Madison, WI 
Hiestand Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 259ft.   3 / 359ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Fun course

1    8/19/2017   8/20/2017
Review By: JoeDirt
Played: 70  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: Multiple tee pads. Good mix of shots and good use of elevation. We played the long pads. Rewards smart style players that stay in the fairway. Aggressive scoring opportunities but make you pay if you go in the rough. Good value for the $. Local Discgolf store located across the street from parking for the course. Well designed in terms of flow.
Cons: Although the course is designed well for flow, the short pads looked really close, and many times we had groups behind us cut across our fairway not even realizing that we were in process of teeing off from the long pads. Course could use some warning signs in a few places for safety. I think some of the short pads could benefit from maybe a little longer layout. Didn't look like there was many places to park a car. Didn't see any bathrooms or water on the course. I may have missed where they were though.
Other Thoughts: Really liked this course, it fits in well with the other courses in the area. Played it right after I played Elver in the same day. These two courses are great for 2 rounds in the same day, I think they compliment each other well.

Mad City

1    5/21/2017   5/26/2017
Review By: JLHJLH
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 0.4 Years
Pros: different looks, not too technical but offering a challenge to my group. Hilly and very nice views. The course is hidden from most of the urban area that surrounds it. The pay to play aspect is a bit disconcerting for a city as liberal as Madison, but, in this day and age I suppose it has become a necessity. Well marked, with directional arrow to the next tees. I WOULD travel here from Milwaukee again to play.
Cons: As long as it continues to be maintained and as long as the crowds don't start to back up it is a lot of fun. No parking lot (park on the street nearby).
Other Thoughts: I am not promoting anything in particular, but I always like to say thanks to people who have disc golf shops nearby . . . . this one is across the street at the end of a small strip mall . . . they guy is getting it together, and he has more discs than most shops I have seen . . . . if you want something (I was looking for lighter weight disks that I can't find on the internet . . . .he came up with three).
Just sayin'

My Home Course

5+    11/15/2015   1/7/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 24.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2016
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A wooded, technical, hilly beast of a course on the east side of Madison. I've logged well over 1000 rounds here and gotten 15 aces on three of its holes alone, but it's still a challenge that rewards great shot making and penalizes a person for being off just a little (clip a tree on 6 and go left and have to make that 150 foot lefty spike anhyzer recovery and you'll see what I mean).
Cons: It was once overrun with trash and disc thieves, but the city has gone to pay for play and the course is now clean and they have made numerous improvements in the infrastructure.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Solid city course

5+    7/16/2016   7/5/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 337  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2016
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course in a city park. Scenery is definitely above average, especially for being stuck in the middle of town!

Two concrete tee pads on nearly every hole, almost all in good repair. Grippy and 12' long. A few that could use some updating (hole 9 long, I'm looking at you).

Tee signs have distances, minimal topography, and pin placements. Only thing missing is a way to identify which placement is in.

Nice use of elevation in certain places. Also, the different am and pro tees offer much different lines and distances. Very well done on this part of the design.

Good mix of open and wooded holes. The short tee fairways are mostly pretty open here, so the beginning and intermediate players should not be intimidated. The long tees offer a far larger challenge. Long lines, and tight. Your game gets a workout, but every hole has some sort of fair line to it.
Cons: There's not a ton to gripe about with this course. It does get quite busy during peak times, being right in town.

Like many of the Madison area courses, there's a lot of straight, or left to right type holes. They're mixed in pretty well, but you definitely notice it by the end of the round.

$5 pay to play is a bit steep, IMO. It's a nice course, but that much, for a city park, seems like gouging, especially if you factor in how much traffic there is.
Other Thoughts: This is a really solid course, especially from the longs. It's definitely the sibling of Elver, and has much the same feel to it.

Glide disc golf shop is directly across the street from hole 1, and offers up a huge selection of fairly priced discs, as well as an owner (and employees) that are more than willing to help with your disc selections. Just don't get suckered into buying a Champ Viking.

Nice course to run, and if you mix it with Elver, will make for a great day of throwing!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great city course

5+    6/20/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: zdwyatt
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.2 Years
Pros: The course is well-balanced, with a nice blend of lengths and shot shapes. The course varies from open fields to tight wooded holes. Each hole has two concrete tee pads and multiple pin locations (though they don't seem to get changed very often).
Cons: This a popular city course, so it's usually very busy. The course also suffers from trash and vandalism, though the new pay-to-play requirement seems to be improving that. More than any other course in Madison, this one seems to attract the beer-drinking, pot-smoking crowd. This can lead to some slow groups and, on occasion, belligerent players.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course overall. I'd rank it second among Madison courses, behind Token Creek/Vallarta-Ast. The scenery of the course is pleasant, as are the views of the city.

  Just an overview

5+    6/17/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: Chainz3
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very easy to navigate where each hole leads
- Very nice mixture of open and wooded
- Great course for anybody (Lefty, righty, Backhand, etc.)
- Good mix of distances
- Quality baskets
- Pro shop across the street
Cons: - Brush is tough to find discs in when it is fully grown
- Some teepads are very dusty which causes a lot of error
- Too much broken glass, cigarette buts, and grass pulled up
Other Thoughts: $5 to play for afternoon or $40 for a season pass
(Pay to play only for ages 17 and up)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Madison Course!

5+    7/11/2011   3/23/2013
Review By: Jmpviper
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Has a mixture of flat lands, hills, and trees. The holes change up a lot making you utilize your different skills. A couple tee offs overlooking the city of Madison resulting in a great view.
Cons: Sometimes there's an abundance of people. It's in the city of Madison so on some days there will be other disc golfers or soccer players in the area. Best to go in the early morning to better avoid the crowds.
Other Thoughts: Probably the second best course in the Madison area but still a good course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    12/13/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 55  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course offers a variety of holes and shots. There are many technical holes in the woods, some open holes, many birdie opportunities. The holes in the woods definitely require some technical and accurate shots, but are certainly fair. The lanes in the woods are quite wide with scattered trees in the middle of the fairways on many holes. This gives you the opportunity to chose between several different lane options and make the course quite unique. Trees definitely play a bigger role from the long tees. There are also a bunch of holes with nice elevation change, including 3, 15, 17, and 18, which offers a nice change of pace. Several holes, including 8, 10, and 17 have role away pin locations as well. Hole 3 is about 500 ft. downhill and is definitely the signature hole on the course. Personally, my favorite hole is 15. It's an awesome downhill hole with a wide open fair with woods on both sides. When it's calm, I love laying out a long, slow turnover shot. The maintenance of the course is also well done. I throw RHBH and the course offers many opportunities for throwing hyzers and anhyzer shots. It is a great course for both left and right handed players, regardless of whether you backhand or forehand. The city also does a nice job of moving around pin locations throughout the season, which makes for a nice change of pace. There is also a practice pin near the first tee pad, which is nice to warm up on.
Cons: The course is always busy. It also lacks quality landscaping to prevent erosion control, which makes many holes muddy after a rainfall. The signs could also be improved, along with adding some benches and more garbage cans.
Other Thoughts: I go to school at UW and this course is very comparable to the courses I play in Minnesota. The only odd thing is that everyone is Madison play the short tee pads, which was quite a change for me. I have played the course a few times from the long tees and it certainly makes the course a lot more challenging. I also can't wait until this course and Elver are pay to play next spring so that the things I mentioned in the cons section above can see some improvement. It will also help with cleaning up the course a bit and getting rid of some of the rift raft. The course has a lot of potential.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Hiestand Park...

5+    6/2/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: theaeroeagle1877
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easily accessible area, right off of one of Madison's main roads.
-Well maintained.
-Some variety (see cons)
-Multi-pin placement changes the course every time you play, giving you a new challenge many times over.
-Good blend of long fairways, wooded challenge shots, uphill, and down hill.
Cons: -Very busy course
-Could use more of the park and have more variety.
-Lots of overgrowth on both sides of fairway make it hard to find stray disc.
Other Thoughts: I love this park, I typically try to go at night, when less people are present.
I feel as though they could have used more of the land to make the course vary in different areas.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Out of town perspective

1    10/7/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
It's hard to add to what the other reviews have said in either category, but I'll go ahead and try to keep it short.

> Nice, large, level red and blue tee pads.
> Decent Tee signs with accurate distances and reasonable display of pin placements.
> Multiple pin placements that look like they'd really offer a different game.
> Amazing use of the location, terrain and nature.
> Great variety of shots.
> Excellent mix of risk and reward by creative use of obstacles and topography.
> Clean and well maintained.
Cons: Like the previous review, there isn't much "bad" to say, just nit-picking.

> The course feels like the holes could be longer in many places, even playing from the blue pads. I'd have liked a few more holes where I could really let it rip.
> There were a few safety issues on the course because a couple of fairways overlapped tees for the next hole and I almost knocked another player out with a drive that went just a few feet out of sight... sorry.
> The blue tees could be placed at slightly more creative angles... but they're still very welcome on a course that already felt a bit short.
> I hate to be "that guy", but there were way too many players on the course that felt perfectly at home lighting up their joints in front of everyone. I don't mind the pot smoking at all, but DGer's have a hard enough time with negative stereotypes turning off the general public (and especially the parks depts.) without people going out of their way to reinforce that negative impression. Some jacka$$ even spray painted 420 in giant silver letters on a tree right in the middle of a fairway. Try to use a little discretion, jeesh.
Other Thoughts: I'm from way, way out of town and stopped through this course while visiting relatives. Very, very impressive. My home town may have a lot more courses than the Madison area, but this one is as good as any I've played. It is so obvious by how beautiful and just downright scenic Hiestand Park DGC is that the designer was given full reign to make this course and if they weren't, they did the best job ever of making good use. I love the way that each hole felt totally unique and in many cases, like I had just been teleported a hundred miles just by walking to the next tee because of the change of scenery. I don't know if the wind is always as much of a factor at this park, but it was really blowing when I played and made for a very hard game that blew any chances of a good score for me.
Getting some more length and a little more curve out of some of the holes, along with some Mando signs, would easily move this course into the 4.5 to 5 range for me.
Locals, cherish this gem and give respect to the MadCity Disc golf club for keeping it so nice.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.