Grand Rapids, MI 
Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #3 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 272ft.   3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Love this park....

5+    7/4/2010   9/19/2009
Review By: Terry C
Played: 53  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2010
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -This is a beautiful very well manicured park,
-great mix of shots, long and short, left and right fade.Good differing range of holes.
-mostly wide open fairways with minimal trees in your way.
-great DGC for all skill levels
-if you like going in the water for discs you'll have fun here, ive pulled about 100 out of the water here over the years. i found 13 in an hour last year.
-cement tee pads
-nice tee signs throughout the park
-Innova baskets
-a nice pole course is next to the regular basket course
Cons: -No elevation changes
-Can get very busy and crowded in the summer
-sometimes picnicers lacking all common sence lounge right around the basket ( ive seen this happen so much over the years).
-this is a policed, non-alchohol park.
-lots of people lose discs here to the water, but its easy to play it safe if you like to.
-several of the later holes 12-18 are prone to massive goose crap piles everywhere
-the park does flood a couple times a year, not that often
Other Thoughts: This is the best park in grandrapids, my personal favorite in GR. This was one of the first parks i ever played and it has remained challenging and fun over the years.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Riverside Rules!

5+    9/2/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: zachmo13
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a good amount of long and short holes here. Still has some ace run holes. Water holes help with being accurate and there's lots of tables and pavilions to take breaks if your tired or if the rain starts. And probly 50% of the time there will be someone already in the water to get your disc for you if you do happen to throw it in the drink.
Cons: There are definitely some cons that come with the course as well. The back nine is were it gets nasty. Lots of water holes that have a serious chance of robbing your disc, plus there's goose poo everywhere. Usually there's some people who are just standing in the way and don't care if your discing but still get really pissed when you almost him them even though you told them to move.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course. I only live four miles away so it's close and there's 18 holes plus a couple alt. holes as well. (From the fire hydrant to 17, and from the shed to 18). Haven't aced one there yet but I hope to change that soon.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Riverside

2-4    8/30/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: kpakkala
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice Long drives. You can really make use out of all the various discs.
Full 18 holes. Has baskets and cement tees. Scenic course with less pedistrians.
Cons: A few vandalized holes, along with empty 40 oz cans and bottles in the baskets. Crowded course, you often have to wait to play. There are a few water holes on the back nine which make it tricky to play. Also on the holes with water there usually are people in the water trying to find their disc. You either have to wait or go around to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: You probably could make a killing by getting some waders and retrieve those lost disc on the water holes. My fiance and I often skip the water holes because golf disc are not cheap.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

5+    8/14/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: valkyrie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/10/2010
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great Park! All the tee's are cement now! The first few holes are nice and open and is perfect for long drives!
Cons: A few holes are water holes, which i am not a fan of. Skip holes 13,14,15,16 on windy days to save urself some money ;) Some non-disc golfers that you need to watch out for somtimes, but its not a big deal really.
Other Thoughts: Play this park 4-5 times a week, and love it! Also an old pole course there, some of the poles and tee sighns are missing but, overall its fun to play with some friends!

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/14/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: rbrown87
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Logically flowing course around the whole park.

Open, yet a bit more than a mere pitch and putt.

Generally not too crowded.

A great place to bring beginners, especially on the front nine. Experienced players can score well below the course par.

Water hazards require risk-reward assessment and good throw selection.

Holes are fun and satisfying.

Open front nine (I'm thinking 3-5 especially.) are a good place to try out new throws and discs.
Cons: Water hazards. Unless you're very conservative with your throws, you're likely to lose a disc at some point.

Goose poop on 12-16. Bring a towel.

If it has rained in the past few days (and in GR it most likely has), some holes will be downright unplayable, especially 15, 16.
Other Thoughts: My go-to course in GR. Always worth playing. Have always found a friendly crowd while playing there. Don't bother to play in the spring unless it has been uncommonly dry or you don't mind skipping holes in the back nine.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/1/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: mambrose
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 24.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The tee pads are nice, along with the baskets
Cons: Water, i hate loosing my discs
Other Thoughts: Ive been playn here since i was like 6 years old, but ive been wondering, anyone know why the teepad for 18 dosent face the hole?

edit: they made a new tee behind it like last week

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/31/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: dandther
Played: 45  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 42.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the concrete tee pads and baskets. Course is quite open, but there are some tree challenges here and there. The water holes can be frightening when the wind is against you.
Cons: Not many negatives I can say about this course, other than once you play 16 it's not easy to find where 17 and 18 are. These holes have been moved more than once, and you run into the wooden sign for the old (late 70s or early 80s) pole course that works its way to the south in the park.
Other Thoughts: 13 is at the end of a point of land jutting out into the lagoon. High water in the spring makes this even more challenging. I played the course on May 31, 2009 and we skipped 13, the water was within 10 feet of the base of the basket.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Riverside GR

2-4    7/13/2008   5/30/2009
Review By: Wraith3
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Probably the best course in the Grand Rapids area. Very challenging water. Nice wide open frost 9. Very nice park. worth the drive downtown in the summer. Don't be scared to jump in after your discs, it's pretty clean, comparably.
Cons: Can flood easily, as it is directly on the banks of the grand river. Due to damaged/ broken signs, it can be a little difficult to traverse.
Other Thoughts: Also an old post course of site

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Water here...

1    5/9/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 23.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course will have you walking a great amount. Very beautiful looking scenery in a very wonderfully clean park. Holes are long at times, and not too technical. Played on a Sat., at 8 a.m.. Lots of very nice people in the park at this time. I would recommend playing this course.
Cons: Lots of water in the Spring aparently. My god, this park was flooded when I played. Lost a disc in the river. Decent signage, but not the best. An announcement at the park that was posted claimed that the leagues were cancelled, and moved to "Brewer", but no other info. was posted. Was I supposed to go back to my hotel and find out where the hell "Brewer" was?
Other Thoughts: While on vacation, I found this to be minutes from my hotel, so I decided to play. Park by the baseball diamond, and continue to walk South for a while until you find the 1st tee pad. I had to skip about 4 holes due to the flooding, and then it started raining pretty good as well, so in fairness, I had to skip the last 4 holes or so, too.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 FUN DAY AHEAD

5+    5/8/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Azar002
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice long course, easily navigable. Course encircles the park, and a group can spend a whole day playing this course twice.
Cons: Flooded for most of the year. Beginners often throw in the water, require a "brave soul" to retrieve. WAY too much goose crap on hole 15.
Other Thoughts: Not too many people besides golfers occupy the course. Sometimes people fish near the basket or picnic near holes 13 and 14.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.