Fort Collins, CO 
Edora Park Share
Uploaded By: hirsch449 Hole #8 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Confusing but solid 'Player's Course'

2-4    4/3/2017   4/8/2017
Review By: nightwing
Played: 157  Reviewed: 39
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of interesting and challenging shots
-I especially like the longer 2nd shots
-Big, newer grabby Mach X baskets!
-2 baskets on most holes.
-The original holes have good photo signs w distances
-Some VERY long concrete tee-pads
-Some beautiful grassy knoll and water parkland.
-Effort made to keep course viable amidst changes.
-Some restrooms, benches, trashcans etc
-In town location with parking and room to practice.
Cons: -Ummmm...as stated often...confusing layout!
-Some criss-crossing fairways.
-Some par 3s are really 4s.
-Some alternate baskets don't really offer much variety.
-Will need another layout change after construction.
-Not a lot of elevation (but good use of what's there.)
Other Thoughts: First up, let me just say this is a VERY hard course to rate.
IF your criteria is 'Are there great shots and I'll put up with anything to get 'em', well this is a 4+ easy. But if you want a coherent layout that gets you around a dependable 'course' without long detours and criss-crossing fairways...a 3 would be generous. I'm rounding up to a 4 because I just love the challenge here.

Since I had read about the layout, I stalled around the practice basket, well to the right of Tee #1 until I saw a couple locals who looked like they knew the way. They gave me a great tour and we enjoyed a very long round a lot. But if you try to go it alone, good luck.

HINT: It's a big park and my GPS did not take me to Hole #1. It took almost 1/2 an hour to drive around the back of the course. Follow the directions on the site here.

REC/Casual players: This is one of the longer 'Park Courses' I have played. Figure on playing the short baskets and you will have plenty of long 2nd shots even so.

NOTE: Skip these course directions unless you need em:

GETTING AROUND THE CURRENT LAYOUT: The course starts out with the tennis courts on your right. From the short basket on the hillside, it's quite a ways out to the right to #2, which plays down a long open grassy hill. Then you cross the street and play 3 temporary holes with little rug tees near the elementary school. They basically just do a clock-wise triangle to make do until construction finishes on the back nine.

Then you cross back onto the regular course with full teepads again. Note: the next 2 holes are # 5 and #6! #5 plays up the hill towards the trees. #6 is beyond to the right. The long basket is a wonderful par 4 really, to the right of the building.

Now it gets tricky. You head left across the street, don't play any of the holes you see but walk way out the wide bike and hike path by the creek to #7 on the other side of the railroad tracks. You know you are there when you see a very large stone wall down the right side. #8 is an ace run beyond to the right.

Now you keep going right/clockwise past both 9 and 10 that are in the construction. Your next 3 holes complete the clockwise circle at the wide path. NOW you play the four holes you walked by after #6. Yeeeeeeesh. But they are fun holes so WTH. The #15 water hole drive is priceless.

Next you cross the street again, but don't play the #17 tee right in front of you!? Walk past it up the paved way to 16. You guessed it....NOW you play 17 which criss-crosses 16 LOL. But they are good holes too.

18 plays a long way between the creek and the tennis courts, way out past the lot and Tee #1. Who cares. It's a great hole too. So there you have it. If your willing to hike for it, find your way around or hook up with locals, there are more great shots here than most any 'Park Course'.
But a quick casual 'course bag' for new players it's not. Enjoy.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long course, still bit messed up from the construction

1    1/17/2017   1/17/2017
Review By: travelsurflive
Played: 20  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - multiple basket positions
- well marked
- lots of trash cans
- nice use of area
- other cool people out that were helpful
- nice big parking to, easy to find
Cons: - along a river for few holes, could get little sketchy
- really muddy everywhere with the now melted
- no bathrooms
- decent amount of cyclists and hikers to watch out for on back nine
Other Thoughts: Fun course definitely worth checking, check out the odell brewery afterwards only few miles away nice after disc beer and food.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in FC

1    1/15/2017   1/15/2017
Review By: VpFiend
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great hole selection. Difficult to earn a birdie. Lots of open space for a variety of lines and throwing styles. Better than any course in the Denver area.
Cons: Some water comes into play on a few holes. Course isn't the easiest to walk thru your first time. Take a picture of the course map and you should be fine. Few holes closed for construction. No signs leading you to the next hole. Great course overall
Other Thoughts: If you can play only one course in FC play this course

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Hard to navigate, decent terrain

1    10/15/2016   10/16/2016
Review By: hopalong
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well manicured grass greens in the park area, and very well mowed fields in the open space area.
Cons: Incredibly hard to navigate, confusion as to which pins were in play, multiple pins on each hole, misleading signage, and a few tee boxes has some interesting concrete work that could potentially trip a player.
Other Thoughts: This course could be a lot better with minimal work on navigation signage. Unsure what the unmarked holes by the elementary school are, and the gap between hole 4 and 5 is confusing. one arrow painted on the pin would work wonders.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/12/2016   9/5/2016
Review By: Unlimited
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best course in the area
2 Baskets from almost all tee pads(try flipping disc or playing both to choose)
3 new holes in grass area ( grass tee pads, no sign, just have to ask a local)
Every type of throw needed to have a good round
Very clean
Good for all skill levels
Non disc golfers seem to stay out of fairways
Cons: Hard to navigate
Busy and backed up during prime time
Print a map or play with a local
Other Thoughts: I play this course when I visit family and it always seems to be changing for the better. The multiple baskets off one tee pad make for some interesting games that aren't an option at any of the other courses I've played. Still no hole 9 due to construction

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good experience on my vacation

2-4    7/30/2016   8/3/2016
Review By: Kevin78401
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has a nice open layout. The park is clean and the course was fairly easy to follow. The cement tees were nice and a good variety of distances/basket options.
Cons: Holes 9&10 were not playable (due to construction). Quite a walk between 4&5.
Other Thoughts: I have played harder courses and easier ones. I was visiting family in Colorado (I live in NY) and this was an enjoyable course to play. It was the first time for my son and girlfriend to play. The course was friendly and made it a good first experience. I played it twice while there. It was worth a second play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

What I think of as "Home".

5+    4/20/2016   4/23/2016
Review By: spetersonfleet
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If I have a home course, it's Edora. We're lucky to have a pretty good number of courses within an hour drive here, and I think Edora is the best course I've played thus far. (I'm pretty new, not quite a year golfing, now.) Seems to have a good variety of shots you need to throw, not overly forehand or backhand friendly. There are few wide open, 500' plus holes you'll need a big arm to birdie. Also, there are shorter holes that are more technical, as well as a very technical and long hole 4, if you play the longest pin. It's close to 700' total, with a very narrow double mando, 150'-ish off the tee. We have some elevation changes, but nothing too drastic. It's not a hiking trail, but it will affect how you throw your shots. We recently got a second set of baskets on almost every hole, so you can throw at either the shortest pin, or most holes have at least one longer pin setting that now has a Mach X basket on it. Edora is a very nice park, and most of the course is really well manicured. This is just a very solid course that I'm so happy to be able to play regularly, and I'm really thankful to the folks who bust their butts to keep it up. Thank you so much!
Cons: It is a multi-use park right next to an elementary school (and an ice rink, swimming pool, tennis courts, horseshoes, etc.), so look out for non-disc golfers wandering into the fairways. 17 and 18 have crossing fairways with lots of trees both in the fairway and near the tees, so it can be hard to see if people are in the area you'll be throwing in. With the big lift the folks who do a wonderful job keeping the course up had in getting the new pins for us, they haven't been able to get around to the correcting the posts that show the pin placements, standing next to the tees. They are still up on a hole that no longer exists (the old 10, if memory serves), and haven't had placards made for some of the newer holes. As a result, the hole numbering is off. In a perfect world where they had the time, money and help to do it, some work on the tees themselves would be nice. A few of them are broken or different portions of concrete have sunken, making the footing a bit dicey. Also, something on or near the pins that points new players to the next tee would be nice. There are a number of tees that can't be seen from the prior pin, so unless you have a map (easily downloadable in PDF form, I think there's one posted near the first tee, but I seem to remember it being outdated) it can be tough to find your way around. It's populated enough you can usually find a group of locals and follow them, or just ask. Most folks out there are pretty friendly.
Other Thoughts: We won't be hosting Worlds at any point, most likely, but Edora is a fantastic course. If you don't have fun playing here, disc golf probably isn't your game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Disc Golf Experience

2-4    9/8/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: Soulsnatcha
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed playing this course it has something for everyone. This course has a lot of variety. There are long holes, technical holes, a hole on an island, shots along water hazards, as well as shots over water hazards. hole 12 has an "A" and "B" tee pad which I found a fun twist ( I played both). Concrete tee pads, multiple pin placements and well marked holes are also features of this course. All in all I had some great rounds of disc golf.
Cons: Nasty Bathroom Facility! Certain times of day the course can be packed. To me however these cons are outweighed by the pros for this course, I play it every time I am in Fort Collins.
Other Thoughts: The local disc golf shop has maps and is extremely helpful in providing information on all the courses in FC.The course is well groomed and surprisingly there was very little litter.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

2-4    6/23/2014   12/23/2014
Review By: drj1807
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Pretty, well maintained course. Nice amount of trees for Colorado. Variety of holes.
Cons: Busy with OTHER activities and folks "in the way". Not the best laid out; hard to follow if you are not familiar. Maps out of date.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It's a beauty!

1    8/27/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: nannermonkey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Great layout in this community park
- Nice variety
- Good incorporation of water hazards
Cons: - Orientation of a teepad or several is backwards...my playing partner nearly broke an ankle when he slipped off the narrow part as he made a drive on hole 6
- Didn't get to play hole 9 the day I was there (due to city construction)
Other Thoughts: I love the 16th hole!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.