Abingdon, VA 
VHCC Wolves DGC Share
Uploaded By: mdeangmu Hole #8 (Taken 8/2013)
4 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    3/17/2016   3/21/2016
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 97  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an excellent 9-hole course on the campus of Virginia Highlands Community College in SW Virginia, right off Interstate 81. If you live in the area or are passing through on I-81, I highly recommend bagging this course.

1. The biggest pro for me, by far, is the amazing scenery of the course and the surrounding mountains. The course begins at the top of a steep hill with breathtaking views of the course and campus. It's a great setting.

2. Being in the mountains, the elevation on the course is off the charts. Hole 1 is a big valley shot. My favorite hole, #8, is also a valley shot. There's also a ridge shot, #9, playing to a blind pin placement. The elevation -- and being able to watch the flight of the disc across valleys and down hills -- is awesome.

3. I like the blind basket locations. Amazingly, on a 9-hole course, five of them play to baskets you can't see from the tee: 2, 3, 5, 6, and 9. I like this challenge.

4. Several holes are extremely short (also a con), but they make for easy ace runs: holes 3, 4, and 7, especially. The distance on these holes is 147, 144, and 153, respectively.

5. Navigation is intuitive and simple.

6. The rough is fair. This is mostly an open, park style course, but there are trees and shrubs lining a few fairways. Not hard to find your disc if you make it into the rough, but not easy to get out either.

7. The proximity to Interstate 81 makes this an easy course to play if you're just passing through. I love playing 9-hole courses, particularly, and just being able to pull of the interstate to stretch my legs and throw discs.
Cons: 1. My main con for this course is that a few of the holes are exceptionally easy (the aforementioned holes 3, 4, and 7). Going for aces is fun, but the ease and length of these holes fit better with a kids' pitch-and-putt (or putt-and-putt) style course. Other holes offer a good challenge for intermediate level players, but not these.

2. It's only 9 holes! Another 9 like the 6 more challenging holes and this course would be in the 3.0 to 3.5 range for me.

3. There are two par 4's on the course. This is a minor quibble, but they both should probably be par 3's, especially #8. The best data point on this is that I had eagle putts on both. (I'm not good enough to have a lot of eagle putts.)
Other Thoughts: Excellent 9-hole course that I recommend you play!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Make it a longer 18 and you have something special

1    8/9/2014   10/2/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 153  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located a stone's throw from I-81 so you won't have to meander long back roads to get there. It is also located on a college campus, allowing it to be very well maintained.

You'll pull up directly at hole 1 in the sizable parking lot. Hole 1 is probably my favorite on the whole course. It's the only hole you'd likely find on a championship caliber course, as one of the open holes. The whole place is picturesque, in fact one of the holes was feature in Innova's 2014 calendar.

The tee pads are all concrete and are plenty big enough for the size of the holes. Water is somewhat in play, depending on the time of year I'm assuming, but nothing that makes you over-think the holes.

Apart from hole 1 though (and maybe hole 2), the layout is kinda lacking. Every hole is in the open, usually with some sparse trees near the basket. Hole 1 and 9 are the only two holes where you can even remotely test the limits of your arm.

Play the course a few times and you'll likely have a few ace runs or even some legitimate splashes, however only a few of the holes would be worthy of sharing that accomplishment (Hole 2 would be pretty cool).

The signs are among the best I've ever seen on a disc golf course. They really are country club quality CNC'd wooden signs of which attention was paid to the details. More disc golf courses should aspire to provide signs like these.

Due to the short nature of the course, you likely won't have a tough time navigating. The only long walk between holes is from 7-8 (which should have been a cool wooded up-the-hill hole in itself, but I digress), but you will see another well made sign pointing you in the right direction.
Cons: Many of the holes are far too short to be taken seriously, namely 3 and 4. Sure, 3 may be a tight dog leg, but it can easily be overthrown with a putter. As others have pointed out, you'll want to throw at 5's basket when you arrive on 3's teepad. It's not straight ahead, it's behind the bush on your left!

Hole 4, as I alluded to previously, might as well be putting practice. Someone could reasonably jump putt or turbo putt from the tee pad and park it. Yea you might hit an ace, but will you be proud of it?

Hole 6 contains thick underbrush on both sides of the fairway. Throw something you're very confident with, otherwise you're likely to be digging through ivy. Hole 8 is a little of the same, with thick bushes surrounding the basket that could easily swallow a disc.

I feel like more could be done with hole 9. It's a blind shot and honestly feels like a connector, even though it only serves to connect you back to the parking lot[almost]. Maybe start it up the hill from 8 and shoot down, allow for a big arm to open up perhaps?

There isn't any benches or other amenities, but you really won't need them, so just a minor con.
Other Thoughts: I didn't drive around the campus to be sure, but I feel like it's plenty large enough to make a legitimate 18 hole course, or at least a longer 9. If they were to do this, it would definitely step up the rating for the place. It's a fun little course, but too short to be competitive. Put the same effort into making the course longer that you put into making the signs and pads and you'll have yourselves a little dandy!

You should definitely check this course out if you're driving through on the interstate. It's extremely close to the exit and should only take you 45 minutes (if that) to complete, barring you don't lose a disc.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Stop if Traveling By

1    9/24/2014   10/1/2014
Review By: Enzy
Played: 72  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun course to stop and play on Vacation - Here are my pros
1.) Near the interstate for an easy stop in
2.) Enough elevation change to make you stop and think about your disc selection
3.) Variety of hole lengths - range from 144 to 375
4.) Not too far on to campus so you can play when classes are in session
5.) It has its own parking lot
6.) Easy to navigate; good signage
Cons: No Serious Con's but here they are:
1.) Tee pads are concrete but short - about 6 feet long
2.) Hole 3's tee pad makes you want to throw at hole 5 - this has been mentioned before but I still almost made the mistake. Hole 3 is a sharp hook left.
Other Thoughts: It was a good 9 hole course. I would hope that if the course see's enough traffic that they would expand to an 18 holer, there is enough space from what I saw.

This course had its picture in the Innova 2014 Calendar. It was a picture of hole 8 for the month of June

When I played the course the course conditions said the course needed to be mowed, this was on 6/28. When I played the course on 9/24 the grass still needed mowing but it was still just ankle high

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice new course

1    7/29/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: JimDK27
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, easily followed layout, good mix of elevation changes and hole length, very little under brush in the trees
Cons: Some poison ivy but it is avoidable, the tee pads seemed a little short, some of the holes were very short and hole 4 was exceptionally bland
Other Thoughts: Hole 3 is misleading. The basket you see from the tee pad is for hole 5. Hole 3's basket is tucked up to the left about halfway between the tee ad and the basket you can see. I would recommend this course to anyone passing through the area that needs to get out and stretch their legs as it is right off Virginia exit 14 on I-81 and plays fairly quickly if are consistent with your drives.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A 9-Hole Course for Everyone

1    6/27/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 24  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great variety of holes! Although I am predominately RHB, I had to throw RHF and the Hammer/Tomahawk a couple times each.
- Excellent signage; All holes are displayed well and it is easy to navigate from hole to hole.
- All concrete tees and baskets are in excellent condition.
- VHCC is a course for all levels of players who are seeking a challenge in addition to a fun course.
- Holes are a fair distance apart, and although a crowded round might be rare, needing to keep a lookout for others' discs is unnecessary.
Cons:
- Although playing for aces may be a "Pro" to some, the simplicity of a couple holes may become a bore.
- The grass needs to be cut, badly, the foliage can be dense. A disc shouldn't be lost, but be weary.
- There is only one tee for all holes and it seems as though the current pins will not be moved from their positions.
Other Thoughts: As this is a 9-hole course, I must compare it to other 9-hole courses, and frankly VHCC is a must. This course can be rather easy for the professional (I consider myself a beginner and scored -2), but undoubtedly this course provides plenty of variety that will keep all players on their toes. Behind Steele Creek Park, this is one of the best 9-hole courses in the area and I would certainly recommend it to all players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/14/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: jmiller
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very well maintained. has a mixture of short and long holes. semi technical on a few holes. all holes have a concrete tee with a sign displaying info
Cons: only 9 holes. I could see the course getting crowded easily.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great little course, close to downtown Abingdon

1    8/16/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: mdeangmu
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome, fairly quick 9 hole course that is close to home. Well groomed and you are not likely to lose a disc. Nice view of mountains from several holes. Course is well marked out so no getting lost looking for the next tee. Even have permanent signs along the few wooded paths pointing you were to go. Well groomed and great tee pads perfectly placed with no drop offs at ends of concrete pad like some places. Tees and baskets close to trees so a lot of nice shade for playing in the summer.
Cons: There are few cool paths through the pines that may have offered an opportunity for a wooded hole. Not the biggest challenge but not really a negative.
Other Thoughts: Quickly becoming my favorite course. Hole 7 could be changed to a have a left mando around the pine directly in front of the tee. Otherwise, pretty easy birdie (as long as you don't hit one of the trees in the lane to the hole).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center