Waxahachie, TX 
Brown-Singleton Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #17 (Taken 7/2017)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Above average course

5+    3/13/2021   4/5/2021
Review By: Par Hunter
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 3 different places to park; if the main lot is full there is more parking by holes 4 and 14. The one by 4 is Bell-vue Park. Curbside has been removed from part of the main lot, allowing parking on the grass if it hasn't rained in awhile.
Very fair balance between right and left friendly tee shots and second shots.
Pedestrians are more aware of their surroundings than at other courses I have played, so a lower danger factor.
There are plenty of places to stop and rest and decent shade for North Texas.
There are two basket placements at most of the holes and periodically they are switched, keeping the course fresh.
The 21 holes give it a unique feel.
It is a nice park; pleasant to visit not just to play.
Cons: Expect significant water and mud on holes 3, 7, and 20 if there has been any rain in the past 2 weeks. Expect to get mud on you at some point and shoes to be soaked.
This course is hungry for your disks. A bad tee shot gives you a chance to lose your disc on over half of the holes.
Retrieving discs can be punishing and time consuming due to heavy brush, thorns, and a steep bank down to the creek in the rough.
Watch the wind on 5. It is easy to throw in the pond if it is blowing right to left. A guy told me he retrieved 400 discs from the pond with a wetsuit one time.
Wind overcomes skill on some holes if you use understable or putt at an angle. What you think will be a par can turn into a double bogey in a hurry.
If cars park in the grass they can get stuck if it has recently rained. Trucks get out but make a mess of the ground.
Other Thoughts: Bring water. There is none available at the park.
There is a port-a-potty for restrooms at holes 1 and 4.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Brown-Singleton (redesigned to 21 holes)

1    7/3/2020   7/4/2020
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Land is well used. There aren't a ton of trees, but they come into play, and the creek is often a factor. You only throw across water twice (once is from the edge of the creek, so no worries about the carry), but fairways and baskets often hug the creek, making accuracy crucial.
-- Map at parking lot.
-- Practice basket.
-- Direction to next tee on some (but not all) tee signs. Pay attention.
-- Two basket positions for most holes, although one looked to be damaged, and on a couple of holes, I never found the alternate position.
-- Some baskets are numbered.
-- Good mix of distances: Seven holes 400 feet or longer and four 225 or shorter.
-- Port-o-potty at parking lot.
-- Trash cans throughout.
-- Seating. Not at every hole, but there are places to catch your breath. Some of these are picnic tables not specifically for disc golf but close enough to work.
-- No. 5 is a nice water carry (about 220 feet on a 260 foot hole) with a creek behind the basket. The problem is that the pond you have to carry is popular for fishing, so frequently you will have to either skip the hole or risk hitting someone.
Cons: -- Because of the redesign, some hole numbers are wrong, such as 19 being labeled 16 and 16 being labeled 11. The No. 12 basket says 9. Other baskets have no number, so finding your way can be a challenge. Throw in baskets that you can't see from the tee (or times when you can see a basket that is NOT the basket you are playing), and navigation is an issue. The map helps, but course flow is far from intuitive.
-- Probably because of the redesign as well, some tee signs show paths and directions to baskets that are incorrect (baskets that are left from the tee instead of right that the sign shows, for example). Also, some distances appear to be incorrect.
-- A large part of the course is in what appears to be a flood plain. Nos. 2, 3 and 7 had a lot of standing water, and the rest of the course was very muddy the day after a rain. I think this contributes to that part of the course not getting mowed very often.
-- Navigational aides intended to help are sometimes wrong. For example, after you complete No. 8 and are making you way toward No. 9, you come across a permanent sign telling you to continue that way to play No. 8. Because of the other navigational issues, it can make you question if you are playing the course correctly.
-- You throw over a walking path a few times, and it comes into play on a few other holes.
-- No. 13 (the shortest hole on the course at 170) plays entirely in a drainage ditch with a walking path 20 feet behind the basket.
Other Thoughts: -- Some comes up a lot in this review because the course underwent (is still undergoing) a redesign. The alternate tee pads appear to all be in place, but there are no signs. There are multiple pin positions for about half of the holes.
-- A sign as you exit U.S. 287 directs you to the disc golf course.
-- Twice (10/12 and 13/18) two tee pads are really close to each other in the shade (with a bench the second time). It makes for a nice gathering spot, but if you had a group on each tee, it would be really crowded. No. 11 (probably the best hole on the course at 315 feet RHFH with a 15-foot wide fairway between trees and the creek) finishes about 30 feet from the 10/12 tee area, so that could really get crowded.
-- After No. 3, go left and over a bridge to get to the area with holes 4-6. Lots of construction equipment will greet you. Go past the playground equipment to find the No. 4 tee. No. 7 throws back across the creek.
-- Tee pads are different lengths, generally ranging from 10 to 12 feet.
-- If it hasn't rained in a long time and if you can find your way around, this can be a fun course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Time to change the info on the course om this app

2-4    3/11/2020   3/12/2020
Review By: Heretik
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extra 3 holes added to the course for a total of 21. Multiple Tees and Pin Locations Variety
Cons: Not the best course to play after it rains. A part of the course will stay wet with mushy grounds for a week. Due to the new holes added, some of the tee signs are off. I.e hole 16 tee sign is at the new 19.
Other Thoughts: Solid course. Some longer open holes with a good mix of holes that require specific shit selections. Risk vs Reward on some. All around solid course

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  The hidden gem

5+    9/30/2017   10/4/2017
Review By: TheBuddha
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great course this is. I feel that this course is advanced enough to not be anywhere near pitch and putt, but forgivable enough to definitely be beginner friendly. There are 10 holes with alternate basket locations which is always nice to challenge different shots. With the 21 hole layout, there is a good mix of wooded holes (11) and fairly open holes (10). This course is all about distance control and will reward you when you get it right, and destroy you when you get it wrong. Although the half of the holes are quite open, there are factors that come into play to punish you if you miss-judge the distance as well as miss-judge the wind, as it seems to always be windy at the course. In it's current basket positions, the course plays (in my opinion) 1-righty, 2-righty, 3-lefty, 4-neutral, 5-righty, 6-righty, 6a-lefty, 7-lefty, 8-neutral, 8a-neutral, 8b-lefty, 9-righty, 10-lefty, 11-neutral (though it finishes left), 12-righty, 13-righty, 14-lefty, 15-neutral, 16-neutral, 17-lefty (though it could be neutral the shot for left hand back hand is significantly easier), 18-righty. That's (8) right hand back hand, (7) left hand back hand, and (6) neutral holes. Just a good mix and a fun play.
Cons: Maintenance. It seems the city does not do a very good job of consistently maintaining this course. When the grass is mowed this is a wonderful place to play, but often the city will neglect a couple holes making the 21 hole layout extremely brutal in a couple areas. That is really the only con that I see of this course.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a hidden gem. Not a lot of people travel to, nor even know where Waxahachie is, but I think this is a great course. The local that runs the course and takes care of it (Daniel Rowan) does a fantastic job, and is always going to bat with the city to make this an even better course. He often helps out with community service workers and lets them get hours out making the course better. Trenches have been dug on the holes that typically see excessive amounts of flooding after rain and they have help TREMENDOUSLY. If you haven't been out to the course to see if for yourself and played it, definitely one to check out. Would love to see another course closer to it to have a 2 course 2 day 3 round tournament out there some day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse but fun course

1    9/29/2017   10/4/2017
Review By: La_Flama_Blanca
Played: 76  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2018
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is pretty awesome. There is a really good mix of distance and finess.

There show to be quite a few "short" holes but the tee shots make these holes quite challenging.

The setting of this course is beautiful, it is a park with a few ponds, a lot of trees and some elevation changes.
Cons: Missing some signage on the new holes that have been added but I expect them to be there soon since they were just added.
Other Thoughts: This course was pretty cool. If you have a chance give this one a shot.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not great

1    3/12/2017   3/13/2017
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 82  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Some variety of technical and open holes
- Some variety of distances
- Shade on most tees
- Decent signage, although a few distances were definitely off
Cons:
- Very little elevation change
- Muddy fairways on several holes, despite a lack of recent rain
- Several very boring, wide open holes
Other Thoughts:
I think the rating description of "Decent/Typical" is fitting here. It's not a bad course, but it just doesn't have variety and challenge of the top tier courses in the area. You can tell they're working on the drainage around holes 2 and 3, but it's still pretty wet at the moment. If I lived closer, I'd probably play it on a regular basis, but I wouldn't go out of my way to play it again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 the good, the bad and the ugly

1    4/6/2016   4/6/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 993  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement Tee boxes, several with a larger crushed granite area around it.
Decent signs for all the holes, even has alts mapped out.
Good direction signs in the middle of the course, you would be lost without them.
This course does have a very good mix of holes and shots.
Porty potty next to the parking lot.
Cons: Parking lot is small, very small
Holes 2 and 3 are in a bad drainage area. They mowed this week and have built some ditches to help drain the course.
Some of the holes like 8 and 15,16 were to get from one place to another. These are poor holes with little to no trees.
Other Thoughts: First course I can ever remember seeing a direction sign off the highway. "Disc Golf Course --------->"
I was lucky that no one else was using the park, there are very few parking spots.
As far as the course,
Hole 1 is a killer shot with nicely mowed grass and a lot of trees in the way
Then you get to play holes 2 and 3 which are in an area that does not drain well, it was still a little muddy today. These are basic rough holes with not much to them.
Then you cross the creek and play 6,7,8. Nice set of holes. Not hard by any means, but compared to 2&3, I was excited to play these holes.
4 is a longer hole down a clean fairway.
5 throws across the pond behind a tree. Don't overthrow the hole or you are in the creek
6 is just a simple shorter hyzer, however it is about 10 ft off the creek bank.
Now cross back across the creek and READ the direction sign to 7, you can't see it because it is behind some brush.
7 is a filler hold, 400 feet dogleg to the right.
8 is the worst boring hole on the course. It is on the edge of a small hill, other than that, nothing between you and the basket.
9 has a few tree's right in front of you to make you drive 20 ft. But is a basic easy hole.
Now comes the best part of the course in my opinion.
#10 is short, but is a nice tight to the right fairway.
#11 longer than 10 and even tighter fairway, way way to the left. This freaking hole ate my lunch, I took a 5 on a 220 ft hole because I hit trees on my first 3 shots.
#12 Nice straight tunnel shot to the alternate parking lot that was empty. If I played here more, I would find a way to park at this lot.
#13 basic defined simple hyzer fairway.
#14 tight turnover shot with lots of rough
Then they need to get you back to hole 1 so
#15 designed to be a big turnover shot thanks to a tree in front of the tee box, your suppose to play the sidewalk and across as OB, but you know rec players never do that.
#16, long open field fairway with the basket out of sight behind some rough.
#17 in the alt position, pretty much a straight shot, but you don't want to throw it too far right (like I did) and hit the trees.
now a long walk to 18 tee box. Seriously, you could have put another hole here.
18 is a good tunnel shot with rough on the left and some trees blocking a big hyzer shot. Turn this one over and you are in an open area with some rough between you and the basket.

In general, this would be a better course if they can get it mowed more often and clear out some of the rough areas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Variety of Holes

5+    8/25/2015   8/27/2015
Review By: kcrain7
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2016
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is my home course. I've played it at least 100 times, but thanks to changing basket locations, wind conditions and seasonal challenges, every round is different and fun.

Good mix of trees and open. From short holes to long bombers. Back 9 opens up a bit more than the front.
Cons: Wish the parking lot was a little bigger.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Fun Course

1    6/12/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: jason.soule
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Variety of shot lengths
- Mix of open and wooded holes
- Great signage
- Well maintained
Cons: - Very soggy
- #11 is a luck shot...clear a few front trees to give an actual line.
- Alot of long holes had very low ceilings off the tee pad ( I don't prefer this...but it is the discretion of the course designer)
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a quality course worth playing if you are in the area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 better than i expected but still just okay

1    4/27/2014   5/7/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -textured concrete pads
-new discatchers
-nice signs, next tee signs
-variety of shots, distances, terrain
-port-a-john next to the parking lot
-playground and soccer fields, not in play
Cons: -many wide open holes
-a large section of the course looks like it is in a flood plain
-a few areas not as well utilized as possible
-very small parking lot
Other Thoughts: This course mostly makes the best use of what little is available. I really liked the first hole, a simple hyzer through a thicket of trees right next to the road. The trees set a cool atmosphere for the start of the course. However, upon walking up to hole 2 my excitement evaporated. I could see the large flood plain ahead with tall grass and what looked like many holes crossing this same area. I figured the rest of the course would be like this but I was pleasantly surprised but some of the variety ahead.

Holes 2 and 3 play in the flood plain (with too narrow a strip of grass mowed for a fairway, IMO) but then you move to another section of the park across the creek for holes 4-6. This a good change of pace but I thought these holes should have been rearranged. The tee area on hole 4 is actually a perfect area for a green: slightly elevated from the field ahead, protected by several well-placed trees. Instead it is an easy tee shot into a wide open field. Hole 5 is a really cool shot over a pond to a basket behind a wall of trees that you can approach from the left or right; a highlight of the course. Hole 7 puts you back into the flood plain.

The back area of the course from holes 10-14 goes through a wooded area with tight lanes. It is a good compliment to the mostly open areas. I thought there was not quite enough of a lane on hole 11's tee shot. The last few holes are filler, as others have said, to get you back to the front of the park.

I like some of the holes here but overall there is just too much filler. Almost half the holes are almost completely wide open. There are a few good technical holes to change things up but I'd love to see parts of the course redesigned at some point. It would be great to have alternate pins and pads here too. Without another course for miles, it would increase the replay value for the locals and sweeten the deal for metroplex golfers thinking about coming down to check out the course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.