Waxahachie, TX 
Brown-Singleton Park Share
Uploaded By: JeremyKShort Hole #18 (Taken 9/2013)
4 / 485ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
The hidden gem

5+    9/30/2017   10/4/2017
Review By: TheBuddha
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great course this is. I feel that this course is advanced enough to not be anywhere near pitch and putt, but forgivable enough to definitely be beginner friendly. There are 10 holes with alternate basket locations which is always nice to challenge different shots. With the 21 hole layout, there is a good mix of wooded holes (11) and fairly open holes (10). This course is all about distance control and will reward you when you get it right, and destroy you when you get it wrong. Although the half of the holes are quite open, there are factors that come into play to punish you if you miss-judge the distance as well as miss-judge the wind, as it seems to always be windy at the course. In it's current basket positions, the course plays (in my opinion) 1-righty, 2-righty, 3-lefty, 4-neutral, 5-righty, 6-righty, 6a-lefty, 7-lefty, 8-neutral, 8a-neutral, 8b-lefty, 9-righty, 10-lefty, 11-neutral (though it finishes left), 12-righty, 13-righty, 14-lefty, 15-neutral, 16-neutral, 17-lefty (though it could be neutral the shot for left hand back hand is significantly easier), 18-righty. That's (8) right hand back hand, (7) left hand back hand, and (6) neutral holes. Just a good mix and a fun play.
Cons: Maintenance. It seems the city does not do a very good job of consistently maintaining this course. When the grass is mowed this is a wonderful place to play, but often the city will neglect a couple holes making the 21 hole layout extremely brutal in a couple areas. That is really the only con that I see of this course.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a hidden gem. Not a lot of people travel to, nor even know where Waxahachie is, but I think this is a great course. The local that runs the course and takes care of it (Daniel Rowan) does a fantastic job, and is always going to bat with the city to make this an even better course. He often helps out with community service workers and lets them get hours out making the course better. Trenches have been dug on the holes that typically see excessive amounts of flooding after rain and they have help TREMENDOUSLY. If you haven't been out to the course to see if for yourself and played it, definitely one to check out. Would love to see another course closer to it to have a 2 course 2 day 3 round tournament out there some day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Diverse but fun course

1    9/29/2017   10/4/2017
Review By: La_Flama_Blanca
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is pretty awesome. There is a really good mix of distance and finess.

There show to be quite a few "short" holes but the tee shots make these holes quite challenging.

The setting of this course is beautiful, it is a park with a few ponds, a lot of trees and some elevation changes.
Cons: Missing some signage on the new holes that have been added but I expect them to be there soon since they were just added.
Other Thoughts: This course was pretty cool. If you have a change give this one a shot.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not great

1    3/12/2017   3/13/2017
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Some variety of technical and open holes
- Some variety of distances
- Shade on most tees
- Decent signage, although a few distances were definitely off
Cons:
- Very little elevation change
- Muddy fairways on several holes, despite a lack of recent rain
- Several very boring, wide open holes
Other Thoughts:
I think the rating description of "Decent/Typical" is fitting here. It's not a bad course, but it just doesn't have variety and challenge of the top tier courses in the area. You can tell they're working on the drainage around holes 2 and 3, but it's still pretty wet at the moment. If I lived closer, I'd probably play it on a regular basis, but I wouldn't go out of my way to play it again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

the good, the bad and the ugly

1    4/6/2016   4/6/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 391  Reviewed: 208  Exp: 29.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement Tee boxes, several with a larger crushed granite area around it.
Decent signs for all the holes, even has alts mapped out.
Good direction signs in the middle of the course, you would be lost without them.
This course does have a very good mix of holes and shots.
Porty potty next to the parking lot.
Cons: Parking lot is small, very small
Holes 2 and 3 are in a bad drainage area. They mowed this week and have built some ditches to help drain the course.
Some of the holes like 8 and 15,16 were to get from one place to another. These are poor holes with little to no trees.
Other Thoughts: First course I can ever remember seeing a direction sign off the highway. "Disc Golf Course --------->"
I was lucky that no one else was using the park, there are very few parking spots.
As far as the course,
Hole 1 is a killer shot with nicely mowed grass and a lot of trees in the way
Then you get to play holes 2 and 3 which are in an area that does not drain well, it was still a little muddy today. These are basic rough holes with not much to them.
Then you cross the creek and play 6,7,8. Nice set of holes. Not hard by any means, but compared to 2&3, I was excited to play these holes.
4 is a longer hole down a clean fairway.
5 throws across the pond behind a tree. Don't overthrow the hole or you are in the creek
6 is just a simple shorter hyzer, however it is about 10 ft off the creek bank.
Now cross back across the creek and READ the direction sign to 7, you can't see it because it is behind some brush.
7 is a filler hold, 400 feet dogleg to the right.
8 is the worst boring hole on the course. It is on the edge of a small hill, other than that, nothing between you and the basket.
9 has a few tree's right in front of you to make you drive 20 ft. But is a basic easy hole.
Now comes the best part of the course in my opinion.
#10 is short, but is a nice tight to the right fairway.
#11 longer than 10 and even tighter fairway, way way to the left. This freaking hole ate my lunch, I took a 5 on a 220 ft hole because I hit trees on my first 3 shots.
#12 Nice straight tunnel shot to the alternate parking lot that was empty. If I played here more, I would find a way to park at this lot.
#13 basic defined simple hyzer fairway.
#14 tight turnover shot with lots of rough
Then they need to get you back to hole 1 so
#15 designed to be a big turnover shot thanks to a tree in front of the tee box, your suppose to play the sidewalk and across as OB, but you know rec players never do that.
#16, long open field fairway with the basket out of sight behind some rough.
#17 in the alt position, pretty much a straight shot, but you don't want to throw it too far right (like I did) and hit the trees.
now a long walk to 18 tee box. Seriously, you could have put another hole here.
18 is a good tunnel shot with rough on the left and some trees blocking a big hyzer shot. Turn this one over and you are in an open area with some rough between you and the basket.

In general, this would be a better course if they can get it mowed more often and clear out some of the rough areas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Variety of Holes

5+    8/25/2015   8/27/2015
Review By: kcrain7
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2016
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is my home course. I've played it at least 100 times, but thanks to changing basket locations, wind conditions and seasonal challenges, every round is different and fun.

Good mix of trees and open. From short holes to long bombers. Back 9 opens up a bit more than the front.
Cons: Wish the parking lot was a little bigger.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Fun Course

1    6/12/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: jason.soule
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Variety of shot lengths
- Mix of open and wooded holes
- Great signage
- Well maintained
Cons: - Very soggy
- #11 is a luck shot...clear a few front trees to give an actual line.
- Alot of long holes had very low ceilings off the tee pad ( I don't prefer this...but it is the discretion of the course designer)
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a quality course worth playing if you are in the area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 better than i expected but still just okay

1    4/27/2014   5/7/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -textured concrete pads
-new discatchers
-nice signs, next tee signs
-variety of shots, distances, terrain
-port-a-john next to the parking lot
-playground and soccer fields, not in play
Cons: -many wide open holes
-a large section of the course looks like it is in a flood plain
-a few areas not as well utilized as possible
-very small parking lot
Other Thoughts: This course mostly makes the best use of what little is available. I really liked the first hole, a simple hyzer through a thicket of trees right next to the road. The trees set a cool atmosphere for the start of the course. However, upon walking up to hole 2 my excitement evaporated. I could see the large flood plain ahead with tall grass and what looked like many holes crossing this same area. I figured the rest of the course would be like this but I was pleasantly surprised but some of the variety ahead.

Holes 2 and 3 play in the flood plain (with too narrow a strip of grass mowed for a fairway, IMO) but then you move to another section of the park across the creek for holes 4-6. This a good change of pace but I thought these holes should have been rearranged. The tee area on hole 4 is actually a perfect area for a green: slightly elevated from the field ahead, protected by several well-placed trees. Instead it is an easy tee shot into a wide open field. Hole 5 is a really cool shot over a pond to a basket behind a wall of trees that you can approach from the left or right; a highlight of the course. Hole 7 puts you back into the flood plain.

The back area of the course from holes 10-14 goes through a wooded area with tight lanes. It is a good compliment to the mostly open areas. I thought there was not quite enough of a lane on hole 11's tee shot. The last few holes are filler, as others have said, to get you back to the front of the park.

I like some of the holes here but overall there is just too much filler. Almost half the holes are almost completely wide open. There are a few good technical holes to change things up but I'd love to see parts of the course redesigned at some point. It would be great to have alternate pins and pads here too. Without another course for miles, it would increase the replay value for the locals and sweeten the deal for metroplex golfers thinking about coming down to check out the course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/21/2014   2/23/2014
Review By: garrettfreberg
Played: 57  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained.
Great signs to find your way around.
Some excellent shots over water and across streams. Baskets and concrete tees are all in great shape. Garbage cans scattered around which make it nice to keep the course clean. Loved hole 5 and 7.
Cons: not sure about hole 9 or was it 10 with a short ceiling and a couple of baskets to choose from.
What I mean is it looks like from the T that you want to throw straight at to the right, but once you get out from under the canopy of trees, you see the basket is actually on the left. Last few holes seemed like an after thought to get you back to the parking lot, but I understand the designers traversed the whole park and you have to get back to where you parked

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice to finally see a course down south

5+    9/21/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: NORML
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course. I had my doubts when I heard the park it was going to be in, but the designers did a great job. I have never played a new course that was so well manicured. Concrete boxes, tee signs, easy to navigate and nice visible lines. There are plenty of Ace runs, but also a few bomber holes.
Cons: Cant say to many bad things about this course. It has a good mix of longer and shorter holes, as well as a good mix of technical and more open holes. Great for beginners or serious player. The 1 con I can think of is the park and soccer fields. There was already a problem with people parking on the fairways and right on the Tee-boxes when there was soccer games going on.
Other Thoughts: Weekly Mini's every Saturday at 10AM. Meet by the practice basket by 9:45. Amateur and Pro divisions. I look forward to playing some PDGA tournaments on this course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cut it down to a 15, and I'd like it a lot.

1    9/15/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: 1TallTXn
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets
Well groomed fairways
Mix of long/open and short/technical holes.
Nice tee pads
Cons: Roughs are very rough.
Lots of poison ivy in the rough.
Several holes are a challenge to find the tee
Several holes (#16 mostly) the tee sign and the basket don't really line up.
Several holes need a bit more trimming. Works as is, but requires VERY specific shots to make it work.
Other Thoughts: Over all, it's a nice course. I really enjoyed through the first 14. After that they're just open filler holes.

Several of the holes are very tight and technical <200ft. It's almost as much luck getting through the trees as it is skill. I enjoy those types of holes, but this was a bit much.

For me, it's a 45min drive to this course. It's nice, but I doubt I'll be playing it often.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.