Hillsboro, TX 
Cuesta Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: JeremyKShort Hole #9 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Wasted ... everything

1    5/29/2019   5/29/2019
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2019
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Decent land with some elevation and water.
-- Some longer holes that allow you to air out a drive, but you'll spend the next 10 minutes trying to find your disc in the DEEP grass/weeds.
-- There is a restroom in the Fine Arts building (right by No. 1 tee), but I don't know if/when the building is open.
Cons: -- DEEP weeds/grass. I don't need manicured fairways, but this stuff was truly waist deep on more than half of the course. Only three fairways was the stuff short enough to give you any confidence you could find your disc even if you watched carefully where it landed.
-- Navigation is not great. This is made worse by some tee "pads" that don't point directly at the basket. Also, the map on this site and the tee signs don't agree. Short holes on the map (No. 11, for example) are nearly 400 feet in reality.
-- Two tee shots (3 and 6) could really endanger cars. Three is a low ceiling shot across a road, and six tees from near a parking lot. If there are cars on that end, they could easily get hit.
-- Baskets are homemade and were likely OK when new. Now, many are damaged, and grass is growing up into some of them. No. 17 is leaning badly. I uploaded pictures of baskets 3 and 17, but they have been removed. I don't know why.
-- What were once really good tee signs have faded so much that most of them are unreadable. Also, many are covered in bird poop.
-- Natural tee pads are poorly marked.
-- No seating at the tees.
Other Thoughts: -- Areas near the road and the buildings had recently been mowed, but the vast majority of the course hadn't seen a mower this century. Finishing a round without losing a disc is a major accomplishment.
-- I'm turning into a course bagger, and I regret driving to play this one. There is nothing more frustrating than throwing a drive straight ahead and watching exactly where it landed (250 feet away with my rag arm) and then spending 5-10 minutes searching in waist deep crap to find the disc.
-- If this course were maintained, it might be a 2.0.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth it

1    11/29/2018   11/30/2018
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 380  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ummm Its close to the highway
Has baskets
Cons: You park near 5 and have to walk far east accross road for 1
18 will not end near 1 but at least not far from car

The pound is flooded and makes 4-5 holes pretty swampy

Not mowed i played in fall if this was spring or summer i would have lost many disc

10 the tee pad could not get to about 100 yards of chest high weeds in between

12 basket was flooded out do to close to water and construction

This is the 1st course that the signs 100 % do not face what they tell you they are 45-90% off angle. So you have to find 3 stones they laid down to show what basket to play. If you line up with the sign you will be wrong

The sun has faded over half the sings to the point of unreadable
Other Thoughts: This has so much land and potential on a hilly slightly wooded campus but it is obvious the school has forgot and neglected it. Needs to be redone with new signs and layout and it could be fairly fun. Even keep the baskets.
Since tee are not poured just redo signs and tee box location
Line up signs this time

And MOW MOW MOW..not everything just from tee to basket to give it fairways and paths to walk

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Much better than we expected based on reviews.

2-4    11/16/2017   11/16/2017
Review By: Zineth
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 34.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has Tee signs
Has Baskets
Has obstacles in the way of some baskets
Has one water hole
Sprawling course, it is bigger than it looks.
Good variety of lengths/obstacles
Cons: Hole six basket is in a rougher area (not mowed, looks line trimmed)
Hole seven tee sign is present, bricks are long gone.
Hole twelve is in sewage literally. Don't even throw off the tee.
A few holes close to buildings / parking lot
Tees noted by three bricks, have to avoid tripping over them.
Other Thoughts: All tees and baskets were present. The course looked virtually unused which is too bad. The students there are missing out! Hole three crosses the driveway, it is the only crossover point on the course. After the sewage hole (twelve) there is a water way crossing that was moist but was easy to get around.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 College Rules

1    12/22/2016   12/23/2016
Review By: hotstang
Played: 335  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has Baskets.
Good Signage.
Easy Flow.
Beginner Friendly.
A lot of grip and rip holes.
Good use of the land available.
Slight elevation, Pond, OB's, adds a bit of challenge to the openness of the area.
Cons: Homemade baskets.
Natural tees.
Open on most of the holes.
A lot of drainage and soggy spots on the course.
Long walk from 18's basket to 1's tee.

Other Thoughts: It's not your typical pitch and putt college course.
Course was rather enjoyable for my sons and I.
Baskets caught well for us. Just don't putt high.
Course was in pretty good shape. (Played in the winter time.)
Really don't expect this course getting very busy.





4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/22/2015   4/9/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2018
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great signs with par, distance, and map
-has a couple of fun shots that use the elevation, pond, and trees
-lots of open shots if you're wanting to bomb some drives
-really a pretty decent course for a college campus with homemade baskets
Cons: -baskets are a good effort for homemade but they're still not very good
-not enough obstacles on too many holes
-the areas around the pond can be very soggy if there has been any recent rain
Other Thoughts: Cuesta DGP is actually a pretty decent course for a small college campus. If only the whole course were executed as well as the signs! Some of the natural tees are not good and the college-made baskets leave a bit to be desired.

Most of the holes are wide open with few obstacles. The best holes are the downhill tee shot on holes 3 & 6, over the pond on hole 8, toward the pond and atop the bunker on hole 9, and the closest thing to a technical shot on hole 7 with a low ceiling, a number of trees, and the pond to the left. There are a few other holes that make use of minor elevation changes and patches of trees here and there but it's mostly forgettable.

I played about a week after some rain and the entire area around the pond was still very soggy. School was not in session so I had the place to myself. Not sure what it is like during the school year but I can't imagine there is a huge student body at this campus.

Could be worth a stop if you're on I-35 and looking to check out a new course. If you're going between Austin and DFW then Waco has better courses. Pretty much locals and course baggers only.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Better than nothing

1    4/6/2016   4/6/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 999  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee signs on every hold
Some good holes
Course is on the side of a hill, so a little elevation for Texas.
Cons: Home made baskets that I got spit out on several times
Tee signs are at an angle to the actual tee, I am use looking at the tee sign, then up and down the fairway.
Bricks mark the end of the tee on most of the holes. Then someone put a stick that you can fall on after you trip over the bricks.
Several of the holes are long because there is nothing to throw around.
Very long walk from 18 basket to hole 1.

Other Thoughts: In general, this was not a "Bad" course, it just was not all that good.
#1 and #2 are across the street from the rest of the holes and are basic open field holes throwing one direction and then throwing back.
#3 tees off across the street and down the hill with OB to the right. other than throwing across the street, this is a good hole.
#4 throws back up the hill towards the street though/around some trees.
#5 is an open field hole back to the parking lot I parked in.
#6, throws across the parking lot and down the hill. Some idiot didn't know the course was here and parked his truck right in the line of fire..... oh, that's my truck :p
#7 Nice short tight fairway with the pond on the left
#8, throw across the pond and up the hill to the parking lot.
#9, might be one of the better holes on the course. it is a huge hyzer shot with the pond on the right and the basket on the dam. with the headwind today, I was scared to go for this hole.
#10 simple pitch and putt hole, this are was supper sloppy muddy.
#11 Hole is longer than it looks, you have tree's on the left along with the soccer fields, the hole is past the field in the open on the left.
#12, 13 and 14 are all pretty much wide open longer holes to get you to the end of the campus.
#15 is a great hole, Nice line of trees with the basket down the hill to the left.
#16 decent hole with a few trees to throw around
#17, another good hole with the dorm/apartments on the right at the top of the hill with several trees making this a big anhyzer for a right handed player.
#18 another decent left to right shot with a parking lot on the right and soccer field on the left.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 For what it is...

1    5/19/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: eegor
Played: 131  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 24.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a pretty good course for a college campus. I'd play here everyday if I attended school there.

Wide open, if you're into that. Only hole 7 (the best hole on the course) could be close to being technical. Uphill and downhill holes, making it somewhat different than most courses in Texas.
Cons: Natural tees and home made baskets. The baskets appear to be welded "In Step" baskets with inner chains. The outer set of chains are too high over the basket (cage?) and some good putts won't go in.

Nothing to stop the wind. Very few trees and a west facing hillside will usually mean windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: This would've been a pretty fun course if the grass had been mowed. I'm not counting off for it because the semester is over and there weren't any students around. It appeared to have been previously mowed, so I assume it's playable when school is in session.

There were plenty of long holes, so you can air it out. Uphill and downhill drives with plenty of wind to carry the discs make for some fun times. If you clear the pond on 8 (about 100 feet), you shouldn't lose a disc.

The trees that are there are used well. There just aren't enough of them.

The first seven holes had signs, so I'm assuming the rest will be installed. They're nice signs... so I didn't take off for that either.

It's passable as a course. I won't go out of my way to play there again, but if I'm around with nothing to do, I'd definitely play it. As mentioned before, I'd play it every day if I attended the college.

Bottom line: It's not a bad course, it's not a good course. It's a below average course that's fun to throw long drives on.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Decent

2-4    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 79  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located on a small college campus. Most of the holes play on the side of a hill to the west of the campus. Most of the holes are a bit longer, you can pull your drivers out here. There is some mild elevation changes that come into play, as well as a decent size pond that you have to cary over on 8. The baskets were made by the college welding department, and are actually pretty decent for homemade baskets.
Cons: Mostly open, the trees that are there are used well, but it's not technical by any means. There are few hole that force either a BH or FH shot, because most of the holes are fairly open. All of the tee pads are natural (ie, grass).
Other Thoughts: I'm cutting it some slack for a lot of it being a bit rough. It's not completed yet, but I know the other tee signs are coming, and they've started to get it mowed.

This is a decent course if you live in the Hillsboro area, or worth a stop if you're on you're way back and forth to Cameron in Waco.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/14/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: McChains
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I guess the pros would be it is better than nothing. Great for beginners as it is wide open. There are some holes With different elevations to add some character.
Cons: Baskets seem home made. Course is wide open. Baskets are always right in front of you just a different distance. You can basically see the layout when you drive into the course.
Other Thoughts: Do not travel to play this course

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.