Saint Louis, MO 
Willmore Park Share
Uploaded By: BreuerKyle Hole #7 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Open air city park course

1    5/25/2019   5/28/2019
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 511  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 26.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course after a series of harsh storms hit the Saint Louis area , so I will be as objective as I can. I understand that this is really the only disc golf course actually in Saint Louis . Disc golf in Wilmore Park is shared by walkers , picnics , runners and pet owners alike . It's not a bad thing , since disc golf takes up a decent chunk of the park . The distance on the course is just over 6800' . Plenty of space to park , bathrooms are not far away . Cement tees and Titan baskets . Some markers telling you generally where to go . Some elevation to this park and pin placement is okay since there is not much to work with because of the lack of trees and bushes . Bring a map , because you will need it and may STILL get lost with it . I lucked out and found 2 of the area disc enthusiasts to tag along with . Hi , Matt and Scott . The course starts with a 240' slightly uphill toss , then goes right into length ( 595' ) . The course retained a lot off water so I was unable to play maybe 3 of the holes . This is clearly an air it out , work on your putts into the wind type of course . Excellent for newbies and casual players . You will not lose your disc unless you throw it up into the wind and forget to pay attention where it blew to . Signature hole : Not sure , but I think it was #14 , where there is a big dropoff behind the basket , which could cause you to roll down and away ( mine did ) . Big risk and reward approach and putt .
Cons: Several cons . #1 . The long walks ( to 4 , to 6 , to 14 , to 15 , to 18 ) can leave you confused even with the map . #2 . No signage . In a large park , there is little way to tell which tee is which . #3 I know that there were a series of storms hitting Missouri , but the grass shouldn't be that high . #4 The course's ability to retain water . There were 3 baskets encircled by water . Several fairways were also affected .#5 wind . This park is so wide open , that winds will be prevalent most of the time . You will just have to deal with that part . #6 Lacks a good flow to the course .#6 is along a path to the right of #5 basket behind a row of high bushes . #6 The population of the park goers , mostly on the weekends , may force you to give up on a couple of the holes . Also , bring bug spray on hot days .
Other Thoughts: I know it looks like I bashed this course a lot , but I wanted you to be prepared so you won't be disappointed. The course is what it is . A long open air , city park style course that let you work on your driving length and you approaches and putts with different types of wind variances . And it's Saint Louis's claim to have it's own disc golf course . My recommendation : Don't go way out of your way to play this course , but if you are in the Saint Louis area ,come give this course a try.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Though I know the river is dry

2-4    9/29/2018   9/29/2018
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 135  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 24.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Willmore Park Is located essentially on the City/County border in South St. Louis. It's actually the youngest City park (established in the late 40's) and has a suburban park feel. The disc golf course is retrofit into the multi-use park and takes advantage of the rolling elevation to provide a nice variety of shots. All of the shots are park-style with a variety of trees in the way to complicate your path to the pin. The course has good concrete tees, good signs, multiple pin placements and Gateway Titan baskets. Most of the shots are pretty straightforward. Hole 11 in the long is over 900' and your approach has O.B. walking paths on either side and long of the pin, and hole 14 has a dramatic dropoff pin placement for some memorable shots. The course is on the longer side with some room to air it out, which makes it attractive to Advanced-level players. It sets up decently for lower skilled players because there aren't a lot of spots with a high danger of losing a disc and it's not a punishing design or one that forces you to use a variety of shots. All-in-all, it's a solid disc golf course.
Cons: Willmore suffers from the dreaded "McCormack flow" problem which plagues so many St. Louis courses that the locals don't even notice it anymore. You can easily get lost at 3 to 4, 5 to 6, 13 to 14, 14 to 15 and 17 to 18 as there is long, golfless walks at all of these spots and inadequate (or nonexistent) signage to help get you from one hole to the next. If there was signage to help direct you, I'd chalk it up to the limitations of designing with a "good shots first, flow second" approach in a multi-use park and not ding the rating for the course at all. But there is no signage. Adding to the frustration is that in some of these long walk situations, there seems to be room for some golf holes. Overall the flow is so bad that I'd say it's impossible to play this course the first time without a map or guide as there is no way you would find hole 6. The hole 5/6 transition beat out the hole 9/10 transition at West City Park as my personal "most impossible to navigate without a map" hole transition.

There is in some cases a little concrete circle next to the basket with an arrow to direct you to the next tee. Oddly, I've never noticed one at 3,6,13,or 17, which are holes that really need directional signage.

The grass grows so long here that the locals actually take pictures when the mowers are out and post them to social media. In the spring and summer months the mowing schedule can't keep up with the grass, which makes just finding your disc in the fairway a challenge.

The course is a park-style design which doesn't really force you to do much. You can pretty much throw the same shot over and over here and get away with it. It's a plus when talking about beginner friendly, but a con when you talk about the challenge presented by the course design.

The park is really busy on the weekends, and there are walking paths close to a lot of the holes. You really have to be aware of the other users in the park. On my last trip I hit a woman with my putt on #2, there was a painted white line running down the fairway that I didn't pay much attention to. It turned out to be a cross-county path and it ran right by #2's basket. I never heard her approaching and she popped into my line of vision right after I released the putt. The disc hit her in the arm as she ran by.

The neighborhood to me seems safe, but cars get broken into here a lot. The "river" Des Peres runs right by the park; it's a glorified drainage ditch that can smell bad and can have a healthy mosquito population, between it and the long grass some bug spray can make the difference between a fun round and a really long day.
Other Thoughts: Back in the 90's when I lived in St. Louis all of the courses were in St. Louis County. There was a desire to have courses in St. Charles County, the Illinois side and in the City of St. Louis. After Quail Ridge and Woodland were installed in '02/'03, the City was the last "want" on that list. It took another decade, but Willmore is finally the "City" course players had been asking for. It's a very popular local destination for players despite (in my opinion) there being several better courses in the area.

The park itself was donated by the developer of the St. Louis Hills neighborhood as at the time the land was floodplain for the River Des Peres. A lot has changed over the years, but the park can still hold some water in the right conditions. It's really not enough of an issue to be considered a con, though.

Willmore is a good course, so if you know your way around it's a good option for a round. It doesn't strike me as anything special, but it's a good solid course that makes for a fun round. Probably the decider for a lot of people is that some of the holes have really healthy distances to them. It kinda replaces Creve Coeur as a St. Louis course with some long holes and the space to air some shots out, except it adds in elevation changes that Creve Coeur never had. If you like to air stuff out, Willmore is a really good option. If you lean to the more technical golf, there are better options.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    8/29/2017   9/8/2017
Review By: Cory423
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide open shots with a few holes tucked into the woods
Great concrete tee boxes.
Excellent course for beginners and intermediate players
18 Holes. Good mix of difficulty
Cons: Can be a decent amount of foot traffic, but nothing crazy (track practice, people jogging through, etc)
Some holes can be surrounded by puddles of water after it rains


0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I Love This Course!

1    10/11/2016   10/11/2016
Review By: martemar
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Awesome course with a good variety of shots.

-Has a lot of elevation which makes for a challenging day especially if it's windy outside.

-Very large Tee Pads, and in my opinion the best around.

-It's a great course to work on your all around game.

-Located in a very nice park, and is always a nice relaxing place to play.
Cons: -Hole 14 has a pin placement that is just plain dumb. Luckily it's often changed. I'm sure you will figure it out once you experience it.

...that's the only complaint that I have. I would of probably rated it a 5 if not for this pin placement.
Other Thoughts: As I stated, I love this course. it's located in a very scenic park, and is a fun and challenging course that will indeed help you improve your game.

There isn't a whole of of woods play, but there are a bunch of big trees to navigate through.

Another positive thing about this park is that your discs are usually very easy to find. There are potential water hazards, but can be easily avoided without hurting your score.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Tee Boxes Around

1    6/15/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: bwgrotha1s
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: --Review title? They're larger than most concrete tee pads in all St. Louis and even have a red foul zone on the end. You will land most of your drives the way you intended. Good footing and plenty of run-up space. Just absolutely fantastic.

--Some of the best navigation around, considering the tees aren't all the easiest to find (some of them absolutely are, then a few tell you to scale a hill or cross a distant bridge) but if you can't get a map, take a picture of the one at the front and look for the nice arrow stones near each pin that will point you exactly where you need to go.

--Despite the grass being way too long (and seemingly flattened but not cut?) the place is still pretty beautiful; lightly wooded with tall trees and some man-made ponds that you will hug at times on your trek, but they will never become an obstacle.

--Variety, the thing I value most in a disc golf course, and it's here. Some holes will be at a 185' and the next will be at either 492', 590' or 924' so that's something. Elevation changes are average but they're there.

--3 chain gateway titants. Not bad, you can see them pretty well on this course.
Cons: --Long grass that seems like someone attempted to cut it but failed and merely flattened it.

--Bugs galore, spray up.

--Park definitely smells like butt throughout thanks to the river des peres running down the west side, and I'm not so sure the water being sprayed out of that awkward pipe spout into the ponds is doing any favors for the fragrances you'll endure.

--I'm not sure if there used to be trash cans at every tee but they are definitely not at every tee at this point in time. More like a select few, that was frustrating when you're emptying water bottles every 5 holes.

--Some of these holes are very forgettable, none are truly awful but despite the variety in distances, many of the flight paths require little technical shot placement and pins often seemed set up in somewhat random spots.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is definitely a great course to have if you're near the downtown St. Louis area, but for those of us in West County or far North County this is too much of a drive to frequent a visit. Courses like Quail Ridge, Sioux Passage, or Jefferson Barracks (which is not far at all from Willmore) all merit regular visits as well as the lengthy trip, but not Willmore unfortunately.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 willmore

2-4    5/2/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: jvbh792
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The location of this course is my favorite thing about it. Located in the heart of St. Louis, there aren't any other courses this close to me.
A few bigger par 4 holes are fun, and are birdie-able even for newer players.
The layout is easy enough to follow and every pin has a concrete marker nearby pointing to the next tee. Most holes still have their course markings, although some are pretty faded.
Variety of hyzer and anhyzer lines.
Trash can at every tee
Cons: No really unique/memorable tee shots.
No back woods holes.
Other Thoughts: Simple and elegant would be how I describe the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great spot!

1    12/12/2015   12/14/2015
Review By: thegodofcheese
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large Concrete Tee boxes - never felt like I'd slip off the end

Fairly easy to navigate thanks to arrows on ground next to the baskets at each hole pointing towards the next tee box

Well maintained landscape
Cons: Could use permanent signs at each tee. Signs were laminated paper put up with a staple gun, but many had fallen off, blown away, or were ripped down by kids. I suggest bringing a scorecard so you know the distance to the basket until they get better signage.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great place! Good mix of long and shorter holes. Some water in play, but most can be easily fished out of a shallow creek if you miss your mark. Enjoyed it thoroughly!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Course

5+    11/1/2015   11/9/2015
Review By: mdejong
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Many elevation changes
Nice variety of short/long holes
A fair mix of righty/lefty holes
Long, wide concrete tee pads
Cons: Navigation issues, particularly after holes 3, 13, 14.
Grass goes unmowed for long periods of time in the summer
Other Thoughts: Great design for a course. Most of the cons are due to the park that it's located in; things the designers could not avoid.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Park With Great Club Support!

1    10/23/2015   11/3/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wilmore Park is a lovely, green park with rolling terrain and a of couple pretty lakes. The lakes are always present but don't really come into play on the course.

This is a course where you can see that the local club, in this case, the St. Louis Disc Club, has really put forth the effort into making this a first class disc golfing experience. Their mark is everywhere, starting with the kiosk with it's league and tourney information and then on to the nice, new 12' concrete tee pads. They wider at the back which helps direct you to the hole and also have a 4' long concrete foul box. The tee signs are attached to 4" x 4" and have bag holder hooks. The signs give the basic information. The baskets are the Gateway triple chain models. They're nice although a little hard to spot in the shady woods. I'd always prefer the brighter DGA models.

One nice thing about this course is the variety of distances. There is one nice short ACE run (# 6 @ 184'), another slightly longer ACE possibility on # 16 playing about 266' and then a nice combination of holes in the 300' range, some 400', some 500' and then # 11 playing over 700' from the short and over 900' from the longer tees.

The course is mostly open with a scattering of trees, just enough to provide challenge throughout the hole, whether it be early off the tee, mid-fairway or around the baskets. But they are usually used to maximum benefit. There is virtually no underbrush on the course. Coming from the Northwest, I appreciate these Midwestern courses with little to no underbrush. But this lack of underbrush means that errant shots are not punished too severely. It's almost always fairly easy to get back on track, perhaps with just a loss of a stroke.
Cons: There were some long walkouts. Some felt necessary, others seem unnecessary to me.

The mostly open terrain did seem to get a little redundant to me. I found myself looking to try different shots, just to amuse myself on some holes. Like how far can I throw a roller here. But saying that, the course is great for those possessing a nice roller in their repertoire.

Other Thoughts: I'm not completely sold on the red foul box on the tee pads. I'd hate to see some nit picky player calling a foul box violation in crucial situation in a tournament. I know the reasoning behind them but I don't know if they're worth the hassles that could possibly arise.

This is just one really fun, comfortable park to come and play disc golf. Although long, beginner type players could enjoy a round here due to the lack of obstacles and underbrush. Advanced type players, I think will find challenge playing from the longer tees. I just wish the course had the one or maybe even two, really signature types holes, that players remember and talk about after they leave the park.

These nicely rolling hills are always good fun to throw in. Keep up the good work here, St. Louis Disc Club!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/30/2015   5/10/2015
Review By: TheGodfather
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Loved how open the course was. Holes were challenging with a great variety of woods & openness.
Cons: Being the first time I played the course I found it difficult to find where the holes were. There were no scorecards so I had to look at the course from my iPhone to see a map of each hole.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.