Austin, TX 
Fedd Fairways DGC Share
Uploaded By: ashtonscottphillips Hole #1 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 146ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Fun little church course

1    3/6/2018   3/11/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement Tees
Good tee signs with map and distance marked
decent flow
Course map at hole 1
Ample parking as long as church is not going on, or an event in the amphitheater.
Nicest course sign I have ever seen.
Cons: This is a 9 hole course, but might play a little hard on a few of the holes for families
Other Thoughts: If this was my church, I would be proud of this little 9 hole course.

The first tee is located behind the Amphitheater and has a beautiful sign for the course.

There is a map at hole one located in a circular fenced in area. The basket is a little hard to see at first, it is located across a flood control area behind another circular fence/walled in area. If you got an overhand shot, this is perfect for it, the rest of us need to spike hyzer to get it to land in the green. If you overthrow, about 10 ft behind the basket is a drop off.

#2 tee's off down the wall from another circular area and throws across the creek. Nice little soft hyzer for a right hander. There is a path so you don't have to go all the way to the bridge.

#3 is a nice little pitch with a few trees to throw under/around

#4 is pretty much a wide open 350ft shot

#5 is another little pitch ace run time.

#6 is only 229 ft, right to left shot, but watch out for the large tree on the right, over throw it and your looking at a 3.

#7 is a long 500ft shot from behind a fence with some rough on the right and rough on the left down near the basket. The rough is about 300 ft from the tee, so if you throw farther than that, placement is more important.

Next, walk up the road, across the creek and up the hill towards the dog walking area. This is a short little hyzer that looks like it has recently been cleared out.

#9 is back towards the creek, big anhyzer on the side of the hill from the creek. This green also looks like it has recently been cleaned up.

In all, this is a nice little 9 hole course. Not hard, but not too easy either. Except for holes 2 and 7, this course is family friendly in that everyone can enjoy a round here.

Would I play here again?

No, but not because it is not worth paying, but because there are two killer courses within 10 min of this course. But if you are short on time, it is a fun little course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 fun church course, great land

1    5/27/2017   6/2/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very good signage, at each tee and course map at hole 1
-cool variety of holes
-well designed to take advantage of the land features: elevation, creek, woods
-natural tees in good condition (wooden frames)
-early and late danger on most tee shots
Cons: -some of the rough is REALLY rough
-finding tee 2 can be tricky, that area is a bit overgrown
-navigation in general is tough in a few spots if you don't use the map
-the green on hole 9 has tons of ivy-like plants growing thick and low to the ground. tough to locate your disc on this blind throw from the tee.
Other Thoughts: I wasn't expecting much from this course due to the lack of reviews. It looks like the kind of course that gets installed and forgotten. But Fedd Fairways was freshly mowed the day I played and was mostly in pretty great condition.

The first hole is easy to overlook because it doesn't look at all like a fairway. The tee is under a tree with a fence directly in front of you, playing over a small field that looks like a flood plain. Ahead is a retaining wall and fence with the green behind it, elevated about the rest of the fairway. Trees guard the basket and there is a drop-off just past it so the play is just to try and crash the trees and stick the green. Approach the green around the right side; there is a gap in the fence. A cool, unique-looking starting hole and the most visually memorable.

The next 4 holes play through the area on the right side of the entry road. Hole 2 is a fun downhill across the creek, Hole 3 is a shorty with a tight window but an open green. Hole 4 is longer, open, and slightly uphill. Hole 5 has a large tree right off the tee and you can go to the left or right. Cross the road to get to Hole 6, a righty hyzer tunnel. Hole 7 is a longer Par 4 at 505'. There is lots of nasty rough on either side of the fairway, which narrows as you approach the basket. Holes 8 and 9 are short righty and lefty hyzers, respectively, through fairly wide tunnel gaps. Hole 9 has a cool, hillside green but it's covered in thick ivy plants that hide the ground and your disc. Use a spotter if you can.

I thought this was a really fun course for an intermediate player. Some of the rough on the back 4 might be off-putting for beginners and it's a pretty easy round for an advanced player but it's perfect for the average player. A bit out of the way from Downtown and there are great 18 hole courses that are closer but I would definitely play again here if I were in the area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, family friendly course, but stay in bounds!

2-4    11/8/2014   11/8/2014
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 55  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice, well maintained course that you can take your family or disc golf first timers to. The property is very nice with excellent views and unlike many "easy" courses, it's not in a public park where you run the risk of overlapping with joggers, picnickers, etc.

While not necessary challenging, the holes were well thought out and at least made you think a bit.
Cons: The biggest con for me were all the thorns and danger zones off the fairways. I live in Austin and play a lot in the area, but for some reason the vegetation seemed worse to me here than I would have expected. Played 2 rounds in shorts, and really tore up my legs on 7 when my drive ended up in the rough between 6 & 7.

Navigation is a little weird in a couple of spots, especially from 7 to 8, so be sure and look at the map.

Of course, concrete pads would have been nice, these are just rock/dirt beds basically.
Other Thoughts: It's a little bit of a drive for me to play here regularly when there are so many great courses in Austin if I want to drive south, so I'll probably skip this in the future, (I live up in Cedar Park) but I could definitely see locals bringing new friends and family here to play. Seems like a very nice course to cut your teeth on.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

2-4    12/17/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: GT Chris
Played: 101  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is fun little course that seems to perfectly suit the piece of property it was built on. I absolutely loved the atmosphere out here: the land had a different feel from most other area courses, and reminded me more of the courses I've played in Georgia and South Carolina than other courses around Austin. It is also relatively secluded, as opposed to more crowded courses (Zilker, Searight). Each hole had a brand new Discatcher basket and the tee signs were wonderful.

The course itself was short and straightforward, and can be enjoyed with nothing faster than a midrange. It is similar to Searight and Zilker in terms of difficulty and length. Most of the short holes do require some finesse though, so you've still got to hit your lines. There is some water and elevation that comes into play, and the designer did a great job taking advantage of the topography.

Standout holes were 1 and 3. The first has the basket on a downslope and tucked behind a low fence. Come in low and you're stopped by the fence, but come in too hot and you may or may not end up down the hill. The third is a lovely little ace run, a short downhill hole with a gap about a third of the way down the fairway that you've got to hit to have a chance.
Cons: The only real cons here have nothing to do with the course, but it's relation to other higher-rated courses. There are only nine holes, seven of which are drivable with a putter or midrange. The tees are natural, though they were in great shape when I played them and most holes don't require much of a runup. There were no benches or bag holders, but they didn't really seem necessary.
Other Thoughts: I really wanted to rate this course higher than a 2.5. The best way to justify it might be to break it into two ratings: the fun factor is something like 4 or 4.5, but the technical challenge is only 1 or 1.5.

So let that be the takeaway message. For what it is, this course is absolutely fantastic. If you're looking to tune up your short game or introduce new players to the game, this is probably the best place to go.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.