Lawrence, KS 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: Erocx345 Hole #16 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Everthing you need

2-4    10/8/2018   10/8/2018
Review By: lemmmy_acemister
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: Good layout.
Creek in play on a couple holes.
Mostly open but does have some technical shots.
Long and short hole.
Elevation changes.
Multiple pins,
Well kept and clean.
Benchs at everyhole.
Cons: Don't remember seeing a lot of trash cans.
No hole signs.
Tee pads aren't mark.
Hard to navigate first time through. After that no big deal. Some holes are close together so you may have to wait if the course is busy.

Desperately Seeking Signage

2-4    7/13/2018   7/13/2018
Review By: Average Joe
Played: 101  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: GREAT new baskets

Good concrete tees

Good mix of holes with lots of hills and good use of trees and creek bed (dry when I played in July)

I am a fan of lightly wooded - there is an obstacle or two on every hole except 12, but fairly open fairways and lots of opportunity for ripping it.

Well maintained course. Watered green grass that is mowed.

Nice facilities - bathrooms and water fountain. Good use of space. Fits nicely into space it has and you don't have to be too concerned about hitting other park goers or passing cars (2 of the 4 streets surrounding the park - 6th and Iowa - are pretty busy)
Cons: No signage at the tees

No map at hole 1 (or anywhere that I could find)

A few baskets had a marker in the ground pointing at the next tee. This was extremely helpful - especially on 2 when the tee for 3 is nearly 400 feet away.

Navigation is a real problem for the first round. Baskets that are hidden from the tee box leave you guessing. The transition from basket to tee is over 150 feet on a lot of holes making for a bit of searching and uncertainty. Maybe half of the tee pads have the hole number painted on them, but it is very faded.

One very smart navigation aid is that holes 1-9 have red baskets and 10-18 have blue baskets.
Other Thoughts: With signs this course is a 3.5 to 4. Reduce a few of the longest transitions... especially 2 to 3 and it is definitely a 4. I initially had rated this a 3 and after my 3rd round, I returned to update it to a 3.5. But if you are playing it for the first time, try to find someone who knows the course to show you the way.

It took a lot of time to play my first round. The lack of signage and some distances not matching that indicated in the photos or hole information made it tough to follow. I stepped off the holes and transitions and maybe this will help other first timers.

For each hole that had an alternate basket position, I put the alternate in parentheses. I gave directions to the next hole from the current - July 2018 - basket position based on 360 degree circle with 180 degrees (dg) being back toward the tee for that basket and 0 being straight ahead - away from the last tee.

RED Baskets 1-9
#1 (310 ft short) 420 ft long. Throw through gap in tree line and along tree line to bottom of the hill.
To #2: 270 degrees (dg) 150 ft

#2 250 ft along creek (alt is also 250 ft about 30 degrees to the left from the tee)
To #3.... There is a marker at both baskets, from the right one...270 degrees (dg), 390!! ft to top of hill. There are 2 tees together #3 is on right

#3 327 ft short (567 ft long) downhill. To #4: 330 dg 245 ft to bottom of hill

#4 (200 short) 300 ft and across creek to long. To #5:0 dg bend left 87ft

#5 291 ft (did not measure alt - est 225 ft) To #6: 160 dg 210 ft

#6 282 ft short (357 ft long) To #7: 20 dg 160 ft. There are 2 tees together, #7 is on the left.

#7 (300 short) 540 feet across creek to long. To #8: 90 dg 144ft

#8 378 ft To #9: 20 dg 40 ft

#9 (300 ft est short A 327 ft short B) 475 ft long.

To #10A 180 dg 60 ft
To #10B 0 dg 90 ft
If 9 is in long postion, use #10B. If 9 is in either short position, can use either tee.

BLUE Baskets
#10A 192 ft short (285 ft long.) from #10B.. (didn't measure - estimate 200 ft to short) Note.. if playing #10B and long position, this is the one hole with some potential of going into the street if you yank it RHBH.

To #11 from long position: 315 dg 55 ft

#11 205 ft To #12: 225 dg 175 ft

#12 520 ft To #13 270 dg 130 ft

#13 {300 ft short) 360 ft across creek to left of bridge to long To #14 90 dg 60 ft

#14.. 288 ft short (372 ft long) marker pointing to 15 To #15 340 dg 300 ft

#15 (270 ft short) 453 ft long To #16 225 dg 135 ft

#16 279 ft Marker pointing to #17 135 dg 115 ft

#17 (354 ft short) 462 ft long To #18 350 dg 175 ft

#18 453 ft

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Needs signs

1    8/20/2017   9/10/2017
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 140  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course lots of variety shots
Nice park
Shade trees
Lots of elevation changes
Cons: NO SIGNS. 1/2 the shots are blind with trees or elevation changes and pretty blind

Crowded crowded crowded even during weekday

Play over each other some
Other Thoughts: If they would just put up better signs this would improve the course 10 fold trust me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    7/18/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: Thimns
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: The course itself is great. Wide open areas lightly wooded, makes for good casual play. Has reasonably nice pads and baskets.
Cons: There are no directions, no signs, no map(that we could find), very few indicators. Most of the pads have no marking for what hole it is and the way the course is laid out doesn't help. Also you occasionally can't see the basket from the pad and with no markers it led to a lot of trying to guess which pad went to which hole.
Other Thoughts: Despite that one flaw it's a nice course good enough that I'll definitely go back to try and get a firmer grasp of the layout

The Hills to Pay the Bills

1    11/10/2016   12/29/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 412  Reviewed: 296  Exp: 15.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Centennial Park is a pretty good course. Ranging from almost wide open to a handful of scattered trees, the fairways are predominately covered with healthy grass, and several are playing up and down large hills. There are a good mix of shots, and not a lot of rough to punish the throw that is slightly off mark. All of the 18 holes have concrete tees and the baskets are good enough to get the job done. There are 2 or 3 possible pin locations on every hole.

I am a sucker for elevation changes that are more than subtle. You will get a nice dose of that here. Hole 1 is a moderate drop, and has fairly thick stands of trees on either side of the fairway, creating a fun line. There are a couple of great downhill crushers that take all you got off the tee. Hole 7 is long, from top to bottom of a tall hill, with a few trees and the long pin is across a stream. Hole 13 is not quite as long or as big of a drop, but it also plays across the stream, only with more trees making a definite window if in the B or C pin position. Hole 15 has a similar feel as well.

On the flip side, playing up the hills also gives you a couple of fun shots. This is the case on 5 and 6, but I really liked hole 10, with a pin tucked behind a line of trees taking away the most direct route.

Throw in a couple of short holes, as well as several more of the longer ones, and you've got a pretty nice course. Holes 2, 7, and 16 were all in the short pins, and allowed me to make birdies. It is all par 3's, so the distance holes can be tough, especially in the long placements.
Cons: Some transitions between holes aren't the smoothest. Between holes 2 and 3, and again after hole 11 on the way to 12 are a bit funky. Signs would be a great help, I would suggest taking a screenshot of the map on the link, or printing it out.

The layout is also near to some walking trails, and pretty close to the road on 10 and 11. 13 is along side the skate park, but not too close.

Exposed to the wind, so blustery days make things way more difficult. I recently moved back to Kansas and I'm having to learn how to deal with this on a much more frequent basis than I am used to. There was some very squishy grass on hole 5, with soft mud on the hill behind the hotel.
Other Thoughts: Some reviewers didn't like this Centennial Park as much as me, but that is fine. I have only played it once, but I live fairly close, and will be playing it on a regular basis now.

Scored a 2 over par (56) on the first round. 3 birds and 5 bogeys. Felt ok about that, but I hope to do a little better in the near future. If conditions are right and I bring the A game, under par should not be that hard to achieve.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 looking for a sign....

1    6/25/2016   6/25/2016
Review By: juswinginit
Played: 115  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: nice park, good elevation changes, great mature trees, good tee pads, pretty nice variety in hole layouts (uphill-downhill-right-left-long-short-a few gaps to hit- some wide open....)
Cons: No signs, No map at the beginning, which you could get away with if the layout was the slightest bit logical. but it is NOT logical or intuitive in any way. so it could use some signs. and some benches.
Other Thoughts: really enjoyable course, spacious enough, but not too spread out. there has to be a way to make a more logical flow from one hole to the next. but, whatever. just get some signs.

  Good Course-Not Great

5+    5/1/2016   5/5/2016
Review By: jayhawker4
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fun Course
-Variable Shot Opportunities
-super nice people
-well maintained (can get muddy after rain)
-nice baskets
-nice tee pads
-adequate facilities

Perfect beginner and intermediate course
Not amazing for experts
Cons: -Lack of signage
-Sometimes hard to find basket your going for
-lack of seating on most holes
-Can get really muddy after a rain
Other Thoughts: Overall a very solid course. A lot of fun if you know where you're going. Definitely worth going to. Best course within 45 minutes of Lawrence. Recommend going with someone that has played there before as it could get a little bit confusing on where to go.

Check her out!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I wish this was my everyday course.

1    10/27/2015   1/27/2016
Review By: RippH
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Change in elevation is awesome. Besides the creek you really don't have many water hazards on the course. The tee boxes are pretty nice compared to others I've played on. You can grab some bbq at any point during your game.
Cons: Make sure your driver doesn't fade off onto 6th street. Be sure to yell four when you're over by the sake park.
Other Thoughts: The sticker tagging is kind of awesome.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good enough

5+    12/26/2015   12/26/2015
Review By: 30disc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of a small amount of park space. Some challenging holes as well as a few that are easy enough to get creative. Rarely busy, even on prime throwing days the course is fairly wide open. The small creek is an excellent water trap for building skills but poses no real threat of losing a disc. I've played this course well over 100 times and have never lost a disc, or witnessed someone else lose a disc. The skate park lights can be manually turned on and really aid in playing night golf. This course certainly deserves it's par rating, but can also be a course where a player can respectably achieve a good score. The course plays well and is easily read by the only somewhat experienced player. Excellent beginner course, and definitely a few challenges for experienced players.
Cons: This course feels like someones gigantic backyard. It's obvious that in the not-so-terribly-distant past, this land was razed, and has since been re-purposed into a city park. A respectable park, no doubt, this course does not have that "out in nature" feel that other courses do. There are no signs, but the course barely needs any. There is a small amount of overlap with holes, and to eliminate this, the course designers were forced to keep holes short and compact. This course is great practice for any level of player, but is not very technical and has few outstanding holes.
Other Thoughts: This course can get a little wet. There are a few areas that have poor sod or grass covering and are thus muddy. Be sure to expect mud on your shoes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not up to par (get it?)

1    8/16/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: hnosaj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some challenging holes, nice mix of distance, good use of trees in a couple of spots
Cons: Even with a map it was hard to find the next tee or figure out what basket to throw to. Not a very good location. There's a run down hotel in the corner of the park and it feels like you're playing right next to a major road on several holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.