Ahoskie, NC 
Ahoskie Creek Share
Uploaded By: Cool Daddio Hole #3 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 228ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Red/Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
The Golden Skillet

1    6/18/2022   7/7/2022
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 491  Reviewed: 463  Exp: 18.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ahoskie is a nice small town course. I'm glad they used a pro to help with the installation. This could have turned out much worse instead.
- This is a 22 hole layout. DGCR listing is missing the final two holes (and the map on here only shows 18).
- The first 10 holes are spaced out. You essentially walk of the park to play these holes. The final 12 holes are much closer and can be played faster.
- Plenty of space to air it out. The long tees come in at 8400 feet for 22 holes, averaging 382 feet per hole. Nine holes are longer than 400 feet. Only 1 is in the final 11 holes (#18), further showing the condensed space for the second half of the course.
- The fun and variety is really on the second half of the course. #12 is a nice, 255 foot layout to a basket on a mound. #14 is a fun, 216 foot run at a raised basket. #15 is a tee shot across an open field to a basket in the woods. And #17 is a sharp, short dogleg right tee shot. It's the type that you think you're going to overthrow and yet still didn't get enough curve on the shot.
- Good tee signs. Navigation is easy even on the spaced out holes/longer transitions. You know Pat isn't going to overlook important details like this.
- The open holes do have a varying degree of challenge/feel. I really enjoyed holes #4 & 5 in this section. #4 has you throwing over a small creek bed, picking your lane between one of several trees. #5 is a dogleg left with the same creek and a tree line running along the left side. The further right you place your tee shot, the longer your second shot will be.
Cons: Minimal elevation. It's a reality of the terrain of eastern NC.
- This was a slow round due to the long, open layout. You do walk the entire perimeter of the park playing this course.
- The walking trail and park road comes into play throughout the first half of the walk. I had to wait several times for walkers during my Saturday morning round.
- I feel a couple holes could be eliminated and/or combined. With 22 holes, not everyone is needed. I'd immediately eliminate #16. It's 116 feet and wooded. It serves no purpose other than the ego-boosting birdie. There are much longer transitions throughout the course, so nix this one.
- I'd also eliminate #21. Just extend #20, and play to 21's basket. #21's basket is more visible on #20's tee anyways, so just combined them.
- And, I'd eliminate #4. I'm not a fan of having to holes that make players walk it backwards to get to the tee, throw, then turn right back around to head back to the tee. If you have to walk the entire length of the hole first in order to play, it's a sign the hole is being forced into the layout.
- I was disappointed I didn't the giant elephant structure past #1's basket didn't come into play. It's such a random art design, it needs to be incorporated into disc golf.
Other Thoughts: All things considered, Ahoskie's course is about as good as it could be. When there are very few trees in 80 - 90% of the park, it's hard to create obstacles. So, hat's off to Pat for creating layouts around what trees there are.
- Following the flow of the course, it's almost of a mile walk from #7's basket to #20's tee. In case you're wondering why #10 is so long - 941 feet from the long tee - just know, it could easily be longer to break up the transition.
- All things considered, the course is pretty removed from other park activities. If the worst overlap is waiting on a couple walkers, it's not much of an issue. If it's a convoy of them, well, I guess you either have to skip the hole or wait them out.
- There is a clear divide on the course with your open layout, then your wooded layout. The second half of the course is time to put the driver away and start focusing on accuracy and avoiding trees.
- If you wanted a quick, partial round, park in the lot near #22's basket and just play the wooded section.
- All in all, there's enough to like here to make it worthwhile. The open holes did have enough variety that there was good flow. I'm giving this a slightly above average rating of 3.0. You've got to go out of your way to get to Ahoskie. But if you end up here, it's worth checking out.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

An open, Bomber park course?

1    11/3/2020   9/6/2021
Review By: pmay5
Played: 346  Reviewed: 217  Exp: 19.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good DISCatcher baskets, most had flags on top which are very useful on this course.
Good concrete tee pads on every hole. Most holes had short and Long tees.
Some tees had good descriptive tee signs, with distance, par and layout, others had just distance and par. But they were easy to spot on this course.
Mostly open holes with a lot of distance. Several of these holes had enough old growth trees to make you shape your shot and think about your approach to the basket.
The holes move around the perimeter of the park, so very little chance of interference from others. A couple of holes are near the creek, which is large for a creek, but little chance of losing a disc there.
For a little variety, there is a double Mando on one of these and two elevated baskets, one on a mound and one DGPT pyramid style.
Cons: I never did find a basket for #15. There was a tee and tee sign showing the path into thick woods, but walking the fairway, I never saw a basket. I skipped to #16.
I don't recall any benches or trash cans on the course. I have no problem packing out what I pack in, but you know many don't. With a course this long and spread out, several benches would really come in handy, this course involves a lot of walking.
#4 - as good as the hole is, you have to walk more than the length of it to get to the tees. #3 is laid out as a very good left to right hole, but if the basket was to the left, this would shorten the walk to #4's tees.
With the proximity to Ahoskie Creek, and low lying land, I imagine this gets, and stays, wet after significant rains.
Other Thoughts: I had not heard much about Ahoskie Creek before coming here, its in a small town in the NE part of North Carolina, so I wasn't expecting a wide open bomber course. But that is exactly what it is. This appears to be another case were a neighborhood has been flooded by a nearby creek, so the authorities bought out the residents and made it a park.
With so many top level courses in the state being mostly wooded, it was great finding a quality course with mostly open holes. While the first 10 holes were mostly open, there were trees or obstacles on most of these to require shot shaping.
A small, mostly dry, creek along #5 forces you away from the left side, but two trees guard the basket on the right.
A double mando (at a 60 degree angle) across the fairway of #8 puts a lot of pressure on the drive.
Even #10, the longest at 800 or 900' has a couple of trees right at the tees and a tree guarding the basket.
Then you get into the scattered woods, #11 has a lot, a little on #13, #14 is elevated on a pyramid with two lines through the trees. After you flirt with the woods on #16, #17 is a double dogleg Par 4 bordered by thick rough. The final hole (when I was there) has a sharp left to right turn (from the short tee) to a basket further on, planted in a 4 tree clump, a great, unique pin placement.
As I mentioned, when I visited Ahoskie there were 18 (17 ?) holes, but the walk back to the car was through a clearing in the woods that felt like a fairway. At the end of the that was another basket, labeled #20. I now see on UDisc that there are 22 holes laid out. The additional holes are in the woods (and possibly a clearing) around the original 17 and 18. Finishing with the fairway I walked as #22, that ends in a clearing at the opposite of the parking lot from #1. So these additional holes really help balance that open to wooded mix that is always fun to evaluate.
Many of the open holes require straight shots with not a lot of doglegs, but shot shaping through the trees will help your score. The only elevation on the entire course is a 12' mound that #12 is on, very dangerous putt with it exposed to the wind.
A really fun course to play if you want to get out of the woods, and you have a roller game. Definitely a pleasant surprise to find this quality of a course. There is obviously an active club involved and is on at least 1 tournament series. Well done Ahoskie!!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A Roller/Bomber Course

2-4    3/9/2020   5/5/2020
Review By: lee76007
Played: 107  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 3.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played both forward and back tees:
-Rollers and Bombers will love the course. Its wide open. 10 of 18 holes a roller can be used, a little risky on a few others. 13 of 18 for bombers.
-A solid variety of Par 3's, 4's and a Par 5. With a variety of distances. I would give it a 4.0 rating, and this is where my overall rating is anchored on.
-Tee signs with distance, par, map, and next tee arrow.
-Some tee pads are shared, and some holes have two. White paint for long, red for short.
-Good navigation, course works in a clockwise direction around other park amenities such as ball fields and pavilions.
-Bathrooms by first tee, and along 7th fairway.
-If you like to walk, this is the course for you. Its by far the longest walking course I've played.
Cons: -If you like wooded courses, there's only a few holes. You'll find the course bland.
-There must of been an update to the course? On some holes distances don't match up on tee signs and scorecards.
-Tee signs are about the same height as other park signs. Made it a little difficult to find the long tee pads, and most concrete tee pads are flushed to the ground.
-No 2. green borders peoples backyards. I laid up, rather not overthrow a disc.
-No. 4 long tee is 519 ft. That's how far away you'll be walking away from the rest of the course and park, after playing No. 3.
-No 8 tee had white paint on pad, indicating long pad. If there was a short pad with red paint, never found it, despite being in a wide open field. Same for No. 18 which had red paint only.
-After a rain in cooler months, you may want to wait at least 5 days to play. I played 3 days after a rain and most of the fairways were mush, some with standing water.
- Along side the No.17 fairway, were two more lightly wooded fairways already shaped not being used? Maybe in the future, if so, it would help with a few more variety of holes. I would eliminate the third basket, 4th tee, 5th basket and 6th tee. A new long par 4 and 5. It would also shorten the walk and a smoother flow.
-A moderate wind would be brutal on a beginner, a strong wind on everybody else for this mostly open course.
Other Thoughts: I just happened to stumble on the course about a month after learning how to throw rollers. So, I gave it a go and did well despite that most fairways were too soft from a recent rain. I would like to come back here in the middle of the summer after a week of baking and give it another go, and hopefully after a recent mowing. I think the rollers will travel quite far. If that's the case, I can see myself coming here a few times in the summer and fall only.
Overall I appreciated the variety of pars and distances. But, I'm real big on scenery, and part of my attraction to disc golf. The more I play, the more I like wooded golf unless a course is very eye appealing. The majority of the course reminded of driving out west across the desert, as noted above too bland and no unique holes. A few wooded holes, and some ditches to cross. The Ahoskie Creek runs along holes 8 thru 10, and 13. Unless you throw wild to the left, its out of play.
The back tees took 75 mins to play, From the 8th tee pad to 11 basket was 25 mins of it. Yes a long walk between basket and tee on that stretch. You could put a few more holes in.
Notable Basket Placements:
No 6. Basket sits on a pile of rocks about a foot and a half high.
No. 12 basket on a mound about 12 feet high, and a base of about 25 feet. The calm wind played with my approaches both times around. Moderate wind and stronger, yikes!
No.14 basket on a 4 sided pylon at a little more than 6 feet high. I had to stand on my tip toes to get my disc out. If your shorter.......
Notable Holes:
No 10 Par 5 1001 ft and it was every bit of it. Along the tee pad are a few skinny trees, but shouldn't be any trouble. The fairway is wide at least 500 feet wide. More than half way there on the right is a giant oak tree, and that's it. A ditch runs about 200 ft from the basket with small skinny oaks protecting the basket. After throwing my two best rollers, I was thinking par, but my third hit that big oak, the only tree on the fairway costing me distance and line of sight. The fairway crests about 400 feet out and then slopes downward. I thought very scenic from the crest. Bombers and rollers will love the hole.
No. 18 Par 3 157 ft. Not much in distance, and not much for a finishing hole. It dog legs right in the few wooded holes on the course. No line of sight to basket blocked by trees, and an overlapping tree branch on the left at the turn, which I hit both times. What I like is the basket is right in the middle of 7 skinny oaks that gives you access only to half of the basket, and about 4 feet in height sitting on dirt. It would make a great No. 16 if they ever use those two ready to go fairways.

Signature Hole No. 17 Par 4 466 ft with heavy pines on both sides. Dog legs right about 200 out, then left running in the same direction as off of the tee. The average width of the fairway is 25 feet. On the tee, it was the first time having to focus on my drive. The basket sits off to the side on the right protected by pines. Make that dog leg off of the tee, then fade right on the approach, it will skip for you as well. Very scenic with the sunlight streaming down.
Trouble Hole No. 5 Par 4 496 ft. There is absolutely nothing between you in the basket except the ditch that runs along the left side of the fairway and the two oak trees protecting the basket. The basket sits about 5 feet from the ditch and the surface area is hard pan. I skipped up both times right into the ditch at about the same spot basket just 7 feet away. Made par from the ditch with the basket about a foot above my head. If the water was deep, I would not of been able to do that, and my disc may of been lost.


10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 What pro-level in Ahoskie?

1    4/30/2018   5/1/2018
Review By: JakedaSnake
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ahoskie doesn't have the greatest reputation, but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this course. I ventured out here after finding other reviews. There's not much going on the in the town, but this course is the best attraction to the area without a doubt. Clear signs at every hole with distance, par, and directions to the next tee. Separate tees for pro and am, except for a few with good reason. Distances and obstacles at pro tees are a great challenge. Not too heavily wooded, but 17 & 18 are in wooded areas that are a perfect way to end the course.
Cons: Other people venturing on the course! This happened to me a few times because I don't think too many people play here and the individuals walking across were just too ignorant to know any better. A walking path actually crosses through the fairway at 9, which is a reasonable excuse, but some people were just walking through the fairway at multiple holes. There is a ditch running through the front 7 that presents some difficulties just trying to cross back and forth over. The real challenge is the creek running on the left of holes 9 through 13, but this provides some nice scenery. Not much elevation difference. Finally, just getting into the park. There are multiple entrances, but most were locked. I eventually found the right access near the medical center to begin playing near the baseball fields.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to take a right at the medical center on Hwy. 42, but be careful of the extreme dip at the intersection. Still stunned that such a superb course exists in this location.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ahoskie Creek is a nice course

5+    8/25/2016   8/27/2016
Review By: Cardinal
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ahoskie Creek is a flat open course with trees all in the right places to make it challenging but open enough to really launch your discs. The baskets are protected by towering oaks, pines, sweet gums, and some water hazards. Hole 10 boasts a 771 ft par five and 17 is really narrow and forces you to use a mid range accurately. This is a great course to cut your teeth on. I am proud to call it my home course.
Cons: The back nine is definately harder but hole 18 is a little lame as a finishing hole. The grass sometimes is high on the back 9 and can appear a little snakie.
Other Thoughts: Ahoskie Creek is definately worth the drive to play. Check out a few of pics of the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    1/25/2014   1/25/2014
Review By: bdahlem
Played: 48  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Big flush concrete tee pads. Great course to go out and sling drivers. Starting from hole 1 course gets progressively longer, then then eases into a tight wooded course to end.
Cons: Long walk to hole 4 long pads. The only mando on the course creates more danger to the "protected area" than if there was no mando. Mando should be moved to first tree forcing a throw towards the creek, or removed.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/27/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 117  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 14 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ahoskie Creek is well designed and fun to play for nearly all player levels. Many holes have 2 tees. There is a nice variety of distances. There is a mailbox at the 1st tee (empty during my visit) for scorecards. There were also extra pencils available there too. The tee pads are very large and concrete. The tee color is painted on the tee pad edge and the sign post. The tee signs are perfect and show the direction of the next tee also. I did not need a map to navigate even though I was a newcomer.

Other Pros:

- variety (turns, wooded/open, distances)
- large creek nearby but not too close
- brand new baskets
- practice basket
- other park amenities for non-DG family
- basket atop a mound
Cons: There were some areas of construction that has the earth torn up. There isn't really any elevation in the park to utilize. We were the only players on the course on a Saturday which was 65 degrees and sunny. It felt odd that no one else was there, I hope it catches on in the area.

Other Cons:

- rough is very thick
- baseball field landed some errant throws
- walking path comes into play but shouldn't be an issue
Other Thoughts: The course is mostly open with sporadic trees or moderately wooded except the last 2 holes which were sculpted in a thick woods. I really liked those last 2! Keep up the good work Ahoskie, we need more courses in the general area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Ahoskie

1    8/19/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 179  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 12.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - It's mainly a more open bomber type course with sprinkled trees. The front 9 is more open and incorporates more par 4's while the back 9 gets progressively more wooded and shorter.

There is a short tee on about half the holes which mainly turn the longer holes in to par 3's.

It's mostly a placement type course due to it being mostly open with OB factors. The road and creeks come in to play as OB. You do have to think about your drive positioning a bit on the par 4/5's but it's nothing major; you're pretty free to use any kind of shot you want on a lot of holes.

The course does finish with more danger and some gaps to hit. There's a few par 3 gap hitters but nothing to difficult. The last par 4 in the woods requires a placement shot through a gap and the woods are super thick so it demands attention.

I was told the place gets windy and if so I could see that adding a major difficulty element to the course.

A few risky greens though not many. Some have OB in the area, nothing really super close. One is on a mound.

Course flows really well and is pretty intuititive.

Equipment - Nice large and flush concrete pads. Brand new quality baskets. Tee signs listing the distance. A course map at hole 1 with pretty nice scorecards available.

Atmosphere - Really nice park area that still seems to be under construction. The course gets it's own area and never really comes that close to the other facilities.

There's a bathroom and water fountain by the parking lot.
Cons: Layout - Biggest con is lack of teeth. Some of the long par 4's on the front need some more trees in the way to make you think about your drive and approach. You can hyzer in to a good amount of the par 3's as well.

Depending on your skill/distance level some of the long holes are tweeners, with more redundant approaches.

Some of the holes with trees need some limbing, no big issue there though.

Course is still raw, especially on the back 9 . The rough that comes in to play on the back is insanely thick. You could easily lose a disc in spots, including a larger creek that comes in to play on a few holes.

Equipment - No benches or trashcans out on the course.

Atmosphere - The back 9 where a lot of work has been done isn't all that much to look at right now. When the grass comes back in it should look better.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun round and a good course to introduce the area to disc golf.

I think planting some more trees in spots will make it a better course in the future but it's still raw and young so that could be in the cards.


10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.