Des Moines, IA 
Grandview Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #4 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 479ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
A must-play in the DSM area

1    6/17/2017   6/19/2017
Review By: mgcoleman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Stately park setting, plenty of huge, old-growth trees.
+ Good signage, decent tee pads.
+ Felt like a perfect mix of long and short holes, BH and FH friendly holes.
Cons: - Very popular course, so wait times are common.
- Plenty of pedestrians around
- A couple holes get a bit tight to play areas, so probably best to play conservatively on those (put that spike hyzer away on those shots or risk winging a kid, I guess!).
Other Thoughts: Played this as the 4th course of the day, so arms and shoulders were a bit tired and frankly didn't notice until the end - the course was that much fun to play. Good round, not terribly slow, nice layout - KUDOS to Des Moines for maintaining a nice course with an urban area and encouraging more people to play disc golf.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite in Des Moines area

5+    4/7/2017   4/11/2017
Review By: mchopson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course, that usually doesn't get muddy when it rains. It's very wide open and is hard to lose a disc; I don't think I ever lost one on this course. Has signs on each hole showing distances and pin locations. They also move the pins around through out the year to change up the holes. Has amateur and pro tees. Good course for beginners to well experienced players, may be easy for professionals.
Cons: Can get very busy in summer times and may have to wait play and some nights league plays there and once they start playing they don't allow others to play.
Other Thoughts: This is my go to course when ever I go out and play with my buddies. In my opinion one of the better courses in Des Moines area and would recommend playing at least one time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course it the DM Area

2-4    10/24/2015   10/24/2015
Review By: MitchMileHigh
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful city park especially in the fall months with the changing leaves
-Good mix of hole types (backhand and forehand shots)
-Great tee signs and multiple pin locations on each hole
-Good use of the elevation that the park has to offer
-Mix of short holes and longer holes that are not to challenging for the average disc golfer.
-Short tee's on almost every hole for beginners or rec players
-Other things to do at this park besides disc golf
-Hole 13 is a throw every disc in your bag kind of hole
-Hole 1 and hole 9 start and end at the parking lot if you want to play a quick 9 holes.
-Nice concrete tee pads with places to sit
-Each hole is different and has its own distinct features.
-Enough trees and elevation to make this course a sweet challenge
-Fun and entertaining course for all ages!
Cons: -This is the most populated course in DM and you might have a wait on some holes
-Not many trash cans around the course, so you do see some beer cans laying around here and there.
-Arrows on the tee signs pointing to the next hole would be helpful
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course if you are in the DM area! I would say that this is my favorite course, with Big Creek State Park coming in at a close 2nd.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Place to Play!

5+    10/15/2015   10/22/2015
Review By: LoewDog
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate, great shot variety, overall a very good course.

Cons: The only con to this course is that a lot of people play it, so speed of play can be slow.
Other Thoughts: I'd play here before Pickard or Ewing...it may not be quite the challenge but it is a better disc golf experience.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Heart of Des Moines

5+    7/9/2015   7/17/2015
Review By: yearofrolling
Played: 81  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good pads, baskets; great signs.
There's some garbage cans (but not enough, apparently).
Really nice course map at Tee one.
Multiple pin placements keep it fresh.
Improvements! Many of the teepads have been extensively repaired as of late. Some anti-erosion measures are also being taken this year (2015) to try to regrow some grass in high traffic areas and around some pin placements and in chronically soggy areas.
Cons: Traffic. Sometimes you wait.
Empties. Sometimes there's garbage.
There's a couple treks between holes/parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Grandview fills a very important niche for the disc golf community of central Iowa:
A high quality, centrally located and accessible disc golf experience.
Grandview serves the masses.
Its fun for intermediate players and won't leave beginners wishing they had stayed home instead.
Grandview is the teacher.
Grandview is where you play while Pickard and Ewing are a bit out of reach for you.
Its Grandview's welcoming promise of a good time and alluring challenge to try to shoot just one stroke better than last time that keeps me coming back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Muddy mess

1    1/31/2015   2/1/2015
Review By: timj5304
Played: 145  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: 18 holes with chain baskets, it is in a local park in the city of Des Moines, about a mile off of the interstate. Great location. I would imagine it is in the winter layout currently. Decent distance shots and elevation changes.
Cons: This course was pure mud between holes 6-11 and partial mud everywhere else. Repetitive shots, overly crowded course during the summertime I have been told by locals. For the most part the shot was the same every single time for a rhbh player, a hyzer. The ice bowl just happened last weekend and the course is a mess of mud currently so walk carefully, maybe even create alternate teepads because the normal ones are mostly muddy.
Other Thoughts: I recommend passing this one and taking a look at big creek or Ewing insteadad. After getting blasted via pm I will explain why I rated this course why I did, 1,5 says passable on it, to me this course is not a must play when you are in Des moines, ia. Play pickard, Ewing, big creek, walnut ridge or even some of the great courses just to the east of Des moines. If you have time and are in the neighborhood, feel free to play it but don't be surprised if it's crowded and slow.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great Park Course

1    8/11/2014   8/29/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 96  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice feel to the course, in a nice large park setting.
- Relatively easy to get to, and to find the first tee.
- Plenty of parking, as well as other activities and facilities on site.
- Obviously played a lot, and for good reason. It's a very nice, approachable course for newer players, with plenty of challenge, length, and interest for more experienced players. Sometimes the 'fun factor' of courses is really underrated, and this course scores high.
- Mostly good navigation, save for the trek from 5 to 6. I imagine like most first time players, I could only see one tee, so I went to it, only to find it was the 6 short. Otherwise not too bad.
- Two nine-hole loops, which is always nice.
- Good elevation on the course, and used well. Some very interesting shots.
- Nice pads, two for nearly all holes, except where not really practical. For the most part, the short pads just reduce length, and don't often give a wholly different look at the pin. It's obvious that the long tees get extensive play.
- Two pin placements for most holes. These DO seem to offer different looks and lines for each hole. Very nice. Older, 'well loved' baskets on the course, but I had no issues.
- Fantastic signs at each pad (except 5, 7, and 16 which were missing)
- Plenty of benches along the course (also a con in places).
- #6 - A fun, long hole skirting some timber. Definitely a little different from most of the rest of the course, even though it's relatively open. Roll-away potential here, into a more tightly-wooded area.
- #7 - I really liked this for some reason, even though it's quite simple and relatively easy. It was tightest hole up to that point, so it was a nice change of pace.
- #12 is a long hole from the far tee, over some undulating terrain. Blind basket over the top of the next hill - pretty cool.
- #13 tee box is well constructed and maintained. Shoots from one hillside to the other, and becomes longer than it's listed if your drive is short and you leave yourself a decent uphill approach.
- #14 is a fun, downhill par 3 that plays like a puzzle. What line will I use to get close at the pin? Tucked very nicely behind some mature trees that make you pick a line and try to skip one in there.
Cons: - Missing signs at a few tee pads.
- Unfortunately some baskets are very much blind, and it's difficult to know which placement is current. FWIW, occasionally even when you see where the basket is, it's sometimes difficult to tell if that was the A or B placement from the sign.
- Benches and picnic tables are littered throughout the course, sometimes in or near throwing lanes. For as much as the park is used for disc golf, I find it hard to think that these get much use in their current positions.
- Missing some signature holes. There are quite a few memorable ones, but nothing that absolutely stands out. #13 is probably as close as it gets.
- Not many penalties for bad lines here, other than loss of distance or hitting a mature tree. Most bad shots are recoverable. Another reason why it's great for newer players, however. Chances of losing discs = near zero.
- #2 is a pretty open, straight downhill, without a lot going for it.
- #15 also just feels a little pedestrian after the run of 12, 13, and 14. Wide open, uphill, guarded basket.
Other Thoughts: - I had a very fun round here, which I'm sure will bring me back. The course obviously gets a lot of play for that reason.
- Played just before a league night, which of course is also good to see.
- For a local comparison, this course reminds me of Maytag Park in Newton, IA. Fewer wide open holes though. For a less local comparison, it's much like Chautauqua Park in Fairfield, IA, but with considerably more distance.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Corse

1    7/30/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: Bigcountry54
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great holes, easy with a hint of challenge for a new player, Trees made it a little technical to play, No water
Cons: With 2 tees and 2 baskets, things got a little confusing occasionally. A busy course for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: If I get back to Des Moines, I will play this course again!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Favorite

5+    10/19/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: rocker13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Multiple pin placements. Elevation and tree hazards add some difficulty. On my favorite side of town. Nice tee pads great for driving. Many seats if you get tired.
Cons: Many holes are very similar. Not too many shots that will really punish you.
Other Thoughts: I have always loved this course. It isn't that hard but I personally just go here to see how much my skills have improved. Many holes are possible to make in one shot. Some times a poor throw will go towards people but if you can control your shot you will do fine.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 enjoyed the course

1    7/7/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: FightingIllinut
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It reminded me somewhat of my home course in that the course isn't carved out of forest but there sure are a lot of trees!!
Cons: could use some.......next tee ===> ......in one or two locations although having the course map photo on my phone helped with that.
Other Thoughts: Even here in the Quad Cities where we have many awesome courses I would still make this course a regular part of my rounds.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.