Allendale, MI 
Campus View DGC Share
Uploaded By: apdrvya Hole #11 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 117ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Try not to hit the apartments!

5+    7/19/2020   7/19/2020
Review By: DFrah
Played: 36  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are six disc golf baskets in decent condition, within walking distance of Grand Valley State University!
Cons: Safety is a huge issue as other reviewers have mentioned. On other courses your errant shots (and maybe some good shots) go into the rough. On this course your errant shots (and many of your good shots) hit the walls of people's apartments or pass within 10 ft of them.

As mentioned in Valkyrie Kid's review there are three baskets missing, meaning six holes are lost. Given that it has now been three years since his review, I doubt these baskets are coming back. Additionally, many of the tee signs are also missing so there are only a few holes left with both a tee sign and basket.

No tee pads, not even dirt ones.

Holes are short with no major challenges.

Did I mention safety? Combined with the already missing baskets and tee signs, it might honestly be best for management to just remove the remaining baskets and signs.
Other Thoughts: I am a GVSU alumni and I owe some of my interest in disc golf to this course. When I was a student I played this course with some friends a number of times (e.g. 2012-2014 ish). At the time all of the baskets and tee signs were still present and it was a fun (although dangerous) way to spend an hour or two. The course played around the same loop twice, with tee signs for the "back nine" being generally shorter than the (already short) tees for the front nine. I have some great memories of tossing discs on this course.

As mentioned above, many of the baskets and tee signs are now gone. Specifically if you refer to the map in the Files section here...
#1 is playable. I think the tee sign for #10 is gone but I may have missed it.
#2/#11 is playable.
#3/#12 tee signs are gone, but the basket is still there.
#4/#13 tee signs are there, but the basket is gone. #5/#14 is completely gone. A few years ago Campus View built new apartments in this area and they did not bother updating the course.
#6/#15 is playable.
#7 tee sign is gone I think, but #16 is playable.
#8/#17 is completely gone.
#9/#18 no tee signs, but the basket is still there.

If you have access to a car and are not a GVSU student, don't bother with this course. There are many better, safer options within a short drive.

If you are a student and don't have a car or are short on gas money...I get it. I've been there. If you're going to try to play the remaining holes, do so with safety always at the top of your mind. Or do yourself a favor, make an afternoon of it and ride the Rapid into GR...there are many better courses you could get to.

Maybe someday the university will put in their own course around campus. Fingers crossed!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Chew Some Cocoa Leaf-It Will Dull Your Senses!

1    9/2/2017   9/3/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1493  Reviewed: 1438  Exp: 42.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2017
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Near the first tee, look around for the Peruvian exchange student of Indian descent. Ask to buy his cocoa leaf, if not for sale, offer your mangey dog in trade. Chew the cocoa leaf, it will dull your senses and then maybe you can get through this abomination of a course.

This course, while never stellar and always a safety concern, is now missing three baskets. Since each basket has two tee pads throwing to it, that means the course is now down to 12 holes. The school is building more apartments and townhouses and so the basket for 3/12 has been lost to construction as well as the basket for 5/14. The basket for 8/17 missed the construction but still managed to get itself missing.

# 2/11 is a simple little anhyser but the townhouse there is so close that discs would always be bouncing off their walls, not to mention the windows on that side.

As you're playing the course, you literally walk by just feet by their doors and window. I thought I might get picked up by the campus police for being a peeping Tom. The natural tee pad for 6/15 is approximately one foot from that townhouse. Imagine drunken Grand Valley State students firing away.
Cons: Three missing baskets equals losing 6 holes.

Cheap single chain Liberty baskets.

Safety concerns. No-one would be safe.

No tee pads.

Very iffy design.

Just not a good place to put a course.

The post for either 7/16 is broke off.
Other Thoughts: I doubt if this course would be missed by anyone. I don't know if the college will try to replace the holes lost to construction or the other missing basket. There has to be better places on campus for a course.

Just remember. Don't get addicted to cocoa leaf!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 "Hopefully you throw a disc on the roof, I can get them from my bedroom"-Campus Dude

1    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 93  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee Signs - say the length of the hole(in yards) and number.

Baskets - they are baskets.... but single chain and not the best at catching.

Use of Land - They use the land well, for that they had.
Cons: Buildings - there are apartments in play on a ton of holes.

No really challenge, or teepads.

It's stated in the other review, but this place is pretty dangerus. You are pretty much playing in a campus townhomes back yard.
Other Thoughts: This course is good for what it is, but I tihnk the fact that college kids will most likely be playing beer league disc golf, it is going to make it super dangerous.

Has some decent stuff around it, if you go to GVSU, or are in the area it's worth a quick play but no where near a destination course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 D&D (drunk and disorderly)

1    10/12/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 318  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 10.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays between and behind buildings in a large apartment/townhome community for Grand Valley State University. Please please watch for people!!

Teesigns--Adequate for what this course is. distances are listed in yards and don't give directionality or line but all baskets are visible from the tee so it's not a huge deal. Very very short course.

Routing and nav--a bit difficult to get started but painted tines in the basket point the way to the next tee.

Baskets-- single chain dga baskets. not really a huge deal to not have a second row of chains but there are so many ace runs here that splash outs are imminently possible. All baskets are topped with solar lights for night golf.

Water-- the couple holes where there are water, it is well used.
Cons:
DANGEROUS-- I cannot stress this enough, this course plays in the backyards of the townhome residents and the townhomes DEFINE The fairways. this course is SUPER DANGEROUS... do not go overboard with drivers here, bring a putter and a mid and call it good. a driver will hurt someone!

Teepads--natural and undefined. there are a couple where the teesign is really close to other obstacles so it may be difficult to know where to tee from.

Challenge and variety-- none of either. shortest holes are like 39yds, longest is about 150yds.

Other Thoughts:
Overall this course is dangerous and really not made for the competitive dg'er. if you are just knocking off a course, go for it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.