Fort Collins, CO 
Edora Park Share
Uploaded By: hirsch449 Hole #3 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun CO park course

5+    11/4/2019   11/7/2019
Review By: nnewms
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course with long holes, good use of park space, has water features utilizes the trees and park (sidewalks, tennis courts, etc.) very well.
The course has long and short holes and provides difficulty in many different ways.
Very large park offers super fun tournament layouts that bring other parts of the park into play that also provide great fair challenge
Cons: A couple long WIDE open holes
A few of the shorter holes provide difficulty simply because they follow long holes
Poor flow at least for now (see other thoughts about construction)
Other Thoughts: This course is a ton of fun but takes a lot to get to know it. Easy to get lost as you cross a road twice, the course is fluid so the layout (tees and entire holes) changes pretty frequently. The construction on a bridge and creek flow has several old holes that are closed. Overall a very fun course just not supported by the city super well

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing Course Design

1    8/22/2019   8/24/2019
Review By: aphilso1
Played: 27  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 Holes
-Many holes have multiple baskets, which allows experienced players and new players to play together on an appropriately challenging course
-Located in a very nice, well maintained park
-Multiple holes with some real (500'+) length
-Friendly locals
Cons: -Illogical, extremely confusing layout.
-A few teepads were mad of nice grippy concrete, but the majority were either old moldy carpet, old slick non-textured concrete, or even no teepad at all
-Many holes have no signage. Combined with the illogical layout and existence of some holes completely lacking any teepad, and the course feels like a temp safari track
-Back half of the course is located about 1/4 mile away from the front, and is very hard to find. The back holes aren't maintained like the front either, which combined with the long walk is probably why we were the only players on the course wiling to play those holes.
-Likely due to the odd layout, locals play the course in a variety of hole orders. Most players appear to cut out stretches of holes they deem unworthy of playing, and instead lop through their favorite holes multiple times. This causes traffic jams in places, even on a weekday morning.
-Multiple holes have blind shots. That would be fine, except that the holes often have a different hole's basket in clear sight...with no signage, that resulted in confusion where multiple groups on different holes were throwing to the same basket (because it's hard to tell which basket to throw to)
-And to top it all off, the layout incorporates crossing fairways in very high traffic areas. Danger, Will Robinson.
Other Thoughts: I had three separate locals, upon finding out I was a traveler, all groan and say they wish I could've seen the course last year. Apparently the city came in and took a portion of the old course layout to use for other park projects. What is left is really a very below average course, and one that is not remotely close to the quality you'd expect given it's rating. I feel terrible for the locals, who were all super friendly and helpful and aided me in navigating the mess that is the current layout. That being said, I review courses with the traveling player in mind, so you know if a course is worth playing. Right now, Edora is barely worth the time to play. Hopefully the local club can eventually make improvements given the course footprint they now have. But in it's current shape it's not a good course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best in Fort Collins

1    11/10/2018   11/19/2018
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 82  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Some of the biggest tee pads I have ever seen, very accommodating for a huge run up
-High Quality, Visible Mach X baskets
-Fairways are excellently mowed grass, not as skippy as it looks, also the part that loops around the electrical plant is mostly dirt and small weeds on the ground.
-Good elevation, there are rolling hills that most hole incorporate some how
-Trees are nicely used here, meaning that they don't feel forced into the layout, they seem natural and like a well though out design choice.
-This Park has a really nice vibe, all the locals are super nice and very helpful
-Water comes in play on a few holes, most notably 18, makes for a fun decision making shot of whether to go for it or lay up.
-Most holes have opportunity for lots of different shot types, the coruse also includes a few ace runs which is always fun
-Not much garbage laying around, this course is well loved and treated kindly, as it should be!
-Fairways get close to each other, but don't really intersect, 5 and 6 look like they get close though
Cons:
-Only a little bit of signage, and the signage is just OK
-A couple random Baskets that are different than standard course baskets, this is confusing for someone who has never played here before.
-Unfortunately, when I played there was construction, so a lot of the holes were gone, which was super confusing for me to navigate, but I imagine that is a temporary thing
-The mal by hole 1 does not show the seemingly random bonus holes that are across from the park, personally, I feel like these are more worthwhile than playing around the electrical plant
-The Park part of this course is nice, but when the course loops around the electrical plant, it gets boring and a little sketchy feeling

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 No signage!

1    8/10/2017   8/12/2017
Review By: huskerfan
Played: 50  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Highest rated course in Ft. Collins.
-Nice mixture of different types of fairways.
-Nice big cement pads.
-Lots of big open, let'er fly fairways.
-Not a real easy course, geared for the better player.
-Some of the fairways have multiple baskets.


Cons: -Very little signage and no signage to help navigate. Download map or you're S.O.L.
-Doesn't flow, lots of unnecessary walking.
-Couple of the alternate baskets were really close to each other and doesn't really changing the throw.


Other Thoughts: Once again another one of those courses where the locals know where to go, so why bother to put any direction arrows out?
#9 and #10 are gone, would be nice to see a kiosk at #1 with a map?
Gotta wonder who approved #10 in the first place being so close to road?
I did have a good time playing the course, but could've done without the time wasted trying to figure out the course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The good and the bad

1    7/26/2017   7/26/2017
Review By: Jhaf259
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The beginning was fun. Open fields, with hills and trees for obstacles. The park is well kept so no dealing with unforgiving rough. For the most part the tees have long strips of pavement to throw from.
Cons: The course was not very well marked. The tee signs show 3 - 5 different placements the basket can be in, but doesn't really specify which locations are actually in play. Some of the holes did not connect very well so without having a picture of the map, you wouldn't really know where to go. Part of the course is unplayable. We couldn't find a few of the baskets around the power plant, and some of the tees were in construction areas. We skipped a few holes to get out of that area.
Other Thoughts: I didn't really enjoy having to play around buildings and the power plant.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing but solid 'Player's Course'

2-4    4/3/2017   4/8/2017
Review By: nightwing
Played: 228  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 11.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of interesting and challenging shots
-I especially like the longer 2nd shots
-Big, newer grabby Mach X baskets!
-2 baskets on most holes.
-The original holes have good photo signs w distances
-Some VERY long concrete tee-pads
-Some beautiful grassy knoll and water parkland.
-Effort made to keep course viable amidst changes.
-Some restrooms, benches, trashcans etc
-In town location with parking and room to practice.
Cons: -Ummmm...as stated often...confusing layout!
-Some criss-crossing fairways.
-Some par 3s are really 4s.
-Some alternate baskets don't really offer much variety.
-Will need another layout change after construction.
-Not a lot of elevation (but good use of what's there.)
Other Thoughts: First up, let me just say this is a VERY hard course to rate.
IF your criteria is 'Are there great shots and I'll put up with anything to get 'em', well this is a 4+ easy. But if you want a coherent layout that gets you around a dependable 'course' without long detours and criss-crossing fairways...a 3 would be generous. I'm rounding up to a 4 because I just love the challenge here.

Since I had read about the layout, I stalled around the practice basket, well to the right of Tee #1 until I saw a couple locals who looked like they knew the way. They gave me a great tour and we enjoyed a very long round a lot. But if you try to go it alone, good luck.

HINT: It's a big park and my GPS did not take me to Hole #1. It took almost 1/2 an hour to drive around the back of the course. Follow the directions on the site here.

REC/Casual players: This is one of the longer 'Park Courses' I have played. Figure on playing the short baskets and you will have plenty of long 2nd shots even so.

NOTE: Skip these course directions unless you need em:

GETTING AROUND THE CURRENT LAYOUT: The course starts out with the tennis courts on your right. From the short basket on the hillside, it's quite a ways out to the right to #2, which plays down a long open grassy hill. Then you cross the street and play 3 temporary holes with little rug tees near the elementary school. They basically just do a clock-wise triangle to make do until construction finishes on the back nine.

Then you cross back onto the regular course with full teepads again. Note: the next 2 holes are # 5 and #6! #5 plays up the hill towards the trees. #6 is beyond to the right. The long basket is a wonderful par 4 really, to the right of the building.

Now it gets tricky. You head left across the street, don't play any of the holes you see but walk way out the wide bike and hike path by the creek to #7 on the other side of the railroad tracks. You know you are there when you see a very large stone wall down the right side. #8 is an ace run beyond to the right.

Now you keep going right/clockwise past both 9 and 10 that are in the construction. Your next 3 holes complete the clockwise circle at the wide path. NOW you play the four holes you walked by after #6. Yeeeeeeesh. But they are fun holes so WTH. The #15 water hole drive is priceless.

Next you cross the street again, but don't play the #17 tee right in front of you!? Walk past it up the paved way to 16. You guessed it....NOW you play 17 which criss-crosses 16 LOL. But they are good holes too.

18 plays a long way between the creek and the tennis courts, way out past the lot and Tee #1. Who cares. It's a great hole too. So there you have it. If your willing to hike for it, find your way around or hook up with locals, there are more great shots here than most any 'Park Course'.
But a quick casual 'course bag' for new players it's not. Enjoy.


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Long course, still bit messed up from the construction

1    1/17/2017   1/17/2017
Review By: travelsurflive
Played: 30  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - multiple basket positions
- well marked
- lots of trash cans
- nice use of area
- other cool people out that were helpful
- nice big parking to, easy to find
Cons: - along a river for few holes, could get little sketchy
- really muddy everywhere with the now melted
- no bathrooms
- decent amount of cyclists and hikers to watch out for on back nine
Other Thoughts: Fun course definitely worth checking, check out the odell brewery afterwards only few miles away nice after disc beer and food.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course in FC

1    1/15/2017   1/15/2017
Review By: VpFiend
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great hole selection. Difficult to earn a birdie. Lots of open space for a variety of lines and throwing styles. Better than any course in the Denver area.
Cons: Some water comes into play on a few holes. Course isn't the easiest to walk thru your first time. Take a picture of the course map and you should be fine. Few holes closed for construction. No signs leading you to the next hole. Great course overall
Other Thoughts: If you can play only one course in FC play this course

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hard to navigate, decent terrain

1    10/15/2016   10/16/2016
Review By: hopalong
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well manicured grass greens in the park area, and very well mowed fields in the open space area.
Cons: Incredibly hard to navigate, confusion as to which pins were in play, multiple pins on each hole, misleading signage, and a few tee boxes has some interesting concrete work that could potentially trip a player.
Other Thoughts: This course could be a lot better with minimal work on navigation signage. Unsure what the unmarked holes by the elementary school are, and the gap between hole 4 and 5 is confusing. one arrow painted on the pin would work wonders.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/12/2016   9/5/2016
Review By: Unlimited
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best course in the area
2 Baskets from almost all tee pads(try flipping disc or playing both to choose)
3 new holes in grass area ( grass tee pads, no sign, just have to ask a local)
Every type of throw needed to have a good round
Very clean
Good for all skill levels
Non disc golfers seem to stay out of fairways
Cons: Hard to navigate
Busy and backed up during prime time
Print a map or play with a local
Other Thoughts: I play this course when I visit family and it always seems to be changing for the better. The multiple baskets off one tee pad make for some interesting games that aren't an option at any of the other courses I've played. Still no hole 9 due to construction

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.