Rochester, MN 
IBM Woodside Park Share
Uploaded By: DerekTonn Hole #17 (Taken 6/2017)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Greatest Work Perk Every

5+    7/20/2017   7/21/2017
Review By: Sharkbite
Played: 147  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18.5 Years
Pros: Who has a private disc golf course on there company property that you can play at lunch? Not many so that's pretty awesome

FYI I'm not going to give a 100 word hole by hole review so if you're a review nazi that's played "1000 courses in 3 years" just give it a thumbs down
now.

This is a nice 18 hole course right off 52 in north Rochester. The course was updated at some point so it's 9 concrete and 9 dirt pads. The concrete tees are huge and the dirt are for the most part flat

First 9 holes play out in the open for the most part, with 9 set back in the woods a little. I think a good round you can bird most of those holes except 9 unless you can crush it 400

The next 6 holes play in the woods and are all reachable if you can get by the trees (10) or hit the fairway (11-15). I really enjoyed the wooded holes and actually circled around and played them twice

The rest of holes play out in the open. 16 is a good long drive, followed by 17 a short hole you can go hyzer or anhyzer and get a bird. 18 finishes with a open shot to the pavilion area.

My best round was a 48 with 3 bogies. So I think 9-10 under would be a perfect round for myself
Cons: My biggest con on this course was beer cans. For some unknown reason people think it's cool to hang there empties on the trees in the woods or just make a pile at the tee pad like there mommy is going to come along and clean up after them. This is a private course that I'm sure most don't have permition to play and they actually leave trash all over. What the heck is wrong with these people. I personally picked up a plastic grocery bag stuffed full of smashed empties and it's not even my home course. I'm from STL lol

I went back a few days later and sure enough more cans from the tree. I guess the guy that drinks Michelob golden light thinks he is cool trashing the place. Grow up man, if you bring it in you can pack it out. You are that guy that ruins it for everyone. DONT BE THAT GUY!
Other Thoughts: No tee signs, but no big deal as it's easy to figure out if you've played a while.

This course is a 3 but because it's on IBM complex and a perk to employees I'll give an extra .5. That and it's well mowed, tee pads are awesome on the front and best course in Rochester.

Decent 18 Hole Course

2-4    7/30/2015   4/5/2016
Review By: mjz22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good variety of hole distance, some elevation variation with wooded tees on the back nine
Cons: several of the front nine tees are repetitive with flat open holes, tees not marked very well the last time I played, no water hazard, private course
Other Thoughts: it would be really nice if the city of Rochester acquired this course and made it a public course as it is currently the best course in Rochester, MN

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 PRIVATE COURSE - I couldn't get in

1    7/5/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: sc2sick
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
Pros: Looked like a nice place
Cons: I couldn't get in.. it should be noted that unless you know someone that works there and will give you the pass you can't get in there to play.. They don't have guest/visitor passes
Other Thoughts: Unless you're 100% sure you can get in I wouldn't go out of my way to get here.. I drove an hour with this as my primary destination but wasn't able to play it.. hopefully someone thinking of doing the same will read this and save themselves the time.

 Good mix

1    6/18/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: Hoeser
Played: 90  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent mix of mid-range and longer (300-400') holes.
-Good mix of wide open and heavily overgrown, narrow holes in the woods.
-Nice DGA baskets!
-Very little traffic, I only saw one other disc golfer there.
Cons: -The woods were very difficult, you almost need a spotter on a couple of the holes.
-The woods have not been mowed or maintained in months.
Other Thoughts: -Bring a map, there are no real signs, except a couple of baskets and on PVC poles near some of the tee boxes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Woodside Update

5+    8/30/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: JeffG
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great mix of short, long, open, and wooded holes with some elevation changes back in the woods. The course is well maintained and even has a water fountain just to the right of hole one.
Cons: No water hazards. No signs (yet). Dirt tees on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: In 2011 and 2012 the IBM disk golf club, with help from the Hitachi guys, have expanded this course to 18 holes. It is now, in my humble opinion, the best course in Rochester.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good afternoon work break

5+    8/28/2010   9/12/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is good for a half hour work break in the afternoon, or to bring your family to introduce them to the sport.

The baskets are good and tee pads are concrete. Navigation is fairly easy.

There is a good mix of long open holes and shorter holes with mature trees in the way. It seems like the designer made good use of what terrain there is.

The grass is always nicely mowed, and the course avoids the main walking paths and picnic areas.

Hole 8 is the highlight, forcing an S-curve shot slightly downhill for a birdie. The basket is well-protected by giant evergreens.
Cons: Almost no elevation changes.
Easy course, although some of the holes are long for a beginner's arm.
Not a wide variety of shots - a generic straight drive will do for most of the holes.
Advanced or Pro players will be very bored with this course due to the easy difficulty.
Other Thoughts: Private course only for IBM employees and families.

There were plans to add more holes to make this 18, and they are marked with PVC pipes. These holes are designed to be more challenging, and some go through heavy forest.

Discs can be lost in tall corn if it's windy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Big Blue

5+    2/28/2009   2/28/2009
Review By: Bangchains
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting short layout with a decent mixture of shots. Good for beginners to the game.
Cons: Short 9 holes. Mostly open with a few trees scattered around. Shooting under par is too easy even with just a midrange.
Other Thoughts: There is a good amount of land that is unused by the course including a wooded area would improve this course. It actually has a object pole hole setup in this area just no baskets.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 An Enjoyable Course

5+    10/1/2008   1/17/2009
Review By: Crusher
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good mix of trees and open space. Well-placed baskets. Concrete tee pads. Private course so not as busy as others. Only a two minute walk from work during the day!
Cons: No hole markers (yet). Good for beginner and novice players, but probably not very challenging for the advanced player. Only 9 holes at this time. The "back" nine are in the woods and only have pvc pipe. Maybe one day we can get 9 more holes.
Other Thoughts: Par is 3 on every hole or 27 for the course. I have been playing this course since 2002; after 100+ rounds it is still very enjoyable.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Down by the Woodside

5+    8/25/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: Treewacker9
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees & well-placed baskets around a park setting. Mostly open with a couple of wood holes. Nice course to play during your lunch period or after work for an IBM employee.
Cons: This is a private course. Most of the patrons are IBM employees (w/friends & family). No signs, just poles stating the hole ( I've been playing this course for months & I still don't know what par is). No multiple tees.
Other Thoughts: Not too hard of a course but watch for the evergreens. They will eat your disc on a bad throw. OB in the corn field & across the road but doesn't come into play very often unless its windy. Not much traffic; the picnic area is on the other side of the park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.