Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - The Woods Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 10/2016)
3 / 189ft.   3 / 189ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Impossible

1    9/2/2017   9/5/2017
Review By: bstiles00
Played: 86  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are a handful of really good fair holes on this course which is saving it from a worse rating. I love playing difficult courses with demanding lines but The Woods is not that. There are glimpses of greatness with some of the hole designs 5,6,7,12 and a few other solid holes
Cons: Unfair and virtually impossible lines is the best way to describe this course. Solid layout with about 100 too many trees. Most holes would greatly benefit from the removal of about 4-5 trees to complete the actual fairway. Several times the initial gap is played to a landing zone on a par 3 to then weave through the woods not an actual fairway to the green. Many of the holes I could not even imagine a shot on the par 3 hole that would put me on the green for even an obstructed putt. Several times the players I played with said throw it at that bush and try to punch through for an obstructed putt.
Other Thoughts: If the fairways were cleared to make actual playable lines this could be a good course. With the current state and how close an amazing course like T-1 and T-2 there is no reason to ever play this course. It is far inferior to the other courses on the same property.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Short and technical, but not difficult

1    8/20/2017   8/21/2017
Review By: allenshorter
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of technical holes. Fun layout. Pretty good signage for now. Fairly easy to navigate.
Cons: Lots of extreme right turn shots in just a few holes. I would like to see more variety but could be fixed easily with alt positions. I did not think the course was as challenging as it could be. The carpet teepads there now are obnoxiously skinny. There were only a couple of holes that I felt like were just throwing at a basket in a field.
Other Thoughts: I could see rating this a 4 when it has concrete tee pads and a few alt positions.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mediocre part of a cool set.

1    7/13/2017   7/13/2017
Review By: prerube
Played: 250  Reviewed: 222  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Several fun ace runs.

1/3 of a set that can entertain you for days with camping and cabins on site. Pool onsite, several bathrooms, vending machine, and discs for sale in the club houses.
Cons: The starts pf all 3 courses were hard to find. Next tee signs help if they are still intact. A few spots where navigation and flow could have been better. Hole 5 is easy to get lost.

The maps are garbage. No help at all. There needs to be signage to guide tou to the start of each course.

Not a good course for competition. Not much scoring seperation between various level players. Every hole in the front 9 is an easy 3 for any level.

For being in the "woods" there was suprisingly little shade.
Other Thoughts: $4 per car is nothing when all the amenaties are taken in. ($2 single player for all 3 courses)

a little maintenence and new pads and this course is an easy 3 star.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

T3?

1    4/15/2017   5/26/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 201  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 3.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.495 Rating) Not a fully developed course as of my April 2017 round.
- CHALLENGING - Despite the short length, this course will challenge you in a different way when compared to the other two courses on site. If you like short technical courses, this has the possibility of being your favorite course at Bill Frederick Park. Although, I think that notion is still years away for most.
- SHOT SHAPING - Although far from the most wooded layout I've played, the course will require the most shot shaping of the 3 courses. 8 or 9 shots on this layout with need to be released at a precise point and move in well thought out line. A run of holes (9 - 14) will be a welcome treat for those who can perform magic tricks with their discs.
- CHILL AREAS - There are lots of secluded nooks to take a break in, that is if you brought your own seating or if you don't mind sitting on the ground. I'm sure if you're reading this, and year has passed since my review, benches will be here.
- ACE RUNS - Several shots are very much on the short side. If you hit the right line on (4,12 or 14) the sound of chains may be in your future. All of those holes are at or under 200 feet from the back/only tees.
- TWO MORE COURSES ON SITE - Can you really go wrong with 54 holes at one location?
Cons: The Woods has a ways to go to get to the same level of the other two courses.
- NAVIGATION - Horrible. I'm sure I'll be fixed soon, but it did not help that I received the old map from the gate office. My playing partner and I got turned around several times and coupled with a bad map, mislabeled baskets, and tee #s that didn't match the basket #s, it got real frustrating. I found out later, that the DGCR map is a more accurate map. All this stated, it appears that the course may still be going through some tweaking, so be cognizant of the added adventure possibilities.
- FORGIVENESS - There are a couple holes on this layout that can be real punishing if you miss a 4 foot lane. Holes (9, 10 and 13) are all holes without much of a plausible angle to the basket and ricochets are almost guaranteed. A bad bounce, and a bogie will become your objective.
- OVERGROWTH - Of the 3 courses on site, this one by far has the most overgrowth coverage. It's by no means the worst out there, but definitely very subpar if you like manicured courses.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Way too difficult for beginners. I could also see many recreation players also not liking this course as well if they don't like heavy to moderately wooded technical courses. Beginners are best served to stick with the original course.
- CHARACTER - Considering that this course is still in its infancy, it lacks just about all of the niceties present at the other two courses at the time of my April 2017 round. Natural and carpet tees, no hole signage other than number, no practice basket, no multiple basket placements, no bag holders, no seating and no restrooms. The tees however, were mostly shaded and there were two tees at many of the holes.
- ELEVATION - Really not that much and below average for even Florida. I don't think The Woods course changes by 10 feet on any one hole. Maybe holes ( 2 or 5) approach 10 feet in change.
- UNIQUENESS - In addition to poor elevation, the course hole variety is about average or slightly below. A bunch of technical wooded shots with only one approachable angle. Although you'll see water, it's really not in play to force a line. No par 4s or 5s. Only one sort-of dogleg hole on (13).
- RAW BEAUTY - The Woods course does not have the same grace as the other two Bill Frederick courses. The tree removal scars are very much present at the time of this review and parts the course have tractor track wounds as well.

Other Thoughts: The Woods course is still fresh and for that reason, it is still lacking in many areas when compared to other well established courses. Ultimately, I see The Woods course approaching a 3 to 3.5 rating if its flaws are fixed, but I just cant imagine it ever approaching the dominance of T2.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Woods

5+    4/10/2017   3/9/2017
Review By: mjanssen
Played: 141  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2017
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great compliment to the other two courses on site. Between all three, you are required to use all the shots in your arsenal. The Woods is intended for up to Advanced level players who are interested in working out tight woods shots. The course is a mix of light and heavy wooded fairways and even a few open holes. Some elevation, especially for the flat sandbar that is Florida.
Cons: Currently carpet tee pads. This will change in 2017 as the course is now permanent. Not for pro level players unless they are trying to fine tune their mid-length accuracy tee shot. Final course configuration was finalized in late April of 2017 and it will take a while for the course to "mature".
Other Thoughts: For general knowledge, the Equestrian course was installed and removed for tournament play during the annual a-tier Southeastern Amateur Championship. After the last event, the course became permanent and has been renamed The Woods. In the process, a total of seven new holes have been developed and tweaks to many of the remaining with second tee areas now on 12 of the holes for White level. The course is developed as a Red/White level course to compliment the other two courses on property.
Any listing (for Equestrian) should be noted as closed course in the near future due to the major changes in the new configuration and name change.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

3.2

1    2/11/2017   2/12/2017
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 135  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 13.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The equestrian course was the most secluded of the three courses at Turkey Lake Park. The course winds its way through the woods of the park and struck me as a "backyard" style course, with very short, technical holes.

There were a variety of fun shots demanded off the tee, but none of the roughs were too punishing, making this course a great place to bring a beginner.

Hole 17 is the most scenic of the holes of the course, with a cool view of the lake behind the pin.

The course benefits from proximity to two other highly rated courses. The daily car fee will get you into all three of the courses, and this course will be a nice change of pace from the other two.
Cons: While the equestrian course made for an enjoyable round, there were several things that held its rating down.

Quality of disc golf - the disc golf here is catered mainly to beginners. There are no championship caliber holes, and no chances for bigger arms to throw anything more than a mid-range. Some of the holes were extremely short, even for a beginner (102' hole in the middle of the round).

Work in Progress - it's clear that the course is still new, and in time will likely improve in a few areas. A few of the "Par 4's" on this course are only par 4s because there is insufficient clearing of branches, debris, etc. Carpet pads are ok, but not ideal. I imagine this will change if/when this becomes a permanent course.
Other Thoughts: If you are spending the day at Turkey Lake, you should definitely play this course, as well as the others on site. As a standalone course, the equestrian course is not worth going out of your way for, but it is a nice complement to the other courses at Turkey Lake.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice alternative for Intermediate Players

1    9/14/2016   11/28/2016
Review By: galluni
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide variety of fairways, from wide open to guarded to densely wooded. (Hole 14 is only 100 feet long, but the trees are so thick it's one of the hardest on the course!)
Very nice tee pads.
Cons: Only one tee per hole.
Like most of Florida, it's a very flat course.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice alternative for Intermediate players to the longer and more challenging Turkey Lake and Turkeynator courses at Bill Frederick Park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.