Niles, MI 
Madeline Bertrand Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChick Hole #7 (Taken 4/2008)
3 / 189ft. Par / Distance:
View from the tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Old School - Glorified Pitch and Putt(Updated 2017)

5+    7/5/2013   9/2/2012
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 67  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great layout - while it might be short it is a ton of fun.
- Some holes are very ace-able but because of pin and tee-pad layout many are not.
- Benches and trash cans at most tees. Didn't really keep track of exactly how many there were but it certainly seemed like more than enough.
- Unlike most courses I review, navigation is easy peasy. In almost all cases, once you hole out the next tee is within view.
- Unique holes (like 12) that play off of an elevated tee and throw over a small ravine which make play fun.
- Staff I encountered were pleasant and professional.
- This is set in a nice park which has oodles of walking trails.
- The baskets, while a little old are in great shape.
- Nice little pro-shop. Not something you see everyday. They now carry Innova and a limited selection of Trilogy plastic and bags.
- Fairly clean when I have played here.
Cons: - Pay to play - While this isn't really much of a con they do charge for parking AND for disc golf. If you come, bring a big carload and keep the cost per player down. Do I think it's worth the expense? Considering other options in the area which are free (Rum Village) and others that charge much less (George Wilson) I would say almost certainly not.
- If pay to play weren't annoying enough there is the wristband thing the park is doing. Every player is required to don a wristband and it has to go ON YOUR wrist. Completely unneeded IMHO and extraordinarily irritating. There has got to be a better way to do this.
- Short. Very Very short. No place to really open up and rip it. Even with my noodle-arm that can only manage 300 to 320 there really aren't very many decent spots to let one go. Hole #1 is almost a joke with a dead-straight wide open shot at 180'. Yawn. Over the years, trees have come down and nothing grown up in their place so the original challenge of these holes is lost.
- Huge numbers of people play here. Not a big deal but some lessons in etiquette would be a big plus. Groups as large as 10 have been seen here with little to no regard for common courtesy.
- While the navigation is a piece of cake, it's also a con. In several situations, the next tee is way too close to the previous basket. #1 basket is a great example. So is #10 and #14.
Other Thoughts: This is a very old course in terms of disc golf. While it is a fantastic layout it is an out-dated design. Even so, it is in many ways rather timeless since it is still fun to play.

To me, the challenge is lost in this course. It has become sort of a shell of it's former self and turned into a glorified pitch and putt. My noodle arm only needs a driver on about 3 or 4 of the holes. The rest I am tee-ing off with a mid or utility disc of some sort. In fact, a few holes like 1, 3, 8 and 12 I've resorted to using a putter off the tee. Kind of ridiculously short. I hope someone in Berrien County government is reading this because this course is in dire need of a redesign. Install second tee locations, or push some of the basket locations further into the woods. If that's not an option I see no reason why a second 18 hole course could not be installed with as many people that play here. Install something challenging. The land is there.

if you are in the area hit this course up. Is it worth the time and money? Not sure. Hopefully my review helps in that decision. While it may not be an Idlewilde or a Flip City by any stretch and I have said it isn't challenging I will admit it is truly unique disc golf experience. Try to avoid weekends and holidays and the crowds should be manageable.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good, Old times.

5+    3/23/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: noahrienks
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate. Nice, ample sized tee pads. Short ace-able holes. Very good course for people wanting to get into the sport. Some of the holes are nice and scenic, and I loved playing this course again due to the fact that I first learned the game at this course. The course is well maintained, and while it is not that challenging, it is refreshing to play a course like this once and a while. There were plenty of trash cans around the course to help keep it clean, and there were plenty of seats for people to sit and rest at the tee pads. Nice pro-shop with a good innova selection, too bad they did not have other brands from which to shop.
Cons: The cost. I have played much, much better courses for free. I would like to see the money made on this course, go back into it, and some improvements made. The course is very short, and you can use your putter the entire round and keep par or better.
Other Thoughts: I love this course for the sentimental reasons alone. I cut my proverbial DG teeth on this course, playing yesterday brought back a ton of memories. It was great to play again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

short and wooded

5+    10/16/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 345  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 31.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2016
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good baskets and cement tees.Discs for sale in the park office. It's a typical Steady Ed course from the mid 80's.

Trash cans are located near almost every tee area. Very clean county park.

Very easy to follow, the next tee is fairly close to the previous basket. No map is needed.


Cons: Not worth the entrance fee, pay to play...
$3 to park, $2 for DG.

Very short and technical, plenty of holes under 200 feet. Beginner friendly if not for the tight shots required.

Tee signs need upgrading, most are missing. Years ago it was only 9 holes during winter since cross country skiing took priority.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course ever, 23 years and 340+ courses later, it will always be special in my mind. Don't go out of your way for this one, go play Rum Village in SB or Wilson in Mishawaka instead.

More discs for sale can be found at the archery/billards store on hiway 31 and the Ind/Mich state line road.





0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.