Lebanon, PA 
South Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #1 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 340ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
My favorite so far

5+    6/24/2021   6/30/2021
Review By: matt123169
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The grass is always mowed and there's not a huge amount of weeds/brush

it's hilly, but not enough to really beat you up

There aren't any unusually long walks between holes

It's almost entirely in the shade, yet without being in the woods. It's a park, not woods.

Every hole has an interesting challenge to it and a way to get to the basket even if it seems impossible at first. Except for maybe #14 Red?

There are two baskets on every hole which keeps things interesting (although #12 Red basket was wiped out by a falling tree a few weeks ago)

Cement pads in great shape and decent size.

Very well manicured. At first I didn't like the changes to #8, but now that they're done fixing it up, it's a great hole. They changed it from a 525-foot par 5 with a 3rd shot into a very narrow opening in a grove of trees ,to about a 615 foot hole, still finishing in the same grove but you definitely have more options.

There's usually someone to play with if you don't want to go it alone.

It's very easy to skip around holes and play them out of order if you're behind a larger group. For example, if #1 is occupied, it's usually not a problem to start on #3 which is also close to the parking lot. Or to walk down to #11.
Cons: There's not much that other people haven't already brought up, the main one being that there are some walking paths that are dangerously close and you do need to watch out for people. This would include #1, #10, #11, #12, #13, #15.

The park bench on #12 for walkers is pretty much in the direct line of flight from #12 tee. If someone is sitting there you might as well walk over to the nearby #10 tee and play #12 from that.

The walking path on #13 is blind from the tee and is 360 feet away. If you can throw it that far, and you don't walk up and check first, well, just go check. Otherwise you're throwing blind towards a busy walkway Not a good idea.

Some people don't like the last 3 holes. The first 15 holes are great holes, all of which require you hit some sort of gap in the trees. The gaps aren't crazy narrow, but neither are they so wide that you can throw it anywhere. But 16-18 are pretty much in a field. I think #16 is OK, that still is sort of a tunnel shot. #17 and #18 are wide open though without a lot going on other than the yellow basket is behind a tree. Playing the red tee on #17 makes it more interesting though. I have to agree, 18 is the worst hole, a sort of dull, wide open, uphill shot to the parking lot. It'd be a great final hole if you combined 17 and 18 into one long par 4 or a short par 5. Of course, you'd need to put in another hole somewhere, but considering there's hundreds of acres of empty space there, it wouldn't be a problem.
Other Thoughts: This is really a fun place for disc golf. There's always a shot, you almost never search for discs even though there is quite a bit of trouble at times. Great for beginners, challenging enough for intermediate people and I would imagine even long-time experts would find the place relaxing and interesting. It's just a pleasant walk! They're very busy at times though, busy enough that they could consider putting in a second course. There's plenty of room to do so, around the exterior of the current course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lengthy Community Course

2-4    6/21/2021   6/27/2021
Review By: itsRudy
Played: 51  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
South Hills has good vibes right when you park (on State Drive) and tee #1 is right there. This course is well worth the visit if you can catch it at a time it's not absolutely busy.

This is a really excellent open course, with enough trees to be shaded against the sun but few low branches. There is only some tertiary forest otherwise, bush only plays a role on one tee off and at the end of several baskets in the beginning. It's on rolling hill PA terrain and elevation changes are typically moderate. Water plays almost no role here, woo-hoo! Length is noticeably greater than a typical area par 3, with 300-400' range distances especially after #7. Navigation is a breeze with the basket arrows. It was mowed well for late June, prime growth season.

The course makes full use of the park land given, which translates to it really zig-zags back and forth. Usually by a hole or two, the layout will landed you right back where you were back minutes previously. Sometimes multiple times so in the same spot. After #10, it's a run of several straight holes going south, then back north to end near the parking lot.

Consistently two baskets per hole, yellows short, reds long. Reds don't only just add distance but often make the hole a more interesting trajectory.

The star is obviously #13, it's starts off several hundred feet towards a tree on a ridge blocking the middle, crosses the asphalt walking path, then one long downard run totalling 615-770 feet.

But my favorite was #1, another downward with the (yellow) basket on top of a mound. I hit the chains on my layup but ended up overshooting by 20' on the backside.

This is a perfect in-betweener for the typical community course and the monster length courses, typical at State Parks, or if you just don't want to deal with water, heavy woods, bushes or disc loss at the moment.
Cons:
If you don't like crowded courses, avoid it on the weekends or other high times. I played here years ago but needed another playthru to write it up. Since then, I drove out here five more times, usually on weekdays, but only got my second round in now. There always seemed to be a crowd here, so many groupson the field that I opted to go to alternative courses. Lucky for me, I found new places to review rather than go home disappointed.

Have some energy, due to the design, you're walking red's distance no matter what, 7000+ hilly feet, which is greater than a typical community park.

As others said, there is no real wow factor on any single hole. The terrain simply doesn't lend itself to it. Just 18 holes of very solid and consistent feeling Disc Golf without gimmicks, although the last third / back six can start feeling too similar in spots.

Yellows will feel bent towards RHBHers while Reds become more agnostic with an even distribution of left/right baskets.

On #13, the park path bisects this hole in half at about the 350' point and is completely hidden at the tee. You're shooting completely blind. I wonder if pedestrians been dinged by discs here?

I didn't see any water fountains or bathroom amenities. On the Parks map, they are quite a ways away, much closer to the main parking lots.
Other Thoughts:
The same course designers also made the nearby Jackson Recreational Park course, a water park in comparison, or the more wooded Lenni Lenape course.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

fun course

2-4    5/4/2021   5/4/2021
Review By: DCriola
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Funs shots
Cons: It can get really crowded on nice days
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with a bunch of different shots

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Course

5+    2/22/2020   2/23/2020
Review By: Skookkid
Played: 66  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads with two baskets per hole Yellow being short and red being longs. Easy to navigate and follow.
Cons: Only issue I found is the people walking on the walking path can get in the way. If its busy you might be waiting a bit before it's safe to throw.
Other Thoughts: Amazing course to play, one my favorites to play in the area.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

No complaints

1    12/6/2019   12/6/2019
Review By: crabfoot
Played: 65  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great pads. Great signage. Course was easy to follow, even without a map. Well maintained. Very nice variety of medium length ( 250 - 300 foot holes ) and longer ( 500 - 600 foot ) holes. Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Elevation changes made for a fun round. No risk of loosing plastic.
Cons: None from my perspective.
Other Thoughts: I love park courses and this one is the nicest one that I have played, up to this point. Whenever I am in the Lebanon area, I will play this course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  South Hills

5+    8/30/2019   9/22/2019
Review By: mahbagel
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tees, Red and Yellow course tee options
Course maintenance, beautiful tree coverage
Signage to next tee
Facility scorecards
Good mix of shots
Cons: Course could be seen as easy or repetitive by highly skilled players
Other Thoughts: I love this course. The park is beautifully maintained, and it's a great spot to work on throws or learn some new techniques. The tree coverage is wonderful on a hot day! I love bringing friends to play here as it's a fun course that makes great use of the park landscape while allowing newer players to have a great time.

The park's walking path comes close to some of the holes, so it's important to be aware of where the others using the park are walking. Those who are quite talented at disc golf would probably get bored here, as it doesn't have many very hard or very technical shots. Sometimes the gnats are annoying.

Overall, I come here as often as a can, and bring others here as well. Keep up the great work South Hills maintenance crew, you're efforts are noticed and appreciated.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A hidden gem

1    7/23/2017   8/5/2017
Review By: PRC90
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2017
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 2 layouts that do actually change the difficulty(gold and red)
Excellently maintained
Hole variety (checks almost every box except for water crossings)
Compact and Logical layout (each holes pin plays close to the next holes tee)
Excellent signage
Cons: A few holes are slightly generous with par ratings, but still reasonable.
Parking is okay, lot seems a little small but wasn't bad when I was there.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a whim, as it was inbetween me and our day trip destination and did minimal research on the course apart from location and boy was I shocked when set eyes on the course. It is nothing short of Picturesque, who ever maintains this place does an amazing job. The course layout is very fun, being a novice I played gold tee's and found the course to be challenging enough to push my limits without completely punishing me. The shot variety is nice and despite being mostly wooded the course does a very good job of mixing your shots up between touch midrange throws and long bombers. The locals were very nice and the course layout is very easy to follow, I never once felt like I was wandering around looking for the next hole.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park-style course

2-4    4/4/2015   8/22/2016
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 87  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like manicured park courses. Most of what we have in the mid-Atlantic are wooded courses and some open courses. This is a nice tweener. There is a lot of open space, but it's punctuated with lots of tall, mature trees. This creates some nice golf lines on many holes that require some skill, as opposed to getting to throw with the same freedom as a big open shot would allow. There aren't too many places to lose plastic here. This style course is further accented by wind as an obstacle. The few times I played were all quite windy. The majority of the holes make great use of elevation. This is also a course where you will throw a bunch of your discs, as all varieties of distances are covered from the tee and on approach shots. I like courses that make use of all the key discs in my bag.
Cons: There isn't too much I don't like here. I don't mind being critical, and this is close to 2 hours away from me, so I don't have any particular bias here. Very well done.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of Thompson Park in central/north Jersey. For that open-ish, manicured park style course, these are the only 2 options that I'm currently aware of within a few hours of Philly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the park courses

1    6/28/2016   7/7/2016
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 687  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two different colored baskets (shorts are yellow, reds are long) on every hole.
Level large enough concrete tee pads.
Great signage and easy straight forward navigation.
Elevation used as best as possible.
Perfectly manicured course.
Plenty of different lines.
Large multiuse park that stays away from the other main aspects of the park. NOTE: I saw in a previous review that there were no bathrooms, but they are attached to the large white building you can see from the disc golf parking lot and are on the side of 16's fairway.
Cons: A couple of the long holes (hole 3 comes to mind) are not really in reachable positions, but also are not long enough to be real par 4's
Sometimes the walking path gets a little close to the course, but they are very visible so just need to be respectful of other park goers.
It's still just a multiuse park.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun spin here in a very peaceful park. Fun shots and you'll never lose a disc (or at least shouldn't). You could get some really great practice here as well and try out all your different lines.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 South Hills Steak and Potato

1    5/25/2015   5/28/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 248  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees, signs and dual Yellow and Red DisCatcher baskets on all 18 holes. Decent use of the available elevation and mix of shaping shots straight or left or right. Easy to navigate. The maintenance is top notch as there's essentially no underbrush to lose a disc in and the grass is mowed like a golf course. You can safari a lot of holes here. Benches at every hole.
Cons: The long baskets are mostly NAG(not a golf shot) easy 60-120' approach shot with a great tee shot. Hard to reach the putting circle from the tee and easy to recover for the three if you mess up the tee shot, so there's not much punishment for messing up and not much advantage to great shots. It felt a little repetitive due to that and the spacing of the trees are fairly consistent. The short baskets provide a little better variety. There's a couple spots with poison ivy. There's no seclusion on the course from other holes or other park users. Park path goes right through the middle of the course and could create some conflicts. I don't recall any bathrooms or portapotty in the park.
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a good time playing South Hills. I agree there's no real wow factor on the holes other than the nice tees and signs, but there's nothing really wrong with that. It's a fun play, but not technically all that challenging. You can air out some bombs on the long baskets and work on your shorter game with the short baskets. The local players were nice, I was teeing off the wrong direction on hole 10(I think) and the guys on the tee for that basket were very patient and knew I hadn't played the course before and gave a couple tips about playing the course. If you are looking for the most challenging courses in the area I'd recommend Roland Park and Quaker's Challenge. If you are in the area and looking for a more relaxing time playing I'd recommend here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.