St. Paul (New Brighton), MN 
Hansen Park Share
Uploaded By: mstephens627 Hole #1 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 282ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
I Want to Like This One

2-4    1/5/2019   1/11/2019
Review By: jland969
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Free
-More than 9 holes (12)
-Good variety of distances
-Multiple tee locations
-Unique baskets (also a con)
-Elevation plays into multiple shots
-Variety of lines-hyzer, left, right, straight could all be needed/used
Cons: -Foot traffic is a risk on at least half of the drives, and the paths are busy
-The south end layout is hectic with cross-overs and confusion. Have an image of the map with you.
-Unique baskets result in your typical putting style gonging out. They are neat, but you need to change the way you putt quite a bit, which can negatively affect your next round.
-Fairways are close to other teepads and routes to the next tee can put you line with a drive or approach
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course to have nearby. In summer months you need to be very careful of your surroundings due to the foot-traffic, and the hills are popular for sledding in the winter which causes some conflict. The cone-style basket is an interesting fixture rich in history, but can be very frustrating especially if you accidentally get used to an adjusted approach for them.

This one is very nearby and I want to be more excited about it, but it lacks the draw, I believe, many players are looking for. The layout seems haphazard and the whole course lacks a feel of seclusion. If you are willing to put up with the traffic you will see at this course, just go to Acorn.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

CONES CONES CONES

5+    7/29/2018   7/29/2018
Review By: fociP
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of space overall. Mixture of open/technical and elevation allows for a decent variety over the 12 holes. Cone baskets are "interesting" to use a Minnesota Nice term. Everybody has to deal with them and you will never be so happy to make a putt from 15 feet. I think they mix things up from all the other courses in the area but lots of people hate them. Chill crowd though I've seen doubles groups with 8 people that really slow things down.

Not too much underbrush if your drive happens to land in the trees.

Dual teepads on most holes, I see lots of kids and newer players here and it is good to have short tees for them while still having the extra challenge from the longs. Teepads are all in great shape and have printed markings. Benches and tables throughout the course.

Most other park users are cool with disc golf in the park, I've gotten dirty looks at other multi-use Twin Cities courses.

Not many places where you are at risk of losing discs here unless you go way wide or way long into the backyards of the nearby houses.

Nearby softball fields are a great place to warm up or practice if games aren't being played.

The rest of Hansen park is pretty cool, lots of pretty walking trails.
Cons: Flow zig-zags in a way that wasn't intuitive without asking for help my first time out. Be alert as you walk from 6 to 7 as players teeing off on 9 may not be able to see you walking across their fairway until it is too late. 1 and 12 are in their own little area on the north side of the creek which was also confusing my first time here.

When you crash into the top of the cone and out it makes a clang that everyone on the course will hear. They will know your shame at missing yet another putt on the cones.

9 and 12 have chain baskets but they aren't great.

A lot of this course is really close to people's houses, really poor shots may go onto private land. One resident was setting off fireworks near #8, and I've seen cookouts spilling kind of close to #3. Be nice!

Bugs can be bad here in the south part of the park.

Parking can be a challenge as the softball/baseball fields often attract a big crowd in the evening.
Other Thoughts: Honestly your whole experience will depend on how you feel about the unique cones, if you don't mind (or even enjoy) the challenge of putting on cones this is a great small course. Others will have their whole experience ruined by them. Everyone who plays here will miss from distances they could have made on a chain basket.

I don't come to league here but I hear lots of good things about the community.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Know where to park and get a map

2-4    7/25/2017   8/4/2017
Review By: Flanakookn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: 12 hole lay out and a good mix of short holes and grip and rip.

Tees well marked
Cons: GPS will bring you to the wrong side of the park and you'll be walking a bit. Come in 12th or 13th instead of 15th.

The pins are cone style...and they SUCK. They don't catch disc for nothing.

Also a crazy zig-zag layout that if its your first time you might get lost.

A Tale of Two Pin Types

5+    6/19/2017   6/23/2017
Review By: dohmenator
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.8 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It has a very nice layout with decent variety. Some longer throws mixed with some short technical tosses. All in all, well designed.
Cons: Floods a little on hole 5, but not that nasty.
THE HOLES ARE THE ACTUAL WORST. Seriously, are these holes a joke? You might have a perfect put, dead center, but just forget about it. If your disc has enough steam to make it to the hole from further than 7.5 feet away, it will bounce out. I likely won't go back because they replaced even more of the actual chain baskets with those stupid spaceships. Really a good course, completely ruined by those awful holes.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Found disc

1    5/14/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: cbonander
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Sorry folks not a course review really but found a disc today may 14th so if you lost one email at cbonander@gmail.com if you want it back. Of course no charge or anything.


The course was nice
Cons: It's a decent course but I think back at 4 5 6 they're too close together so heads up.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for all levels with a nice variety of shots

5+    8/16/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: bukosknr
Played: 56  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Great community of local players that area always improving and maintaining the coarse.
-Can be played in the winter
-Clean course
-Teepads are in great condition
-Dual teepads - Longs and Shorts
-Nice variety of shots and distances
-Very safe course - not going to lose a disc.
-Mature and well maintained trees.
-Lots of places to put trash and use a bathroom.
-Elevation changes are fun
-Places to sit / set your bag.
Cons:
-Cones take some getting used to.
-Teepads could be marked, and the baskets could be marked better
-Can be difficult to follow as there aren't a lot of markings and the ones that are there are a little beat up / missing paint.
-Lots of people seem to "wander" the course looking for places to just sit around and smoke and / or are lost.
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice mix of shots, long bombers up a hill to short tunnels. The multiple teepads make it nice to play at any level. Over all the course is pretty clean. League nights can get this course very busy.
Everyone hates the cones and has had a shot they missed because of them. But I kind of like them in the way they are something different and they will certainly make you appreciate the chains when you have them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 VIVA LA CONE

5+    1/24/2015   1/24/2015
Review By: THUGNIFICENT763
Played: 97  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2015
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is a must-play for MN throwers for the cones alone. Many people list these as a con, but I embrace the challenge. The cones are responsible for upping my putting game, if you can make putts on these, you can make em anywhere. This course has a great variety of holes, ranging from wide open bomb oppurtunities to anger-inducing tunnels. Also, the Friends Of Hansen are a riotous bunch.
Cons: I guess you could say the cones are a con too, since they add about 4 strokes to my round when I miss what would be an easy-in on a chain basket. Also, the consistency of the cones vary. Some of them are like "trying to putt into a mailbox slot", direct quote from one of the Friends Of Hansen. Also, this course was a lot better when old holes 1-3 still existed.
Other Thoughts: Tip: bring a soft putter to conquer the cones. If this course had real baskets, it would be ridiculously busy I bet. For that reason alone, VIVA LA COOOOOOOOONE!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cones = Good

1    5/24/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 373  Reviewed: 363  Exp: 10.7 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: +Cones! They are so unique that I must consider them a pro. They are not ideal for putting on but this course isn't a tournament course so does it really need all Mach baskets? The cones add to the atmosphere and add challenge to some short holes.
+Ace runs. There are some shorter holes here and some of the cone holes are among the shorter ones. I would love to have a cone ace.
+Elevation. Most holes here have some ups and downs.
+Multiple concrete pads on all holes.
+Some open and some wooded. Only one hole that was really tight.
Cons: -The flow is pretty bad here. Hole 1 and 2 are disconnected for the rest of the park. There are crossing fairways and some tees that are in the path of other fairways. It was busy when I played so this added to the danger and confusion of the course.
-Some may say that cones are a negative.
-This course gets pretty busy. This leads to large groups, trash, erosion, mud.
-Not the best crowd here. They didn't bother me but I would rather not have to see 40 year old men stoned and drunk lounging around the woods.
-The course is shorter overall and doesn't have much for distance variation. Lots of shorter tweener holes.
-Not really any amenities here at all.
-The extra concrete tees were often not much different than one of the other tees on the hole. They could have done a better job at creating different looks off the tee.
Other Thoughts: +I would stop and play here to experience the cones. Moir might be a more authentic cone experience but it is pretty good here.
+Saturdays look pretty busy. Play during the week if you can.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 cone!!!!!!!!!

1    6/22/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: Dr.feelgood
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - good variety of shots
- definitely not too easy
- some holes had baskets
- lots of uphill and downhill shots.
- mix of tight wooded areas and wide open shots
- nice new teepads
- has long distance drive opportunity on the final hole.
- nearly impossible to lose a disc
- not too short
- port a potties
Cons: - cones
- difficult to navigate
- teepads aren't marked
- hole 3 seemed more luck then skill
- cones
Other Thoughts: This was truly a very well rounded descent length course, definitely one of the best free ones in the twin cities. It requires a different shot for almost every hole. I would have rated it higher if it wasn't for the cones, luckily they weren't on all the holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/21/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: Postmaster
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a multitude of shots for every player. From long uphill, to short shots, it can suit any type of player from beginner to advanced. The cones are the best to putt on!
Cons: Not Enough Cones
Other Thoughts: VIVA LA CONE!!!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.