Sicklerville, NJ 
New Brooklyn Park Share
Uploaded By: dscglfer40 Hole #7 (Taken 12/2013)
4 / 603ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Flat and Mostly Straight

1    8/3/2019   8/6/2019
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 65  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ Tee signs are very good - with distances, notation of alternative baskets, and the holes have nicknames ("An Arrow's Flight", "Split Decision", "The Beach", etc.)

+ This is a very flat area, and course designers used whatever elevation they could find (I appreciated the effort with basket placements on #7, #10, #12, #16), and they even "created" elevation with a small pyramid on #14

+ Hole #11 is "The Beach" - and the sand all along the left fairway adds difficulty to this long par 4, because you're not getting any roll at all. It made for a fun challenge. It's possible to play safely along the right side. You'll add some distance, but you're staying out of the sand
Cons:
- Thorns in the brush. And it's that type of big heavy thorns that mean business

- The park is mowed, but it appears to be cared for by people who don't understand there's a disc golf course here. Many of the fairways have been allowed to grow narrower, by mowing less and less close to the original lines of 2013. This is especially true on holes 15 - 18, where the woods and brush on the right side have been allowed to grow out. The result is that you stand on the tee and look at the (very good) tee signs - and have trouble matching the diagram with what you're looking at. If you're a first-timer like I was, my suggestion is to walk forward and look whenever you can't see the basket

- The tee sign for #7 has been completely overtaken by brush - you won't see it. The tee itself is pavers, so you'll know you're throwing from the right spot. When you finish #6, start walking across the open field, aiming well to your right. Look for the pavers with bushes surrounded on the sides and back. The basket is straight ahead off the tee, about 600' in the distance, with a slight drop behind it. You passed this basket when you were walking from #4 to #5
Other Thoughts:
~ The basket on hole #16 is labeled "Practice." I looked around a lot and didn't see a 16th basket, so my guess is that a practice basket was moved to replace a missing or damaged one on this hole

~ Teepads are mixed: a few with pavers, a few with carpets, many are just sand only

~ The creek that's depicted on some of the later holes is invisible due to thick growth. It's unlikely an errant shot will make it all the way through to the water, so it's pretty much irrelevant

~ This course has a lot of long walks from baskets to next tees, with the longest being the one that connects the front and back nines. Expect your round to take you 1.5 - 2 hours because of the walking. There's a small parking lot near the third tee. Use this, start on #3, and save yourself the long initial walk from the main parking lot to the first tee

~ This is a good course. Not great, and it's lost some of its original contours. It's open, mostly flat, in a well-maintained public park. There are several very legitimate par 4 holes, so you'll have a chance to let a few rip. It's better than just "decent" because of smart design touches, signage and effort that went into making a real disc golf course. It's probably not worth a long drive to play, but if you're within 30 minutes or so, it's a few hours of fun disc golf in South Jersey

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Look In New Brooklyn

1    2/18/2019   2/24/2019
Review By: Ryal
Played: 57  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Spacious course. Most of the fairways have tons of room to allow for all throwing styles.
+ All holes have accurate tee signs that show the hole layout, pars and distances to the possible pin positions.
+ Tons of opportunities to throw at full power and let it fly.
+ About half of the tee pads are made of curious stone lattices. They are flat, sturdy and wide & long enough for big wind-ups.
+ While it's not my preferred method of directing the player to the next tee, each basket has a brightly colored strip of tape wrapped around a spoke on top pointing the player towards the next hole.
+ Complete and detailed course map at the parking lot.
+ Quiet and mostly secluded playing space.
Cons: - Too spacious of a course. Most of the fairways have very few trees to present any obstacle challenge.
- I saw litter all over the place, especially during the front 9.
- Overwhelmingly flat. Elevation is limited to raised baskets and the occasional bump or dimple in the terrain.
- Very little to distinguish most of the back nine's holes from one another. They are all open with a peppering of trees and a walking path OB until hole 16.
- About half of the tee pads are just dirt and sand.
- Some holes play ridiculously close to other park structures. Hole 9, for example, has the player throw right past a roller hockey rink.
- Long walk from pin 18 back to the parking lot.
- No proper 'next tee' signs.
- No practice basket or lost disc box that I could find.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole here was hole 6 because of its secluded tunnel of pine trees. To my mind, it was the most unique hole as it was the only truly wooded hole on the course. My least favorite hole was hole 10 because of the road to the right. I will always feel uncomfortable throwing that close to moving traffic because of the possibilities, however slight they may be, of an unfortunate gust of wind or a very poorly executed throw causing a disc to result in an unexpected driving hazard.

As for the course as a whole, New Brooklyn Park DGC, good as it is, has some issues.

The challenge in this course lies in its distance, mostly. This course is definitely geared more towards the power players out there. It can feel a bit dull throwing two or three times with nothing to avoid before finally reaching the basket .There are a few technical holes, but what few holes there are that focus on aim and placement do not scratch that itch.

Since the playing area used to be a 9-hole golf course, I will say that New Brooklyn has some unique land features that I've rarely encountered anywhere else. For example, the sandy areas in the back nine that were likely once sand traps for golf balls provide an interesting challenge regarding foot traction that I don't deal with often. On the downside, an area that used to be a ball golf course has to be mostly flat. A disc golf course does not have to have crazy elevation in order to be fun as long as there are other challenges to deal with. But this course is both largely wide open and overwhelmingly flat. It may turn off quite a few players.

A few more notes.
The stone gridwork tee pads are a fun idea and seem to work, but they are installed on just half the holes as of Feb. 18, 2019.
The bright strips of tape on top of the baskets do, indeed, point players towards the next tee, but I didn't find that out until after hole 6. Earlier in my session, I teed off at 7 believing it to be 4 because it was the closest pad to basket 3. Bright-colored next tee signs are better than tape.
Plastic bags, soda bottles, beer cans and other trash has found its way onto the course, too.

Bottom line: New Brooklyn DGC wants you to throw your farthest. Many of its holes give you tons of space to do just that as long as you first check around you to make sure that there is nobody walking along the serpentine paths throughout the park. Forget about hitting trees or navigating steep inclines here. Spend those 18 holes trying to out-throw yourself, and you should have a decent time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

pleasantly surprised

2-4    2/9/2019   11/14/2018
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 28  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2019
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As noted by other reviewers, there is the variety of holes between the front and back 9s. As a ball golfer first and a new disc golfer, I appreciate the open fairways of most of the holes. I still don't have aim down well. Wasn't going to lose a disc (I felt), although I put the driver in the cutting briar a few times along the creek holes.

As a ball golfer, learning that it used to be a par-3 ball golf course explains the open-course look on the back 9 and useful cart path (helped me find tees). I was really impressed with that, though the walking was tough for me. I'm recovering from foot surgeries, so next year, when I come again, walking shouldn't be an issue.

When available, I like the honeycomb tee pads.

I initially thought to only play the front 9 and go home but was so intrigued by the looks of the back 9, I had to try it.

I thought the hole signs were good. Did not see any next-tee signs. Would be good or even illustrate next-tee with an arrow on the hole sign maps.

Appreciated the suggested routing on those signs. Not always sure which sides of trees/bushes to go on or if both offered a path by just looking at what I saw from the tee.

Very-well maintained. And I have a preference (though can be dangerous) for courses in parks with other activities. Just for the greater opportunity for people to be afoot if you need their help.

I even appreciated the busy street and folks walking dogs or jogging on the path along the street. The place can easily be isolated.

I really liked the sand hole (no. 11), the big long no/ 14, the long no. 7, the Hyzer nos. 2 and 10, the straightforward nos. 1 and 3. My best hole played was no. 13. I nearly parred it. Pars and bogeys are good in my book.

I liked that the wooded fairways or bushes/clumps of trees in the fairway holes offered a challenge but were not discouraging. Surmountable.
Cons: Holes 15-18 were an absolute swamp on the day I played. I suppose nothing really can be done about that beyond playing on a dry day! All that casual water made for some interesting choices and a lot of layups.

The place can easily be isolated. Pick your time to go with what is most comfortable for you.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. I shall certainly play it when again in Philly and/or Atlantic City or Cape May even. I had left Philly that morning (visiting friends) and was at TopGolf for some ball golf on a drizzly day. But wasn't done with sports, so with drying conditions -- and not willing to battle Philly traffic another time to go back in to play Sedgley Woods -- I found this course on this website on my smartphone and am glad I made the effort.

So you know: Hole 15's basket says PRACTICE now. I suspect the 15 basket was lost or stolen and the practice basket relocated to the hole 15 "green".

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    10/28/2017   10/28/2017
Review By: DiscGolfingSteve
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Many short holes for putt practice and approach shots
Many long drive shots to practice driving
A couple good midrange drive holes
Signage is posted
Very well kept course
Baskets look almost new
Wide open with still having tree cover, awesome
Never crowded, don't know why though
First six holes off in there own sheltered area, very neat
Cons: Tee pads are nonexistent on most holes
One hole near a building, no chance of hitting though.
Other Thoughts: Add teepads and minor maintenance and five stars EASY.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Loooonnnggg holes

1    5/31/2017   9/22/2017
Review By: Redzo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really nice course. Some extremely long holes to really test out your power throws. Very fun layout. Lots of sun.
Cons: Low lying area for a few holes results in a swampy marshland. Few boxes are natural and not the best. Layout could be posted better. Tons of potential.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It's Disc Golf

1    9/3/2017   9/3/2017
Review By: goalie95
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Course has a nice variety of both short and long holes. The front 9 is a good beginner course, with the exception of 7, and the back 9 is a more advanced course given how far you need to be able to throw your disc. (Hole 14 is just over 1000 feet long). If it's a nice day and you like to walk then the space between holes, once you get to the back 9, is nice. If you are looking for a quick half round then the front 9 is perfect as they are all close together. The fairways are typically forgiving, but the trees in the fairways give you a slight challenge while playing which can be both a pro and con depending on the person.
Cons: While signs at the "tee box" are present, they are a bit confusing as some have multiple baskets shown and different distances shown as well, but there is only 1 of each on the course. The tee boxes themselves are a mix of hard ground and gravel which can be a bit worrisome if you're not careful. The course layout can be a bit confusing as some of the tee boxes are hidden like on holes 7 and 12. Even after reading the course layout some of the baskets are difficult to find(I still have no idea where the basket for hole 15 is). If you have a very strong right hook then some holes on the back 9 can be a challenge to not land in the road as you play with one to your right.
Other Thoughts: All and all playing this course should leave you satisfied as it is an 18 hole course and a nice park to play in. This course could use some work, but so do a lot of other courses. It's not the most exciting course, but also not the most boring. When playing for the first time you should expect to take extra time wandering looking for where the course layout if bringing you. As far as south jersey courses go, this one is just fine.
WARNING: Don't play after a rain storm as the back 9 tends to pool up. Found that out the hard way

 Me likely

5+    5/24/2016   8/18/2016
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 68  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 17.4 Years
Pros: This course has 2 personalities: beginner and pro. Holes 1-6 and 8-10 are shorter, more manageable holes, while holes 7 and 11-18 feature much bigger distance and more advanced design. There is a great mix of shots here overall. You will use plenty of discs. The par 4's here are great.
Cons: There is no elevation change here, but nothing can be done there. Some repetitive holes can get a touch bland. Holes 1, 4, and 10 are very similar, open straight shots. Holes 2 and 5 are very similar: slight hyzer shots of similar distance. Hole 8 is just funny....a 125 ft. straight shot.
Other Thoughts: Being only 30 minutes from Philly, I dig it and I still go occasionally. It's a neat course. I don't recommend it as a travel destination course, but worth playing if you're in the area with time on your hands.

 nice beginner front 9

1    7/5/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: specsman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front 9 is a great beginner course. I'm not very good but I managed to par half the holes. Nice baskets. Every hole has a map. Not a long course and holes are close together.
Cons: Lack of a concrete pads. Some might argue the short/easy holes are a "con" but I rather enjoyed them.
Other Thoughts: I've only played the front 9 but I'll be back for the back 9.

Take a photo of the course map at the parking lot entrance. It can help you find the next tee on the front 9 as some of their locations can be confusing. (holes close together).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Brook

5+    4/5/2015   4/5/2015
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 68  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 13.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Brooklyn is a course with two personalities: the front 9 is a beginner course, and the back 9 is an advanced course. You could think of the Brook as two different 9 hole courses to test different skills. The entire course is relatively open, with thick rough that can be very punishing if you find yourself there. The front 9 can be a birdie-fest if you are playing well, but there are a few difficult shots found in holes # 3, 6, and 7. The back 9 requires 350-400 ft of distance to score well in addition to decisive strategy on the longer holes. # 11, 15, 16, and 18 are all challenging long holes that can rack up big scores if they are not played carefully. At New Brooklyn, about half of the holes are really well designed, and the other half feel like filler holes due to the simplicity of the land.
Cons: The land for the course is very boring. This leaves about half of the holes at New Brooklyn as unremarkable. The teepads are in various condition. I have helped install the concrete pavers on a few tees, but nevertheless I worry about the uneven footing. The course is a little righty-backhand friendly.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing New Brooklyn, especially when the wind is low. When the wind is up, it is a very tough course because of its open fields. BEWARE of water on the right side of holes 15-17, as you can't see it off the tees. I would like to see some alternate tees and pins in the future to expand on the options and improve shot variety.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Decent Effort

1    10/26/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 82  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recently installed 18 hole course located in a clean, well- maintained county park. Practice basket located by the parking lot. Nice, colored signs depicting par, distance and desired flight path at all tee areas. Navigation pretty easy. Complements the much more wooded Stafford Woods course 15-20 minutes away. Features an elevated basket on hole 14. Provides something for all skill levels and rec. players could play the front 9 loop only if desired. Porta-potties on site and course is close to various restaurants and convenience stores.
Cons: The front 9 plays in close quarters and features some potential trouble spots where holes run perilously close to one another. Tee pads a combination of pavers, dirt and carpet and are a work in progress. Not much elevation. Deceptive, hidden water bordering hole 17 to the right. Pedestrian traffic and other park activities a potential hazard on the front nine. No benches, bag poles or "next tee" signs which always add to the overall quality of a course.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my experience at New Brooklyn Park, but it's not nearly the quality of Stafford Woods or even South Vineland. It's an unusual venue in that it looks like two entirely separate courses built by entirely different work crews: Holes 1-9 are primarily short holes featuring numerous birdie opportunities and run very close together on one side of the park while holes 10-18 feature a much tougher, longer layout. While on its face, this would seem to provide balance, it instead makes the course appear disjointed and uneven.

I cannot stress enough how uneasy I was on the paver tee pads, which are a major red flag. Whereas a solid paver would be fine, these have holes in them where they come together and have "reconstructive knee surgery" written all over them if one were to stumble. Other options should be examined.

The efforts of the South Jersey guys should not go unrecognized for the tremendous inroads they've made at growing the sport in-state and the work they've done here. As such, a 2.75 venue easily gets bumped up to a 3. I have no doubt they'll continue to improve NBP.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.