Conway, AR 
Beaverfork DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheShadow Hole #1 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 

1    10/9/2018   10/9/2018
Review By: Phreebird
Played: 873  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mixture of open/tunnel shots. Good signage/tee pads & baskets. Well maintained park with benches @ most holes.
Cons: No water handy. Bathrooms locked with only a Porta potty available. Fairly long walkaline between front and back 9, with a long walk back to the car after completing the last hole.
Other Thoughts: Park handy to the I-40 exit.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Park Course

1    3/30/2018   3/30/2018
Review By: markmcc
Played: 272  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2018
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a beautiful park, with acres of mowed grass and tall, scattered pines. This park is well trimmed with no brush or scrub. Beaver Fork Lake is nearby, but only (barely) in play on Hole 4.

Holes lengths average 240' with 16 holes at less than 300' and only one hole over 400'. This is great course for those who don't throw big drives. Most holes are pretty open and quite flat.

There are enough trees to require some shaping of your drive, but most holes are open enough that missing the line isn't a huge problem.

Hole 4 has a carry over water, but the carry is reasonable (175') for most players.

Holes 14, 15 and 17 are short, tight tunnels in the woods. At 142', 147' and 118' they are the shortest on the course.

Good concrete tee pads with perfect texture. Innova Discatcher baskets catch well and are easy to see. The few tee signs that were present (see cons) had distance and par info, along with good hole diagrams. They also had local sponsors listed which is great to see.
Cons: Only one tee sign on the front nine, and three on the back nine the day I played. Don't know why most were missing.

A couple of tee pads on sloping ground were not level side-to-side.

Most of the holes are short throws over grass, with scattered trees. Nice holes, but not a ton of variety or challenge.

Hole 17 has a tight tunnel for the most of the hole, and then, nothing. A group of trees directly in front of the pin with a couple of random disc width gaps. I got a totally random kick toward the basket from an out-of-sight obstacle, but there doesn't seem to be a complete fairway to the pin.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned previously, there are two distinct nine-hole loops. If you park near Hole 1 you've got a .25 mile walk back from the basket of Hole 18.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

2-4    6/19/2016   6/20/2016
Review By: Joshwest
Played: 106  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great Variety of throws. Wide Open bomb, open with trees, over water, open to woods, tunnels, etc. It is a little short, but it's clear there is not any room for the course to be lengthened, so they clearly did the best with the area they had.

- The Park is beautiful. The parking lot is right next to the lake, and the sun sparkles off of it. The wooded areas typically don't have any underbrush, so walking through the holes is super easy.

- Navigation is super easy, there are signs to help guide in any spot that might be confusing. Tee Signs look great.

- Teepads and baskets are in good shape. I started my walkup off the back of the teepad a few times, but I wouldn't call them too short.

- Located reasonably close to town. Probably took me 5-7 mins to get there from the interstate.
Cons:
- You will notice in the "Pros" when I was describing the different throws, I said wide open bomb, not bombs. There is only one hole that allows you to unload. Like I said, the designers did the best with what they could, but the lack of length is still a con. I threw a fairway driver on #1, Firebird flick on #2 & #16, and a Destroyer on #7. And everything else was a mid or putter.

- There were a lot of people in the park. I played on a Sunday afternoon, when everyone was out swimming. I didn't really have an issue with people in the way, but if it had been a holiday weekend (e.g. 4th of July), I'd imagine it would be impossible to park and it would be super cramped on the course. There wasn't an issue with getting backed up other players, but there were only a few other groups, if it was a busy weekend, I could see it being crazy.

- On #4, the water hole, there was quite a bit of plants growing out of the water. I thought they might let it grow to keep people from swimming in that area, but it didn't really look nice, so it just looks more neglected than anything. There are better ways of keeping people from swimming near the hole.
Other Thoughts: - Really high quality course. I would recommend it if you are in the area looking to play a good, quick round.

- If you can hit your lines and not make silly mistakes, you should be able to shot a hot round. There are a lot of good birdie chances.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Review of Beaver Fork

2-4    4/18/2016   6/14/2016
Review By: LL_NiO
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice clean park. It's not my "home course" by any means but I have played it probably 4-6 times and I don't remember having major issues with landscaping. Great course for beginners to work on everything and for those at a higher skill level there are good holes to practice distance. Lot's of parking and pretty easy to navigate through the park.
Cons: Not a PDGA approved park from what I have heard. Meaning no real tournaments will happen there. Walk back from 18 is really long and uncalled for considering the size of the park. This course will not get intermediate-pro skill levels any better because it's simply way too easy.
Other Thoughts: Fun park, lots of space, and good disc golf course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I love my home course

5+    5/14/2016   6/8/2016
Review By: discgolfnovice88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee boxes
VERY well maintained
Great baskets
Well marked out and easy to follow
The back 9 has decent amount of tree obstacles
Cons: Bathrooms are horrid
Sometimes you have to fight the crowds doing other activities on the fairways (birthday parties and such)
There is a long walk back from hole 18 to main parking lot
Some holes can get pretty muddy
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginners course. I have been playing a little over a year and this is my home course. This is a Conway city park so it is always very well maintained. You never have to deal with fairways that need to be mowed. It is a fairy short course and will fail to challenge more seasoned players. But this course will spoil you for how well it is maintained. You need to play this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Home away from home course

5+    5/10/2016   5/10/2016
Review By: redmetalducky
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very scenic.
Good mix of backhand and flick shots if you want the practice.
Very nice people at the course, never met a rude person.
Easy to play a round with friends or randos on the course.
Cons: A few more alternate pins would help bring the course up to the next level.
The pins that do have alternates have not moved since they were created.
Really needs a practice hole.
Other Thoughts: The course is great overall but still needs a little love to become a fantastic course. Just small things like a practice hole, moving the alternate pins, having a few more tournaments, could make the course very, very nice. Going to school in Conway, this course has been a home away from home and I hope it continues to grow in the future.

 Great course!

2-4    12/19/2015   12/25/2015
Review By: Spinney105
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads. Beautiful scenery ( in the morning the fog looks amazing over the lake) nice variety of shots. Good for beginners And more advanced players. Front 9 is open and the back 9 has a few wooded holes.
Cons: The walk from 9 to 10 is a little much but I understand the baseball field was there before the course. The walk from 18 back to the parking lot is long. But if you walk through the baseball field it isn't as long.
Other Thoughts: Love this course! If you are ever in Conway come to beaver fork! Get a round in!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    12/8/2015   12/8/2015
Review By: pwatkins37
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beautiful course on Lake Beaverfork. Benches are in almost every hole. Well taken care of. Great mando's and a nice water hazard on Hole 4 across part of the lake. Only about 250' but under throw and you're in the water. Hole 6 and 16 are blind. On 6 you can see the top of the flag on the hole and there is a big anhyzer run on 16. First 9 is mostly open while the back 9 is more wooded.
Cons: Some tee pads are not level such as Hole 8. The amount of trees on Hole 17 is rediculous. But fun.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course. If you're ever in the area definitely stop by. A good time is always guaranteed here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course, but Short

5+    10/16/2015   11/16/2015
Review By: CSuther
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads and signs on all holes, along with nice benches for most holes. The course is consistently extremely well maintained.

In terms of variety, this is a fantastic course. There are lots of open holes, but also plenty of technical wooded shots. There is plenty of variety at this course, and it is really fun to play.
Cons: The length of the course isn't very challenging. The 18th hole ends pretty far from the parking lot at the first tee, but I usually park in the central area to split the walk in half.

There are very few cons, but the course is not going to challenge an experienced player. Although it's easy, it is definitely a really fun course for all players.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/16/2015   10/17/2015
Review By: clarkj
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean course. Nice scenery and has great baskets. There has been a lot of volunteer work done by its members and it really shows with clean fairways and awesome benches installed. It is a very fun course to play glow rounds. With recently added alternate baskets on 4 holes make it a bit more challenging for right handers. Great course to throw backhand and sidearm.
Cons: Bathrooms are not very clean and is locked most of the time. Have problems every now and then with other people playing other games on the course and hoping not to throw into them.
Other Thoughts: Great course to begin with if your a beginner.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.