Urbana, OH 
Melvin Miller Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #15 (Taken 3/2014)
4 / 425ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    4/28/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: Loddydoddy13
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lost my blue star katana on hole 2 somehow, hit tree and shot left into woods short, must be under leaves or something because it disappeared, please give me a call if found, my name and number are on the disc, i really miss it will reward a return, thanks!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/7/2016   12/25/2016
Review By: tonyfaurot
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.7 Years
Pros: my favorite of all the courses i have played so far in my short 4 months of playing disc golf.....played a tourney there early of Dec 2016....got a good club there and they care about this course...up and down ...left and right....you need every shot you got here....good signs and tee boxes.....good challenge for sure....trees and open holes.

Cons: no cons really...everything well cared for..
Other Thoughts: just a very nice course with lots of challenge.

Melvin Miller

1    12/3/2016   12/5/2016
Review By: BMock
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well laid out course.
Makes you use a lot of different shot selections.
Nice signage on each tee box.
Good use of open space and woods.
A few very well thought-out hole placements.
A very challenging course for a beginner or even most intermediate players.
Great park with some awesome views as you play through the whole course.
A few benches are laid out through the course.
Cons: A few holes could use better signage or arrows pointing to next tee location.
Knowing which basket location isn't easy for someone who doesn't play the course a lot. (There are 2 locations available)
Very few trash cans through-out the course.
Restrooms would be nice addition or more porta-potties.

Other Thoughts: Played in Cousin Eddie's tournament and had a great time. Great turn-out as well.
Enjoyed this course very much and had a blast.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Melvin Miller Park

1    12/3/2016   12/4/2016
Review By: S@wyer
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mixture of holes. Long/short dog leg left dog leg right. Beautiful woods that you can tell had several hours spent clearing it out. One of the best courses I've played in my short disc golf time. Great use of the hills.
Cons: Could probably use more trash cans but the park was pretty clean.
Other Thoughts: This course was a 2 hour drive for me but it was worth every mile spent on the road. Wish it was closer to home because if it was I would be on this course as much as possible.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/14/2015   8/30/2015
Review By: Noah.auckerman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course to play on. Set up alot like a real golf course. They really took the time to think of the layout.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: As long as you don't shank your throw then you're going to have a hard time losing your disc. One of the nicest and cleanest courses I've played.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect coarse for Urbana!

5+    7/15/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 110  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots.
First five holes are good to warm up the arm.
I like the tee pads, i hope they hold up.
This coarse was desperately needed in the area.
Two local dudes are totally dedicated to this coarse, they are champs.
Cons: The good citizens of Urbana are not good with change, it will take some time for the community to 'get' disc golf, until then, vandalism.
Other Thoughts: This coarse is 10 miles from my parents house and the 12th coarse we visited on summer vacation, I am very pleased with it, and look forward to playing it many time in the future.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/14/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: jscincy1
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2015
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good uses of space
-Fair amount of ace runs for all players
-Good amount of proper shot selection is needed
-There are a few "wow" moments with holes on this course
Cons: -not a fan of the asphalt (even though they have been resurfaced)
-the first 5 holes can be difficult to play depending on how busy the park is
-not enough trash cans and benches
-I feel like 17 is a bit of overkill in distance given the fact it is uphill and even for a intermediate player makes you not want to play the course again.
-Some of the playground equipment is a nice touch on holes... personal though I am not a fan.
Other Thoughts: The layout of the course worked well with what it had. I think I may be the only one to say this: This course reminds me nothing of Englewood. In fact I think it reminds more of the course in Kettering than anything. All in all I wouldn't make a trip for it, but as a last second stop on a trip or if you live in the area it is worth it to play it once.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/8/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: discrev
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -lots of variety
-minimal weeds and well maintained
-excellent design and holes, flows nicely around interesting park playsets
-use of all types of throws
-the tee pads were once poor but they have redone them and they are now good, the pads are just temporary until they will be paved
-the length of the tee off pad is longer than standard
-great signage
Cons: -no pro tees at the moment but they will come soon
-once you have gotten into the woods trash cans and benches are minimal
Other Thoughts: Great course that is comparable to the Medina course in Northern Ohio

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice new course with potential (Updated 6/17/14)

1    5/23/2014   5/23/2014
Review By: lildragon
Played: 47  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 22 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great signage
- Nice flow from hole to hole
- Excellent use of the given terrain
- Practice basket
- Lil bit of everything here
- Great upkeep! It's only been a month since I first played here, and they've redone all the tees and added benches and mulched the heavy mud areas
Cons: - (No longer an issue, all new teeboxes for every hole!) Broken/Poor asphalt on some of the teeboxes
- Benches?
- Trashcans?
Other Thoughts: The course starts you off gently with some shorter opening holes. Then you get some nice "pick your poison" lanes as you wind thru the woods. There are some interesting sculptures/playground obstacles as you play which add some character, like the train. The last 4 holes were my favorite as they're in a wide open area with good length so you can grip and rip for those nice bombs.

All in all it's a great start for the course. I would rate it higher if not for the poorly made teeboxes on some holes. For a new course that's just a letdown. There are large chunks missing from at least 2 or 3 boxes, you'd swear they were there for 10 years it's that bad. I would love some long teeboxes too, but you can't always get what you want :)

(Update 6/17/14)

I would rate the course a 3.75 now!

They have re-done every teebox on the course, which was sorely needed on some holes. There are also many new benches placed strategically around the course and they have mulched the areas that were mud swamps.

Makes a nice course, that much more enjoyable already. I would rate it as a 4.0 if they had long tees too :)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Another solid course in the area

1    4/11/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: AnimeJ
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well laid out
- Requires a well rounded shot selection
- Excellent signage
- Navigation is generally easy and intuitive

On the whole, this is an outstanding course. It's a relaxing round for a more advanced player, and a challenge to those who are of more intermediate or beginner skill. All holes have a clearly identifiable line to the basket, with several in the woods requiring good control in order to hit them.

While the majority of holes aren't particularly long, save 17, the course presents a cohesive, enjoyable experience from the first hole, to the 18th.
Cons: - Some teepads need work
- The transition from hole 13 - 14 could use additional signage to clarify flow
- No benches on any holes
- Very few trash cans on the course

Most of the issues with the course are of a facilties nature. Things like a bench here and there, or trash cans, or the difficulty in finding a restroom(I was unable to locate one in the park). However, none of these things, save teepads, are major detractors from the expereince.
Other Thoughts: As I mentioned up front, this isn't a particularly challenging course in the same way that Buck Creek or HAH is. However, I don't really feel like that's a major issue. The course feels a great deal like Englewood, which is a personal favorite in the area, and having another course of that caliber is exceptionally welcome IMO.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.