Madison, WI 
Capital Springs Share
Uploaded By: illyB420 Hole #17 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 299ft.   4 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Perfectly Manicured Fun

1    6/24/2020   6/24/2020
Review By: primedisc
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Exquisitely maintained. Some of the best I've played. Fairways are mowed and the course was spotless in terms of trash and the like when I was there. Garbage cans and benches on many holes. Even the couple woods hole had lush but mowed grass fairways. It was like a ball golf course.
- It's really a very pretty, scenic area. In a different sort of way then walking through the woods is scenic, but honestly I was kind of struck by it. It's off in rolling meadows and farmland, but it's quiet and secluded and full of wildlife. We saw hawks and sandhill cranes flying overhead during our round.
- Nice use of elevation.
- Nice variation in distances. Some ace runs, some spots to pull out the distance driver.
- Great tee signage
- Two teepads at every hole and three potential basket locations.
- Very intuitive layout. Won't get lost here.
- There aren't many wooded holes, but hole 12 (the first woods hole) is honestly one of the prettiest disc golf holes I think I've ever played. Island hole is also fun.
- Disc Golf only area
- Approachable. Good course for newer players or if you're tired off getting your butt kicked by the tougher area courses.
Cons: - The main con to this course is it's a little bland. While they try to mix it up somewhat, there's too many instances of throw straight down the grass fairway to the basket in the field. They do compensate a bit by playing with elevation and there are a few (very nice) wooded holes but on the whole not enough variation/obstacles.
- $8/day is too rich imo. Now, it's clear that it's well maintained, so maybe I shouldn't complain about the price, but I would suggest playing multiple rounds or also hitting Token Creek (pass is good for that course as well) to really get your money's worth
- It's pretty easy, which isn't really a con to me (since there are harder courses nearby if you want them) but may be to some.
Other Thoughts: Capital Springs, being the other Dane County Parks course, is the sister course to Token Creek. In the same way that Elver invites comparisons to Hiestand, CS invites comparison to Token Creek. In that context, while it doesn't have many of the cons that Token Creek does (noise, navigation) it also does not have many of it's pros (length, 27 holes). To be quite honest however, I had lower expectations for this course and it pleasantly exceeded them. Especially after Hole 1 (one of the blandest on the course, a straight throw up a slight hill wide open fairway to an unprotected basket) I wasn't expecting as much, but the holes slowly improved, particularly on the back 9. The woods holes are gorgeous, I wish there were more. But there's still some variation and they worked with what they had. It's also worth noting that there are many young trees/saplings that have been planted on this course. Perhaps in 10-15 years some of those wide open fairways will have some more obstacles and challenge. I would also mention again how well maintained the course was - very nice. You also don't have as many instances of disc eating rough that you do with Token Creek. I also enjoyed the beautiful, quiet setting, and the smaller crowds, despite the close proximity to the isthmus/downtown (also a plus in my book). Unfortunately, one cannot rate this course without comparison to the other "big 4" 18+ holers in the Madison area (Elver/Hiestand/Token Creek) and in comparison this one is probably 4th. However, there were still many things I really enjoyed and really only 2 cons, that being the lack of variety and the price. I really wanted to give this a 4, but I just couldn't with the deciding factor being what you get for $8. Maybe if it was free it would be a 4, but I settled for a 3.5 (more like a 3.75 if I were allowed). Still, a fun little 18 hole course, great clean setting, and I will be back plenty.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, well maintained.

5+    5/25/2018   5/30/2018
Review By: Lanomode
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to have in the Madison area. Well maintained, decent elevation changes, and never terribly busy. Great views. Just a bit off the Beltline and Madison proper, but is still a very peaceful place to play.
Cons: Not terribly difficult holes, but still good course over all. BRING BUG SPRAY or the mosquitoes can carry you away. FYI for parents: If you have kids of a young age, even the little bit of elevation change on this course can be exhausting pushing a stroller.
Other Thoughts: Probably the most under rated course in Madison. Nice that it's never super busy. Beautiful place to play a round. Not terribly difficult, nice wide fairways, but still takes control to stay out of the rough.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great Practice Course

2-4    7/31/2016   8/2/2016
Review By: Bigsky406
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well manicured course that's fun, but not terribly challenging. Nice views, no crowds, and great wildlife watching. It's not uncommon to have a pair of sandhill cranes cruise over the fairways during play, which adds a pretty cool 'intangible' element to Capital Springs.

The front nine is ho-hum with a few legit ace opportunities from the am tees and, if you have a big arm, from the blues. The back nine is more interesting and slightly more challenging, but if you're playing from the whites it's still pretty easy to par every hole.

This is a fun course for trying out discs, working on your finesse shots, and going for the chains off the tee. If you throw from the blues it's considerably longer and slightly more difficult.
Cons: Almost all the holes are hyzer shots and easily par-able from the white tees, even for intermediate players.

Many of the trees that were planted to create some obstacles on the course are dead or dying, which adds to the "ho hum" feeling on the first 8-10 holes.

There isn't a notable signature hole, though holes 12-14 are more challenging and more interesting.

It's $8 to play for the day, or $48 for a year-long Dane County Disc Golf permit, which is good for this course and Token Creek. I'm new to town and haven't played Token yet, but the pay-to-play feels very steep for this course. It if wasn't so well maintained/manicured, I wouldn't think of paying the fee. I'd go elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: All-in-all this is a fun course that has actually improved my game by allowing me to huck my discs without fear of losing them. Having a course in my rotation that allows me to get acquainted with my discs feels like a luxury. I'd rather play a round than go to a football field and throw for the sake of throwing, so Capital Springs really fits the bill.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Capital Springs

2-4    7/9/2016   7/9/2016
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 177  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: + Capital Springs is a very well maintained course. The grass is never too high, trash is picked up, etc...

+ The use of multiple tees and multiple pin placements adds replay-ability and variety to an otherwise bland course.

+ The course equipment is great. Tee signs, tees, and baskets are in top-notch shape.

+ There are several holes where players can throw wide open distance shots, but there are also wooded technical shots as well as precision shots (including #16 as an island green).

+ In general, the isolated prairie setting is quiet serene. It's calming and peaceful and allows the player to "escape" their normal lives for a while.

+ I'd say this course is great as an introduction for beginners and a pretty good practice course for advanced players. Some birdies are definitely easier than others.
Cons: - I played here during the Am Worlds week, so the courses were free, but I would never, ever pay $8 to play a round here. That's absurd. While it's nice to have benches behind every long tee or whatever, I don't think P2P is appropriately used here (in a public park).

- There aren't really any "oh wow!" holes. One could argue that #9 and and #18 are fun downhill holes, but they're not breath-taking by any means.

- The front 9 is pretty bland. While some of the tees/baskets were surrounded by boulders adding an aesthetic effect, the holes aren't difficult at all.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this was a fun course to check off the list.

In summary:

Would I come back if it were free? Maybe.
Will I pay $8 to come back? No way.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Most amazing turf ever

5+    5/9/2015   6/25/2016
Review By: juswinginit
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This place has the best grass I have ever seen on a disc golf course. Maybe the best grass I have ever seen in any park. Really. Most amazing turf ever. Makes good use of elevation change. Makes good used of the wooded area on a few holes. Wide fairways. A few holes make you go right or left (on most you have the option of coming in from either direction). Easy layout to follow.
Cons: Some redundancy in hole design. Not many obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners. Long enough to offer some challenge to more experience players as well. I don't know who does the turf maintenance here, but it is phenomenal. Fun course. For the simplicity of the layout I would typically rate a course like this no higher than 3.0, however.....with such immaculate course maintenance, this place definitely deserves a 3.5.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 3.4

1    6/11/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 153  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 16.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Capital Springs is a scenic course that is mostly open with the exception of 4 holes in the middle of the round. Here is what I liked about the course:

*Options: Looking for a longer course to stretch out your arm? Look no further than the long pads here. Looking for a beginner friendly course? The shorts offer that. Both sets of pads are well marked and in great condition.

*Elevation: elevation comes into play on almost all of the open holes. Downhill drives are fun!

*Maintenance: The course is very well maintained, with benches, tee signs at both sets of pads, multiple pin placements, etc. There is an island hole with a concrete drop zone and sign that clearly outlines the rules for how to play the hole.

The best hole on the course from the longs is a 400 ft downhill dogleg right with a fairway lined with heavy woods on the right and some giant trees scattered on the left side. It's followed by the second best hole on the course, a 420 ft wooded shot with some serious "go for it" appeal.
Cons: Even from the longs, Capital Springs lacks variety. With the exception of 4 or 5 holes, all of the drives here are hyzer shots off the tee. There were times during my round where it felt like I was throwing down the hill, then up, then down again, then up again.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Capital Springs was a nice course that I am looking forward to playing again. Nothing mind blowing here, just a nice round in a nice park.

(I have not seen the other course/courses that are in this Park system, so I really can't say whether the annual pass is worth its price or not).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course

1    4/23/2016   4/25/2016
Review By: knivile1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course. Benches and trash cans at every teepad. No graffiti or vandalism. Pay-to-play envelopes provided at kiosk. Scorecards and pencils also provided at kiosk.

Great use of available elevation. Coursing up, down and around the Native American Effigy Mounds. Mostly open prairie golf but with a couple nice wooded holes.

Pro and Am Tees.

Multiple basket positions.

Great beginner course, par is favorable and will keep beginners spirits up and keep them excited about playing.
Cons: $8 for a day pass, really Dane County? Madison courses, though I'm sure they get a lot more traffic, are only $5. This really wouldn't have bothered me as much if the course were more challenging for my skill set.
Other Thoughts: My friend and I really enjoyed our round out there. Very quiet and scenic setting. Hole #12 to me is the signature hole for the course and is just plain beautiful.

My friend has only been playing disc golf for about 2 months now but is noticeably better than when he started. He enjoyed the course immensely and was happy to see that he could make it from his house to the course using the trail system that runs adjacent to the park.

We kept score with the available scorecards as well as our Udisc apps. We chose to score everything as par 3 on Udisc and compared our scores to the course card. I shot +1 on Udisc, -9 on the scorecard. Buddy shot +15 on Udisc, +6 on the scorecard.

This is a great course if you are just starting out and don't have a ton of power yet. Even if you're a seasoned player looking to get better while playing in some wind, you can really see how it can affect your discs differently uphill, downhill, tailwind, headwind and across the fairways.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Course

5+    10/19/2015   1/17/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 27 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very hilly and that combined with the wind that seems constant out there, makes it more challenging than one might expect. It has a tendency to play like the wide open British courses in ball golf. The wind will also bother your putts. Many would under rate this course based on the short length alone, but those of us who play it once a week and know the wind can attest otherwise.

The few wooded holes are of exceptional quality, though the obstacles begin with #11 and end at #15.

Cons: It's not very challenging to a skilled player, even from the pro tees, though it would be a great introduction to the game for younger players.

It's not a great course, but it is worth the time to play once if you are passing through the area and have time to hit up every course in the area.
Other Thoughts: It is perhaps the most secluded and scenic of the courses in Madison. Whereas one can see the urban landscape easily from all the other courses, and in the case of Token Creek, hear the freeway noise for at least the first 10 holes, there is only one place where you can see anything of the urban landscape. It's very quiet, it's near a watershed restoration, there is a creek running along the bike path, and hawks and sandhill cranes are plentiful (it also borders a dog park if you want to add that to your excursion).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sorta blah, but sorta fun...

1    10/28/2015   11/2/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 610  Reviewed: 213  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a park in Madison, WI. Also has a dog park next to it.

Really nice concrete tee pads. Long, wide, brushed...everything you could need. Two tee pads per hole. They are also set level, so longer run ups will be ok.

DGA baskets, all in good repair, and mounted well. Three pin positions on most holes. No issues here.

Great signage, as with most courses in the Madison area. Distances, pin locations, topography. It would be cool if there was an indicator of which pin was in, but it was easy to deduce on most holes.

Decent use of the elevation available. This is the biggest factor in shot selection here.

Nice (albeit small) section of wooded holes. If only the whole course was these...

Nice array of distances, for the most part. There's no 600' crushers here, but there's plenty of distance for most people.
Cons: Cap is mostly wide open, with the hill providing the main obstacle. From holes 11-15, there are some nice wooded shots, though.

During summer, the rough here is going to be ROUGH. This is disc eating, hiding, badass rough. Even in the relatively small patches, when this stuff is tall and full, you're going to have a heck of a time finding discs. In fall, not so bad.

P2P, which isn't always bad, but kinda is here. $8/day isn't too bad if you pair this with Token Creek....but by itself, it's pretty ridiculous.
Other Thoughts: When the rough is down, this is a fun, easy going course. When the rough is tall, I imagine this place can piss you off, especially if the wind is blowing (which I imagine it almost always is, as it's very open). A great place to work on elevation-based shots, for sure.

In the pantheon of Madison area courses, this one doesn't rate too highly, but that doesn't mean it's not a halfway fun round. I'd suggest hitting this an Token Creek to get your full $8/day pass worth of fun, though.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Too Open, but Nice Course

2-4    8/15/2013   8/26/2015
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 55  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 13.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall, the course is in great condition and located in a nice, scenic area. The tee pads and baskets are top notch as the course is only a few years old. The fairways and greens are also groomed very well, the signage is nice, and trash cans on every hole. It's a great course if you're a beginner or if you're trying to work on your short game/mid-range shots.
Cons: The course is too open and too short, although this provides plenty of ace opportunities...on almost every hole.
Other Thoughts: Personally, I thought this course was boring since it is not very challenging, but if you're looking to improve your short game and approach shots, I would recommend going to this course. It also plays quite fast if you are running short on time, otherwise I would recommend going to Elver, Token, or Heistand if you're looking for more of a challenge.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.