Urbana, OH 
Melvin Miller Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #1 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
First time impression

1    9/5/2017   9/6/2017
Review By: Briggs1832
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've only been playing disc golf for a couple of months and have played 7-8 different courses but this is by far my favorite. The course is set up in a beautiful manner. It allows for all types of players to have a great enjoyable time while still managing to be challenging for those who play a bit more competitively. It's not all long distance which is great for new players seeing as they traditionally can't throw as long as a veteran of the sport could. Not everything is a par 3. In my opinion that's great because I'm tired of playing a course that has a par 3, 400ft hole. It's impossible for people like myself to get a decent score and enjoy the game. This course has a bit of everything for everyone and I absolutely loved it.
Cons: I did think that the first 5 holes and the last 3 or 4 holes got confusing at sometimes. I had to walk to the pin to see if it was the correct one for the hole. Other than that fantastic course.
Other Thoughts: If you're stopping through Urbana it's a great 18 hole course for any person to try.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    6/9/2017   7/7/2017
Review By: aaronjernigan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads
Clearly defined directions
Tee Maps
Variety of Challenges
Elevation makes things interesting. Tees that shoot down hill and uphill.
Very well trimmed and maintained
Practice tee
Designated parking.
Playground near hole #1 for children if you bring any.
Cons: If you go during certain times of the year, as with just about every course in Ohio, you need to watch out for poison ivy in the thick overgrown out of bounds woods. In addition the weeds can get pretty thick in areas where the course is not mowed.
Ticks are bad this year. Stay out of tall grass if possible.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course to play. We bring my 20 month old daughter in the stroller and play 9 holes. We also come with a group of 5-6 people and play 18 holes frequently. The elevation brings a characteristic unseen at many other courses in the area. This is a must play course if you are in or around the area of Urbana. The town also has great food and coffee. The depot coffee shop and Mumphord's are excellent places to go after the game.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/28/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: Loddydoddy13
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lost my blue star katana on hole 2 somehow, hit tree and shot left into woods short, must be under leaves or something because it disappeared, please give me a call if found, my name and number are on the disc, i really miss it will reward a return, thanks!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/7/2016   12/25/2016
Review By: tonyfaurot
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: my favorite of all the courses i have played so far in my short 4 months of playing disc golf.....played a tourney there early of Dec 2016....got a good club there and they care about this course...up and down ...left and right....you need every shot you got here....good signs and tee boxes.....good challenge for sure....trees and open holes.

Cons: no cons really...everything well cared for..
Other Thoughts: just a very nice course with lots of challenge.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Melvin Miller

1    12/3/2016   12/5/2016
Review By: BMock
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well laid out course.
Makes you use a lot of different shot selections.
Nice signage on each tee box.
Good use of open space and woods.
A few very well thought-out hole placements.
A very challenging course for a beginner or even most intermediate players.
Great park with some awesome views as you play through the whole course.
A few benches are laid out through the course.
Cons: A few holes could use better signage or arrows pointing to next tee location.
Knowing which basket location isn't easy for someone who doesn't play the course a lot. (There are 2 locations available)
Very few trash cans through-out the course.
Restrooms would be nice addition or more porta-potties.

Other Thoughts: Played in Cousin Eddie's tournament and had a great time. Great turn-out as well.
Enjoyed this course very much and had a blast.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Melvin Miller Park

1    12/3/2016   12/4/2016
Review By: S@wyer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mixture of holes. Long/short dog leg left dog leg right. Beautiful woods that you can tell had several hours spent clearing it out. One of the best courses I've played in my short disc golf time. Great use of the hills.
Cons: Could probably use more trash cans but the park was pretty clean.
Other Thoughts: This course was a 2 hour drive for me but it was worth every mile spent on the road. Wish it was closer to home because if it was I would be on this course as much as possible.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

5+    8/14/2015   8/30/2015
Review By: Noah.auckerman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course to play on. Set up alot like a real golf course. They really took the time to think of the layout.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: As long as you don't shank your throw then you're going to have a hard time losing your disc. One of the nicest and cleanest courses I've played.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect coarse for Urbana!

5+    7/15/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 112  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots.
First five holes are good to warm up the arm.
I like the tee pads, i hope they hold up.
This coarse was desperately needed in the area.
Two local dudes are totally dedicated to this coarse, they are champs.
Cons: The good citizens of Urbana are not good with change, it will take some time for the community to 'get' disc golf, until then, vandalism.
Other Thoughts: This coarse is 10 miles from my parents house and the 12th coarse we visited on summer vacation, I am very pleased with it, and look forward to playing it many time in the future.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/14/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: jscincy1
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2017
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good uses of space
-Fair amount of ace runs for all players
-Good amount of proper shot selection is needed
-There are a few "wow" moments with holes on this course
-New pin positions for 2, 4, 10, 13,17 that are rotated on the regular.
Cons: -not a fan of the asphalt (even though they have been resurfaced)
-the first 5 holes can be difficult to play depending on how busy the park is
-not enough trash cans and benches
-I feel like 17 is a bit of overkill in distance given the fact it is uphill and even for a intermediate player makes you not want to play the course again. ( edited to reflect that adding of 17 short!)
-Some of the playground equipment is a nice touch on holes... personal though I am not a fan.
Other Thoughts: The layout of the course worked well with what it had. This course is starting to become a real gem in the area. One of the better courses in Ohio now and will only get better with time!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/8/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: discrev
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -lots of variety
-minimal weeds and well maintained
-excellent design and holes, flows nicely around interesting park playsets
-use of all types of throws
-the tee pads were once poor but they have redone them and they are now good, the pads are just temporary until they will be paved
-the length of the tee off pad is longer than standard
-great signage
Cons: -no pro tees at the moment but they will come soon
-once you have gotten into the woods trash cans and benches are minimal
Other Thoughts: Great course that is comparable to the Medina course in Northern Ohio

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.