Fort Pierce, FL 
Muscadine Meadows DGC Share
Uploaded By: Deke Guff Hole #7 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Muscadine Meadows: Where The Wine Is Better Than The Golf!

1    3/30/2019   4/8/2019
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Or perhaps, if you sample enough of their wine, you may start to believe that you are at Flip City. They had a big function going on the day I showed up to play. The huge parking lot was filled w/cars. Like a good boy, I checked with the folks in the wine tasting room and was given the OK to play.

The course is nine holes that weave through the rows of grapes. There is a course rules sign at the start. The large signs list the par, distance and a route, which is usually pretty simple like down to the end of this row and then turn left four rows to the basket. The baskets aren't the best. They are mounted on some repurposed pillars from a marina. And they have a very shallow catcher. Putts will bounce out of these babies. The tees are natural and marked with these large golf ball things.

There are a couple of interesting twists here like on number 3 which is a 445' par 3 but is listed as a 90 degree right turn so plays 347' down, then turn right and go 198'. Or I guess you could cut the corner somehow. #4 is a 602' par 5 with another 90 degree turn. There is a nice variety of distances but throwing down the rows is less than stimulating.

Cons: Natural pads.

Not much variety.

Rinky dink baskets don't catch well.

Not much in the challenge department.

Not real interesting layout either.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure of a good reason to frequent this course. Maybe if your spouse was really into wine, you could sneak in a few rounds while he/she sampled the vino. I recently played Whale Rock in California. It's a top 10 rated course in Cali and deserves that lofty rating. I'm sorry to announce that Muscadine Meadows, however pleasant and welcoming they might be, just isn't worth your time to make the trip here, unless of course you are a serious course bagger. In that case, I highly recommend it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

And Now For Something Completely Different!

1    5/31/2016   5/31/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 189  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 44.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starts out at a nice air conditioned clubhouse/store that offers wine tasting and sells wine by the glass or the bottle. A good selection of beers are also available. Adult beverages are allowed on the course. Very friendly and knowledgeable people working here.

The course plays in and around grape vines with nice grass fairways have several holes in the 500-600' range and even has a water carry.

Decent grass tees with really nice tee signs that are color-coded to the flags on top of some unique homemade baskets that play better than they look.

The course is like none other that I have ever seen and is very fun to play. It also has nice restrooms and picnic areas.
Cons: Watch out for the neck high (for me 6'tall) wires that the grapes grow on. There are spots with no grapes on them making them a danger when transversing the course sideways against the flow of the rows.

A couple baskets needed some minor repairs.

The only shade is on the perimeter of the course.
Other Thoughts: A fun and unique experience, I highly recommend this place. It may be a great place to take your significant other for a date. They also have concerts and other activities here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A unique and fun course

1    12/27/2014   12/31/2014
Review By: ricklev
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -How often do you get to play at a winery?
-Wine tasting before or after play
-Very friendly sfaff at the winery
-The signs are very easy to follow
-There's a pond, but not many hazards
-Long throws on some holes
-Easy to find discs, since grass is cut low
-Easy to get to off the I-95
-No cost
-Winery has discs for sale
Cons: -Many ant mounds, though easy to see. Watch your step!
-Most holes are straight or 90 degree dogleg
-Watch out for the wire fencing between rows
Other Thoughts: It's just a lot of fun to say you played this course. I don't know if there are other courses next to a winery, but if there are I'll be sure to play them. It was fun to play, and it made me smile to enter the winery before and after play. I purchased a disc to say thank you.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/26/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really fun, unique course. It's all open as every throw is over rows upon rows of hanging grape vines. It's a great place to watch discs fly, as the bombers will be able to let loose here. There is nothing block in the path from tee to basket, as long as the disc stays five feet above the ground. The big dog will definitely get a chance to eat as discs slice through up to six hundred feet of air.

The best hole here is three where beginners can take the suggested path around the pond but experienced players won't be able to resist attacking the pin by letting the disc wander over the water. Just don't go so close to the center of the hazard that the disc is knocked down by the fountain.

Great travel stop because it's so close to I95. Really easy place to get off the highway, play a quick nine or eighteen and be back on the road. No real way to lose a disc, no possibility of wasting time looking for tees. It's all pretty quick and easy. With all of the other activities going on around the winery, I hope a lot of first-timers pick up a disc here. It's a really cool atmosphere that should help people to appreciate the sport at a great beginners course.
Cons:
While the novelty/convenience should satisfy veterans, it's not a very challenging course. Perfectly flat and with a direct line at the basket, I imagine most players will just throw hyzer bombs all day over the vines. It will definitely be fun for a while but I have no doubt that the appeal will wear thing. While, I'd love to stop again, and probably would if I was going back down that highway, it isn't a course I would want to play often. It's just not interesting enough.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Muscadine Meadows Dgc

1    12/28/2013   12/29/2013
Review By: craigd
Played: 140  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Muscadine Meadows DGC is a quaint little nine hole course weaving its way throughout the Endless Summer Winery's beautiful vineyard. A quick hello with the staff in the tasting room (which dubs as a gift shop, including a modest selection of DGA discs) is all you'll need to get on the course.

Once on the course finding hole one is easy. You'll be greeted by a rules poster, course guidelines, and importantly a donation box. The suggested, but not required, donation is only $2 and that's a bargain for any private course in my view.

Tees, fairways, and baskets are easy to find and follow. Tee markers, which look like golf balls, yet about the size of small volleyballs, are half buried in the ground and indicate each tee. The markers are painted the same color as the flags on the corresponding baskets for the hole being played. This helps with navigation because many baskets are visible from the tees and throughout the course. The unusually wide and roomy natural tee pads are flat and in great shape.

Varied hole lengths from a short 122' shot up to a longer 602' shot offer a generous mix of hole lengths. It mixes in three par 4's and even a so called par 5.

The course has some of the neatest homemade baskets I've seen. They are recycled channel makers/buoys crowned with the baskets. They're a really cool feature for sure. As mentioned, the flags on top not only identify which hole the basket belongs to but they also help you judge the wind on the course
Cons: Overall this is a fairly boring course. Although there are mapped fairways that indicate some left or right turning shots, the fact of the matter is that the vineyard doesn't provide any viable obstacles so you can pretty much throw towards the baskets anyway you like. I imagine everyone is gonna be throwing big hyzers ignoring the suggested fairways. To be fair, the right hand dogleg lake shot on hole 3 added some variety and risk to this bland course. Unfortunately, it was overshadowed by a pretty bad disc golf hole, hole eight's 122' shot. I get the idea of adding an ace run but where's the reward or fun in a 122' ace?

While the homemade baskets are a pretty cool feature, they are very fussy. Expect a few cut through's and spit outs.
Other Thoughts: It goes without saying to try to dig a little deeper for the donation box. Thanks to the winery for installing and opening the course to the disc golf community!

I recommend picking up some wine while you're there. I am a beer man myself but picked up a bottle anyway. I got the WeBeJammin white based on an employee's recommendation. It's pretty tasty and I'm actually enjoying a glass while writing this review.

While I don't think this is necessarily a destination course, coupled with the winery I think it's worth a stop for a tasting and a bonus round of golf while you're there. A limited beer selection is available at the tasting room as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Vineyard madness

2-4    12/25/2013   12/25/2013
Review By: rogerico101
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun wide open course with some long holes to air it all out.
Cons: Baskets need additional chains and additional metal on the baskets. The designer did a great job designing the course but the baskets do need some tlc.
Other Thoughts: Beware of ants and bees.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.