Lawrence, KS 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: Erocx345 Hole #10 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Needs signs

1    8/20/2017   9/10/2017
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 108  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: Good course lots of variety shots
Nice park
Shade trees
Lots of elevation changes
Cons: NO SIGNS. 1/2 the shots are blind with trees or elevation changes and pretty blind

Crowded crowded crowded even during weekday

Play over each other some
Other Thoughts: If they would just put up better signs this would improve the course 10 fold trust me.


1    7/18/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: Thimns
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: The course itself is great. Wide open areas lightly wooded, makes for good casual play. Has reasonably nice pads and baskets.
Cons: There are no directions, no signs, no map(that we could find), very few indicators. Most of the pads have no marking for what hole it is and the way the course is laid out doesn't help. Also you occasionally can't see the basket from the pad and with no markers it led to a lot of trying to guess which pad went to which hole.
Other Thoughts: Despite that one flaw it's a nice course good enough that I'll definitely go back to try and get a firmer grasp of the layout

The Hills to Pay the Bills

1    11/10/2016   12/29/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Centennial Park is a pretty good course. Ranging from almost wide open to a handful of scattered trees, the fairways are predominately covered with healthy grass, and several are playing up and down large hills. There are a good mix of shots, and not a lot of rough to punish the throw that is slightly off mark. All of the 18 holes have concrete tees and the baskets are good enough to get the job done. There are 2 or 3 possible pin locations on every hole.

I am a sucker for elevation changes that are more than subtle. You will get a nice dose of that here. Hole 1 is a moderate drop, and has fairly thick stands of trees on either side of the fairway, creating a fun line. There are a couple of great downhill crushers that take all you got off the tee. Hole 7 is long, from top to bottom of a tall hill, with a few trees and the long pin is across a stream. Hole 13 is not quite as long or as big of a drop, but it also plays across the stream, only with more trees making a definite window if in the B or C pin position. Hole 15 has a similar feel as well.

On the flip side, playing up the hills also gives you a couple of fun shots. This is the case on 5 and 6, but I really liked hole 10, with a pin tucked behind a line of trees taking away the most direct route.

Throw in a couple of short holes, as well as several more of the longer ones, and you've got a pretty nice course. Holes 2, 7, and 16 were all in the short pins, and allowed me to make birdies. It is all par 3's, so the distance holes can be tough, especially in the long placements.
Cons: Some transitions between holes aren't the smoothest. Between holes 2 and 3, and again after hole 11 on the way to 12 are a bit funky. Signs would be a great help, I would suggest taking a screenshot of the map on the link, or printing it out.

The layout is also near to some walking trails, and pretty close to the road on 10 and 11. 13 is along side the skate park, but not too close.

Exposed to the wind, so blustery days make things way more difficult. I recently moved back to Kansas and I'm having to learn how to deal with this on a much more frequent basis than I am used to. There was some very squishy grass on hole 5, with soft mud on the hill behind the hotel.
Other Thoughts: Some reviewers didn't like this Centennial Park as much as me, but that is fine. I have only played it once, but I live fairly close, and will be playing it on a regular basis now.

Scored a 2 over par (56) on the first round. 3 birds and 5 bogeys. Felt ok about that, but I hope to do a little better in the near future. If conditions are right and I bring the A game, under par should not be that hard to achieve.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

looking for a sign....

1    6/25/2016   6/25/2016
Review By: juswinginit
Played: 103  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: nice park, good elevation changes, great mature trees, good tee pads, pretty nice variety in hole layouts (uphill-downhill-right-left-long-short-a few gaps to hit- some wide open....)
Cons: No signs, No map at the beginning, which you could get away with if the layout was the slightest bit logical. but it is NOT logical or intuitive in any way. so it could use some signs. and some benches.
Other Thoughts: really enjoyable course, spacious enough, but not too spread out. there has to be a way to make a more logical flow from one hole to the next. but, whatever. just get some signs.

 Good Course-Not Great

5+    5/1/2016   5/5/2016
Review By: jayhawker4
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fun Course
-Variable Shot Opportunities
-super nice people
-well maintained (can get muddy after rain)
-nice baskets
-nice tee pads
-adequate facilities

Perfect beginner and intermediate course
Not amazing for experts
Cons: -Lack of signage
-Sometimes hard to find basket your going for
-lack of seating on most holes
-Can get really muddy after a rain
Other Thoughts: Overall a very solid course. A lot of fun if you know where you're going. Definitely worth going to. Best course within 45 minutes of Lawrence. Recommend going with someone that has played there before as it could get a little bit confusing on where to go.

Check her out!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I wish this was my everyday course.

1    10/27/2015   1/27/2016
Review By: RippH
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Change in elevation is awesome. Besides the creek you really don't have many water hazards on the course. The tee boxes are pretty nice compared to others I've played on. You can grab some bbq at any point during your game.
Cons: Make sure your driver doesn't fade off onto 6th street. Be sure to yell four when you're over by the sake park.
Other Thoughts: The sticker tagging is kind of awesome.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good enough

5+    12/26/2015   12/26/2015
Review By: 30disc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of a small amount of park space. Some challenging holes as well as a few that are easy enough to get creative. Rarely busy, even on prime throwing days the course is fairly wide open. The small creek is an excellent water trap for building skills but poses no real threat of losing a disc. I've played this course well over 100 times and have never lost a disc, or witnessed someone else lose a disc. The skate park lights can be manually turned on and really aid in playing night golf. This course certainly deserves it's par rating, but can also be a course where a player can respectably achieve a good score. The course plays well and is easily read by the only somewhat experienced player. Excellent beginner course, and definitely a few challenges for experienced players.
Cons: This course feels like someones gigantic backyard. It's obvious that in the not-so-terribly-distant past, this land was razed, and has since been re-purposed into a city park. A respectable park, no doubt, this course does not have that "out in nature" feel that other courses do. There are no signs, but the course barely needs any. There is a small amount of overlap with holes, and to eliminate this, the course designers were forced to keep holes short and compact. This course is great practice for any level of player, but is not very technical and has few outstanding holes.
Other Thoughts: This course can get a little wet. There are a few areas that have poor sod or grass covering and are thus muddy. Be sure to expect mud on your shoes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not up to par (get it?)

1    8/16/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: hnosaj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some challenging holes, nice mix of distance, good use of trees in a couple of spots
Cons: Even with a map it was hard to find the next tee or figure out what basket to throw to. Not a very good location. There's a run down hotel in the corner of the park and it feels like you're playing right next to a major road on several holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good, but wasted a lot of time looking for holes

1    8/2/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: thecolorofhue
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out course (I think, spent a lot of time asking people were the next hole was), nice mix of technical and distance shots. Its a very scenic park, with a lot going on (there's a skate park in it as well).

Baskets are in pretty good shape, nice concrete t-pads.
Cons: Not a single sign on the whole damn course. Luckily it was busy when I played, so I was able to ask people where the next hole was, but this is a little ridiculous for a course that is so well maintained to not have a single topper labeled (even though every hole had a topper) or even a label on a the t-pads (some had faded spray paint on them, but most did not).

The frustration that I felt wondering around for several hours (oh I finished this baby) is the sole reason this course was giving such a low rating. It more effort where put into something as simple as labeling, I would consider it a pretty good course.
Other Thoughts: Some interesting holes, especially enjoyed the hole that's built into a tree stump, and hole 1. It's nice to start the course off with a bit of a challenge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good course

1    7/31/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: Jeremyapt
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of short and longer holes. Good vegetation made some holes a challenge. I really liked the elevation changes throughout the entire course.tee pads were nice and baskets were in good shape. Parking was easy and an good course
Cons: Need better markings on tee boxes and holes

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.