Koh Samui, Thailand 
Laem Sor Share
Uploaded By: Shifty06 Hole #6 (Taken 8/2017)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Best course in Thailand..By far.

2-4    6/15/2017   9/28/2017
Review By: Jacobsur
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: So much FUN. Comparable to my home courses in Michigan and in California in terms of difficulty and the sorts but far more beautiful and exotic. I had a great time on and off the course. Dave and Pawn are great host's. Everything you need.

On the relaxing side of the island which is what I like. I had strayed away from Samui because of it being so populated but now I know that there is serenity here and its on the South Side. And trust me, if you wanna turn up and get wild, the south side has some spots too.
Cons: its not in my back yard.
Other Thoughts: I went to Samui just to play disc golf and it is really nice that there are two courses on the island but I would set up shop at Laem Sor, cause you are gonna want to play this one multiple times. They still need to establish the bowl hole too. Wheres that sick ass bench dude!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Tropical Disc Golf Sanctuary

1    8/30/2017   9/27/2017
Review By: Shifty06
Played: 59  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Located down the south of Koh Samui, away from the touristic scene of the island, this 18 hole course is a beauty and worth to pay a visit. Playing along the exotic fairways with palm trees and view on the beach will give you an unforgetable disc golf experience.

-A good variety in shots is required, as well as accuracy and armspeed. There are also some elevated baskets where you can show your mental strengh while putting.

-The terrain is well used and was maintained pretty good.

-The layout i played had a very good flow and is suitable for both, beginners and advances players.

-Cold baverages, food and accomondation are onsite. The clubhouse is a picturesque place to stay at, after/before a few rounds of disc golf. Rental discs onsite.

-Make sure to get in touch with the local players. The community at Koh Samui is very hospitable and fun to compete with.
Cons:
-Getting there is a bit more difficult than to the other courses on Samui. You need a car/scooter to reach the place if you stay in the main tourist area.

-Sadly, only the first two holes play towards the beach with view onto the sea. I wished for a hole along the beach (with water in play?!).

-Navigating can be a bit difficult as the layout changes from time to time (as i heard).
-Criss crossing fairways.

-There are no real tees/teesigns, just two colored and numbered coconuts in the grass/dirt.
The baskets caught well, yet they were a bit rusty and worn.

-Basket #15 was "guarded" by a water-buffalo, tied to a tree.

Other Thoughts:
-A must play on Koh Samui/in Thailand.

-Try to get in touch with the locals. You might want to play Doubles/League with them.
Host Dave is a nice guy and very helpful.

-There is a neat Bungalow/Room for rent, right above the clubhouse.



4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses I've played abroad!!!!

1    8/12/2017   9/12/2017
Review By: tmutch09
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: THIS IS A MUST PLAY course if you are traveling in Thailand and play disc golf. I'm an avid, amateur disc golfer that has played all over the U.S. as well as abroad. This is a professionally designed course that challenges a high-level disc golfer in the best ways. Don't waste your time on the other courses on the island, this is the one you wanna play. Beautiful scenery, some holes play towards the water, the others are situated on lush landscape. The course owner and his wife are awesome people, very hospitable.
Cons: It's on the more remote south side of Koh Samui, which mean's it's a bit of a drive, but every bit worth it!
Other Thoughts: Probably one of the top 10 courses I've ever played in the world given the beauty of the course itself and it's challenging setup!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Hyzenbrownie Heaven

5+    9/13/2017   4/5/2017
Review By: Hazer
Played: 163  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2017
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gorgeous, stunning views throughout the course. A beautiful piece of property with a beach and sea views, a creek, and lots of really interesting landscaping, steep hills, trees and other vegetation.

18 holes during low season, fewer for tournament layouts.

Baskets are "mock 5's" and catch very well.

Cool wooden clubhouse with food and beverages.

Accommodations available on site.

Weekly doubles on Sundays. Great group of regular, local players and lot of tourists that come through to play.
Cons: Only one pin position per hole.

Natural tees, some of which are not level and can get muddy after rain.

Baskets have rusty chains and are in desperate need of a new paint job.

The 18 hole layout used during low season has many crossing fairways and baskets next to tees.

Course needs a lot of maintenance. Lots of knee high grass in fairways and impenetrable rough that eats a lot of discs.

The location in Laem Sor is off the beaten path in a quiet area and not very close to the main tourist towns (this may be a pro for some).
Other Thoughts: This is a great all-around course that will test all aspects of your game. Fabulous terrain for a disc golf course and great views throughout.

Pay to play. 300 Baht (~$10 US) per person, per day to play as many rounds as you wish. Loaner discs are available to use if you do not bring your own.

The course has potential to be really great if it had proper maintenance and a better design.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Disc golf in a paradise

5+    6/26/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: 420player
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only 18 holes disc golf course in Thailand. The course is amazing and keeps on going better and better way. Owner Dave has build the course during last 3 years middle of the jungle by he's hands and the result is pretty amazing!

There are shorter and longer holes so which is perfect because pro's and am's can play in the same course together. New beachfront area holes 4,5,6 are pretty stunning too with a sea view and the course ends to hole 18 which is the longest hole on the course. There are shot from every player I could say, you must see and play it by your self.

And that place you don't have to stop playing even if the rain or night comes, because they got virtual disc golf by PS3 in their cafe and and LED disc set which you can borrow, so you are free to play when ever you like. I would say that's the way to bring the disc golf in a new level in Thailand.



Cons: It's located south side of the island which is a little bit far from the tourist places , but it is all worth of it! Go, play and have fun!
Other Thoughts: They also have rooms for rent in the course and their food is amazing! It's healthy and tasty. Beers are cold and coctails are good. Every Sunday there is a league day, which is nice and you can meet another players from the island.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome little course

1    2/15/2016   3/15/2016
Review By: FlippyBoss
Played: 78  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Now 18 holes with nice baskets.

Great little course that is off the beaten path on koh samui. There is a great mixture of shots with right and left handed hyzers as well as straight throws. Plays through cocunut trees with a hand full of raised baskets and hill positions. There are some mandos, marked ob lines on some holes and a creek comes into play on a few as well. Pretty easy to follow and you are provided a map with a scoreboard on a clipboard.

The staff is great and very friendly and there is food and drinks available for sale. You get bring your own discs, borrow some from the course, or purchase some as well. I bought a sss wizard with a cool stamp for 500 baht and got a free entrance fee as well.
Cons: Short course. I personally do not mind having a short course around to dial in your putters and midranges but decently no room to.air one out.

The heat and wind can be factors but obviously depends on season and time of day.

It can be hard to get to if you do not have a motorbike. We took a taxi for about 200 baht each way but had to ask a hand full of drivers before we found one that would take us there. I would have a map pulled up on your phone or have it marked on a island map if you are taking a taxi otherwise no one will have any idea where you want to go.
Other Thoughts: I played the hole course with the one sss wizard i purchased and shot 1 over playing it for the first time. So not super hard but ob, mandos, and elevated pins combined wity wind could defently add strokes. An experienced disc golfer will only need putters and midranges except for hole 18. I could have used my firebird for a few flicks and maybe a thumber.

I would consider this a destination course if you are planning a trip to Thailand. I wish I could have stayed for a few rounds but I will be back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

DG in paradise!

5+    12/18/2015   12/25/2015
Review By: Stargazed
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 5/17/2016
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Mixed course, good for all skill levels. Well maintained course.
Nice clubhouse/bar/cafe and a small disc shop.

Awesome welcome and service by the owners, never had such a good experience visiting a course.

Excellent course for of season practice.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to see the creek more in play.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 "Off the beaten path!"

5+    11/17/2014   11/16/2014
Review By: destinationdiscgolf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2016
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: "Off the beaten path" there lies a diamond in the rough on the South Side of Koh Samui and it is what could be described as the crown jewel of disc golf in Thailand. Not only does this secret gem offer ice collared beer and great food, it has everything that an experienced disc golfer looks for when concerning landscape and course design, scenic ocean views, sea breezes, big trees and canopies to provide shade and yet have open spaces for big throws, elevation changes, water features, nice targets that catch ace runs or soft finesse putts and upshots, handmade artistic tee signs, proper facilities like a cool clubhouse with fans, hammocks and bamboo huts washrooms/bathrooms, airconditioned affordable guesthouse or backpacker's dream bungalow with island ocean views overlooking the course of nice well manicured greens and fairways, in a beautiful setting just off the beach on a disc golf holiday.
Cons: everything is par 3(some shorter easier but more technical holes and some harder more technical holes that make it difficult to make par).
Other Thoughts: Also has a nice evening vibe as a great acoustic music venue as well so bring your guitar or whatever instrument for nightly jam sessions.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Relaxed setting for a totally casual round

5+    1/30/2015   12/3/2013
Review By: Khao Pra
Played: 148  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 24.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2015
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very close to the beach.

Cons: difficult to play the course without crossing multiple fairways.

difficult to navigate the course without local help.

limited facilities on site. bring everything with you just in case.
Other Thoughts: it is what it is. a makeshift disc golf course on a tropical island. don't take the game seriously or you won't enjoy your round. each round is much more fun with a cold beer in hand.

needs a complete design redo to make it playable, but that also requires more time to cut down the constant growth of a tropical island.


***Updating my initial review as there have been some very positive changes taking place here.

Signs have been posted at each turn off from the main "Ring Road" to the course.

A large course map has been added opposite the clubhouse, at the small road that separates the first 4 holes from the remainder of the course.

Lots of clearing has taken place in the last 2 years, opening up new areas for play

the 8 year old and out dated baskets have mostly been replaced with a more modern basket and chain assembly.

course expanded from 9-18 holes

weekly league play (Sunday 4pm) now has a regular following

bar/cafe is open now with cold drinks and a food menu. on league nights they had a set menu for 200thb when i was there, that may be seasonal though.

really happy to see the positive changes here. the course design relies heavily on crossing fairways though so it's 18 holes packed in to a space where 9 very nice holes would be fine.

hopefully with more players getting rounds in here the course will continue to grow out into a true 18 hole layout which would be ideal, considering it's adjacent to the beach.

my initial review gave the course 1 star for existing. updating to 3.5 as the entire golfing atmosphere here has noticeably improved.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.