Stockholm, WI 
Bald Eagle DGC Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #9 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 135ft.   3 / 150ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Quality, technical woods golf

1    5/1/2021   5/2/2021
Review By: ReinZ_96
Played: 81  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To preface, my reviews of both courses on site are very similar as they essentially just play as a single 18 hole course. I am rating the courses as if they were separate 9 hole courses, like they are listed on DGCR, and not as a full 18. If the full 18 was listed as a single course on DGCR I would rate as a 3.0; hole design worthy of a 3.5, maybe a 4.0, but it's brought down by the cons.

1) As with the other 9, the Bald Eagle is tight and technical but still fair pretty much everywhere. From the long tee on hole 1 I can't really see much of a way to get near/into the circle off the tee with the tight dogleg and the mando, but everywhere else there is at least one defined line to hit to put your drive near the pin. Hit those lines and usually be rewarded with a birdie look. Miss them and have a challenging scramble for par, or worse.

2) Good amount of variety. Hole shapes and distance are well balanced. There is one hole that forces a RHFH/LHBH (hole 1), one hole that forces a RHBH/LHFH (hole 6), two narrow tunnel shots (2 and 7), a turnover or forehand hole for each handedness (3 and 9), with the other three having a couple different routes that are available. There is definitely a preferred line on each of those three, but you can make a variety of things work.

3) Nice, good as new, DISCatcher baskets.

4) Rest spots (benches, or other) near most, if not all, tee pads. There are no trash bins, but being a private course with little traffic there's no litter to speak of.

5) Multiple tees per hole, but as an intermediate player or above I don't think they really add very much to the experience. Definitely nice to have for newer players, though, as the long tees could certainly leave a first timer with a bad impression of the sport with how punishing some of the holes can be.
Cons: 1) The density of the rough is pretty overbeating in places. With the exception of hole 2 where a tree was down, there was nothing crowding the fairway but getting off the fairway at all is quite the adventure.

2) Natural tee pads, but they are in good shape so it is not a major con at all, but just something I don't like on courses. Also no tee signs, but a few holes to have markers near one of the tees on the hole and most tees are marked with little flags, framed with little logs, or visibly different than the surrounding ground.

3) Navigation is difficult. I knew this going in, especially since Matt wasn't able to meet my brother and I there to show us around, but it's still worth mentioning and something I'd consider a con. With the course map we had to do a little back tracking in some spots and I'm pretty sure we missed a couple of the correct tee locations. Either that or the distances listed here in the 'hole info' tab are quite off on a couple holes. Hole 2 threw like 50ft past with a mid and then range found it at about 260ft instead of the 310ft listed here. Hole 3 I'm pretty sure we teed off from the white pad instead of the blue, but we didn't see anything that could have been a further pad in the area. Hole 6, where the blue tee is located on the course map was just an uncleared section of forest. Hole 7 and 8 were again much shorter than the listed distances but we couldn't find anything else around that look like a tee. Obviously, with Matt's guidance this wouldn't have been an issue but if, like me, you will be checking out the course without him definitely be prepared to *probably* play the course incorrectly.

4) Not necessarily a con for me, but for some the limited availability could be an issue. Though, with how thick the rough already was in early May when I played you probably wouldn't want to play the course mid-summer when it isn't available anyway.
Other Thoughts: The Bald Eagle course, essentially the front 9 of the 18 holes on the property, certainly offers an enjoyable experience. Nothing is truly unique, but it's all good and fun. The YMCA camp director greeted us in the parking lot and was very friendly and happy to see us out there. Looking at the course in isolation, ignoring the other 9 on site and the cons, I would definitely call the course above average. Solidly 3.0. It's up there with the best 9-holers I've played. With the cons factored in it's enough to be knocked down a half disc. Though, a better course map that could make navigation more manageable without a guide would maybe be enough to hold it at a 3.0 but I'd have to visit the course again to decide for sure. Very fun and worth your time to play if you are around the area, but nothing to center a trip around or anything.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/8/2016   5/10/2016
Review By: Mushin No Shin
Played: 842  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 16.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FUN DG!!!
Discatcher Baskets on a Wooded course that features 2 sets of Tees for the 9 Holes.
The Short Tees are great for youths and introducing Campers to DG. These holes all have tricky lines and guarded Pins, so getting those Birds isn't as easy as one might immediately think. Picnic Benches are at each of these tees.
The Long Tees are great for advanced players or those looking for a challenge. I suspect a couple of these will be modified, going forward (WIP) But all in all, they make for an entirely new course layout, which is nice for days of multiple rounds.
Design uses the available elevation really well.
Many of the holes play under a Zip-Line Course, so there is some unique architecture to contend with on certain shots
Course finishes by Golden Eagle #1, or car lot is near also
Cons: Does not yet have a DG hole incorporating a Zip-Line. Talk about an Ace run!!!
If you have something against standing on the ground when you throw, you might dislike the Teepads... Shorts are Gravel, and the longs are currently natural.

Other Thoughts: Mr. Dewgarita will have a weekend in the early spring, and the late fall when Disc Golfers from the greater surrounding areas will gather for a truly fun DG experience. Do yourself a favor and plan to attend

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Eagle has Landed!!!

1    3/14/2015   3/18/2015
Review By: Shuie
Played: 903  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 19 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2015
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bald Eagle is quite the experience!!! Matt has devoted a serious amount of work to get this course in shape. The course boasts 3 sets of tees red, green and blue. The red tees are the most used by the campers and are mainly ace runs with a putter but the course is so heavily wooded that one must hit the line if they wish to receive the birdie, this is the easiest and perhaps the funnest set of tees with most holes being under 200 feet. The green tees begin to add distance as well as those accurate tight fairways that are present on the reds, this makes for an enjoyable round but still allows for a recovery shot to save par if you miss your first intended line while this course does add length it does have a similar feel to the red with a few holes being standouts holes 1, 2, 10 and 12 come to mind. The Blue layout was quite the beast, This course offer much more distance but the lines are extremely tight and found myself throwing many midrange shots of the tee just so i could get to the landing zone with a hope for a 3, some holes do offer a birdie shot. When played with a group of 6 blueish level players, we came away with I believe 5 twos. This course really reminded me of Leviathan,(Ludington,MI) found myself on the tee saying" just make it past that tree or if i can just make it that landing zone about 200 out, i'll be fine." All in all the course is fair but really tough and enjoyable beat down. The course is currently 13 holes, with the last 4 holes being more open and feel more like a city course then the previous 9 holes. The course has some benches and tables scattered around for when you need to rest or just set your bag down.
Cons: Tee pads on the course are a little rustic, the red are a nice gravel pad that is really nice but the other two are just flags in the ground, which doesn't factor much into my rating. Being a private course there are times when you might not be able to get on cause the YMCA kids are out there. No tee signs but more than likely you will get guided around. Even though the baskets are mixed bag of practice and permenant, it really doesn't take away from any of the shot but might be hard to get use to putting on different baskets. No garbage cans, so you gotta pack in and pack out.
Other Thoughts: The shot shaping and the mixture of variety left me with good feelings. I really like Bald Eagle, such a fun course and keeps getting better. Sounds like this course is slowly working it way to become a full 18.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Really fun, technical course

1    12/3/2014   12/3/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 103  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 9.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Matt has done a great job of cultivating a really fun, technical course that is great for getting kids and new players into the sport.

I had the pleasure of playing with Matt for a night round, and if you are in the area you really need to PM him to set up a time to play.

The course is a 9 hole permanently, but can be turned into a full 18 for tournaments and events. We played it to 11 holes and all from the short tees since Matt's foot is still recovering and it was dark.

It has 4 possible teepad positions but the only ones that are not natural are the nice gravel red tees.

The woods are heavy but there are a couple of lines available on almost every hole.

Underbrush is minimal in the winter(light snow) and even when I had a light kick of we could find it pretty easily.

The overall layout is very well thought out and while its got some very challenging holes, but its still great for beginners as the red tees aren't long.

There are many picnic tables and well groomed trails so it's easy and comfortable to play as well.

Great well balanced baskets, good pin placements.
Cons: It's not a long course even fro. The longer tees, and the pads are either gravel or natural, but it won't detract from the overall fun of the course.

Not too many cons, honestly it's a little paradise of a course right on the lake.
Other Thoughts: This is a gem of a course, I wish I could have seen it in daylight. Right on the lake with beautiful old growth trees and zip lines overhead. If your in The area it's a great place for a round.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.