Huntsville, AL 
Mastin Lake Share
Uploaded By: cumurph Hole #8
3 / 279ft.   3 / 279ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Best Elevation in Huntsville

5+    12/5/2018   12/28/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2018
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.054 Rating) (REVISED - replayed December 2018) A short technical course that's a blast to play.
- ELEVATION - The only course in Huntsville with a bunch of 30 foot plus downhill shots. Holes (9) (12) (14) and (17) are all in the 30 to 35 foot range. Only one other hole in the entire Huntsville area does this, Indian Creek hole (14). In addition, there also a few fun up shots as well on (7) (10) and (11), which are in the 20 to 25 foot range. Players that have bad knees or ankles should stay clear of this course. Bringing a disc golf cart out here is probably doable but not a good idea.
- ACE RUNS - Not the easiest course to ace in town due to the technical nature of the course, but these baskets IMO are the most exhilarating to run at. The layout is fairly short and several lines are less than 10 feet wide. I've had several close calls already here where I've admired my drive from the tee hoping for the sound of chains, only to watch it skip harmlessly by the basket or to get picked off late by a guardian tree.
- CHALLENGE - Judging Mastin Lake's difficultly solely on its length would be a mistake. Although an Advanced player could easily go 8 down or more here, they will also post up rounds over par on a day where every branch seems to move into the line after the throw. The course is going to produce some great scoring battles. A lead of 6 shots after 12 holes could easily vanish as holes (13), (14) and (17) are all five-able with a poor drive and bad ricochet. There's even a local term in the area call getting mastin'd, which is a round with a couple of horrible ricochets that ruin a round.
- SHOT SHAPING - Some of the lines at Mastin look borderline impossible to make a clean run at the basket, (4) Blue tee, (13) and (14). Basket guarding is excellent on many holes and those that have mastered the moving arcs on a disc line will destroy players that can only bomb shots.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - During the winter, Mastin Lake opens up quite a bit. I've brought a first timer during that time period and they loved it. The course is easily two throws easier to skilled players over the winter and perhaps five throws easier to unskilled players. However, bringing a beginning player here during the summer peak overgrowth is not a wise idea.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Considering all the elevation changes and also the older trees, one of the better looking courses in Huntsville. Some of the lines are worthy of pulling out the phone and snapping a photo. On the other hand, there are also some surrounding elements that have some less than desirable views. There are baseball and tennis court fences in view. These views all occur along the open west boundary of the layout.
- NAVIGATION - Not too bad. There is now an updated map on DGCR but none posted on site. There are a bunch of well-placed directional cues to keep players on track between holes. The only tricky transition is between (3) and (4) where there's a bit a back track down (3s) fairway.
- QUICK PLAY - Players that are in good shape should have no problem playing this one in under an hour solo. Groups of four should be able to play in less than two hours, but there will likely be one player in the group needing to take a break at a few holes due to all the elevation changes.

Cons: A solid technical course that really only has preferential issues.
- NO BOMB-IT HOLES - Players that enjoy grip'n and rip'n probably won't like this course. Only one hole approaches 400 feet, hole (13), and it's probably the only time that an advanced player will bring out a driver as it's a bit uphill. There are a few other shots over 300 feet, (8), (9), (14) and (17) but they are all downhill and my weak arm can get to all of them.
- FORGIVENESS - Although short enough for recreation players, for those that can't hit 10 to 15 foot lanes consistently, this course can become very self-defeating. In addition, regardless of skill level, players will hit trees several times out here. When there's a ricochet in the wrong direction, scrambling for par may take a miracle. I had one of my best par saves ever out here on hole (17), where a bad kick on an early tree left me over 50 feet deep into the thicket. I pitched out and then threw in a 150 foot par save.
- LEAVES - Playing this course in the couple months after all the leaves have dropped can be a nightmare. It is literally inches thick in dead leaves. I've played in November and December out here and have spent over 10 minutes scouring leaf piles trying to find one disc.
- POISON IVY - I've spotted this awful plant at several spots along the layout.

Other Thoughts: The first course I ever played in Alabama back in 2014. Personally, one of my favorites in the area as Mastin Lake offers the only respectable elevation changes among all the Huntsville area courses. Players looking to make a disc golf tour of the Huntsville area should definitely consider this one if they plan to play 3 or more courses during their visit. Players that live within a two hour's drive need to play this course at least once. Mastin Lake is currently a top 25 course on DGCR for Alabama and I personally agree with that notion.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/21/2017   12/28/2017
Review By: wericsson
Played: 48  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2018
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodsy (there are woods in the middle of a park in a residential chunk of town - go figure), with a variety of lines, and its real selling point - the elevation changes. No poke and pray holes. Usually nowhere near as busy as Brahan.
Cons: A few navigation kinks - tee 3 is in an other than obvious location, and at one point you walk straight past tee 17 on the way to another hole.

The mandos feel a bit less than tasteful, frankly, and the single chain baskets are a bit less desirable than the newer Discatchers or other recent baskets.

Lacking the distance to really push it into the upper tier with Indian Creek/UAH/Redstone (or even really Monte Sano) especially since some of the longest holes are downhill.
Other Thoughts: Apparently some HVX players try to avoid playing here to protect their ratings. Not sure if this is superstition/misunderstanding of the system or what.

The ditch can be a pretty unpleasant place, though it is in bounds.

Seems to be covered in leaves even outside the leaf-dropping season, but it gets worse in fall.

As far as degree of technical challenge, Mastin has more elevation than Monte Sano (seems backwards, I know), but isn't near as tight. Additionally, Monte Sano is noticeably longer. Mastin is kinda middle of the road for beginner friendliness, losing out to Brahan or Southside, but beating Monte Sano or the long courses in town.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best course in Huntsville?

5+    2/25/2017   5/5/2017
Review By: 93EXCivic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In my opinion, it is the best easily accessible course in Huntsville (since it is hard to get to Redstone) but I great prefer the tight woods over the mostly wide open length of UAH or Indian Creek.
It uses the hills in park very well to create a number of very fun and interesting holes. The downhill shot on 17 for example.
This course rewards accuracy and you can so easily have a bad day if your drives are off.
Good tee pads and pretty good baskets.
Multiple tee and pin positions on a number of holes.
Multiple different shots required.
Cons: Crossing the ditches at 14 and 17 can be a bit of pain if it has rained.
Discs can easily be lost in the leaves pretty much year round so watch the flight as best as possible (although this isn't always an option as there are some blind tee shots).
I wish there was a practice basket.
Other Thoughts: Mastin Lake is a course that is an absolute blast to play with a good variety of holes but can easily have you swearing as you hit what might be the 100th tree if you are having an off day.
If you like wooded courses over more open courses, then this would be the first one in Huntsville I would check out.

There is a bathroom near the entrance to the parking lot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Huntsville Gem

2-4    4/7/2017   4/8/2017
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 79  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 14.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course set in a nice multi use park well away from any other activities.
- Baskets are old Discatchers but seem to do the job quite nicely.
- Concrete pads are sized appropriately and are textured nicely.
- Course is fairly clean and clear of trash.
- My 45 year old knees and ankles sure appreciated the occasional bench.
- Course makes excellent use of the existing topography. Not only that but holes are fairly well divided between left and right. In so doing, this creates a situation where no two holes are alike. The variety is refreshing.
- Navigation wasn't great to be picky but realistically it was pretty straight forward.
Cons: Holes 2 and 3 are layed out fine but seem a tad out of place.
- It would be really nice if there was a better way to cross that drainage ditch on 15, 17 and 18. The slopes of those have to be quite slick if it ever gets wet.
- Some of the slopes could really make use of some steps.
- The number 6 sign indicates there is a mando but there is no sign on any of tress. Just sorta guessed when i thought the mando ought to be.
- The biggest issue for me though that seems to hold this course back is a lack of challenge. Very few holes were over 300' and even though it was in a wooded area the fairways were rather wide and it was easy to throw to different lines.
Other Thoughts: This course is obviously being loved and maintained by a local group. Whoever is responsible needs a great big pat on the back since some out of towner like me can come and enjoy the fruits of their labors. While I did say in the cons that it just isn't very challenging I will say that Mastin is just a plain fun course. I think any skill level could come here and have a good time playing it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated compared to nearby courses and near Dreamland BBQ!

1    11/1/2013   6/24/2014
Review By: filobedo
Played: 263  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Here goes but I hope I do not get the holes mixed up particularly on the back. I played this course on a day that I also played Brahan Springs and I enjoyed this much more due to the scenery (foliage in the fall was spectacular) and elevation on a few holes. I initially went to Indian Creek and there was probably the largest monthly I have ever seen going on by a club (appeared to be at least 100 players) so I had the other courses to myself. There were a few hardcore dgers at Brahan that were not very courteous or helpful so I played it fast and headed to Mastin (I guess they were stressed about paying $250 for their brand new dg bags and another $150 on their brand new dg logo wear. The only other time I have encountered locals that did not seem accommodating while traveling was at Winter Park in WI). This course was definitely worth the drive across town and below are the highlights.
#1 - #2 - Short tight holes for shotmakers which were great to start off with a Roc
#5 - up and over hill with slight anhyzer at the end
#6 - fun hole up hill to basket on flat ground. Good shot at birdie if played smart
#7 - # 9 - Tight tunnel shots were accuracy is a must. Very good holes which can change a round.
Somewhere between #10 - #12 there is a very fun hyzer hole where you start off low and the basket is elevated about 20 feet higher than the teepad where accurate teeshot is a must for birdie.
#13 - one of the longer holes on the course where the teeshot must be accurate for shot at par.
#15 - great hole (hope I am not confusing with #13). Shot across creek to place in fairway then up hill to a pin on the left when played.
#17 - Great downhill tunnel shot. No room for error and it is all of 350' but plays about 280'.

Cons: No biggie but I think #3 and #4 are not consistent with the course because they play out of the woods over a creek into a field and then into the woods over the creek from the woods.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fast play and fun. I could see this being a great course for midrange practice and placement shots. I could also see less egos playing here due to the short holes and accuracy being a premium. Not only is the course great but it is only about a 5 minute ride to Dreamland BBQ which was another fantastic stop on my trip. I would think most in the area would note Redstone or Indian Creek as the best or must plays and I would agree but if you like old school courses, I would play this if Brahan is crowded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lora

1    9/30/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: loraski
Played: 92  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We loved this course. We are still relatively new to the sport and it gave us a confidence boost! The course was very well marked and tee pads and baskets were nice.
Cons: Couldn't find anything we didn't like!
Other Thoughts: We enjoy courses like this when you don't have to go through thick underbrush to find errant discs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Southern Hospitality

1    8/31/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 78  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 17.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Teepads, signage, hole-by-hole variety.
Other Thoughts: Mastin Lake is a largely wooded and well cared for par 54 course that serves as an excellent complement to the nearby UAH course. Like the UAH course, Mastin Lake is well laid out and takes full advantage of its landscape. Also like the UAH course, Mastin Lake has those extras that set it apart - nice concrete tees (one set on every hole, and two on many), excellent signage that makes it first time friendly, and plenty of benches. But while UAH plays open, somewhat long, and flat, Mastin Lake plays strictly par 3, mostly in the woods, and mostly on a hill, either up, down, or along. Master both courses and you will certainly have a fully rounded game.

Beyond amenities, shot variety is the standout feature of Mastin Lake. Yes, it's the sort of course where a mid-range off the tee is often the call, but all of the fairways are plenty fair and call for shots going straight, right, left, out into the open, back into the woods, uphill, downhill, along flat ground, and/or along a sloping hill. There's plenty of hole by hole variety out here, which to me is key to enjoying a course. Like many wooded courses, mistakes can be punished in the most frustrating manner, but stay on course and there's a chance at a birdie on a bunch of holes.

Overall, I rate this course Good, or well worth checking out if you're in the area. Taken hole by hole, it's on the high side of typical, with the positive of hole by hole shot variety offset by the average par 54 length and the predominance of one type of landscape vs. a good variety. Add in the teepads and signage, plus ease of navigation and the couple of somewhat distinctive holes and it gets firmly into Good territory, in my view.

Favorite hole - #17 - Steep downhill fairway in the woods crosses creek and then hooks left to a basket in the open.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 All around great course

1    3/23/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: superchadw
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really enjoyed this course. Had 4 other people with me that was there first time and they had a blast. There's not many areas that your disc can be lost or buried to where you cant find it like other places ive been. Ive played a good bit and thought it was challenging enough for me.
Cons: There was a football game going on in the park next to a pin and we had to skip that hole due to it. Not a huge deal though.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mastin Lake

1    5/29/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 120  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thought this was a very enjoyable course. It's situated along a nice forested hill in a nice little park. It begins at the base of the hill and slowly works its way up and back down. Although there are plenty of elevation changes none of the holes particularly capitalize on drastic up or downhill shots save for hole 17. It's a big and tight downhill shot that punches out into the open before 18 brings you back into the woods. A couple other holes punch out as well. One of them is through a wooded fairway to a small field with an OB culvert and another punch out towards a residential area. There is a punch in as well. It shoots back over a creek/ditch and the tee pad is just a few feet from the pit bull's back yard and he will let you know he is there for sure. Other tight shots abound with trees scattered along the fairways and they offer plenty of obstacles. There are two very pronounced doglegs, one left turning and one right turning with some elevation mixed in. They help with the already diverse shot types considering most of the holes are in heavily wooded areas. The holes vary in length but they do tend to lean towards the short side. The longest hole is only 366' but still makes for a somewhat challenging three.

This course has good baskets, good signage, and nice concrete tee pads. There are a few holes with alternate pads and there are a few alternate pin placements as well. You'll also find a variety of benches scattered around the course.

The course seems thoughtfully designed. Holes one and eighteen are near the parking lot, and the flow is good except for one pronounced spot. The hole nine/ten transition is close enough to the parking lot as well.
Cons: Nothing stands out as a huge con on this course to me. If you dislike short wooded courses this might not be one for you. A handful of longer and open holes could really diversify the course and probably become a favorite. Beyond that and besides each individual's pet peeves you should not have a whole lot to complain about. It's a pretty solid course.

The transition between ten's basket and eleven's tee pad is worth mentioning. It has you walking right behind 17's tee pad. If there are times when the course is crowded it will be distracting for the folks playing 17.
Other Thoughts: If this course had just a little more variety I would give it a four. As it stands I will give it a strong 3-1/2. Keep in mind that I love wooded courses though.

This is another really nice Huntsville course. What a pleasure it must be for the Huntsville locals to have so many choices in courses that are so close together. If you are planning a trip to Huntsville, make sure you give yourself enough time to hit several courses, including this one. Enjoy.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Coarse

1    1/5/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: chainbanger14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mixture of tight shots and open fairways! elevation changes. there is a creek that runs through part of the course.
Cons: no cons particularly agrivating. wish there was a bridge in some spots to cross the creek
Other Thoughts: in all a great course, btw watch out for the pitbull on one of the holes. i nicknamed him hercules

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.