Buxton, OR 
Buxton Woods DGC Share
Uploaded By: Murdoc Loch Hole #10 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 191ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Even the RUFF was fun!

1    10/18/2019   10/19/2019
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 32  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.4 Years
Pros: Great tee pads and baskets. Lots of length and challenge. Super nice folks who run the course on their property. The brown dog, Cody, wandered the course with us. We were the only ones there.
Cons: The lack of course signage- hole number, distance, par, fairway, and pin location was very frustrating. This isn’t an issue on your second play through, but if you’re visiting as a destination course (playing once), it was a real bummer. We had to walk out most fairways to find the basket and estimate distance. Also, watch out for dog poop.
Other Thoughts: Holes 10 and 11 were epic. Great use of elevation. I did not find any baskets or placements to be “gimmicky” as some reviewers have said. It’s pay to play, so bring $4/person. Prices went up a dollar starting July 1, 2019. It was worth it. I wish the money went into tee signs. Great destination course to partner with Stubs.


1    10/14/2018   10/15/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 104  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New dynamic patriot baskets. Good mix of holes, and elevation changes. Friendly clubhouse with good prices on disc, and they sell bagtags. Friendly dogs that roam the course and don't bother you or your discs. Good mix of all kinds of different shots. Lots of elevated baskets and one on a zip line. Very well maintained manicured with good signs pointing to next hole. Lots of work always being done. Very well maintained paths
Cons: With all the positives I can say not all Changes are good. A lot of holes examples 1 in the long 5 in the long hole 6 in general and a couple others are more throw and hope than actual lines. I'm cool with elevated baskets but when you have to have steps up to get your disc, and more than a couple it's kind of an overkill to me. Needs tee signs on some of the holes that don't show any distance or anything
Other Thoughts: I've always enjoyed this place and love the work that goes into it. I don't like some of the changes but they do a good job of constantly putting the effort into this place and once they clear up a couple lines and add some better tee signs this course will go back up in rating to me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Top 2 worst

1    10/6/2018   10/8/2018
Review By: ClimbandDisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 10/12/2018
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Best part was when it was over and I was in the truck heading to a real course.

Concrete Pads were well poured and plenty of run up space.
Cons: The lines on this course are absolutely the worst I have ever seen. Not sure there is a hole that lest a disc fly its predicted path. There are plenty of great fairways then the basket is place in a location where it is a non progressive poke and hope. Skip this course.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Solid course that is constantly improving

1    7/31/2018   8/1/2018
Review By: mtor
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pay to play private course with a clubhouse that sells dx for ($7), water, pop, and snacks. Stop by the pro shop at the house for a map and to pay green fee's which are $3 per person. The staff were laid back and very friendly.
-Nice concrete tee pads, with trash cans, brushes, and benches (great amenities).
-Several elevated baskets (Such as #2, #11 (the basket is on a zip line), (#17 on a wooden structure).
-Signs with yardages
-2 water hazards (#10: driving over a pond that is about 80 feet, #11: water only comes to play if the throw shanks left, and gets a bad skip).
-The course is constantly changing and improving (there were several molds for new tee pads, many baskets had multiple locations).
-Nicely flowing layout.
-Variety of shots with mostly tunnel shots, but some places to air it out.

Cons: This was a very nice course to play, with plenty of signs pointing to where the next hole was, however, the course would benefit from tee signs and a parking lot sign.
-A sign at the parking lot to check-in at the pro shop would be good.
-Tee signs with the hole's general layout and where the next tee would be good. Although, that may be difficult as the course is constantly being tweaked (the pro shop has the updated map).
-Some wooden yard signs were in knarly shape.
Other Thoughts: Overall: I would say it a good course to introduce someone to woods play. Buxton Woods has some open holes but mostly wooded that forces one to use multiple types of shots. The course is less wooded than Stub Stuart but more wooded than Pier Park.

Possible improvements: It would be nice to see some signs at the tee pads with the hole map (e.g. fairway, trees, ob locations). Although, it may be difficult to accomplish due to the constant evolution of Buxton Woods.

Who this course is meant for: Just about every skill level can play this course. I would not bring 1st timers or very new player's though because the holes may be too long and difficult due to the variety of trees.

Overall likes: Course seems to be constantly changing and improving. Ground cover is sparse making it difficult to lose a disc unless it's an errant throw with an unlucky kick. Wife and I will be back to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Buxton or Bust new Portland motto

1    5/19/2018   5/21/2018
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 51  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 9.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First PRO...course ownership (Kevin)! Brand new baskets. Each tee pad has a picnic table and a broom. Trash cans numerous through out course.
Now for the playing-great mix of holes,lengths (with two new par 4 holes). Long drives, turning drives, straight narrow drives I used 7 different disks for my first throws. Hole 10 and 11 have small ponds you have to work around or over. Very enjoyable round.
Cons: Lots of signs however there are a few missing which gives one a little time looking for the basket or the way to the pad. Not really a major problem but Kevin is well aware and is working on making this course the best. Hole 2 pad needs a pointer from hole 1 basket (I didn't see one). Pad is back and toward the road. Major trails from basket to next pad help in a big way. Hole 17 the basket was way out to the right which the map kind of under showed the turn out to the field.
Other Thoughts: Just a thought...how about a port a pottie out around hole 11. Otherwise we really enjoyed the course the ownership and all that we had contact with...workers, other players.
We live up Seattle area and we will be back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 8/1

1    8/15/2016   8/15/2016
Review By: karmalord
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 8/21/2016
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pro Shop to buy discs food and drinks. I got an awesome bag there as a matter of fact. Tee pads with brooms and tables on every hole is unheard of!
Pads were plenty big.for driving. Course is spread out nicely and the work that has gone into making this special shows.
Cons: Gravel Road on last mile stretch, so don't take the 'vette like I did.
Tee pads should eventually have signs that show you the way to next tee and map of the layout. Got confusing at times
14 looks to be a work in progress and should be mowed and move basket out of woods. Basket locations were ridiculous at times with too many trees to navigate through.
There should always be an open flight path into the basket from at least one angle.
Other Thoughts: With a few minor improvements this course could be one that benchmarks what other disc golf courses should aspire to.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 cant wait

2-4    9/10/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: ezbake
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: although somewhat short at times, this course is still quite challenging and fun. since i last played three months before there have been dramatic improvements. some of the pins have moved to longer positions, which upon viewing took a hell of a lot of work. this is evident in some of the brush piles that havent been removed yet (massive) theyve also been adding steps into some of the steeper holes which is no ez task either.
holes are spread out so no overlap is always a plus. and practically every is has a comfy shaded bench area, plus brooms for teepads
Cons: some of these new pin locations look like they might still be a work in progress, to which i say, why not leave the pin in the short location till its a bit more playable. 14 in particular is one of the largest prettiest holes on the course, but the pin is tucked deeply away in a pretty ridiculous cluster of trees, that seemingly will be more thinned out eventually and WILL be pretty damn cool....but for now? kinda not worth playing as is. and on the same subject tee signs would really help with this, but again, if theyre changing stuff around i can see not wanting to commit on signage yet, but maybe some lil temp laminated signs or something
Other Thoughts: everywhere you look theres work being done around this place, little trees coming down, steps being dugout, brush cleared and hauled out.....i thinks this WILL be one of my favorite courses in another year or two. i love tight wooded courses where if your drive or upshot goes ugly, you literally have to pitch out to fairway. thats real golf in my opinion. but this place is just a lil too rough around the edges to give a perfect rating, YET

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great course with a dedicated staff

5+    1/2/2015   1/6/2015
Review By: chainfreaks
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Multiple shots required,
Well maintained
technical woos golf
constantly evolving
Nice Pro Shop
Cons: a bit short for me personally
its not my backyard
Other Thoughts: The dedication and hard work the staff put into this course amazes me. Long story short they are very good people that enjoy the sport.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Deep in the woods

5+    9/18/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 40  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tucked WAY back into Buxton but still less than an hour from PDX this place is a must go if you are discing in NW oregon. Very easy to tie into a trip to LL Stub or Hornings It is a couple miles down a bumpy dirt road so if you have a really nice, or really low car keep that in mind.

-Facilities, The pro shop is well done, bathroom and water on site for golfers. They have put a bit of time into signage so even a first timer shouldnt be too confused as to where they are going.

-Ever hole has a really well made concrete pad with a picnic bench near by, and a broom somewhere nearby as well.

-Variety, lots of different shots, tunnels, downhills, little water carry shot.

-Baskets, really like the bran new bentleys out here, they catch great and are all bright blue making it easy to spot them.

-Well maintained fairways, everything is nicely mowed down, very little lost disc chance out here.
Cons: Even with some of the new longer placements it is still a bit on the short side, not a big negative to me but will bug folks who really want to air it out.
Other Thoughts: As more and more work is put into Buxton Woods I can see it really becoming a DG destination point. The owners are super friendly and I have always had a good time when golfing here, every time I leave Im already thinking about the next trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Worth the drive

1    7/12/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: volklaero
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Constantly improving course.
Multiple tee pads on some holes increase the difficulty.
Multiple pin locations
There are a few par 4's which really increase the challenge of the course.
Nice, easy to see Bentley blue baskets
Challenging tunnel shots
Easy flowing full length course
Tables, brooms and trash cans at every tee
Chill atmosphere in the hills

Off the beaten track, can be not as busy...since its a full course, less chance of running into other groups

Cons: Location/size can be a deterrent for a quicker round. Gravel road is an issue for sports cars...take something you don't mind getting diry or rock chips.
Other Thoughts: 3 Bucks to play. Well worth it given all the work they have put into this top private course.

I have played many rounds here now, and the owners are constantly improving their course. There are new pin locations being debuted 12/23/17 for a C-tier, and they already have short and long tee's for many holes.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.