Oshkosh, WI 
Winnebago County Park - Green Share
Uploaded By: DiscGolfer947 Hole #17 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 393ft.   3 / 393ft.   4 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
B’gosh, We Have Good One In Oshkosh.

1    11/22/2018   11/28/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.810 Rating) A lightly wooded park style course that will satisfy Novice thru Intermediate level players.
- FUN FACTOR - Normally I won't comment on fun factor, unless I score a course above a 4 out of 5 in my ratings. I made an exception for the Green layout, cause the Yellow layout sucks the fun out of the park. The Green layout is by far the more beginning friendly of the pair. However, it is not a true beginners course. Aces can be had by those that can chuck it in the low 200s. Losing a disc is possible, but the risks are more manageable compared to the Yellow layout. The vibe, although non-existent during my round in 25 degree temps, I would imagine is good. I saw a bunch of postings at the community board.
- NAVIGATION - Adequate. Course map of both layouts at the community board. Unfortunately, the Green layout has nearly faded away on the map. Signage shows layout of the hole with obstacles, par designation, distance and next tee direction. There are navigation aids indicated on the number placard on top of the basket. There's a scorecard dispenser at the community board stuffed with, you guessed it... trash. Last, I'll mention that there are three missing tee signs on holes (8), (12) and (13).
- CHARACTER - In addition to navigation, the basics and extras are a touch above average. Nice concrete tees being 5 feet by 12 feet. Adequate baskets, although not top of the line models. There is seating at the tees for about half of the holes and there's a nice shelter with numerous picnic tables. I believe there are restrooms in the park, but everything was locked up on my round.
- UNIQUENESS - About average. Mostly lightly wooded, but there are a few wooded shots. Water is used on several holes, although I wish there had been a better water clear shot. A few shots play into pockets and a couple play through prairie grass. Hole distances vary from upper 100s to mid 400s. Not too many hooking shots and elevation in minimal. Maybe a hole or two changes by 12 feet.
- CHALLENGING - Again, about average. The layout feels like a tweener between upper Recreational and lower Intermediate level. There is a little bit of length on a few holes and some perilous water OB to avoid. I don't understand why (15) at 438 feet is a par 3 while shorter (16) is a par 4. Advanced players playing this course should play them all 3s.

Cons: A good course with few flaws, that lacks wow factor to appeal to a larger audience.
- SPACING - Not the most egregious course by any means, but I thought there were a few to many roads and paths in play. Hole (3) is one where I could see being unplayable from time to time as the fairway abuts a parking lot. I personally skipped one off of the pavement here before it harmlessly came back into the fairway. Holes (1), (4), (9), (10), (13) and (15) all have roads or walking paths in play.
- TRASH - There is a sign on tee (1) stating "Please carry out all waste." Apparently, a mob on (7) didn't get the message as there was a pile of trash by the tee sign. I don't recall seeing any other bad examples other than a can here and there. Anyways, be cognizant that there are no trash cans on the layout itself.
- MISSED OPPORTUNITIES - It seemed as though not all the park's features were fully utilized. There are bunch of trees east of (10s) basket and behind (13) tee. Why was the basket on (18) not placed on the adjacent mound?
- DISCONTINUITY - Both layouts have a few large gaps between holes. Be sure and take a picture of the course map or download the one on DGCR. The routes between (4) and (5) and (10) and (11) are the trickiest.

Other Thoughts: The Green layout is a good course, which if I had to guess, I'd say it's the most played layout in Oshkosh. It has a little bit of everything, but not one aspect on the course is going to wow anyone. I bagged eleven courses over the Thanksgiving holidays and this was my favorite. It scored average or above in all 5 of my key rating areas ranging from a 2.6 to 3.1 out of 5. If I lived in town this would likely be my go to course. That said, this is not a destination level course, but rather a local utility course and a good option for baggers as there are two courses on site
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Winnebago Park is nice and all, like almost all parks, but it's just too open for me. My favorite shot-shaping line on both courses was the last hole of the Green layout. I could have used about another 17 of those on the cold and windy day I showed up. I liked the water play looks on (5) and (12) and a few of the prairie style holes looked nice. I realize this course will pop more in the summer compared to the late November round I played, but I always factor that into in my rankings. In all, I scored the course average for beauty.
- TIME PLAY - Average. One hour for a solo on an empty course. Figure 2 and a half hours for a four-sum.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wide open and tall grass

1    4/13/2017   11/28/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 60  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had the opportunity to play Winnebago County Park's Green course back in April right after winter thawed out. There are two disc golf courses here that wind their way around some lakes and recreation facilities. I heard the yellow course was a little more unforgiving so I tucked my tail between my legs and decided to give the green course a spin!

The park was quite active with soccer practice, joggers, and fishermen scattered around the area. The disc golf course did a great job remaining clear of many of those "obstacles" except on hole 5, where a guy was fishing right in the middle of the fairway. He was totally cool with me throwing over his head if I wanted to, but I didn't trust my own skills enough to try. I just hyzered up behind him and went on my way. :)

The course itself is fairly open and pretty straight forward. My favorite stretch was from holes 6-10. The "rough" grass was up very high so it was a lot of fun throwing down the freshly cut fairways. A couple of times my disc landed in the tall stuff and it took a little while to find it, but I really enjoyed it.

All in all it was a mostly enjoyable round!

- Concrete pads
- Baskets in good condition
- Variety of holes, angles, lengths
- Decent use of trees and elevation that the park has to offer
- Easy parking
- Restrooms
Cons: This isn't really an issue of the course, but the day I played it was very soggy out there. There was standing water on a number of the holes and unintentional water hazards that really took away from the fun of some baskets. It may dry out more in the summer.

The flow of the course was kinda hard to follow... even with my map. The gaps between 4-5, 14-15, and 17-18 was odd.

Hole 18 was just weird. The course is fairly open and generous, but 18 was like someone stuck a teepad and a basket in two random places and made it a hole. I'll give it the benefit of the doubt and assume that it was just overgrown, but it wasn't challenging or fun at all.

The walk from 18 back to the parking lot was pretty long too. There's more than enough room out here to get more baskets in place to fill the gap.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, this park is definitely worth a visit. It's not as intense or memorable as places like Rolling Ridge, but it's still a fun round to rip some shots. There are many courses in the Appleton area to check out as well. Park in the lot next to the large lake. Have fun!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, if unspectacular...

5+    10/1/2016   12/1/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 459  Reviewed: 213  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in Winnebago County Park. Pairs up with the Yellow course to offer 36 holes onsite. There is also a pool, dog park, and other amenities.

Concrete tee pads, plenty long and wide. They are all in decent enough shape, as well. One tee per hole.

Mach 3 baskets, all in decent enough shape. They catch decent enough, and are mounted well. One pin position per hole.

Tee signs are really nice here. Basic topography, distance, line, par...everything you could need. They are green color, to match the course...which is nice, as the yellow and green courses mix together a bit over the first few holes. Navigation is pretty intuitive, save for the transfer from hole 4 to 5. Cross the road, go to to the other side of the pond. Yellow course goes one direction, Green the other.

The smattering of trees and obstacles is used pretty well here. While a lot of the course is pretty open, what is available is mostly used when it can be.

Variety of distance is probably the best part of this course. You'll find holes from 199', up to over 400'. It takes a relatively big arm to really tear up this course.

A few holes that have water as obstacles, but not in a "you better hit a 20' landing zone or you'll lose your disc" kind of way. You need to think about the water, and can test yourself with it, but there are bail out areas for those that don't want to.

100% cart friendly.
Cons: The course is pretty much flat all the way around.

As mentioned before, there's a lot of open areas/holes on this course. It's still an interesting enough play, but it's not going to challenge the better players out there. If you can throw 400+, there's a good chance you can destroy this course.

One tee/one pin per hole (outside of a couple holes with alt pin positions). There's definitely the space here for more.
Other Thoughts: While it's not world class disc golf, it's still a fun enough spin. There's just enough obstacles to keep it enjoyable, but not really enough to beat you down. Most players won't have a problem hitting 3's on nearly every hole, but courses like that have their charm.

Probably around a 3.25 type course, but I'm going 3.0 because of the single layout. With some other good options in the area, it's not a destination, but you can definitely do worse than throwing some frisbees here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Oshkosh

1    8/15/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 76  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course in a multi use park. Puts several ponds into play. Uses unmowed grass to the sides of the fairway as a rough. Good use of trees. Not many just open shots. I really like that you throw down the sides of, or cut a corner on the ponds instead if just throwing across.
Cons: The rough is really rough. You spend a long time searching for discs there. The two courses run somewhat parallell to each other, which is odd more than a problem, although it could be is the course was crazy busy. The flow from 9, 10, and 11 is awkward.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and long

1    6/28/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2015
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with many challenging shots, for me anyway. This course will test your ability to shoot both right and left, as the pins are placed both directions from the tee regularly. It is a bit longer so a good arm is needed but on the green course this is nothing that cannot be done.
Cons: I consider myself to be an average player. Every course i've played at, and its more than I've got listed, I come in at 5-10 under REC par. Then I played here, and though challenging the holes were not especially difficult to shoot. Still with the distances, the tight skill shots on most holes, and the course listed REC par I came in at +7. That is a 17 stroke difference and to me means the average player will be discouraged by seeing that kind of score. On the yellow course at this place there is a hole over 600ft with a water hazard that is a par 3. Most rec players I know don't throw much over 200-250ft, meaning there is absolutely no way they could even hope to finish that hole in par unless they hit a lucky 200ft shot. There are many holes on this course over 400ft with tight shots to make to stay on target, which on most every course I've played before would be listed as a par 5, here it is listed as a par 3 sometimes a par 4. Par 4 is acceptable but 3 will discourage newer players.
That and a few of the walks between holes being longer and somewhat unsure of location, first time playing obviously it'll be easier when we go again, are the only negatives I took away from this otherwise beautiful course.
Other Thoughts: Will be, and have been, back again and again to make it a regular course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The better of the 2 courses here

1    9/8/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 342  Reviewed: 216  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through a very large, multi use park in Oshkosh. The course was very well maintained when we were there. They have nice large, level tee pads on every hole. The signs were awesome here also. They showed a basic hole diagram, hole #, distances and par, any OB on that hole, and even a direction to the next tee. these are color coded either green or yellow for the 2 different courses in the park. The baskets are Mach 3's that were all in great shape and caught awesome. these baskets also had the hole # with an arrow to the next tee on them which is awesome combined with the next tee diagrams on each sign. This made navigation here fairly easy. There are a good mix of different lengths on this course. Some play through the more open parts of the park with others playing through some prairie and wooded areas as well. This provides a good mixture of hole types. Water comes into play on a few holes. This will vary depending on how much rain there was recently. The course was not busy at all when we went either. There was one other group we encountered on the 2 18 hole courses combined. Also both courses start and end near the first tees for each which is always nice. There are not too many trees to contend with but enough to keep it fairly interesting. Wind will probably be the main factor in scoring well here.
Cons: There are a few longer walks between holes but this isn't too much of a problem with the awesome signage and directional. The prairie grass can really eat up discs. It's not as much of a problem here as it is on the yellow course. A few of the holes come pretty close to other fairways and roads through the park.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty decent course but nothing overly amazing. Out of the 2 courses here this is the better of the 2 in my opinion. This is a definitely worth a stop if you're nearby with there being 2 separate 18 hole courses here. They redesigned it in 2013 and did a good job using the available land. Also like I said for the yellow course. Be very careful if you use the green on the green. I found a Ziploc bag IN the basket for hole 1. IN THE BASKET. Then I saw 2 very casually dressed guys in the parking lot after all 36 holes who looked like if I had to guess their occupation would say were police officers. They pulled it off perfectly with the exception of looking like oinkers. Be careful here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Green is GREAT

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of shorter shots and big bombs.
Love how the tall grass shapes the fairways.
NEVER busy.
Good use of water and what few trees the course has.
Nice tee-pads.
Good baskets.
Open year round.
Cons: Not many trees.
Tall grass can be difficult sometimes.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome. I've been playing County park since it was just 15 baskets. Love how far it has come - now it's 36.
I like the Green course a bit better than Yellow.
Course is located seconds off of HWY 41. If you're headed north and want to drive a car instead of a disc, stop and play County - a nice course in a nice park

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.