Houston, TX 
Husky Live Oaks DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #7 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 396ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Husky Live Oaks DGC

1    7/21/2017   7/23/2017
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 175  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every hole had teesigns and post for the holes and they were in good shape. This course makes good use of the land that is provided.The minimal trees were in play on every hole except for 8. Hole 7 was alot of fun throwing a 300+ tunnel shot with the fence going down the left hand side (The fence is probably 15ft high so you shouldn't have any issues). The course has good shade with large trees through the course which is always welcomed in the Texas heat. Navigation was pretty easy to follow once you found hole 1.
Cons: This was my first time playing an object course and definitely prefer baskets. The university could have only invested in the post to see if the students picked up the game without investing a decent amount of money for baskets. Finding the course isn't difficult but not glaring. I found hole 9 and had to walk the course back until I found hole 1 across the street from hole 5.
Other Thoughts: I had fun playing this course. I only needed to throw a midrange/ fairway for any hole. The designer made good use of the limited amount of space that was provided by utilizing the large trees and strategically placing the baskets. A simple sign would go a long way in pointing players in the right direction to hole 1. I am not sure of the parking policy on campus but the round should only take you 15-20 minutes so I didn't have any issues with a parking permit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It is what it is

1    7/12/2017   7/14/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 376  Reviewed: 200  Exp: 29.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All tee signs are in place.

All target posts are in place

Course is on a part of the grounds that is not used for anything else. You should not have to watch out for students walking to class.
Cons: Wooden posts are your targets. Old school per ce.

Very long walk from hole back to hole 1

Other Thoughts: Not sure how much play this little course gets. If I lived on campus and was close, I would play here for the fun of it.

Personally, I would remove holes 1 and 8 and put two holes working your way back to hole 2. Course would flow much better.

They should also put in baskets, just get some cheap ones. You don't need Mach III for this pitch and putt course.

Would I play here again?

No, I have played the course already, if it had actual baskets I might. However with that said, I did enjoy throwing the holes trying to get an object ace.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Don't bother

1    12/27/2016   12/27/2016
Review By: Alphonso Poopoofatty
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Navigation is easy, and signs are well placed
Cons: The place is a tota joke. Wood posts for baskets? Might as well just paint random trees and throw for those. It's a good thing it doesn't see much action because the tee boxes and "baskets" are right next to each other.
Other Thoughts: Really wish I hadn't driven out here. Don't waste your time

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/16/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 208  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A course with well kept tees and targets is rare around Houston, and both are basically brand new at this course.

Do not let the distances fool you; this course has very challenging holes with tough basket placements and low hanging trees makes a player cautious and careful about throwing too high. The course is also short enough to play in a short amount of time. Playing by yourself can take 20-25 minutes easy.

Once you find the first tee navigation is very easy. The only kind of difficult location is going across the street from four to five; other than that the next tee can always be found just a bit away from the previous hole.
Cons: Although it is a very novel idea and you will not find anything like it anywhere near Houston, the wooden stakes as targets just does not feel the same as hitting chains. But, now you do not need to worry about chain spit outs; the lack of chain sounds makes the course feel unsatisfying.

Depending on where you parked there can be a long walk from the ninth hole back to your hole or from your car to the first hole; the holes do not loop back around to each other. The course is not long enough that you would be on a huge trek but it is a bit annoying.

The back few holes, especially hole 7, play VERY close to the university's alumni center and a house. Hole 7 is a narrow fairway with the road to the left and house to the right. This can be dangerous and a possibility to lose a disc if you are not about trespassing.
Other Thoughts: Like mentioned, an object target course is very novel and it was an interesting change. The fun factor definitely is here for this course despite it's short length.

NOTE: I am not 100% sure of the campus' rules regarding non-university affiliated people being on campus or the parking situation. I came at 6 pm on a summer evening when there is a lack of students. I parked over by the baseball field near the ninth hole and walked to the first hole.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.