Salem, OR 
Oregon State Hospital Share
Uploaded By: nightowlor Hole #7 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 331ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

1    10/8/2019   10/8/2019
Review By: Breh
Played: 104  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course actually has some very fun shots, including a lot of low ceiling lines, and good mix of righty lefty holes. For being only 9 holes there's a decent amount of length here starting off with a 450 foot slightly downhill hole 1. I think there's only 2 holes under 300 so good chance to play a quick round but also test your game off the tee box. The Mach x baskets our in great shape and catch well. There's tons pokes for tee signs saying hole number and all but 2 have distances wrote on them. Baskets our numbered well and layout isn't to bad. Plenty of parking and great addition to Salem area
Cons: Can get pretty windy here and even though there's some trees wind can be a factor. A lot of the holes tee off from the road or concrete pathways which isn't to bad but not the most ideal. Sometimes you see multiple baskets from tee box and not sure which pin is what map is helpful but if not walk up and look at basket number don't be lazy.
Other Thoughts: When playing concrete as ob the course is fun it can challenge you but isn't overly difficult fun 9 hole course

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/14/2018   10/26/2018
Review By: cjwilliams
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Mach X baskets
- Beautiful scenery
- Close to I-5
- Fun, varied shot shapes
- Easy layout to follow
- Parking close to course
Cons: - Wish it was a full 18!
- Close to the busy Center Street
- No bathroom on-site
- No dedicated teepads; part of concrete path
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best 9-hole course I have ever played. The layout is fun and easy to follow, the trees and landscape is very scenic, and the course is well-maintained by local staff. I really enjoy getting a quick round or 2 in here whenever I'm in Salem. Despite being a 9-hole course, it's still very challenging. OB walkway throughout comes into play on almost every hole, and there are some long bombers and low-ceiling shots. Very well thought-out layout that uses the area efficiently.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasently surprised

1    4/2/2017   4/3/2017
Review By: royvin
Played: 71  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout and use of the space.
Well maintained.
They have painted lines on the walk paths to throw from.
Large poles with numbered red tops makes it very easy to locate next tee. They also have distance marked on each pole. Sounds like before the baskets were installed the poles were used as the 'baskets'. I guess one can still use them if preferred.
Even though we didn't have a map, it was still easy enough to get around and each basket has the hole number on it.
Cons: Must be on lookout for incoming discs from other players as fairways are close together in a few spots.
Only 9 holes, but I guess to some that might be a pro.
Not much else to complain about.
Other Thoughts: We really enjoyed this course. Not too easy and not too challenging. We will be back to play again!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun short course

1    10/6/2014   10/6/2014
Review By: jnicola
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mellow layout, easy distances, a great short break course to play! Doesn't seem to be used almost ever so it's pretty much wide open it would seem.
Cons: No baskets, just tone poles (IE: Hit it and it makes noise). Makes it a bit more challenging in some regards, easier in other.

Never found the first tee, and missed another that I forget the number of. All tees are just lines drawn in the ground. Some of the holes seemed to be a bit close, so if this ever got busy the layout would put some players in a throws way.
Other Thoughts: With a bit more disbersement, some baskets, and some better tee indicators, this could be an excellent and fun lunchtime course for some people to play on break! Right now though, it just doesn't seem to catch anyones attention as it was empty on a nice Saturday afternoon.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Oregon State Hospital DGC - A Walk in the Park

1    8/1/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 230  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2017
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Oregon State Hospital DGC is located near the old tennis courts directly in front of the Museum. The course plays in a large open park setting with clusters of large trees spread throughout. The layout allows for players to be challenged using distance and challenging lines off the tee. Although some holes are easier than others, there are no "give me's" on the course with the exception of hole four. A lot of the time players are forced to keep throws low and controlled in order to avoid hitting the tree canopy. Tee pads are painted lines on the blacktop and roads and are usually located within close proximity of the pin. Par for the course is 54 with holes ranging 242-450 ft and is best suited for advanced players. However, due to it's park like setting, anyone can come out and have fun! There will just be a lot of players shooting over par which isn't necessarily a bad thing. The course will continue to improve once the baskets are installed.
Cons: Being a tone course may detour people from playing the course frequently or even at all. I personally don't mind them considering I have played my fair share over the years up in British Columbia. It is a quick way to get a course in without the funds it takes for tees, signs, and baskets, and can also be a way to test whether the location of the course works...a trial period per say. I wouldn't want a tone course as my home course though as putting is an essential part of the game, but this will soon be fixed at the course.

Another issue for first timers only would be course navigation. Printing a map off online is a must! It helped me with the hardest part...locating hole one, but also with finding the next tee and pin location. There are no tee signs and at times it can be confusing.
Other Thoughts: I stopped at the Oregon State Hospital DGC on the way home to Seattle from the Oregon Coast with my wife and son and was very pleased to have made the stop. Although there were no real memorable holes here I was challenged and felt safe as I walked through the park with my family. My three year old son had a wonderful time running around and throwing and my wife was able to stretch the legs.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Now With Baskets!

1    5/28/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2019
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Update: Star Trek Date 4 1/2 earth years in future since my last update. Mach V baskets have been installed. Increase rating to 2.5.

The Oregon State Hospital DGC is set down in front of the museum and the old tennis courts on 24th & Center Streets. Don't be fooled like I was and try to play the four tone poles at the other side of the hospital at the corner of Park & D Streets. The grounds are huge and finding a parking spot can be difficult. There are approximately 11,000 parking spaces and most are reserved for electric cars, transport vehicles, handicapped, doctors, handicapped doctors, nurses, mothers, car pools, veterans, college students and readers of Mad Magazine. I was there at 7:30 on a Thursday morning and snagged the last available space.

There are nine tone poles here. They were formerly the targets. Each is clearly marked with a number and most of them show the distance. They have cleverly been repurposed and now function as the tee signs. The tee pads are painted on the asphalt and sidewalks. This is a lovely little section of very well maintained park with mature trees and enough length to challenge. There is enough unused space here for several more disc golf courses. With all this flat open space I found rollers to be especially effective especially if I could it only control it or actually get it to carry fir more than about 60 feet.

This is a typical park recreation course with a little added length. It's clean, comfortable and mostly risk free. I guess you could sail your drive into traffic on # 8? It's an enjoyable throw and would be a nice course for the beginner or for us less skilled golfers.
Cons:
I was a little confused trying to find the start.

Flat.

Fairly open.

Difficult to find parking close by.
Other Thoughts: Now with baskets, this makes the Oregon State Hospital Course a decent little course. It's fun to think of Jack Nicholsen, himself, running around this very park, while filming his hit movie, "One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest."

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Course Info update 06/01/2014

5+    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: nightowlor
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Today measurement were taken and hole info was added to this site with hole pictures. just print a map and scorecard and use paint stripes on asphalt and sidewalks as tee pads. # 2 and #4 tee pad paint stripes are the ones closest to each holes.
Cons: Need to figure out a way the directionalize the tee pad stripes with numbers and directions like arrows for first time users of the course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Lunchtime Playing

5+    2/15/2017   12/31/2013
Review By: Maxpsych
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 40.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2017
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is always very well maintained by the hospitals fulltime groundskeeping crew making it nearly impossible to lose a disc in underbrush.
The trees here are another story and they keep a technical edge to the course.
Tee pads have been set up and marked on paved areas as of March 2014.
It never floods on this course so it is always playable.
Mach X baskets and tee markers have been added as of 02/15/17.
Cons: No signage at this time.
Download the map, take a guide, or expect to spend some time figuring out the course layout.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.