Lebanon, PA 
South Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: Jwillier Hole #10 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 315ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
nice park, decent course

1    8/11/2017   8/11/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 99  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
Other Thoughts: South Hills is an open course in a nice little park. It starts out really well, with some interesting holes including #1, which plays to a basket on a small raised ridge with a drop off behind.

There are a couple of other interesting holes as well, but there are also a lot of shorter, basic generic type holes that end up being just a straight midrange or putter shot, or a straight drive that fades a little at the end. One hole is kind of the opposite of a tunnel shot. There is a row of trees directly between the basket and tee, so you have to go out around to the left or right. Which basically means just throw a hyzer.

I can see why people like it. It's a nice course, nice tees and baskets, good signage. It just doesn't have the teeth of some of the more challenging courses around.

A hidden gem

1    7/23/2017   8/5/2017
Review By: PRC90
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2017
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 2 layouts that do actually change the difficulty(gold and red)
Excellently maintained
Hole variety (checks almost every box except for water crossings)
Compact and Logical layout (each holes pin plays close to the next holes tee)
Excellent signage
Cons: A few holes are slightly generous with par ratings, but still reasonable.
Parking is okay, lot seems a little small but wasn't bad when I was there.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a whim, as it was inbetween me and our day trip destination and did minimal research on the course apart from location and boy was I shocked when set eyes on the course. It is nothing short of Picturesque, who ever maintains this place does an amazing job. The course layout is very fun, being a novice I played gold tee's and found the course to be challenging enough to push my limits without completely punishing me. The shot variety is nice and despite being mostly wooded the course does a very good job of mixing your shots up between touch midrange throws and long bombers. The locals were very nice and the course layout is very easy to follow, I never once felt like I was wandering around looking for the next hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice park-style course

2-4    4/4/2015   8/22/2016
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 62  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 15.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like manicured park courses. Most of what we have in the mid-Atlantic are wooded courses and some open courses. This is a nice tweener. There is a lot of open space, but it's punctuated with lots of tall, mature trees. This creates some nice golf lines on many holes that require some skill, as opposed to getting to throw with the same freedom as a big open shot would allow. There aren't too many places to lose plastic here. This style course is further accented by wind as an obstacle. The few times I played were all quite windy. The majority of the holes make great use of elevation. This is also a course where you will throw a bunch of your discs, as all varieties of distances are covered from the tee and on approach shots. I like courses that make use of all the key discs in my bag.
Cons: There isn't too much I don't like here. I don't mind being critical, and this is close to 2 hours away from me, so I don't have any particular bias here. Very well done.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of Thompson Park in central/north Jersey. For that open-ish, manicured park style course, these are the only 2 options that I'm currently aware of within a few hours of Philly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best of the park courses

1    6/28/2016   7/7/2016
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 313  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two different colored baskets (shorts are yellow, reds are long) on every hole.
Level large enough concrete tee pads.
Great signage and easy straight forward navigation.
Elevation used as best as possible.
Perfectly manicured course.
Plenty of different lines.
Large multiuse park that stays away from the other main aspects of the park. NOTE: I saw in a previous review that there were no bathrooms, but they are attached to the large white building you can see from the disc golf parking lot and are on the side of 16's fairway.
Cons: A couple of the long holes (hole 3 comes to mind) are not really in reachable positions, but also are not long enough to be real par 4's
Sometimes the walking path gets a little close to the course, but they are very visible so just need to be respectful of other park goers.
It's still just a multiuse park.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun spin here in a very peaceful park. Fun shots and you'll never lose a disc (or at least shouldn't). You could get some really great practice here as well and try out all your different lines.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 South Hills Steak and Potato

1    5/25/2015   5/28/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 185  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees, signs and dual Yellow and Red DisCatcher baskets on all 18 holes. Decent use of the available elevation and mix of shaping shots straight or left or right. Easy to navigate. The maintenance is top notch as there's essentially no underbrush to lose a disc in and the grass is mowed like a golf course. You can safari a lot of holes here. Benches at every hole.
Cons: The long baskets are mostly NAG(not a golf shot) easy 60-120' approach shot with a great tee shot. Hard to reach the putting circle from the tee and easy to recover for the three if you mess up the tee shot, so there's not much punishment for messing up and not much advantage to great shots. It felt a little repetitive due to that and the spacing of the trees are fairly consistent. The short baskets provide a little better variety. There's a couple spots with poison ivy. There's no seclusion on the course from other holes or other park users. Park path goes right through the middle of the course and could create some conflicts. I don't recall any bathrooms or portapotty in the park.
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a good time playing South Hills. I agree there's no real wow factor on the holes other than the nice tees and signs, but there's nothing really wrong with that. It's a fun play, but not technically all that challenging. You can air out some bombs on the long baskets and work on your shorter game with the short baskets. The local players were nice, I was teeing off the wrong direction on hole 10(I think) and the guys on the tee for that basket were very patient and knew I hadn't played the course before and gave a couple tips about playing the course. If you are looking for the most challenging courses in the area I'd recommend Roland Park and Quaker's Challenge. If you are in the area and looking for a more relaxing time playing I'd recommend here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 South HIlls Kiltlifter

2-4    4/4/2015   4/6/2015
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 31  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Went to the Kiltlifter (TD'ed by Mike Solt) at South Hills. Cause of schedule I couldn't get out to the course to see it beforehand. The pictures on here don't give it justice.

This is a beautiful course. After playing a warm up round I can see why one of my friends speaks so highly of it.

Two baskets for every hole. You have some technical shots you needs to weave through tree's with some tight lines and you have open holes that let you just bomb it out. Course has some nice elevation changes and couple of really nice peninsula greens.

Nice tee signs at every hole, concrete pads and a direction arrow to the next tee box at the bottom of every basket made navigation a breeze.

Course is in a park, but the park is huge. Only a couple times did we come across walkers or bikers but they stayed on the path. Park looks to also have a golf driving range, multiple baseball fields, soccer/football field, tennis courts, exercise area and a nice playground. But these are all far enough away for the most part so they shouldn't really be an issue for the DG course.

No dogs permitted in the park, not an issue for me but just be aware if you like to play a casual round with your pup.


Cons: Most tee boxes have benches but not all of them is the only thing I can think of.
Other Thoughts: If one of my friends suggested to play South HIlls on a weekend for our regular weekend round I would be all for it. Really fun course to play at. The few locals I ran into at the Kiltlifter where really friendly.

Well worth the drive from the Lehigh Valley to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 worth the trip

1    8/30/2014   8/31/2014
Review By: blazerico
Played: 256  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great feel to it. It is kinda secluded and well manicured. I am very jealous of the concrete tees, dual baskets and great signage on every hole; since we don't have the same at established courses in Bucks county. They did many things right at this course... sponsorship is a great way to get things done(meaning they can afford dual baskets and great signage, etc).
Cons: There is no real wow factor here and no signature hole to make me say this place is awesome. Also missing are hazards. There is no real danger factor from water or ob to add a level of excitement.
Other Thoughts: I drove 1.5 hours to play here and it was definitely worth the trip. I'm sure local bias is inflating the rating here, but it's okay because most people won't be disappointed with this place.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Solid Park-Style Course

1    7/4/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 146  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: South Hills is a very nicely maintained park-style course filled with rolling hills and trees. The park is huge and offers many activities including volleyball, a driving range, playgrounds, pavilions, a variety of sports fields, and a walking path that weaves throughout the park. Amidst all of these activities, the course remains a top priority as the grass was freshly mowed throughout and the course was beautifully landscaped.

Tee signs are fantastic and do a great job showing you both pin positions, lengths, pars, and lines offered. The tees were in great shape and allowed for a comfortable run-up, while the baskets were also in great shape and color-coded in yellow or red.

The design was very well done given the lack of extreme elevation changes or any water. This course is more than meets the eye and I enjoyed the variety of shots that it required given the rather straight-forward land that it plays on. There is a nice distribution of FH and BH lines, and combining with the constant rolling hills adds to a nice variety of looks, especially on the front 9. Elevation is a constant variable, as minor as it may be. Whether it's making a putt on top of a hill, playing through a fairway littered with rolling hills, or throwing on one of the constantly sloping down or uphill holes, the elevation added to the fun factor for me.

One of the main reasons I enjoyed this course is that it often offered numerous lines from the tee. The many line options made it interesting and add to the course's replay factor. I am a player that likes to have different options to be creative from the tee, rather than simply throwing through a very specific alley. This course is great in that regard.

Contrary to other reviews, I actually thought that the different pin positions added to the course's replay ability. It's awesome that they permanently keep both baskets in, and the reds did a fine job of changing the scoring for a player at my mid 800's level. There were a few times where one basket offered a FH line and the other offered a BH line, drastically changing the hole's look. The pin positions for holes 4, 10, 12, 14, and 15 do the best job of offering different looks and lengths.

This is one of the best maintained courses that I have played on. Because of the limited rough, I feel that this is a great course to bring a new player to.

The course is very easy to navigate and there are numerous signs pointing you to the next tee and to the respective pin position.
Cons: -While the course offers a solid variety of shots from hole to hole, its biggest drawback is that it has a similar feel from start to finish. There aren't too many distinctly memorable holes here and many left me with describing them simply as "solid". You can never shake off the feeling of playing in a park here, if that is something that bothers you. Because of this, I agree with other reviewers that the course does start to get repetitive on the back 9. I do appreciate the effort to offer a variety in hole lengths, but the longer holes don't add much to the shorter ones.
-There is a path that plays close to many holes, especially on the back 9. You even throw over it on hole 13. This park seems to get a lot of traffic, so be attentive to that.
-There is some backtracking to the next tee from the red baskets and it seems that navigation is more geared around the yellow baskets.
-The course is incredibly well maintained for the most part, but the rough is thick near holes 3-6.
-The last three holes are a definite drop-off from the rest of the course and seem to have been designed solely in order to take you back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely one of my favorite park-style courses that I have played. As a disclaimer, I should mention that I really enjoy this kind of course when I want to play a casual round, playing through constantly rolling hills and having multiple lines on many holes, limited chances of losing discs, and the ever-present two pin positions. I feel that I would enjoy playing here often because it fits my taste, but I could see this course getting old for people that have played a wealth of other courses and do not find park-style all that interesting.

When this course came out, I was very curious to see if it deserved its high rating among PA courses. While it initially seemed to be overrated, I think its rating is now starting to better fit the bill. The extreme east and west parts of the state still remain the best areas to play, but South Hills offers a fun, light-hearted experience for the center of the state.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Country Club Course

1    6/28/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: DiscLoser
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautifully maintained fairways with very little rough or disc-eating material.
-Enough trees to challenge new and recreational players, but enough space to allow for scoring and par shots.
-This is a great place to practice or introduce others to the sport.
-The path that runs through the course has little or no effect on playing - at least on the Saturday I was there. I waited on one tee for pedestrians to pass, and that's only because I'm poor enough of a player to mis-throw.
-Yellow and Red Pins are easily identifiable, and in most cases make a true difference in scoring.
Cons: -I have no complaints - I loved this course!
-For Pros or Expert amateurs, I can see some of the complaints in the previous reviews being accurate - the lines are open enough to allow great players to score every hole and not challenge them enough. However, there is enough space to set up some killer holes for tournament purposes.
-Bathrooms are on the far side of the course (at the N. Lincoln entrance). Bring your own water.
-There is no 'signature' hole or water or epic-ness.
Other Thoughts: This is course is probably over-rated due to it's newness and playable nature. For PA residents, this is NOT Nocki or Tyler - it's far more open and relaxed. But it's beautiful and a pleasure to play. If you're a Pro or can shape accurate long shots, then you probably won't like this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Country Club

2-4    6/14/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 528  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The course is set in part of a very fine looking, public, multi-purpose park. The grass is green and short, many of the baskets are surrounded by mulch, and the scattered hardwoods are, for the most part, quite tall, with no low hanging branches. Add some elevation change via a couple of sloping areas, and insert a bit of slightly wilder area (smaller trees supported by bushes/groundcover), and you have all the ingredients for a fine, landscaped/groomed look-n-feel course.

Fantastic tee areas: 4'x10' level concrete tees, teesigns, and several with benches. Two baskets per hole, red or yellow bands across the top, so two course layouts.
Cons:
A popular paved walkway runs the length of the course, splitting it in half, potentially brining non-players into play (only one hole has you throwing across the path, but it parallels a number of fairways).
Other Thoughts:
The bulk of the course plays in the mostly-open grassy areas on either side of the walking path, with scattered tall hardwoods to miss. These hardwoods create several different lines to the basket, but for the most part, long-and=straight-and-true off the tee will serve you well, and even if you miss your line on these holes, you'll usually have an easy recovery.

Holes 4-10 play into, out-of, within, and alongside the denser area, so while the majority of these holes are a bit shorter, more shot-shaping is needed, and errors cause more difficult recoveries.

For the most part, approaches to the baskets are not overly harsh, the most difficult ones being, not surprisingly, to the longer position of the earlier holes (near thicker brush/smaller trees).

While very long number-13 (up-n-over a rise, then steadily downslope to baskets guarded by several trees along the way) and number-14 (second-narrowest throwing lane on course, upslope, straight to short, left-at-end-too-long) offer interesting challenges, the majority of the back nine consists of throw-as-far-as-you-can,-as-long-as-you-miss-the-most-obvious-tree-you-ll-be-OK basket-hardly-guarded holes.

Favourite hole: #3 long. Straight initially, needing to miss a few more trees along the way than most of the holes, you then have a difficult left-turning approach to the basket at the end of a small loop. The surrounding trees force the approach shot to be neither too high nor too wide.

This is a very attractive and solid course, which should appeal to a fairly broad audience, but not necessarily all players (i.e. those who prefer tighter courses, and punishment for missing the optimum lines.)


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.