placing this here for others to enjoy.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.