Jonesboro, AR 
Craighead Forest - Main Share
Uploaded By: LetsPlayGolf Hole #14
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Fun Tight Line Course

1    7/6/2019   7/11/2019
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 474  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 26.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Craghead Forest , is a nice tight course in Jonesboro Arkansas .The locals and even travelers look to come in droves to play here , along with the 9 hole Loop 1( Having a 2nd course on the premises is always a plus ) . The Main Course has nice old school yellow rimmed Discatcher baskets , the kind you can pick up easily in a tree filled woods ..Concrete tees and more than adequate signage at each hole showing the hole # , distance and flight paths of both pin positions . Did I forget to mention that this course has multiple pin positions on a lot of holes ? Only disc golfers should be within the confines of this part of the woods , The park extracurricular activities take place away from here . On this course , you have to keep your wits about you . Even though there are fair lanes to the basket , there is a surplus of trees throughout this woods . Be prepared to hit some of them , I would suggest a map if you are a traveler just because you can see 2 or more paths or multiple tee pads after putting out on some of these baskets . There are benches on many of the holes and several trash cans .throughout . This course can be a fast play if you try a round at off peak hours , but so many people play here it can make it hard . Many people warm up on #9's basket on the Loop 1 course before playing . #1 starts you off by the road right across the street from the start of the Loop 1 course . This is one of a few where you can crush a drive . The basket is either on the left of the road ( 405 ' ) or a hyzer about 100' closer .Then the course undergoes a series of tight controlled shots through heavily wooded holes . Unless you are a shot shaping pro or a very good amateur you might need to dial back your drives a bit and give up on reaching the pin on every hole . There is decent length on this course considering that it's a tree filled one .#2 is on of those tight fairway throws ( 270' )that can give you an early bogey if you hit one of the first trees . #3 has a path for lefties and righties , but it is also 390' in the long position . I won't give you a hole by hole description , but I will tell you that the fun factor is abundant on this course . So many keeper holes and not always the longer ones . #7 is a fairway with the basket being protected in the front by a lot of trees ,and the basket is raised . I like courses that put you back where you parked after #9 just because you can play a quick 9 if you are pressed for time . I can't imagine that you would want to come off this course, though . The elevation is not extreme here , but it is utilized a lot on this course . A lot of holes that take you up the same hill that you threw down the previous drive . A ditch that usually has some casual water in it comes into play on 11 and 12 , and the basket you are throwing to on 13 is tucked into some deep brush . You start your way back to the parking lot on #14 , a 330' drive to a basket protected by a lot of trees on your left . 15 is only 180' but plays very tight to the basket , a real test of nerves # 18 is a tight fairway that starts out in the woods and ends up in a clearing near the parking lot . This course is NOT going to scare the seasoned player , but I can see then playing here because of the fun holes . A great course for casuals , newbies , locals and travelers . I can see this getting a lot of play for nightly doubles or a light tournament . The local club and the parks dept keep this course pretty clean . Disc Risk can be a little higher than most just because of ricochets off of trees in blind spots on the fairways . The woods doesn't have deep rough , but you must keep your eye on your disc .I started the Saturday morning skeptical but left impressed . Signature hole : #11 , a slight uphill drive with trees to your immediate right and a ditch on your left . the basket was on the left of the ditch and protect by a stump and some brush over that side of the ditch .
Cons: Even though the course plays tight , the fair lines will cause the better players to shoot way under par here . I was under par and a first timer here . Bugs can be a nuisance here . The woods and your skin can only encourage them .Apply a liberal amount of bug spray to your body before starting . There are a couple spots where navigation can be tricky for a first timer here , especially on the front 9 . A couple of NEXT TEE signs would help .
Other Thoughts: A fantastic play . If you live in Jonesboro or one of the other close Arkansas cities , this should be a once a week destination for you . Great casual play for friends looking to get together , talk and enjoy a round or 2 , or for newbies to learn to throw in tight forest conditions . If you are one of the better players in the area , then maybe Disc Side Of Heaven should be your destination , providing it's not hay growing season ( now ) . Fun factor galore . The course will challenge you without frustration you if you can throw controlled midranges and putt better than average . I would play this course again if I come to the area . It's old school ( 1999 course ) but a fun old school . . My recommendation : PLAY THIS COURSE A LOT IF LOCAL , AND PLAY THIS COURSE IF TRAVELING THROUGH I-55 or I 555 . Not necessarily a destination course but you will be glad you stopped .

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Craighead is Cool with Me

1    4/24/2017   7/23/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 424  Reviewed: 321  Exp: 16.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thought the Craighead Forrest main course is very fun. The 18 hole layout is converging nines, and has a lot to offer. The tees pads are concrete, and they all have numbered signs. The baskets are Discatchers and they are in fine condition. Several holes have multiple pin locations.

There is some length out of the gates on hole one, at just over 400' in the long position. It plays over the road with a right to left dogleg. The trees skirting the road protect the basket somewhat, but there is a lot of airspace above the road to really go for a big drive. Hole 2 is a different style, shorter and much higher density of trees. At 270' it is much closer to typical distance here, it maybe the most wooded hole on the course. Hole 3 is the second longest, and has several trees, but it is still a makable par 3 at 390'. 4 is a fun one with a bit of drop in elevation and a left to right bend in the fairway.

I won't break down every hole, but I will say I liked most of them. There are gentle slopes to many, slightly up or down hill. The shaping of fairways of through and around the trees is well done. There are few holes over 300'. There are a couple of open holes that are exposed to the sun, but much of the course is shaded. It mixes all of the elements with enough different ratios to keep it interesting, and also provides an average player plenty of chances to get birdies.

I bogeyed the first two holes, but got back to par with birdies on 5 and 6. Holes 8, 9, and 10 are down, up, and back down a bit of a hill, with widely varying degrees of turns and woods. The ravine to the left on holes 11, 12 and 13 added some spice. It is waist high in depth with brushy growth and holding a little stream. I took a penalty stroke bogey, going into the water on 13. However, I was able to get three birdies on the last four holes, finishing strong with a score of -2.
Cons: This isn't championship level disc golf by any means, but it is fun. The illustrations on the signs could be stronger, but many times the basket location is visible from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Playing a new course under par is not something I do often. Usually if I do, it is a course that is on the easier side of the scale. I could have even made a couple of more putts and scored lower. However, the wooded holes forced me to make a number of good drives, altering the shape of the shot from one tee to the next. I felt good with the outcome, scoring well by managing to avoid hitting the trees for the most part.

Great balance and mix of landscape, design, fun and challenge. If you enjoy this, there is also a 9 hole loop on site that is of a similar spirit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice but tough

1    8/3/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: dragonlord
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice design

very technical

multiple pin placements

Beautiful course if like trees and woods

multiple lines on almost all holes even in summer
Cons: very technical

short distance to pins

no grip and rip holes

lots and lots and lots and lots of trees

hard to see pins from tee on most holes with trees in full leaves
Other Thoughts: This course is a very nice course with lots of trees and very narrow sots on most holes, I, as a beginner, had lots of trouble with this course as it requires very technical placement and line selection. I don't have the shot variety required to do well on this course yet.
Having said that I really enjoyed the course even with the terrible score I shot. If you need work on your technical gameI highly recommend it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    2/20/2014   2/20/2014
Review By: 870DG
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All concrete Tee Pads on regular 18.

Easy to find. Just look for the signs on the highway as you come in. You can come in off of Harrisburg or Southwest Drive, depending on the way you are traveling from. Just look for the Craighead Forest Park signs. You'll be there in no time.

This course is challenging, but it is very possible to have a great day on it. Plenty of chances for birdies....or bogies, depending on how well you are hitting your lines. I have bogeyed and birdied every hole (with he exception of #3).

Course can get pretty busy, but not overcrowded. Most everybody out there is polite and courteous to other players/groups. If you have never played here, and want to play with some locals, just ask. (Or message me)

You can play the course really fast, or get a group and make a day of it. I have went out in the morning and played all 22 (there are 4 relatively new holes; A,B, C & D) in about 30-40 minutes. 18 is easily achieved in 45 minutes at a comfortable pace.

Benches at each hole, except for #14 and #16.

Clean course. There are plenty of trashcans located on the course. There are also numerous people that play a part in keeping the course looking nice. I appreciate each and everyone's time that goes into maintaining a fun course. However, you are the one that will make the greatest impact on our local course. Please, please, please use the trashcans and throw away your cigarette butts. Also, you won't see any graffiti on our course, lets keep it that way.

Most baskets have multiple pin positions now, and they are changed relatively often.

10's Tee box and #18's basket
Cons: Not as private as some courses, which might not be a "con" to everybody.

This course is not very open for those of you that want wide open fairways. Each hole is unique.

If you like courses that have mostly 300+ drives to the basket, this may not be for you. (Go to Discside of Heaven)

There is a softball/baseball practice field across the road. Most times of the year there will be nobody on the field. I have never heard of a window getting broken out, but I am sure some cars have been hit. The parking lot is parallel with he 3rd base line and less than 30 feet away. Not a huge deal to most. However, you have been warned.

Some holes/fairways/tee boxes can be close together. Be observant of others to make sure they aren't in dangers way. Be polite, and just wait a minute (or at least make sure they are paying attention) before throwing.

No practice basket. Everybody warms up on #9's basket. Just be sure to watch for people approaching the #9 tee and be courteous and let them play the hole before you continue practice putting.
Other Thoughts: There are 4 practice/extra holes (A,B,C, & D). If you are standing on #1 Tee Box, it is just to your left across the street. You can see D's basket from the road. A's Tee Box is nearby D's basket, just in the woods. You'll see a path leading to it. Tee boxes are not concrete (yet) on practice holes.

Holes 5,6,7,8,10,12, and 13 all have multiple pins now (the pictures only show one pin on those holes). Holes 3, 9, and 15 are the only holes that do not have alternate pins, at least not that I have ever seen.

Go Play!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Redwolf Favorite

5+    10/23/2013   10/23/2013
Review By: KByrnez
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to fine tune certain types of shots. There are often many routes that can be taken off of the tee which offers the ability to work on forehand, backhand, anhyzer and hyzer shots. It is a great course to measure progress as a new player and also useful for more veteran players to work on being more technical in their short game. It has definitely become one of my favorite course because I am new to the sport and don't have that monster arm to crank 400+ drives.
Cons: Trees galore. Although there are some holes that have less trees, there isn't a whole lot in the way of variety in that aspect. You won't find any open grip-and-rip style holes. It always seems like once you start hitting the trees, you can't stop.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Craighead Forest Park

1    4/1/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: Austin Aschbrenner
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a harder course with challenging holes.
It has some interesting geographical spots for some of the baskets.
Concrete Tees (Always a treat)
Cons: I found this course rather unfair. At all the other courses I've played at I've been known to throw anywhere from 300-320 but here even though the map at the tee box said 200 and something and I threw a bomb with a Dominator not hitting single trees multiple time and still came up short makes me think that some of the holes are measured wrong. The baskets were in their B positions but that wasn't known at hole one unless you walked to find the basket because you can't see the basket from the tee on this and many holes. Which wouldn't be a problem or anything if the hole didn't measure slightly over 200 straightforward. People have removed the indicators of where the pin positions are. A great idea on the courses part was putting signs on the basket to show you where the next hole is, which would have been greatly helpful if they were pointed in the correct directions. Now I assume this was a type of vandalization but still very annoying. Having played Jacksonville's dupree and a few other close tree courses it wasn't the trees that Irked me as much as it was the short holes I couldn't drive even though later that day I threw a 325 shot at another course.
Other Thoughts: Signs on baskets could be turned correctly.
Holes re-measured.
Maybe a larger parking lot for players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Course Getting Better & Better

5+    2/9/2013   2/15/2013
Review By: Long Ball Larry
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to start the game of disc golf on. It teaches you to throw technically sound shots with an emphasis first on control rather than distance. It has great views, good concrete tee-boxes, benches on every hole, and posts with hole information. FYI...This course actually has 22 holes right now and will be growing to a 27 hole course hopefully by the summer. There was a lot of clearing out done in the fall of 2012, which makes it a lot easier to find discs and maneuver around in.
Cons: While there are a few longer holes, most are less than 300 and average around 250.
Other Thoughts: There are 2 softball fields that run together right beside the course that make for a great disc practice area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good Looking

5+    6/21/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DG.Ar.32
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course has a variety of shots, Interesting layout, makes you throw every shot to score well, most holes are short, but with a large amount of trees you throw through
Cons: LOTS OF TREES!. I would prefer the fairways be more open and less trees.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/13/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: DG.Ar.28
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice and shady during the summer.
Good clean tee boxes and fairways.
Great test of accuracy and not a whole lot of out of bounds.
Cons: LOTS OF TREES!. I would prefer the fairways be more open and less trees.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Looking Good

1    2/2/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: rvan84
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set up very nicely. It covered the ground very well and seemed to use the ground as well as it could. I was very happy to see that more than a few of the holes had a few different lines. The pin position on hole number 11 is just across a little stream and perched up on a little outcropping. A very nice piece of design. The teepads are easily big enough. And while the detail on the tee signs isn't exact it is more than adequate to allow you to understand the hole.
Cons: The one thing about this course is that the distance is not very adequate. The course makes up for it quite a bit by using the trees to lengthen out the holes. Numerous holes that are listed as 200-250 feel more like 300. I will say that it could be a little tougher when the leaves are on the trees.
Other Thoughts: This course is not one that I would travel to play exclusively. However if I lived in the area I would be more than happy to have it as my home course. It is a wonderful course that is a hybrid between a tough wooded course and a little pitch a putt. Not a bad way to spend a day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.