Sulphur Springs, TX 
Coleman Park Share
Uploaded By: ToddMcCoy Hole #1 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 218ft.   3 / 331ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 White Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Pretty nice if it has not rained

1    12/30/2018   1/1/2019
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 380  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great park around a huge pond
Great Tee boxes
Best post Ever
Great baskets
Good wildlife
2 pads long/short on every hole
Cons: If it rains even in past week it gets flooded and swampy
The post are great but the info giving is only hole# and distance
If it is blind then you have no clue

and yes 18 should play towards the parking lot
Other Thoughts: Great park in a little town. Well worth the stop.
Some water in play in several holes

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Average Joe's DGC

1    5/8/2018   5/9/2018
Review By: Can't get right
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like what they've done here. Pictures really wouldn't do the park justice. It was fairly clean and well maintained when I played.

* Concrete tees with 2 tee locations on all holes.
* Good signage on the tees.
* Well maintained park.
* Great Baskets with good Scriptural verses on most.
* The Peninsula shot on hole 2.
Cons: Not too many in my opinion. The ones listed are hardly worth mentioning.

* Not as challenging as it could be. Could use a tougher layout for better than average players.
* First timers could get a little lost between holes without a course map. Take a pic of the map at the park entrance.
* Multi-use park with quite a bit of walking traffic and doggie bombs.
*Parking lot is good, but distant from hole 18. I didn't mind the walk, but my young son did.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. This is a really good course for the average Joe's like me. I'm Mr. 2-Putt. There are several opportunities for aces if you have some skills, and several opportunities for getting wet if you don't. I can see where it would be a sloppy mess after a good rain.

All and all, this course is beautiful with enough of a challenge to make it a fun course for people living in the area. I really enjoyed the peninsula shot on hole 2, and I didn't mind the walking.

Unfortunately, it isn't worth a long drive from say the Dallas area or beyond unless you just really want to try out every course available.

I love the scripture on the baskets. that's awesome! More courses should do the same!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 major disappointment

1    3/13/2016   3/14/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 993  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice cement tee boxes
Tee markers are like nothing I have seen before. White and Red markers that are 6x6 black polls with colored metal plaques on them.
A Few memorable holes, including hole #2 with the lake on both sides.
There is a map at the parking lot, you need to study it to find the holes the first time around
Cons: #1 Con - WHY THE HELL IS #18 1 MILE AWAY FROM THE PARKING LOT. (ok, it is literally 1/2 a mile, but feels like a mile after playing those 18 holes)

The park is not all that great, the area's that make for good holes was only partially used.

Way way way too much distance between several of the holes

Lots of other park users, including fishermen on the course.
Other Thoughts: I only played the White tee's

Hole 1 starts off promising. Don't overthrow or hyzer out or your in the lake. Nothing like starting the round loosing one of my Destroyers.
Hole 2, scary hole for sure, lake was on both sides of the basket, I wound up with a 4 because it was so windy and I didn't want to loose another disc.
Long walk back up 2's fairway, then over for hole 3. Your basic run of the mill hole with like 1 very small tree right in front of the basket.
then another long walk back up to hole 4, a medium range turnover shot.
Hole 5 was interesting, throw your disc straight down, the basket is behind the last set of trees on the left.
Hole 6 is may be the shortest hole on the course, nothing between you and the basket, 100% ace run on this one.
There is where looking at the map paid off, hole 7 is on the other side of the tree line, simi long walk for a boring hole with a tree stopping you from a run of the mill hyzer shot.
Now a long walk to hole 8 that is shorter than the markers says. It is a basic hyzer shot to the next rounder peninsula. it is a pretty good hole.
#9 across the inlet of the lake. Short and you loose your disc. Not a bad hole.
#10, read the map for the next few holes, it is confusing. 10 is an easy shot to some cedar trees.
#11 tee is actually further back throwing the same direction as 10. Seems to me this hole is backwards from a good flowing course. this is a blind shot, but a simple hyzer parked the hole.
#12 tee box was a little hidden, it is also a blind hyzer shot with the basket in the open area.
Now for a simi long walk back past where you just teed off to find 13's tee box. This is a good anhyzer shot from the White tee. Shule on the right and walking path on the left.
#14 is a longer walk back to the edge of the lake and is a true 2 shot hole (well unless you can throw 500+ ft) Not really that difficult, Just throw a 300 ft shot past the red tee and a 200 ft upshot from there.
#15 is a straight shot you just don't want to hyzer out or turn over. Not long, not a bad hole either.

Then this is where I really got mad at the course. by this time I had forgotten where 16 was, it took me forever to find the tee on the top of a hill running backwards compared to #15. It is a simple hyzer shot, downhill to a blind pin placement. However there were tons of people running around on the hill.

Then you have to walk back, past the red tee box, past #15's basket down the dam separating a pond and the lake to get to #17's tee. Simple longer hole with one patch of brush blocking a normal hyzer shot. Pin is on the side of a hill that makes this hole interesting barely.

Then comes 18, throwing back the other way towards the pond. If you turn your shot over, say goodbye to your disc. I did a simple hyzer shot for the easy bird.

Then I look and see that my Truck is parked all the way on the other side of the lake. It felt like a mile walk, it is the longest walk I have ever had on any disc golf course anywhere.

In all, there were not enough good holes from me to enjoy this course. The flow of this course is horrible. I recommend taking two cars and parking one by 18 and drive back.

I will not be back

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 After a bit of seasoning

5+    9/24/2014   9/27/2014
Review By: mavsfan
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 28.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Tees: dual cement boxes with hole information on markers. Relatively new course so disc catchers are in very good condition. Practice Basket and green for putting as soon as you enter the park.
Cons: The hike back from 18 to parking after the round.
Navigation to hole 3 basically backtracks through the 1st green. Finding the tee boxes for 11-13 is a maze and the holes run parallel. Hole 12 apparently has only 1 tee box visible and is not well marked as to the finding of a second. As it is you basically follow a WW pattern of playing South and walking North from the tee box of #10 to the tee box of of 14. There are a couple of hikes, (16-17 for example) where you hope you are going in the right direction. Then there is the additional walk to the 19th hole. New players (ok everyone) will need secondary plastic as there is water water everywhere... and not a drop to drink.
Other Thoughts: The pictures of the course in regard to the peninsula (#2) are a bit dated. The city has determined that 2-3 foot cattail type vegetation is good for the course and there is a border that will save your disc if you keep it low and makes for what should be a feasible rolling play. [edit/update: Hello Winter - City just bushwhacked the vegetation and there is no border until the middle of summer at best guess!] However, misplay a hyzer bomb and you will have some dives that the aviary nature enthusiast will love.
Wind is always an issue playing most courses in Texas, but I learned to play in Abilene so I did not find it oppressive. I would rate this course a bit higher for play-ability except that the first throw on this course you are in jeopardy of going in the drink: I have observed 1,2,3,8,9,14,15,17,18 all make plastic disappear.

Overall for a newbie course, and most of the locals are as this is the first in SS, it is enough of a challenge to keep you coming back.

How would I improve it? 18 should play back towards the dam of Coleman Lake and possibly behind it a bit instead of playing away from the parking area - probably some easement issues with the power lines prevent much use of this space but it would really cool to play with a 20-30 foot wall on your left. Hole 11 should be reworked to tee from an elevated position just to the west of the softball field that marks the southern boundary of the course. This could provide an elevated tee opportunity for beginners - the other elevated tee box (16) is for advanced players as marked. Doing so would allow the use of the existing tee boxes for 11 as par 5 option for #12. The main benefit of this would be to eliminate the backtracking and subsequent playing of 11 & 12 in the same direction as # 10. I think I will attempt this tomorrow for an estimate of practicality.

The course is designed to follow the walk-path around the lake and when finishing the course the expectation is to walk back across the dam to the parking area. I walked the course backwards to get back the first time through (better scenery, but it got pretty dark) and that was a subsequent beating after the course took down the vintage plastic.

Practical Advice: IF you have two vehicles available park one under the tree at the North East corner of the park (not officially park access, but not illegal at this point) and drive the other to the park entrance on the North West side of the lake. Finish 18 get in the vehicle on the NE side under the shade and drive back to the vehicle at the park entrance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 lots of water

1    5/21/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -dual tees on every hole
-great concrete tees
-discatchers in great condition
-several challenging holes with water in play
-signs at each tee with par, distance, and local sponsor info
-a couple very fun signature holes
-adequate parking, kiosk with map, very nice park overall
Cons: -navigation can be difficult if you don't look at the map or bring it with you. The signs help but you may walk a long way to the wrong tee box before you see the number on the sign.
-many long walks between holes. Some holes like 10 and 11 are parallel but throwing in the same direction so you have to walk all the way back they way you came, only to throw right back the same direction again.
-there are several filler holes and some of them make really poor use of the land they occupy, especially 10-12
-i thought there was no reason hole 7 should play to the back end of the field it is in, only to have to back track all the way to tee 8 afterward. The basket is just next to a tree across an open field, why not play to the tree off to the left that is much closer to the next tee?
-hole 18 ends on the opposite end of the park on the other side of the reservoir, it is a 15 min walk back to the parking lot
-the short tees don't offer any significantly different looks, they are mostly just shorter or a little more friendly around the water
-a heavily-used pedestrian path winds throughout the course, you will definitely have to wait at some point

-i don't consider these cons but i'm sure others would: the wind is prevalent and the amount of water here will make lost discs commonplace
Other Thoughts: Coleman Park wraps around three sides of Lake Coleman and the water comes into play significantly. It is a very nice park that is free of trash and has nice park amenities. The wind really picks up across the water so I imagine it is always a factor. The holes are mostly wide open but a few make use of some trees, notably 5, 10-12, and 16.

I am torn about how I feel about this course because there are some fun holes and challenging shots around the water but it also has some issues that really detract from the experience. The flow is poor and the end of the course is a significant distance from the parking lot.

The course does have great equipment. The discatchers are in great condition (and also have bible quotes on each chastity belt), the concrete pads are grippy and plenty long, and the pillars that the signs are on are easily visible from a distance.

Obviously, some areas next to the water can be pretty soggy. The left edge of the fairway on hole 1 is right next the water and has tall vegetation. The water floods much of that area so there is less space on that side than it appears. Hole 2 is a real sphincter clencher: a long, thin peninsula with water on both sides and the basket is 277' out from the long. Hole 9 plays over a small inlet on the corner of the lake, 300' to the pin, 150' to the water, from the long tee. Hole 14 is a really fun hyzer bomb on the edge of the water playing to a pin on a wide peninsula. Hole 18 is a slightly downhill ace run with water just off to the right behind the basket. Another highlight is the downhill tee shot on hole 16.

While there are some really fun and challenging holes from the longs, the issues with the flow and some of the filler holes make it hard to be excited about coming back to this course. The long walks between holes, backtracking, poor design choices, ubiquitous pedestrians, and huge distance from 18 to the parking lot put a real damper on the round for me.

Being in the relative middle of nowhere, it's really not worth driving to play this course unless you happen to be nearby or in Sulfur Springs. If you are a local, this is a course you could learn to love despite its blemishes. If it were my home course then I would really push for a redesign or at least skip a few holes and maybe play a few safari holes instead. Personally, I'd like to see 17 and 18 cut and then change the order of the remaining holes to find a way to play back the way you came. (For example: skip 3, skip 7, go to 14 after 9, 13 backwards after 16, back to 10-12 but redesign those holes cuz they suck. After those, a new pad to the west of 9's fairway playing to basket 7, another tee in that area playing to where tee 7 is currently, and finally hole 3 backwards as the finishing hole.)


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Coleman DG

2-4    5/1/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: JakeGad
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Clean park
-Nice tee pads
-Long and short tee pads
-With the exception of two holes, very beginner friendly
Cons: -Not very creative shots - most are straight
-Can get very muddy
-Confusing course layout, not sure where to go on about 6 holes
-Very windy; the course borders a pond
-No technical holes
-Every hole is a par 3
Other Thoughts: -Hole 2 will punish any new players, it is a very thin peninsula, and always windy.
-Not terrible if you live in the city, however it's not worth the drive to play about 10-12 very simple holes, and about 6 decent ones.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.